Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FABULOUS fun with messages
I had no idea that a lady NOT from Texas (and I LOVE my lady friends from Texas) could speak forever without actually taking a breath! :D This had me laughing so hard because SJJ's character was soooooooooo serious and apprehensive, AT's character was so disarmingly romantic and sincerely likeable, and her parents actually honestly shared their experiences candidly. Mia...
Published on June 5, 2009 by Carolyn Wright

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars light woody-allen parody
Miami Rhapsody stars Sarah Jessica Parker as Gwynn Marcus, one of several sibs of a prominent, wealthy, Jewish and dysfunctional family in Miami. Though things seem okay on the outside, tangled relationship problems threaten every quarter of the family. Her brother Jordan (Kevin Pollack) cheats on his pregnant wife with a high-strung model (Naomi Campbell); Her sister's...
Published on January 28, 2002 by Rottenberg's rotten book review


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars light woody-allen parody, January 28, 2002
This review is from: Miami Rhapsody [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Miami Rhapsody stars Sarah Jessica Parker as Gwynn Marcus, one of several sibs of a prominent, wealthy, Jewish and dysfunctional family in Miami. Though things seem okay on the outside, tangled relationship problems threaten every quarter of the family. Her brother Jordan (Kevin Pollack) cheats on his pregnant wife with a high-strung model (Naomi Campbell); Her sister's (Carla Gugino) new husband is a pro-football player plagued by career insecurities and terminal cheapness; both of her parents (Mia Farrow and Paul Mazursky) cheat on each other; and she remains unhappy if only because she's the sort of person who's so concerned about happiness that she must strangle the happiness out of wherever it pops up in her life. Though she's engaged, Gwynn soon finds herself attracted to the male nurse (Antonio Banderas) who cares for the family's stroke-ridden grandmother.
"Rhapsody" is a lot like an overlong episode of "Sex and the City" without the neat closure of that show's half-hour snippets or the materialism or communal honesty of that show's leads. Gwynn obsesses over Miami and sex, noting that both are extremely popular despite the inherent messiness of either. I had never seen "SatC" when catching this flick back in '95. Instead I recognized the flick as more of a parody of Woody Allen movies - the sort of rambling flick centered around a city (not NYC this time) and the hang-ups of those who endure it. The cinematography, Gwynn's neuroses (the film opens with Gwynn lamenting to a therapist), casting of Mia Farrow and even the opening credits hint at one of those small Woody Allen flicks that breezes through town without warning. "Rhapsody" works mostly on its stars' ernestness but also depends on some familiarity with that sort of Woody-ish kind of film. I doubt anybody who's never seen an Allen film will find this film more than amusing. Despite its dark take on marriage and relationships, I eventually married the girl I took to see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Fun Walk Down Romantic Comedy/ Light-hearted Film Lane, December 18, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Miami Rhapsody (DVD)
I enjoyed watching this film, and give it three and a half stars. This film is one to rent when you just want to kick back and laugh a little. It is entertaining and light, and clever in parts. It's good for the kind of night when you're not in the mood for subtitles because you'd have to actually read them. :) Think "When Harry Met Sally," "You've Got Mail," or "Playing By Heart." I'd have been sad to miss it at the video store, as it is sweet in its heart, and had me laughing out loud more than once.
The film is about a family of three adult children and their parents, and the love lives of all of them. It starts with Sarah Jessica Parker's character (Gwyn) getting engaged, and her sister getting married. From there, things get a little messy. Gwyn, unsure of the state of her union (to-be), goes to her mother for advice about marital life. What she finds then is that her mother is having an affair. Shocked and surprised at first, Gwyn anxiously watches as her inner circle of family and friends fall prey to infidelity/relationship-confusion one by one, with no happy outcome in sight. As her wedding day draws near, she must come to some conclusion about her own impending marriage. Should she tie the knot, or are there existing problems in her relationship which would only be made worse by a walk down the aisle? She obsesses. She stresses. She considers dating her mother's lover!
Along the way, there are funny scenes and conversations, and a lot of the type of banter (especially from Jessica Parker) that made Sex and the City such a runaway hit. Parker's role here is reminiscent of her role on Sex and the City. As in that show, she plays a writer, here an ad-writer who reluctantly sets her sights on writing for sitcoms. She has trouble along the way, though, as her work is considered "too creative." This was classic SJP mode, as she is both sexy *and* smart! Jessica Parker may be tinier than most women (or men) I've ever seen, but she packs a wallop when it comes to magnetic acting and comedy skill. Her energy always shines on-screen, and this film is no exception. Gil Bellows (from TV's Ally McBeal) does a decent job playing her zoologist fiance who may or may not move to Africa when his career dictates that he should. There are patches of chemistry between them, and they are believably matched.
Mia Farrow's performance as Gwyn's mother is indeed reminiscent of her acting in her ex's (Woody Allen's) films. Farrow's husband in the film is strong in his role, as are other supporting actors, especially Carla Gugino, as Gwyn's sister, a lusty newlywed. One lackluster standout as far as the acting is Naomi Campbell. She may be one of the most beautiful women on the planet, but she really could do with figuring out whether or not to keep that British accent when playing in an American film, and how to get excited about acting/learn to lose herself in her role instead of striding her way through it as if she's merely rehearsing her lines.
I have to say that, unlike another reviewer on this page, I really *like* the one-liners that appear in this film, and in shows like Sex and the City. What can I say, they make me laugh, and that can't be that bad, can it? This film is funny and has some great lines, including some banter about election woes,this time about Bush *Senior*, and Ross Perot. :) (The film came out in '95). Watching it so soon after Indecision 2000, and feeling many of the same things myself in reference to George Junior this time around was an unexpected highlight.
