Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Buy Used
$7.34
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Used book in very good condition Has very little wear and tear on the cover. Buy your literature with confidence! Reliable customer service and no-hassle return policy. This book qualifies for PRIME and FREE SHIPPING!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Mexican Tiles: Color, Style, Design Paperback – April 1, 2000

4.2 out of 5 stars 9 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Paperback
"Please retry"
$3.07 $0.01

Anna and the Swallow Man
Anna and the Swallow Man
A stunning, literary, and wholly original debut novel set in Poland during the Second World War - perfect for readers of "The Book Thief". Hardcover | Kindle book | See more for Teen and Young Adult readers

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Masako Takahashi is a much-exhibited artist and photographer who divides her time between Venice, California, and San Miguel de Allende, Mexico.

Tony Cohan has spent much of the past 12 years in Mexico. He is the author of four novels, and his reviews, essays, and travel writing on Mexico have appeared in numerous magazines.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Image
Looking for the Audiobook Edition?
Tell us that you'd like this title to be produced as an audiobook, and we'll alert our colleagues at Audible.com. If you are the author or rights holder, let Audible help you produce the audiobook: Learn more at ACX.com.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 120 pages
  • Publisher: Chronicle Books; First edition. edition (April 1, 2000)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0811826295
  • ISBN-13: 978-0811826297
  • Product Dimensions: 8.2 x 0.4 x 9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #969,819 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
After I bought Masako Takahasi and her husband Tony Cohen's book "Mexicolor", I thought no other book I purchased would EVER compare to that experience. When I discovered "Mexican Tiles", I opened it with fear and trepidation, hoping against all hope, yet hardly daring to believe that it could be even half as good as their first.
But this book is AWESOME!! I think I finally figured out why, after reading Tony Cohen's book "On Mexican Time": these people simply ADORE Mexico, and it comes through in everything they do. All of the wonder and breathless anticipation and teary-eyed beauty that I feel and am so hopelessly unqualified to express when I am either in Mexico or adding to my collection of artesania, Tony vividly portrays in his prose and Masako captures with her camera.
As for subject matter, I LOVE Talavera tiles, Talavera pottery, Talavera ANYTHING, because they are so INCREDIBLY Mexican, and this book is simply PAGE after GORGEOUS PAGE of Talavera-lined kitchens, bathrooms, stairs, floors...you name it, it's tiled. If you at all appreciate ethnic interior design or Mexican handicrafts, this is an AWESOME book!!!
Comment 36 of 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I'm in the process of building on the Maya Riviera so this isn't a book read for fun. This is real research looking for real ideas. Building in Spanish Colonial style can't be done without some incorporation of Mexican Tiles. This book is basically 90% pictures and 10% background and history of Mexican Tiles. The background write-up is excellent and gives good history of Talavera and Talavera-Style Tiles. Then it's on to different uses, floors, kitchens, bathrooms, walls and stairs, and patios and gardens.

I'm very simple in the colors I like in homes so these tiles can be "over the top". This book has a lot of these type pictures. It has more tile usage than I've ever seen on exteriors. The kitchen section has huge tile usage but I've seen more attractive usage in other books.

Overall, I did not get any ideas I will definitely use but I did get a different perspective on tile usage. There are definitely pictures I will take back to discuss with my architect and designer which may be incorporated. This book can be consumed in an hour. But it may take many hours of review going over the pictures again and again.
Comment 11 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I love Mexican tiles but I felt the book was a bit of a let down. The pictures were a bit small and there wasn't enough information about tilemaking in the book. I think the book would have been much more effective in a larger format where the tiles would have been more impressive. There are some wonderful talavera tile websites on the net for anyone who wants a better overview.
Comment 8 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
A Kid's Review on August 1, 2005
Format: Paperback
Book has great ideas. Wish it had been hardback. Book binding, does not want to hold together, considering the wear and tear it shall receive. This is also a great book.
Comment 3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Masako Takahashi has presented a beautifully designed volume that celebrates the art and craft of Mexican tiles with her own stunning photography and straight-forward narrative. This is a book that values design and style most of all, and Takahashi’s eye for both is abundantly apparent. Nearly every page engages the viewer’s sense of awe and appreciation, whether the image is the completely tile-covered exterior of a church near Puebla, Mexico, the riotous color of a Mexican kitchen, or a simple, elegant close-up of a Talavera tile.

Mexican Tiles touts the artistry of hand-made tiles, a work of folk-art, as Takahashi describes them. She describes them as “bearing the charmingly irregular mark of the human hand…that (evoke) a personal, emotional appeal impossible to achieve with machine-made tiles.” She nods to the practical designer also, noting that her book can be used for design ideas to be replicated with more precise looking tiles that are machine-made. Separate from designers, however, Mexican Tiles will appeal to anyone who appreciates the pairing or artistry with eclectic color and expression.

Michael Helquist, author, Marie Equi: Radical Politics and Outlaw Passions
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Want to discover more products? Check out these pages to see more: shower tile patterns, tile distributors, mexican crafts, cladding tile