Customer Reviews


381 Reviews
5 star:
 (303)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


147 of 158 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thriller - Michael Jackson's Masterpiece, Better Than Ever!
The 25th Anniversary edition of Thriller is a must own CD. The presentation of the CD is great, with top-notch production evident throughout. The original tracks still sound amazing. And the new remixed song versions should introduce younger R&B fans to the man who started it all.

There are many reasons to buy this version of the album even if you already...
Published on March 18, 2008 by Mark

versus
40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad Re-issue
This second re-issue of Thriller is a better re-issue than the 2001 Special Edition. The sound quality is a lot better. But I still find it a tad lacking. It is missing "Can't get Outta The Rain" Which appeared on side 2/B of the 45 release of Billie Jean and "Got the hots" (Which is appearing on the Japan Release). Those 2 tracks should have been added. I wouldn't be...
Published on February 12, 2008 by I'm hungry. feed me


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

147 of 158 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thriller - Michael Jackson's Masterpiece, Better Than Ever!, March 18, 2008
The 25th Anniversary edition of Thriller is a must own CD. The presentation of the CD is great, with top-notch production evident throughout. The original tracks still sound amazing. And the new remixed song versions should introduce younger R&B fans to the man who started it all.

There are many reasons to buy this version of the album even if you already own it. This version includes remastered mixes that sound great. This album also came out at the height of vinyl and casettes, so a lot of people may not own the album on CD. Old school fans will be seduced by the awesome holographic CD dust jacket, sharper re-mastered original tracks and included bonus DVD videos.

Younger music fans who love will.i.am, Kanye West, Fergie and Akon will be attracted by the remade versions. Hard-core Michael Jackson fans might not like those new versions as much. Still, no matter how you slice it, this 25th Anniversary edition belongs in your collection.

It's clear to anybody who follows R&B that so many artists over the past 10 years have made careers essentially emulating Michael's singing style and dance moves. You can include on that list:
- Justin Timberlake - FutureSex / LoveSounds
- Chris Brown - Chris Brown
- Usher - My Way
- Omarion - O

THE TRACKS AND EXTRAS

It's impossible not to hear the songs from this album from time to time, yet it had been a long time since I heard the original album in total, tracks 1-10 on this CD. When you listen to it again, it's impossible not to realize how amazing of a production this truly was, and still is even 25 years later. Every single song is a number one hit, and Michael moves through genres including pop, rock and R&B with ease. See my awards summary at the bottom for more on this.

The remakes can't possibly match Michael's original accomplishment. Yet they are not as bad as many say. I actually like the Akon version of "Wanna Be Startin' Somethin." And Kanye West's "Billie Jean" mix highlights his abilities as a producer.

The included DVD includes the short film music video versions of "Billie Jean," "Beat It" and "Thriller." These videos are historic in their own right, each one a high budget production better than a lot of the movies made in 1982. There's also a nice liner jacket with all the original lyrics and cool album art.

There's also the Motown 25 performance of "Billie Jean." For those that don't remember this performance, it's the one where Michael first does the moonwalk on stage. It takes quite a performer to pull off a rhinestone shirt, rhinestone socks, sparkly jacket, high-waters and one white glove!

It's amazing to note that Michael Jackson actually wrote most of the biggest hits on this album, something today's R&B artists rarely do. Most of the biggest hits from the album are his original works, including "Wanna Be Startin' Something," "The Girl Is Mine," "Beat It," and "Billie Jean." "Baby Be Mine," "Thriller," and "The Lady In My Life" were written and composed by Rod Temperton. "PYT" was the work of the legendary James Ingram and Quincy Jones. And Steve Porcato wrote both "Human Nature" (with John Bettis) and the newly released "For All Time" (with Michael Sherwood), number 16 on this edition.

I really liked this previously unreleased track, and it definitely has a sound akin to Human Nature. I can only speculate that that similarity is what kept it off of the original release.

AWARDS

It's amazing to think this album won 8 Grammys, and I don't even believe it was close in any category.

