Automotive Holiday Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Black Friday egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Get Ready for the Winter Gifts for Her  Fine Art Deals Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals Cyber Monday Video Game Deals Shop Now HTL

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
on January 9, 2007
I prefer this powdered milk to the condensed form that Meyerberg sells. The condensed has a more sour flavor to it. One has to realize that goat's milk is not cow's milk in that it is richer or creamier in flavor so it does startle one until your palate get's used to something which tastes "different". When it is warm, it honestly tastes about as close to what a milk product should taste. Cold it has a slight powdered milk processed flavor.

I actually made ice cream from this powdered milk and it turned out pretty good. It is like ice milk as this is milk, but it was different and enjoyable but quite sweet.

The recipe was 1 quart milk (8 scoops of powdered milk made warm and allowed to chill)

1 cup white sugar

1 tsp vanilla flavoring (you can try other flavorings like banana)

1/8 tsp salt

My electric freezer will freeze this in 20 minutes.

I like the powdered for it's ease and it keeps well. I can make up a quart and it will keep 2 weeks, so it is on hand and not wasting or forcing someone who has limited use to drink a gallon of milk. Granted one is used to cow's milk, but this is something one can get used to if they have allergies and I am glad it comes in a nice metal can with a plastic lid to reseal after you pop the top and a plastic measuring scoop to get it right.

One can will make 3 quarts of milk.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
on April 22, 2011
I really do not know what the issue is with this goat milk. My one year old daughter has suffered horrible constipation since switching to cow milk on her birthday. After a month of us both suffering (because I had to help it along if you get my drift), I switched her to goat milk. After 2 days, she was passing perfectly soft stools. The goat milk definitely cured her of the constipation, but each can I open seems to be different. Sometimes when I reconsitute it, I know right away that it is going to taste terrible because the smell is so strong. Other cans, I hardly notice it. She will not drink the bad-smelling milk, and when I have tried it, I have nearly vomitted! Majorly salty and gamey tasting.
Compared to fresh (Meyenberg from the fridge section of grocery store), well, it really doesn't compare. I have found the fresh to taste sweet, like cream, and then there is a little gamey after-taste, but nothing like the slap-you-in-the-face taste of the powdered. I was hoping to save money with the powdered, but since it is a 50/50 chance she won't drink certain cans, I am really wasting money. I am thinking I will have to stick with the fresh from now on.
If anyone has any ideas about what the difference between cans could be, I would love to hear it! I always have prepared it with Britta-filtered water (warmed on the stove) and mixed it up in pyrex, then stored it in a large Ball jar in fridge. (I know I should prob call the company and talk to them, but that would require me to actually remember to do it at a time that they are open and I am able - never happens!!)Thanks!
88 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
on November 9, 2006
My almost-two-year-old is allergic to cow's milk, so we give him a mixture of goat's milk and rice milk. Liquid goat's milk is expensive, at least where I live, so we switched to the powdered form a few months ago. I don't drink milk, but my son seems to like it okay. Goat's milk products have a distinct flavor that you either love or hate; I love it in goat cheese and goat butter, but my wife hates it. Judge for yourself!
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on July 31, 2010
my daughter who is 8 months old is on this meyenberg goats milk from 6 months... all i can say is she is an entirely different baby now.
She was a colicky baby, severe eczema flares now and then (inflammation and oozing most of the time) .. doctors asked me to try different
hypoallergenic formulas which she refused to take just a table spoon in her regular formula.. I gave up hope that she would ever change her formula.
in the process i was reading about goats milk and its various benefits. I spoke to the dietitian gastro doc and her pediatrician but none of them agreed
that i should feed her the goats milk because it is not nutritionally good for the baby. I was very upset because all i knew was my daughter has cow's milk allergy
and she was been fed cows milk despite of the fact it was making her colicky, making her skin worse day by day and she has severe reflux problems. I decided to try this
product and luckily i was able to find it in whole foods.. made one bottle and gave it to my daughter while she was asleep. to my surprise she drank it all and she slept
good for straight two to three hours which never happened in the last 5 months. though she did not liked the taste later and i had to give her with the ratio of one ounce
goats milk to five oz enfamil, now she is doing 5 oz of goats milk to one oz of enfamil. What a dramatic change
No Colic, beteer Skin with no oozing or hyper inflammation (i sometimes apply on her milder inflammation 0.5% cortisone)she is still on pepcid for her reflux but she is doing
better where as her spitting is concerened alomost 0 spitting (before she use to keep on puking now and then). I look at her and thank God for making me decide on this product
as she is a Happy baby now. i can only imagine better for her what will she be like when completely on the goats milk. I have to supplement her with the multi vitamins.
I took her recently to her pediatrician, her GI their exact words (her skin has never been this good before)the dietitian is working on my daughter's diet plan to make sure
she gets all the nutrients which are essential for a growing baby...
I did not wanted to make the trips to the whole foods everytime and pay a higher price for this product when Amazon is selling on a great price of 3 cans.. the shipping is free
and the package arrives right on time before i am out of the stock ( you need to order this product before a week so u never run out of it) The packaging is good and the cans are not
damaged or dented.
Great product
Excellent providers Amazon
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on April 15, 2007
We have been using Meyenberg's powdered goat milk for several years. We used to buy their milk in cartons at Walmart and it was good. The only problem was that we live so far from a Walmart store that we would run out of goat's milk between trips. We decided to try the powdered and found that it mixes and stays mixed very well and tastes exactly like the liquid milk in the cartons. Of course it stores easily and indefinitely and we highly recommend it to anyone who wants or has to drink goats milk.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
on March 7, 2012
My little girl (6 months) can't stomach any formula. Even Nutramigen, at $35 per can made her colicky and sick (accompanied with the worst smelling spit up). The expensive formulas smelled bad, and tasted worse, I hated giving them to her. Goats milk was recommended to me. Her doctor's only objection was that it was low in Folic Acid and tended to dehydrate babies. Well, Meyenberg Powdered Milk is fortified with Folic Acid, so dilute it with a little extra water and you're in business! I now have the happiest infant you've ever seen. Enfamil can take that nasty chemical soup they call formula and shove it, I'll never go back.

