Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun for now
I am waiting for the PS3 edition dropping in March of next year, so I picked this up to hold me off until then. Let me start by saying this port of the experience is not like the experience you get on the Wii, PS3 or Xbox 360. Of course the controls will be different (i.e. Wii Motion, PS3 Move, Xbox 360 Kinect). I am talking more about the graphics & gameplay. The...
Published on November 26, 2010 by D. HOLT

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The pathetic edition
Alright! Who thought this was a good idea?! Okay...before I go crazy, I just wanna say that I absolutely love Michael Jackson's songs (To the point where I feel shame in becoming a fan only after his death), and I have the DS version of Michael Jackson: The Experience. I thought that version was pretty good, but would've used improvement. But THIS version on the PSP....is...
Published 23 months ago by Ryan Sil. (Gamer & PC/Andr...


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun for now, November 26, 2010
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Michael Jackson The Experience - Sony PSP (Video Game)
I am waiting for the PS3 edition dropping in March of next year, so I picked this up to hold me off until then. Let me start by saying this port of the experience is not like the experience you get on the Wii, PS3 or Xbox 360. Of course the controls will be different (i.e. Wii Motion, PS3 Move, Xbox 360 Kinect). I am talking more about the graphics & gameplay. The graphics are cartoonish & the gameplay is simple. When you first start playing the game, it is really cool to see the Michael Jackson avatar dance along to the songs using the moves specific to that video as you hit the notes in time with the music. Though the longer you play through the 17 tracks, you will realize that the dance moves start getting a little repetitive during the course of the songs. Some moves even get recycled for other songs.

As far as the gameplay goes, it is simple but fun. The only two buttons you will be using to hit the notes will be the left d-pad & the "O" circle button. After you successfully hit enough gold points, you will fill up the gold star on the left side of the screen. When this happens, you will be prompted to press the triangle button to earn bonus point multipliers. You will also enter a screen during gameplay where you have to alternate between the left & right shoulder buttons to make him spin to earn points.

The cool thing about the game though, is to see the backdrops & outfits that were used in the original videos re-created for the game. As you progress, you unlock collectibles with the coins you earned. These collectibles have a descriptive story to each one as you scroll through them.

The game was a little different than I expected. I was hoping for a more complex system for hitting the notes as in using more of the button variations. And I was also hoping to see more realistic graphics as in the commercial for the Wii version. I know the PSP could have handled that.

But, Like I said before, the graphics are cartoonish in nature but sharp, the gameplay is simple but fun. For what it is, It's a cool game for the PSP, especially for kids. I would recommend purchasing this title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The pathetic edition, January 25, 2013
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Michael Jackson The Experience - Sony PSP (Video Game)
Alright! Who thought this was a good idea?! Okay...before I go crazy, I just wanna say that I absolutely love Michael Jackson's songs (To the point where I feel shame in becoming a fan only after his death), and I have the DS version of Michael Jackson: The Experience. I thought that version was pretty good, but would've used improvement. But THIS version on the PSP....is a total disgrace.

The only redeeming quality about this PSP offering is that it contains some more songs than the DS version, including the famous "Thriller". This game has a soundtrack that sets the bar higher than many video games couldn't be able to achieve. And that soundtrack is Michael Jackson's music. What's even better is that the songs are as crisp as they could get.

The graphics are identical to the DS game. It features an animated Michael Jackson dancing by his lonesome, making the scenery feel rather empty. At least his dance moves and costumes/backgrounds are unique to every song. I just wish Michael had some backup dancers to liven up everything. After all, I KNOW the PSP can handle more than the DS can.

So what killed this game for me? The GAMEPLAY. Who the HECK thought it was a good idea to utilize only TWO buttons (Left and the circle button)? The PSP has EIGHT face buttons, and the game only uses TWO? That's total bullcrap! Worse, it's like this for all difficulty modes, so no matter what, the game as a whole is entirely and unnecessarily basic for all the wrong reasons.
Granted, the L and R buttons are in use when Michael has to spin around, but does that really add any depth? No. This game is basic and easy.

The game can't possibly be any more simplistic than Ubisoft managed to make it. The game just feels like something to do while listening to the King of Pop's songs rather than an actual game. I now understand why this game is so freakishly inexpensive compared to the other versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good fun for M.J. fans, Too easy for Avid Gamers, December 19, 2010
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Michael Jackson The Experience - Sony PSP (Video Game)
The game has two modes, the tour mode, which you play the actual game, and the gallery mode, which you view the items you unlock by completing songs. The collector's item system doesn't do anything besides letting you view the picture of the item along with a short description, which they would allow you to customize the animated MJ with the items you have unlocked.

I beat the game in every difficulty in two days. Game play is really simple, only involves the left button on the D-pad and the circle button. Any person with descent skill in music games should be able to beat the game and unlock every collector's item pretty easily.

It was nice to re-experience some of Michael Jackson's songs in a different way, however I don't think this game has any re-play value, so I will probably trade this in very soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Huh....?, December 30, 2011
By 
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Michael Jackson The Experience - Sony PSP (Video Game)
I don't for the life of me, understand the objectivity of this game.... To play You basically spend your time watching the bottom of the screen to see when to press the arrow and circle buttons while the cartoonish Michael dances. But wait, don't try to watch him dance or you'll miss which button you're suppose to be pressing.... WTH? After a minute or so then you get to watch him dance for a hot second.... I enjoyed the songs tho'. Maybe it would be more fun on the Xbox or another gaming unit. SMH
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Michael Jackson the experience is a good portable game for his fans but it's not for the die hard fans because it's to easy, December 24, 2014
This review is from: Michael Jackson The Experience - Sony PSP (Video Game)
If you love mjs music than this game is for you. Now i no that there is only 17 songs in it but 17 songs that a Michael fan should know but it's a little bit to easy. Now if you want a challenge try the consoles version. Are the ds which is horrible now you have to remember that this is a portable system and it even has more songs than the 3DS and the vita but the grapics are actually good on the PSP. But some of his best songs arent in the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars MJ, December 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Michael Jackson The Experience - Sony PSP (Video Game)
It seems as if this game lacks more input to make it fun! the girls like it but they stopped playing with it after the second day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Kids!, April 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Michael Jackson The Experience - Sony PSP (Video Game)
The kids like the game, i guess thats all that matters.. Exactly what was pictured, new game in case and plastic wrap..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... done to the disc or the box was really happy while playing the game it was really worth the ..., July 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Michael Jackson The Experience - Sony PSP (Video Game)
Game worked really well on PSP console there was no damage done to the disc or the box was really happy while playing the game it was really worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of item, November 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Michael Jackson The Experience - Sony PSP (Video Game)
Grandson loved this item. Game was reliable and kept my grandson with hours of playtime. Grandson dances and enjoys this item without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cant dance to hard with it, November 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Michael Jackson The Experience - Sony PSP (Video Game)
the boys love it, bought it for my 8 year old he is a crazy smooth dancer. I just wish it could record him dancing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Michael Jackson The Experience - Sony PSP
$19.99 $6.28
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.