+ Album of the Year
+ Record of the Year ("Beat It")
+ Best Male Pop Vocals ("Thriller")
+ Best Male Rock Vocals ("Beat It")
+ Best Male R&B Vocals ("Billie Jean")
+ Best R&B Song ("Billie Jean")
+ Producer of the Year (Qunicy Jones and Michael Jackson)
+ Best Engineered Recording, Non-Classical (Bruce Swedien)

If there had been awards for best music video back then, "Thriller," "Billie Jean," and "Beat It" would have all been nominated.

CHOOSING THE BEST EDITION

The basic 25th anniversary edition includes the original album tracks, new remixed tracks, videos and a a liner jacket with all the original lyrics and album art. Even more album art and an extended text is included with the fold-out book version of this release, the Thriller Deluxe Casebook Edition). That version is worth getting for die-hard fans who want the case-book as a collector's item. Luckily I was able to get one of each when they were on sale the week of their release. At regular prices though, the regular edition is probably the way to go for most people.

CONCLUSION

This is a pivotal album that is well done here at an affordable price when you factor in all the cool stuff that's included. While some collectors will want to own both this version and the Deluxe Casebook Edition, I think the regular 25th Anniversary Edition has enough extras to satisfy most fans. The new tracks, previously unreleased original tracks, videos and great album art make this a great purchase for new and old fans alike.

Enjoy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thriller - Michael Jackson's Masterpiece, Deluxe Casebook Edition, Better Than Ever!, March 18, 2008
This review is from: Michael Jackson 25th Anniversary of Thriller(Deluxe Casebook Edition) (Audio CD)
Michael Jackson 25th Anniversary of Thriller(Deluxe Casebook Edition)

The 25th Anniversary edition of Thriller is an awesome release and a must have for serious fans and new inductees. This deluxe casebook edition also includes a fold out collectable book with bonus pictures, background information, album art and the original liner jacket with all the lyrics. There's also more basic editions going for about $12 that don't include the casebook. Michael Jackson 25th Anniversary of Thriller No matter how you slice it, this 25th Anniversary edition belongs in your collection.

There are many reasons to buy this album, even if you already own it. First of all, this album came out at the height of vinyl and cassette tapes, so there are a lot of people who don't own the album on CD. Granted many people bought the previous re-releases on CD, but if you haven't now's your chance.

Younger music fans who love will.i.am Songs About Girls, Kanye West Graduation, Fergie The Dutchessand Akon Konvicted will be attracted by the remade versions, even if hard-core Michael Jackson fans don't like them as much.

Old school fans will be seduced by the awesome holographic CD dust jacket, sharper re-mastered original tracks and included bonus DVD videos. It was a long time since I heard the original album in total, tracks 1-10 on this CD. When you listen to it again, it's impossible not to realize how amazing of a production this truly was and still is, even now 25 years later. Every single song is a hit, and Michael moves through genres including pop, rock and R&B with ease, nailing each one.

It's clear to anybody who follows R&B that so many artists over the past 10 years have made careers essentially emulating Michael's singing style and dance moves. You can include on that list:
- Justin Timberlake - FutureSex / LoveSounds
- Chris Brown - Chris Brown
- Usher - My Way
- Omarion - O

Record labels have an army of executives that realize the marketing potential of putting some top stars together to add remakes to this re-release. The remakes can't possibly match Michael's original accomplishment. Yet they are not as bad as many say. I actually like the Akon version of "Wanna Be Startin' Somethin." And Kanye West's "Billie Jean" mix really highlights his abilities as a producer.

The included DVD includes the short film music video versions of "Billie Jean," "Beat It" and "Thriller." These videos are historic in their own right, each one a high budget production better than a lot of the movies made in 1982.

There's also the Motown 25 performance of "Billie Jean." For those that don't remember this performance, it's the one where Michael first does the moonwalk on stage. Let me tell you, it takes quite a performer to pull off a rhinestone shirt, rhinestone socks, sparkly jacket, high-waters and one white glove!

It's amazing to note that Michael Jackson actually wrote most of the biggest hits on this album, something today's R&B artists rarely do. Most of the biggest hits from the album are his original works, including "Wanna Be Startin' Something," "The Girl Is Mine," "Beat It," and "Billie Jean."

