Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this cook book!
I stumbled across this cookbook in a free offer and glad I did. Great recipes. I made Mexican Rice yesterday and it was great. Can't wait to try more recipes like the shredded beef and the salsa.Thanks!
Published on January 16, 2012 by sunmoon

versus
8 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thanks for the fajita recipe???
Very generic book. I'm glad that it was free. I dont think they needed to type out a recipe for chicken tacos, salsa or a burrito...i was hoping for more authentic meals.
Published on January 21, 2012 by S. B.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this cook book!, January 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mexican Cuisine for American Cooks (Kindle Edition)
I stumbled across this cookbook in a free offer and glad I did. Great recipes. I made Mexican Rice yesterday and it was great. Can't wait to try more recipes like the shredded beef and the salsa.Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mexican ala American, April 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mexican Cuisine for American Cooks (Kindle Edition)
He named it correctly "Mexican Cuisine for American Cooks" is really what this cookbook is all about. He gives you some great short cuts (buying AND cooking in bulk being 2 of them) and some good basic info on storage of the foods before and after they are made. He has some basic meals that aren't so Mexican but they are yummy and still kind of fall into the same style of foods, easy, tasty and priced right! I enjoyed the book and will be keeping this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Resource for Large Families!, May 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mexican Cuisine for American Cooks (Kindle Edition)
If you have a large family or a freezer that you like to keep stocked, then David Cowles Mexican Cuisine for American Cooks might be just the ticket. First and foremost, David's recipes are large, great for parties or the kind of cook once - eat several meals cooking that is so helpful to busy families.

Inside you'll find recipes for a wide variety of Mexican/Tex-Mex dishes along with stories, menu suggestions and some marvelous ideas for stocking your freezer. (Many Mexican/Tex-Mex dishes are ideal candidates for freezing.) Take David's recipe for Cheese Enchiladas for example -

Cheese Enchiladas

These cheese enchiladas are light, tender, and delicious, and will undoubtedly be the best you've ever tasted! One tray of six enchiladas will satisfy two people as an entree and three people as a side dish. Enchilada-making can get to be a bit messy, so it's a good idea to prepare at least 12 trays (72 enchiladas) at a time and freeze what you're not going to eat immediately. That way, you'll have to clean the pans and stove only once for twelve meals. Never forget Rule Number One: Whenever possible, cook for more than one meal.

Ingredients
72 corn tortillas
5 pounds grated cheese
2 cups chopped white or yellow onions
Red enchilada sauce
Chopped scallions
Black olives, halved
Cooking oil
12 aluminum foil brownie pan trays, 9-1/4 x 6-1/2 x 1-1/2 inches
Aluminum foil

(Cowles, David W. (2011-12-13). Mexican Cuisine for American Cooks (Kindle Locations 643-652). Hadley V. Baxendale & Co.. Kindle Edition. )

Grandma has lots of recipes for Cheese Enchiladas, a brunch favorite in New Mexico. (These are as authentic as they come.) This one, however, is the only one that gives quantities and directions for stocking the freezer. You'll not find this in a "in a common every day cookbook".

Also note that, contrary to a "reviewer" (who apparently has not even purchased the book) who writes " All he does is tell you things to buy pre-made at the grocery store and put together." , there is not a single recipe of that nature in the book.

Grandma particularly likes the Salsas section, where Cowles provides recipes for Oso's Salsa Fresca, Pico de Gallo, Carmen's Liquid Fire (this is also known as Rocket Fuel - for good reason!), Salsa Asada, Salsa Verde, Salsa Colorado, a Chipotle Mayonnaise, Chilquiles Sauce, Salsa Adobo and Béchamel . . . yes, Béchamel is used in Mexican cooking.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Basic Mexican Cookbook, July 26, 2012
By 
Nenebird (San Diego County, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mexican Cuisine for American Cooks (Kindle Edition)
If you want to just learn the basics, and still get taken out to your fav Mexican restaurant for the more complex dishes, look no further.

Have a great enchilda, pico de gallo and sauce recipes.

Made the Chicken enchiladas, learned the difference between chili powder and Chili molido - which is major..Sour cream vs. Crema..

Get it and wow your family. These are crowd sized recipes but easily cut down to family size without loss of flavor etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to Follow Instructions and Good Flavor, March 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mexican Cuisine for American Cooks (Kindle Edition)
I think this book should be re-titled "New Mexico" flavored Mexican Food for Americans as, based upon where the author lives / grew up, that is the leaning of some of the recipes; you certainly do have a difference between the various USA regions as, for example, everything is cooked a little differently such as in California and Texas.

The author pulls together some of the basic staple Mexican recipes, but I will warn you the recipes are more in line for feeding a group of people vs. say a family of four. That's ok, as the author recognizes that fact and for the majority of the recipes he gives you storage instructions for short-term (fridge) and longer-term (freezer) storage as well as the best type of container system based on his experiences.

The two recipes I like the best, and made according to the author's instructions, are the pico de gallo and "Carmen's Liquid Fire" as each have a good taste and the liquid fire is a little spicy. All of the recipes are written in a conversational tone as if two friends were sitting across the table from each other.

I originally picked this book up during a free Kindle promotion and, as I type this review, the pricing has reverted to $4.99; I think that's pretty reasonable, and would have paid that for the liquid fire recipe alone! If you are looking for some good, easy to follow New Mexico Mexican recipes, I would recommend this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars recipe books are awesome, December 29, 2012
By 
chris kiolbasa (ALBUQUERQUE, NM, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mexican Cuisine for American Cooks (Kindle Edition)
Great book and very informative.
Book is written well with ability to keep the reader interested in the many topics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thanks for the fajita recipe???, January 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mexican Cuisine for American Cooks (Kindle Edition)
Very generic book. I'm glad that it was free. I dont think they needed to type out a recipe for chicken tacos, salsa or a burrito...i was hoping for more authentic meals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT, May 9, 2012
By 
Jeanne Koll (WILSEYVILLE, CALIFORNIA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mexican Cuisine for American Cooks (Kindle Edition)
Boring! More of story telling than recipes, and the recipes are many that are found in a common every day cookbook, nothing special at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Did not teach you to make anything, May 19, 2012
This review is from: Mexican Cuisine for American Cooks (Kindle Edition)
All he does is tell you things to buy pre-made at the grocery store and put together. Not worth the time to read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mexican Cuisine for American Cooks
$4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.