Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lot of fun
The original Mezzos (and Kite) were dark crime noir and almost sickening to watch, despite the excellent animation.

This is really neat storytelling in that they re-cast the characters as different people in a similar world. It's something done a lot in Japanese manga, I forgot the name, but it's equivalent to using the same actor in different fictions, like...
Published on March 10, 2008 by Amazon Customer

versus
16 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Extended Mezzo
I'll start by saying that this anime is too long. There are way too many episodes in this series. I know what you're thinking. Thirteen is the absolute lowest an anime can go without becoming an OVA. And that's exactly my point. The last few episodes is where the gold is in this anime, and really a lot of the episodes never followed any real story line. This would have...
Published on December 15, 2005 by Antonio D. Paolucci


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lot of fun, March 10, 2008
This review is from: Mezzo - Complete Collection (DVD)
The original Mezzos (and Kite) were dark crime noir and almost sickening to watch, despite the excellent animation.

This is really neat storytelling in that they re-cast the characters as different people in a similar world. It's something done a lot in Japanese manga, I forgot the name, but it's equivalent to using the same actor in different fictions, like Harrison Ford going from Han Solo to Indiana Jones. The pink haired gun bunny is the central character, a backup thug is now a tech guy, a crime boss is now the head of the agency... Oh, and even minor characters have their parts. One girl who showed up for what, 3 seconds?, as a sicko's rape victim in "Kite" is now the 'shy girl learning to be tough' growth story sidekick.

And, yeah, it's a "TV Series" to get some bucks. So what? Neat show and a lot of fun. I ordinarily don't like 'crime/action' stuff that much, but make an exception here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better Towards the End, January 16, 2013
By 
KevinB "The Honey Badger" (High Point, North Carolina) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Mikura, Kurokawa, and Harada are the 3 members of a business called The Danger Service Agency. They take on all kinds of jobs no matter how hard, as long as it will buy them dinner. They get requests like guard duty, evictions, "package" transport, and some even more dangerous jobs. Every now and then they get in over their heads. Fortunately, Mikura is a bad chick. When the going gets tough she employs her karate, and her signature kick to the junk maneuver.

After several of these high profile jobs, The DSA is on the mafia's hit list, and even on the bad side of some powerful and corrupt cops. Things get pretty dangerous and very scary for DSA, but they're tough; and everyone knows that the good guys always win.

This anime started off kind of unimpressive. I just sort of tolerated it for about 4 or 5 episodes. After that, the characters get developed back stories and some drama in their lives. The characters are pretty likable, and the story is fun. As it moves toward the end, the mood gets darker. While the first part of the series is light hearted and fun, the 2nd half is dark and very cloak and dagger. It's not one of the better animes out there, but it is an enjoyable watch.

The production end of Mezzo is pretty good as well. The animation, and voice actors are above average. The soundtrack is just kinda there. It's obvious that the production wasn't rushed. Even if half the episodes were pretty superfluous.

Overall, I enjoyed Mezzo. It was actually better than I expected. It has a little in common with Armitage. In the animation, and story department. I was also reminded of the A.D. Police Anime at times. This series was a little more accommodating to younger viewers. It's definitely not for children. There is some language, violence, and a partial nude shot of a non-functional android. I think it could pass for PG 13, but not lower. I think that this is one of those that is better to watch before you buy. It's definitely not for everyone. I can see many thinking that it's a waste of time, but I got into the 2nd half of it. I think that if you like stuff along the lines of Armitage, Aika, or A.D. Police, you'll probably enjoy. Mezzo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Entertaining Action Anime With No Need For Any Hentai Scenes, October 22, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mezzo - Complete Collection (DVD)
I saw a few episodes on t.v. and thought for the price of the series set why not get it and have found the series to be both entertaining and exciting. The story deals mostly with the trio of people who do whatever protection or detective job their hired to do the D.S.A (Otherwise known as the Danger-Service-Agency) the first is Kenichi Kurokawa a former police detective who runs the agency and tries to keep them from going under from all the debts, Tomohisa Harada is the technical wizard of the group who makes sure everything runs correctly, and finally Mikura Suzuki whose the fighter of the group whose skills both unarmed and armed is impressive. During one of their jobs they pickup a fourth member a young girl more of like Mikura's fan by the name of Asami Igarashi who the D.S.A trio are very protective of.
I've never seen the Mezzo movie so when a friend said he didn't like because it wasn't hardcore enough for him I asked why and he showed me the movie. I have to say the action through not as bloody was just as good the only thing I found the series did right was not put in the stupid sex scenes I don't think they were really needed in the movie and thankfully not put into the series. I don't mind some fan-service or some sprinkling of nudity in anime but if you just want to see anime sex scenes and don't care about the series or anime movie at all just buy some adult movies. The video is clear and sharp no fuzziness or streaming to worry about and the audio actors for both the subbed and dubbed version were great no complaints on that either. The only thing I wish is that the series were longer as it's only thirteen episodes and it just seemed to short I hope they make some more episodes later on for this entertaining series. So if you like the action, gun shooting, and hard-core female fighting anime this would be a good choice for you..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mezzo, July 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mezzo - Complete Collection (DVD)
If you like Kite but it was a bit to much, You just may enjoy Mezzo. While made by most of the same team this was a TV series so it is much tamer..still not for children mom and dad. If Mezzo tickled your fancy you may just wanna look into the non tv version Mezzo Forte.

I don't know ones taste but the tv series and kite was exceptional drawn and had a rather dark story. I only reccomend looking into kite or mezzo forte if your stomach can take it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great, But short Anime., April 22, 2007
This review is from: Mezzo - Complete Collection (DVD)
I really enjoyed this anime, you will fall in love with all the characters. Great action and comedy. Only problem is that it ends pretty fast. After 3 nights it was over and i wanted more. They kinda made it seem like there will be a season 2 at the end. So lets wait and see. Great and funny anime. Great animation also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, January 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mezzo - Complete Collection (DVD)
i am a big fan of this item was so glad to get it, and it was everything i hoped it would be
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars anime, April 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mezzo - Complete Collection (DVD)
a nice box case of three discs. great anime about an girl fighting for a secret agency. cute an sexy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rock on, January 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
DSA kicks ass, even though they are kinda dumb. Each character adds the ingredient to make the dsyfunctional family work to its advantage. Street tough girl, ex-cop, computer/hardware nerd. . .very interesting mix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great artwork, December 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
After seeing various clips of this show on the net, it got my attention and so far its an anime I've quickly grown to like. I'm planning to watch the other related stuff from the director/animator. Thank you Amazon Video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars spandex & hollowpoints!!!, May 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
In the tradition of kite,& mezzo, Mezzo Forte delivers heavy doses of gunplay & comedy. Note that the story arc starts on a issue pulled directly out of modern times by a supporting character getting bullied in the opening scene, even though the series is over 10 years old. Still a relevent piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mezzo - Complete Collection
Mezzo - Complete Collection by Yasuomi Umetsu (DVD - 2005)
Used & New from: $499.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.