"Baby Be Mine," "Thriller," and "The Lady In My Life" were written and composed by Rod Temperton. "PYT" was the work of the legendary James Ingram and Quincy Jones. And Steve Porcato wrote both "Human Nature" (with John Bettis) and the newly released "For All Time" (with Michael Sherwood), number 16 on this edition. I really liked this previously unreleased track, and it definitely has a sound akin to Human Nature. I can only speculate that that similarity is what kept it off of the original release.

Still, there are many other B-side tracks and unreleased songs that could have also been included. I can only guess they are saving those up for a forthcoming box set to further extract cash from die hard fans.

It's amazing to think this album won 8 Grammys, and it probably wasn't close in any category.
+ Album of the Year
+ Record of the Year ("Beat It")
+ Best Male Pop Vocal Performance ("Thriller")
+ Best Male Rock Vocal Performance ("Beat It")
+ Best Male R&B Vocal Performance ("Billie Jean")
+ Best R&B Song ("Billie Jean")
+ Producer of the Year (Qunicy Jones and Michael Jackson)
+ Best Engineered Recording, Non-Classical (Bruce Swedien)

And there must not have been awards for best music video back then because "Thriller," "Billie Jean," and "Beat It" would have all been nominated.

This is a pivotal album that is well done here at an affordable price when you factor in all the cool stuff that's included.

Enjoy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


187 of 219 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Citizen Kane of pop, June 25, 2009
I woke up from a nap and there were three text messages on my phone. Nobody ever texts me, so I knew it must have been big news. I thought there was a fire or something. Turned out, Michael Jackson is dead. I was startled, to say the least, because MJ never seemed like the kind of person that could, you know, die. To be honest, he never really registered in my consciousness as being a person; Michael Jackson was the androgynous sexual panic of "Billie Jean," the breathless seduction of "P.Y.T.," the thrilling kitsch of "Thriller," the chattering afro-popisms of "Wanna Be Startin' Somethin'." The idea that he had a human body, one that needed food and air and sleep, never really clicked in my mind. But then again, I guess that's to be expected. I mean, how can a mere human being really be thought to be capable of creating something as monstrous, as mechanical, as all-encompassing, and as awesome as Thriller? This kid wasn't the king of pop; he was the whole damn kingdom. And we, the audience, are not his loyal subjects; we're just reading the travel brochures.

The point is, Thriller is one of the greatest moments in the history of pure pop. Which is to say, it's plastic, mass-produced, jugular-grabbingly commercial, and completely unconcerned with originality, artistic merit, or honesty. And goshdarnit, I wouldn't have it any other way! With songs and performances as irresistible and ecstatic as the ones found here, artfulness will only get in the way. Because when you have a song as swooping, as ethereal, as hypnotic, and as unashamedly romantic as "Baby Be Mine," there's really no need to question its validity. Just let those labyrinthine keyboards and yearning vocals carry you away to a shiny place. And when "Beat It" comes roaring out of the gates, it does so with such force and brutal eloquence that you completely forget how absurd it is for Michael Jackson to take on the role of a street-smart hoodlum. As a vision of ghetto reality, it's a nonsensical failure; but the important thing to remember is that, on a purely visceral level, it SOUNDS more convincing and more immediate than its more authentic counterparts.

And then there's "Billie Jean," whose lyrics are either shockingly amoral or completely uneventful, but which still manages to be one of the most magical, irresistible, and emotionally charged moments in the history of music. And if we found ourselves getting annoyed by the idea of having to root for a child-abandoning father, then we can just remind ourselves that it's only a pop album. An stunning pop album, to be precise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad Re-issue, February 12, 2008
This review is from: Michael Jackson 25th Anniversary of Thriller(Deluxe Casebook Edition) (Audio CD)
This second re-issue of Thriller is a better re-issue than the 2001 Special Edition. The sound quality is a lot better. But I still find it a tad lacking. It is missing "Can't get Outta The Rain" Which appeared on side 2/B of the 45 release of Billie Jean and "Got the hots" (Which is appearing on the Japan Release). Those 2 tracks should have been added. I wouldn't be surprised if the album has a 30th anniversary edition 5 years later with those 2 songs adeed. Also, The Kanye West Remix of Billie Jean was a tad disappointing. Kanye gave the song a great new beat but I was hoping to get a rap verse out of him on the track. The Fergie remix to Beat It wasn't too bad either. I have nothing against Fergie but I think that P!nk would have been a better choice for the song. Anyways, Like I said, this is a big improvement from the 2001 Special Edition for the sound quality. The Interviews on that edition are better bonus features. I think it's well worth getting for the better sound quality. But Even though the sound is better, I find the DVD lacking. Thriller is missing the making of the video. That should have been added.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thriller - Michael Jackson's Masterpiece, Better Than Ever!, March 18, 2008
Michael Jackson 25th Anniversary of Thriller

