Customer Reviews


279 Reviews
5 star:
 (161)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (33)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


92 of 106 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy it for what it is.
In October of last year, Michael Jackson's This Is It was released a few months after the King of Pop's death. It was controversial among some fans because it was speculated that body doubles were used and that Michael himself may have not intend fans to view the results of hours of film recording. It turned out to be an excellent film and many fans were happy to see it...
Published on December 14, 2010 by Tommy Skylar

versus
143 of 197 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Anything for Money
Foreword

The Noughties were a sad and strange decade for the King of Pop. Bookended with two extravagant artistic endeavors- the release of his tenth album `Invincible' in 2001 & the announcement and run into what would have been the `This Is It' comeback residency in London- 50 record breaking sold out shows beginning on 13th July 2009. For the most of the...
Published on December 14, 2010 by Nick Dangerous


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

92 of 106 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy it for what it is., December 14, 2010
By 
Tommy Skylar (The Great White North) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Michael (Audio CD)
In October of last year, Michael Jackson's This Is It was released a few months after the King of Pop's death. It was controversial among some fans because it was speculated that body doubles were used and that Michael himself may have not intend fans to view the results of hours of film recording. It turned out to be an excellent film and many fans were happy to see it. Over a year later Sony releases a posthumous Michael Jackson album featuring previously unreleased material (even if some of these found their way to the internet sooner or were already known by some MJ experts) that has some fans doubting. Fans know just how much of a perfectionist Michael Jackson was and this being a posthumous release it is understandable that fans may hate what Sony is doing. Maybe Michael would not have liked that Sony did this and maybe he never intended for the songs on "Michael" to be released to the buying public. Sony has an agreement that allows them to not only own and distribute Michael's music but also release new albums of previously unreleased content until 2017. You can bet that there will be more albums of unreleased content to come. Whether or not you approve of Sony's decision you have to give it to Sony though, "Michael" has some very good songs on it. There are those fans who say that it's not Michael singing on the album and those way say it is him. I'm in between; I think they're both right. Michael definitely sings on most of the songs here but there are some that while similar in voice that may not be him, I don't think I'm the most qualified person to make such a judgment and I'm not trying to ruin your enjoyment of the album with some proofs or anything.

There are 10 songs on Michael, my guess is that Sony wants to keep material for future releases as well so they aren't putting as much song on "Michael" as they could have (which is fine really as long as the songs are good, sure more songs would've been better I suppose but I'm happy with what I've got). It's interesting that here are three collaborations on "Michael", the lead single Hold My Hand with Akon, Monster with 50 Cent (and Orianthi) and (I can't make it) Another Day with Lenny Kravitz. It's interesting to hear the king accompanied by some of these artists and the overall sound of "Michael" is very pleasing. I'm not the biggest fan of Hold My Hand but the song has it all: it's catchy, easy to listen to and has a secure/positive feeling about it. I like Hollywood Tonight, it was an unfinished song but they did a good song out of it and it has some of the classic Michael .The Way You Love Me was originally released on the 2004 Michael Jackson Ultimate Collection box set and I believe it sounded much better on the box set than it does here on "Michael". Best of Joy is a terrific one; this is one of the most enjoyable songs here. I don't like 50 Cents but Monster remains an excellent song! (I can't make it) Another Day featuring Lenny Kravitz and the Foo Fighter's Dave Grohl is one of my favorite songs of the whole album, Michael sounds amazing here and the song delivers. According to some internet bloggers and Amazon reviewers, there are three "fake" songs on "Michael" sang by Jason Malachi which would include Breaking News and Keep Your Head Up. I don't know how true this is, it might be it might not, buy the album and decide for yourself I guess right? If they're fakes then they just sound really close to Michael's voice.

I don't think the King of Pop himself would have been totally pleased with this release because he didn't get to give his blessing and some of this was unfinished material but for fans this is a treat. It does have some good songs that fans will definitely want to hear. The album is worth buying, I don't think it tarnishes Michael's legacy and it's a good album but I wouldn't compare it to his past work. As far as I'm concerned his technically "last" album was 2001's Invincible, this would be best viewed as a good collection of unreleased material. There are fans that obviously won't be happy about this release and some who will not like the material here as much as Michael's classic works. For a collection of posthumous songs this is nice and fans who want to hear the songs should hear them but they probably shouldn't expect the material here to be as good as Michael's past albums. Like I said, skeptics can hate and make various speeches but in the end it's still Michael Jackson and my guess is a lot of people will buy it. To me "Michael" serves to make me remember how great he really was and how much he really is missed. For unreleased material, this is very good and satisfying: 4/5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 66 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Michael!, December 14, 2010
By 
This review is from: Michael (Audio CD)
"Michael" is the first of several posthumous releases promised by Sony. It comprises 10 tracks, two of which most fans had heard before; lead-off single "Hold My Hand", an anthemic duet with Akon and swirling keys, a lilting paean to love and friendship with hints of Bob Marley (especially "No Woman No Cry"), and the retro-sounding "(I Like) The Way You Love Me" which appeared on "The Ultimate Collection" titled "The Way You Love Me" and without the voicemail message/human beatbox intro.