You can get the formula Recipe at:

There have been concerns about arsenic in rice syrup lately, so I have been using Lyle's Golden Syrup, and she likes it fine (Also it's the best pancake syrup you'll ever have). I am going to try barley malt syrup next, it is chemically more similar to rice syrup.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
on January 9, 2007
I used Meyenberg Powdered Goat Milk with my first litter of pups five years ago, and was very pleased with it, so made sure to stock up before my second litter was born. I supplement the mother's food with it, and mix it with ground puppy food to make a puppy gruel to transition the pups to puppy food. The pups and their mother seem to love it, and have suffered no digestive problems at all. It dissolves quickly in warm water and is convenient and easy to store. I recommend it as a nutritional supplement for nursing mothers and pups both.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
on March 17, 2011
My son is sensitive to cows milk protein and I am trying to keep him off of soy. My milk was not enough for him, and I did not like the ingredients in baby formula (all had soy and most have cows milk protein, not to mention 45% corn syrup solids). My pediatrician recommended this powdered goats milk because they add folate (not normally found in goats milk). Since I have been feeding my son this milk, he has been SO happy and growing so much better! Have not had to add any vitamins/supplements to it to make it a whole food, it is fine on its own. Although, I have been using organic brown rice cereal because he is getting close to being ready for solids. LOVE this milk! (always consult your doctor before changing your babies diet)
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon January 9, 2007
My daughter is allergic to soy & cow's milk, but tolerated goat milk very well. She has been drinking it since she was 12 months. It's nice having a powder so we can take it with us when we are on the go. There is more information about the milk itself on the meyenberg website. After looking over the website, I felt confident that goat milk would meet my daughter's nutritional needs.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on June 22, 2007
I tried the condensed version and thought it was horrible so was concerned that I would not like the powdered either. Before I tried the powdered I had some of the fresh from my grocery store and really liked it. As it turns out, this is quite the same as the fresh and about 60% cheaper.

We are switching because both of my kids had ear infections galore and now sinus infections galore. One was always constipated and still is to a certain extent. And one is showing signs of hyperactivity, which some believe may be related to a food allergy (such as cow's milk). So I figured better safe than sorry and am switching the whole family.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 20 answered questions

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.