The 25th Anniversary edition of Thriller is a must own CD. Some new versions should introduce younger R&B fans to the man who started it all.

There are many reasons to buy this album, even if you already own it. First of all, this album came out at the height of vinyl, so there are a lot of people who don't own the album on CD. Younger music fans who love will.i.am Songs About Girls, Kanye West Graduation, Fergie The Dutchessand Akon Konvicted will be attracted by the remade versions, even if hard-core Michael Jackson fans don't like them as much. Old school fans will be seduced by the awesome holographic CD dust jacket, sharper re-mastered original tracks and included bonus DVD videos. No matter how you slice it, this 25th Anniversary edition belongs in your collection.

It's impossible not to hear the songs from this album from time to time, yet it had been a long time since I heard the original album in total, tracks 1-10 on this CD. When you listen to it again, it's impossible not to realize how amazing of a production this truly was and still is, even now 25 years later. Every single song is a number one hit, and Michael moves through genres including pop, rock and R&B with ease, nailing each one. See my awards summary at the bottom for more on this.

It's clear to anybody who follows R&B that so many artists over the past 10 years have made careers essentially emulating Michael's singing style and dance moves. You can include on that list:
- Justin Timberlake - FutureSex / LoveSounds
- Chris Brown - Chris Brown
- Usher - My Way
- Omarion - O

Record labels have an army of very intelligent number crunchers that clearly realized the marketing potential of putting some top stars together to add remakes to this anniversary edition. The remakes can't possibly match Michael's original accomplishment. Yet they are not as bad as many say. I actually like the Akon version of "Wanna Be Startin' Somethin." And Kanye West's "Billie Jean" mix really highlights his abilities as a producer.

The included DVD includes the short film music video versions of "Billie Jean," "Beat It" and "Thriller." These videos are historic in their own right, each one a high budget production better than a lot of the movies made in 1982.

There's also the Motown 25 performance of "Billie Jean." For those that don't remember this performance, it's the one where Michael first does the moonwalk on stage. Let me tell you, it takes quite a performer to pull off a rhinestone shirt, rhinestone socks, sparkly jacket, high-waters and one white glove!

There's also a nice liner jacket with all the original lyrics and cool album art. Even more is included with the fold-out casebook version of this release. Michael Jackson 25th Anniversary of Thriller(Deluxe Casebook Edition)

It's amazing to note that Michael Jackson actually wrote most of the biggest hits on this album, something today's R&B artists rarely do. Most of the biggest hits from the album are his original works, including "Wanna Be Startin' Something," "The Girl Is Mine," "Beat It," and "Billie Jean." "Baby Be Mine," "Thriller," and "The Lady In My Life" were written and composed by Rod Temperton. "PYT" was the work of the legendary James Ingram and Quincy Jones. And Steve Porcato wrote both "Human Nature" (with John Bettis) and the newly released "For All Time" (with Michael Sherwood), number 16 on this edition.

I really liked this previously unreleased track, and it definitely has a sound akin to Human Nature. I can only speculate that that similarity is what kept it off of the original release.

It's amazing to think this album won 8 Grammys, and I don't even believe it was close in any category.
+ Album of the Year
+ Record of the Year ("Beat It")
+ Best Male Pop Vocals ("Thriller")
+ Best Male Rock Vocals ("Beat It")
+ Best Male R&B Vocals ("Billie Jean")
+ Best R&B Song ("Billie Jean")
+ Producer of the Year (Qunicy Jones and Michael Jackson)
+ Best Engineered Recording, Non-Classical (Bruce Swedien)

And there must not have been awards for best music video back then because "Thriller," "Billie Jean," and "Beat It" would have all been nominated.