As an aside, another thing I liked about the film was that it touched on all three generations: Gwyn's, her parents, and her grandparents (specifically, her grandmother, who, after a series of strokes, might not say much, but who showed grace and kindness with her smile, her eyes, and the touch of her hands.) I like that the film had this window into a nursing home/elderly life. People need to remember their elders more than they do these days. The film also briefly made the point that we shouldn't be too selfish in our lives, when we consider the horrors that previous generations have had to endure on a daily basis. Here, the experience of the grandmother having to flee the Nazis when she was a young woman. Jessica Parker's character says, in essense, people used to have real problems, war, etc, etc, [but] "I couldn't live a month without cable TV and a shower. We're a generation of weaklings." So some hints of deepness do exist in this shallow-ish romantic comedy!
Overall, I think Miami Rhapsody is a cute little film which will perhaps be enjoyed most by fans of Sex and the City and similar works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FABULOUS fun with messages, June 5, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Miami Rhapsody (DVD)
I had no idea that a lady NOT from Texas (and I LOVE my lady friends from Texas) could speak forever without actually taking a breath! :D This had me laughing so hard because SJJ's character was soooooooooo serious and apprehensive, AT's character was so disarmingly romantic and sincerely likeable, and her parents actually honestly shared their experiences candidly. Mia Farrow is light as a feather, as usual, with depths I've only seen in women who truly love their family, seemingly, effortlessly being there for whatever is needed. WONDERFUL film! This became a favorite the first time I saw it and watched SJJ spinning over the dance crowd! :D:D:D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a brilliant film worth your time to watch! makes you wonder about life!!, July 25, 2007
By 
This review is from: Miami Rhapsody (DVD)
WATCHING THIS FILM MAKES YOU REFLECT ON YOUR OWN LIFE!! There is nothing make belief about it. It realy shakes you up about what people go through and what they feel about life and how they percieve it! Its probably true that most of the time we follow our parents life style...maybe not all the way...but they definately affect our way of thinking! And some people are able to change and make it thru the obstacles and some people are just not meant to be!! You should also check out the film PLAYING BY HEART with angelina jolie, shawn conneri and alot of other famous actors.! That too was a wake up call to how certain people find it easy to adapt and others are afraid of change while others fight for what the truley feel in their heart!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, hip and heartbreaking... no easy feat!, April 25, 2000
This review is from: Miami Rhapsody (DVD)
This is one of those movies you either hate or love at first sight; certainly it has an Allenesque feel to it (It may not be a mere coincidence that Mia Farrow is one of it stars, doing a marvelous send-up of the kind of characters she used to play for Woody, from Hannah to [more closely] Alice Tate), but there's so much more to it than that!
Sarah Jessica Parker is the link in the story, but not necessarily the main knot. Take Antonio Banderas's turn parodying himself and the "suave latino lover" typecasts, or Carla Gugino's bubbly charm. Of course, good things always may come hand-in-hand with lackluster spots... one of the biggest here? Naomi Campbell sitting pretty and saying her lines with as much enthusiasm as a laptop computer with a british accent. She is typecast alrigtht, but instead of playing with the possibilities like Banderas did, she just walks by, remarkably far from fantastic.
Now that brings another contrast, for Gil Bellows' performance as Matt, the understated and understanding fiance is nothing short of great. His smile can lit up a room (common knowledge) and yet when he has to unburden his anger and pain he does it in a way that is quiet and convincing. No high drama, no storming through doors. His character is a man in love but pushed too hard by his beloved (Parker) so his empathy is believable to a fault. His is one of the most delightful moments of the film, including the possibility of salvage at the closing. Definitely not a masterpiece, but a good, entertaining and also aching film that is in no way forgettable after all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Woody Allen Style, May 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Miami Rhapsody (DVD)
Good film. Good cast. Great script. The dialogue is fresh & witty through out the film. Keeps you laughing and entertained. Sarah Jessica Parker is exceptionally good in this film. The main theme is a family that believes in infidelity. At least, it does for awhile! It was pretty much a sleeper. Would recommend to people who have an open mind and a sense of humor!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All In the Family, February 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Miami Rhapsody [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This movie may not be for everyone but its a good movie. Its about a recently engaged girl who discovers that everybody in her family is having an affair. She mustve felt like one of Bob Newharts charactors. The only sane person surrounded by nuts. That's how I would've felt. Anyway you should get this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sarah Jessica, always wonderful, October 9, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Miami Rhapsody (DVD)
Even tough I have not got it yet, I love this movie. I can't wait for it to arrive and watch it again. It has been at least ten years since I last saw it, owned it in the other format, and it feels really good to have this particular movie in my DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Hidden Gem, May 2, 2013
By 
A Real Comment "ng" (California, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Miami Rhapsody (DVD)
This is one of those movies that is funny, cute, with good acting and just overall good. Before Sarah Jessica's Sex and the City Days and Antonio Banderas "hotness" days, and of course Mia Farrow is also a great comedian and actress. Even Jeremy Piven (before Entourage) is in the picture and is just a funny movie. Highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A hilarious comedy about relationships, March 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Miami Rhapsody [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
My wife wanted this movie so she is writing the review! This movie shows Sarah Jessica Parker as a recently engaged woman who is having a huge doubts about marriage. The more she looks at the marriages in her own family the more disillusioned she gets! Sarah finds out marriage and fidelity don't always go hand in hand and it is presented in some hilarious ways. I loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Miami Rhapsody [Blu-ray]
Miami Rhapsody [Blu-ray] by David Frankel (Blu-ray - 2011)
$9.98 $4.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.