Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and Original
Michael Feinstein has produced a unique concert as a tribute to Sinatra and his contemporaries. He has selected an eclectic mixture of songs which he delivers with his customary verve and charm. Backed by a terrific orchestra Michael Feinstein is on top form; highly enjoyable and highly recommend, not just to fans of Mr Feinstein but anyone who loves good music.
Published on December 22, 2011 by Geoff Archer

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fish Out Of Water
Love the Michael, especially as a solo performer. Just him and a piano is an engaging, spellbinding experience. His spontaneous interactions with the audience are always a highlight. Gotta love that he's keeping the standards alive and has a passion for the old school classics.

Feinstein as crooner backed up by an orchestra is an example of more adding up to...
Published on January 24, 2012 by Cw


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and Original, December 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Michael Feinstein has produced a unique concert as a tribute to Sinatra and his contemporaries. He has selected an eclectic mixture of songs which he delivers with his customary verve and charm. Backed by a terrific orchestra Michael Feinstein is on top form; highly enjoyable and highly recommend, not just to fans of Mr Feinstein but anyone who loves good music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT SHOW, February 28, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Michael Feinstein: The Sinatra Legacy (DVD)
THIS is one great hour of Michael Feinstein and a wondeful orchestra....I have seen him in person several times--but this CD tops the other times I've seen him--I have watched this more times than I can count--and it always seems new to me...Barbara Cooper
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fish Out Of Water, January 24, 2012
By 
Cw (So Cal, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Michael Feinstein: The Sinatra Legacy (DVD)
Love the Michael, especially as a solo performer. Just him and a piano is an engaging, spellbinding experience. His spontaneous interactions with the audience are always a highlight. Gotta love that he's keeping the standards alive and has a passion for the old school classics.

Feinstein as crooner backed up by an orchestra is an example of more adding up to less. The result is what might happen if a saloon player tried to jump on stage and become one of the follies. He comes off a bit stiff and overly self conscious. Feinstein's enthusiasm is his saving grace. His between song banter and stories sound rehearsed but are none the less fascinating. And the voice is as good as ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feinstein not Sinatra, March 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Michael Feinstein: The Sinatra Legacy (DVD)
it is a fascinating and most professional performance by a talented artist who is able to bring you close once again to the great music of the time of Sinatra which lingers still and will never be forgotten. Feinstein is a superb showman with a great sense of humour who carries you away with him through his enthusiasm and energy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Fans of Frank Sinatra's Music and the history behind the legacy of Frank Sinatra, May 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Michael Feinstein: The Sinatra Legacy (DVD)
I was fortunate to hear Frank Sinatra in Concert and am a fan of Michael Feinstein.
I did see this concert Live at Strathmore Hall, and it is one of the best concerts by Michael Feinstein.

Michael Feinstein tells the story of Frank Sinatra through his music. Michael Feinstein does not try to impersonate Frank Sinatra but takes one through a journey of the life of Frank Sinatra's music, his style and phrasing, and why the Music sung by Frank Sinatra lives on in our hearts.

Michael Feinstein researches the history of Frank Sinatra and Frank Sinatra's legacy lives on in song and words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Video for your Collection, August 6, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Michael Feinstein: The Sinatra Legacy (DVD)
Just got to watch this DVD last nite. It is a REAL production with many camera angles, excellent sound, LARGE orchestra and Michael does very well. It sounded GREAT thru my surround sound system. The songs are chosen as to not only songs Frank made famous, but also songs made famous by people who influenced Frank (and whom he influenced too). Michael gives many notes before each piece - adn I think it helps oen understand it a bit better. The pic on the cover shows Michael standing on the Steinway and he does that a few times during the show at the Palladium Theatre in Indianapolis. You wish there was a 2nd DVD - this one seems short. I highly recommend it. you will enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michael Feinstein: The Sinatra Legacy, June 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Michael Feinstein: The Sinatra Legacy (DVD)
Michael Feinstein is a very special man who has maintained music that could have been lost. In this particular DVD he brings back a period that has fond and wonderful memories for me. When I watch it I remember happy memories and it make me smile. Young and old will enjoy this happy DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Concert!, May 17, 2014
By 
Ginny Pokoj "Retiredsecmgr" (Titusville, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Michael Feinstein: The Sinatra Legacy (DVD)
We first saw this concert on Netflix and fell in love with Michael Feinstein! So much, I went looking for our own copy which I found here on Amazon. This concert is fun, fast moving, and even for someone not born during that musical era, the music is absolutely wonderful. This DVD is something you will watch over and over again. Michael Feinstein is a consummate singer and entertainer. The price is super and this would make a wonderful gift for parents and grandparents of that era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FABULOUS, March 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Michael Feinstein: The Sinatra Legacy (DVD)
I think Michael Feinstein and Harry Connick Jr, currently , themost important singers in english language and they are fabulous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Sinatra Legacy, July 13, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Michael Feinstein: The Sinatra Legacy (DVD)
I had seen this on public TV and wanted to own it.
I am very happy I was able to acquire it. Great Music and a lot of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Michael Feinstein: The Sinatra Legacy
Michael Feinstein: The Sinatra Legacy by Leon Knoles (DVD - 2011)
$19.98 $13.09
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.