This is a pivotal album that is well done here at an affordable price when you factor in all the cool stuff that's included.

Enjoy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A LANDMARK in the History of Pop... and so much more!, February 14, 2008
By 
Paulo Leite (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Michael Jackson 25th Anniversary of Thriller(Deluxe Casebook Edition) (Audio CD)
Well... THRILLER came out in 1983 and if you wanna know what's the importance of this album, just think about this: not only it summed up the best things about American popular music so far but it also revolutionized the way pop music was marketed and regarded. Perhaps, in the History of American music, there are only two phases: before THRILLER and after THRILLER.

If we try to break down the album, we can see each song as the outstanding corollary of certain styles and influences... R&B, Motown, TSOP, Blues, Disco, Gospel, Electro and anything else you can think of. It's all there. And that is the proof that both Michael and his producer Quincy Jones were, at that time, a match made in heaven.

This is certainly an album to be studied.

This 25th Anniversary Edition puts together a nice package: first comes the CD with all the original tracks plus some new remixes and homages(made by Kanye West, Fergie and Will.I.Am) and a new unreleased track FOR ALL TIME.

Now... honestly... I found all this new material completely delectable. I really prefer the previous THRILLER SPECIAL EDITION which contains other unreleased tracks AND a beautiful demo of BILLIE JEAN that is gorgeous. That edition of THRILLER is, in my opinion, superior to this one. It is richer... while this one focuses on the "homage" side.

BUT... this edition comes with a DVD that cannot be missed. Not only it brings you the THRILLER video - without a doubt, the video that defined what a music video is today (before THRILLER, music videos were something else...) but it also comes loaded with new stuff (like the unreleased song FOR ALL TIME) and the great MOTOWN 25 TV special.

So, in a word, unmissable.

And if you are willing to spend more money, this is a DELUXE CASEBOOK EDITION that comes in a hardbound 48-page book full of rare photos, lyrics and more.

A little more expensive, but twice unmissable. (laughs)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 25th Anniversary Edition, Should Have Been Shelved, July 12, 2009
By 
Chris (Louisville) - See all my reviews
Although I typically stay in the field of heavy metal, I am a child of the 1980's which spells out that Michael Jackson was a huge influence on my musical taste. The original Thriller album is a classic which deserves 5 stars, hands down. This review is not meant for those songs, but for the additional material for the 25th Anniversary Edition.

Is it possible to ruin Michael Jackon's work? Is it possible to turn something that is perfect into complete and utter garbage? Well, if you add will.i.am, Fergie, Akon and Kanye West to the mix you can. These talentless hacks have done something that was initially thought to be impossible in turning the core Thriller material into laughable throw-aways.

Starting with the girl is mine, the song took Paul McCartney's part out completely. How absurd! Replacing Paul McCartney with will.i.am is a recipe for disaster and had no chance to do anything but crash and burn. Similarly you find the terrible "remix" of PYT with, yet again, will.i.am trashing it with his ridiculous original rap placed in the middle.

Akon and Fergie then appear on Wanna Be Startin Something and Beat It, respectively. The instrumentation on Wanna Be Startin Something has been changed with a completely different tempo and takes away the majority of magic that makes the song what it is. The re-hashed version of Beat It is a one-two punch of Fergie and Michael sharing lines that makes you wish for an actual punch rather than listen any further. The combo is simply sad. Also the guitar part of the song has been completely removed, except for the solo which feels completely out of place now.

The only good part of this disc is the addition of For All Time. The song is a slightly different version of Human Nature. The other good part is having the Billie Jean, Beat It and Thriller music videos on DVD.

In the end, the "remixes" can be thrown away and you can be happy that you have the previously unreleased song and the music videos. The so called talent that has been inspired by Michael Jackson and brought in put a modern spin on the hit songs are so bad that they have actually ruined some of the world's best music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A LANDMARK in the History of Pop... and so much more!, February 14, 2008
By 
Paulo Leite (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Well... THRILLER came out in 1983 and if you wanna know what's the importance of this album, just think about this: not only it summed up the best things about American popular music so far but it also revolutionized the way pop music was marketed and regarded. Perhaps, in the History of American music, there are only two phases: before THRILLER and after THRILLER.