The cover art is a painted collage of Michael's life from "Off The Wall" including scenes from videos like "Thriller" and "Smooth Criminal". Musically, the album also recalls the eighties. If you liked songs like "Smooth Criminal", "Another Part Of Me" and "PYT", songs with a funky Pop sound, you'll love this. Another good thing is that the songs are not over-long, a problem with a huge chunk of "Invincible".

For upbeat songs, we have "Hollywood Tonight" (with harmonies remniscent of those on The Jacksons "The Hurt"), the haunting "Monster" (a look at the tabloids view of Michael, it features a rap by 50 Cent), "Breaking News" (with an intro comprising sensational headlines concerning Michael), the Lenny Kravitz-penned groovy rocker "(I Can't Make It) Another Day" (which alternates between gentle and fiery), and the spectacular "Behind The Mask", a sax-sprinkled groovy number laced with crowd cheers and a Disco-tinged bridge. It reminds me a wee bit of brother Jermaine's "Do You Remember Me".

For ballads there's the inspirational "Keep Your Head Up" (with a Gospel choir), and the guitar/finger-snap driven "Best Of Joy" with both finding Michael digging out his vulnerable falsetto. Closing is the absolutely spectacular "Much Too Soon", a piano/guitar/accordion/string-swathed song with angelic harmonies and the wistful lyrics "I hope to make a change now for the better". It was apparently written during the "Thriller" sessions and features the best vocals on the album.

"Michael" might be a motley collection but it does work much better than one would expect it to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


143 of 197 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Anything for Money, December 14, 2010
This review is from: Michael (Audio CD)
Foreword

The Noughties were a sad and strange decade for the King of Pop. Bookended with two extravagant artistic endeavors- the release of his tenth album `Invincible' in 2001 & the announcement and run into what would have been the `This Is It' comeback residency in London- 50 record breaking sold out shows beginning on 13th July 2009. For the most of the decade MJ did not release any new music nor perform any shows. This was partly enforced by his court trial and recovery from it, but also due to his monetary problems and continued need to secure financial backing from outside sources. Of course we now know the greatest entertainer who ever lived also had a very serious drug problem.

One thing that was clear over the last eight years of MJ's life- despite the absence of a new album he continued to write & record music right up to and including the time of rehearsals for This Is It. Most notably with Black Eyed Peas head honcho will.i.am in Las Vegas & Ireland circa 2007. In interviews of the time the pair spoke of their aims for the collaboration and Will, of how the material sounded like an `Off The Wall for the new century'. It's worth noting that Michael was never one to release anything less than what he viewed as perfect. Unlike his most notable contemporary- Prince who adopts a much less constricted mindset and continues to release 10 x the amount of music that MJ did. Of course it was this type of restraint & artistic focus that had a part in creating Michael's legend and made his album releases landmark global events.

After the below par performance of `Invincible' in the west (partly due to Sony not supporting it, partly due to a decrease in MJ's US fanbase) the follow up would have to be no less than a masterpiece. Not only that but in typical MJ style; - its arrival bigger and more extravagant than what had gone before. Unfortunately that day never came. Following Michael's death he once again became the highest selling recording artist of the year and went on to sell a staggering 35 million albums worldwide in the 12 months after his passing. In light of this Sony struck a deal with the Jackson estate paying them a record breaking 250 million dollars to retain the distribution rights to MJ's music and together with the estate periodically release 10 new projects including compilations of previously unheard material up until 2017.

Aside from the tragedy of the world losing an artistic visionary, musical genius and an often misunderstood but gentle soul who cared about the preservation of the planet, Michael's passing could not have come at a worse time. This Is It did not make the opening night yet it would appear from the film he was in good form and that the gloved one combined with the OTT stage show would have made for something truly spectacular. Whether or not he was in good enough shape to complete 50 shows is another matter. The concerts would likely have been followed by a new album which at the time of the singer's death fans had already been patiently waiting eight years for.