If we try to break down the album, we can see each song as the outstanding corollary of certain styles and influences... R&B, Motown, TSOP, Blues, Disco, Gospel, Electro and anything else you can think of. It's all there. And that is the proof that both Michael and his producer Quincy Jones were, at that time, a match made in heaven.

This is certainly an album to be studied.

This 25th Anniversary Edition puts together a nice package: first comes the CD with all the original tracks plus some new remixes and homages(made by Kanye West, Fergie and Will.I.Am) and a new unreleased track FOR ALL TIME.

Now... honestly... I found all this new material completely delectable. I really prefer the previous THRILLER SPECIAL EDITION which contains other unreleased tracks AND a beautiful demo of BILLIE JEAN that is gorgeous. That edition of THRILLER is, in my opinion, superior to this one. It is richer... while this one focuses on the "homage" side.

BUT... this edition comes with a DVD that cannot be missed. Not only it brings you the THRILLER video - without a doubt, the video that defined what a music video is today (before THRILLER, music videos were something else...) but it also comes loaded with new stuff (like the unreleased song FOR ALL TIME) and the great MOTOWN 25 TV special.

So, in a word, unmissable.

And if you are willing to spend more money, you can even get a DELUXE CASEBOOK EDITION that comes in a hardbound 48-page book full of rare photos, lyrics and more.

A little more expensive, but twice unmissable. (laughs)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad Re-issue, February 12, 2008
This second re-issue of Thriller is a better re-issue than the 2001 Special Edition. The sound quality is a lot better. But I still find it a tad lacking. It is missing "Can't get Outta The Rain" Which appeared on side 2/B of the 45 release of Billie Jean and "Got the hots" (Which is appearing on the Japan Release). Those 2 tracks should have been added. I wouldn't be surprised if the album has a 30th anniversary edition 5 years later with those 2 songs adeed. Also, The Kanye West Remix of Billie Jean was a tad disappointing. Kanye gave the song a great new beat but I was hoping to get a rap verse out of him on the track. The Fergie remix to Beat It wasn't too bad either. I have nothing against Fergie but I think that P!nk would have been a better choice for the song. Anyways,Anyways, Like I said, this is a big improvement from the 2001 Special Edition for the sound quality. The Interviews on that edition are better bonus features. I think it's well worth getting for the better sound quality. But Even though the sound is better, I find the DVD lacking. Thriller is missing the making of the video. That should have been added.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Originals Still Sound Great, "Remixes..." Not So Much, February 13, 2008
By 
Danielle Turchiano (Van Nuys, CA United States) - See all my reviews
There isn't much more that can be said about the tracks on this re-release of "Thriller" that are from the original 1983 album. Everything from "Wanna Be Startin' Something" to "The Lady In My Life" holds up extremely well even a quarter of a century later. This 25th Anniversary Edition also gives us both the single release version and the long version of "Billie Jean," as well as a previously unrecorded track called "For All Time." With all new technology employed to clean up the tracks and make the sound crisper, Michael sounds fresh and new and revived (which I'm sure he is hoping will be a metaphor for this stage in his career, as well).

Unfortunately, though, the so-called remixes are very disappointing and do not enhance the value of this album at all. The two tracks that feature will.i.am ("The Girl Is Mine" and "P.Y.T.") suffer from Will's lack of creativity in his verses and really only remind you how great the songs were when they were untouched. "Beat It" featuring Fergie isn't really a remix so much as a few lines in a verse or two laid down by Fergie over the old track. Lame and boring. And don't let the "featuring Kanye West" tag on "Billie Jean" fool you: Kanye does not do a guest rap verse but rather he produced the new mix, adding a heavier beat and a couple of introductory grunts. Ironically, the one stand out was Akon's version of "Wanna Be Startin' Something," which is a unique approach to the song, breathing new life for a new generation, and of course the second disc, which gives you also three music videos ("Beat It," "Billie Jean," and "Thriller") and a live performance by Michael at an awards show, is a must-have for any collector, as well.

It may be a little sad to say the only "new" music you're getting excited about is an album you actually already own, but with the case of this er-release, it's true. Buy this album only if you want to hear rejuvenated versions of classics. You can skip most of the "new" stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.