It was not to be but MJ did leave behind recordings of many new songs in various states of completion - some of which would have been used for that 11th album. For the release of `Michael' the Jackson estate and Sony worked together to compile an album of material ranging in vintage from 1981-2009, claiming fans would `hear the songs he most recently created along with tracks that Michael had a desire to bring to fruition.' Various musicians were hired to perform on some of the unfinished songs and the final mix was executed by longtime MJ collaborator Teddy Riley. At long last, the album that never was is finally here... or is it?

Review

Hold My Hand (Duet with Akon) (3:34)
Written by Aliaune Thiam, Giorgio Tuinfort, Claude Kelly
Produced by Akon, Giorgio Tuinfort & Michael Jackson

Originally recorded in Las Vegas circa 2008 with the intention to be included on Akon's then upcoming album `Freedom', HMH was leaked to the internet the same year. The estate now tell us MJ actually intended this song to be the lead single for his next studio album. Whatever the case HMH is a laid back anthem with a simple message of love, unity and peace. Essentially a sing-along ballad intended for mass appeal which despite being a duet actually features more of Akon than MJ with the only lead vocals from Michael being the first verse. Despite MJ taking the backseat to Akon this dynamic actually works quite well. Akon went into the studio late this year to finish up vocals on this new version and the track climaxes with a choir sung chorus & hand claps. 8/10

Hollywood Tonight (4:31)
Written by Michael Jackson, Brad Buxer/Spoken Bridge Written by Teddy Riley
Produced by Teddy Riley, Michael Jackson/Co-Produced by Theron "Neff-U" Feemster

Invincible leftover the estate claim MJ resurrected in 2007 to work on again. This one's a banger that demands you blast your speakers and is all about a girl who leaves behind humble origins to pursue dreams of stardom in Tinseltown. HT starts off with MJ beatboxing prior to delivering the first verse- `Lipstick in hand, Tahitian tanned, in her painted on jeans. She dreams of fame, She changed her name, To one that fits the movie screen - She's headed for the big time, that means...' then it's straight into a huge chorus that upon first listen becomes ingrained in your head. It all sounds great but in the absence of a bridge after the second chorus the song loses momentum and to fill the gap we get a spoken bridge by Riley that comes off slightly camp and ultimately detracts from the songs impact. Instead of the spoken bridge HT would have worked much better with a rap section. Clearly an unfinished track that shouldn't be on here, despite this it's still quite good and contains some of the old magic. 7/10

Keep Your Head Up (4:52)
Allegedly Written by Michael Jackson, Eddie Cascio, James Porte
Produced by C "Tricky" Stewart, Angelikson, and allegedly Michael Jackson

In the 1980's Dominic Cascio worked at regular Michael Jackson haunt the New York Palace Hotel managing apartment suites. Upon meeting Dominic, MJ enquired if he was married, if he had any kids and that he would love to meet them. This encounter created a secret 25 year friendship between MJ and the Cascio family where MJ would often visit the Cascios whenever near their home in New Jersey, referring to them as his second family. In 2007 MJ stayed over at the Cascio home as he often did, and it was reported he was recording at their home studio. Fast fwd to the days following the 25/6/09 and the Cascios registered a number of songs as the work of Michael Jackson. Let's get straight to the point here- THE LEAD VOCALS ON THIS SONG AND THE TWO OTHER CASCIO SONGS ARE NOT MICHAEL JACKSON. Instead the Cascios, the estate or Sony hired an imitator to sing on these songs as at the time of his passing, as one can only assume most, if not all of these songs he allegedly recorded with the Cascio's in 2007 did not feature vocals. Obviously done so the Cascios can profit & the estate / Sony can release as many `Michael Jackson albums' as possible by mixing genuine tracks with fakes. Here's an entry from Taryll Jackson's (MJ's nephew) Twitter page on Tuesday 7th December 2010--- "I remember when Teddy and I were at Encore listening to KYHU. We both knew it wasn't my Uncle. He stopped working on it because (and I quote) "it didn't sound enough like Michael. Michael doesn't swing like that." He also said he was only working on the Cascio records in hopes that he would eventually be given a "real Michael Jackson song." As he knows, I never agreed with that logic. I'll never forget when Teddy called me telling me, "I'm so excited, I finally got a 'Michael record.' It's called Hollywood Tonight and it's him." ---There's nothing you can really say about this situation except that it's a travesty that those in control of MJ's estate only care about money. Some fans will choose to believe that the Cascio tracks are in fact MJ, but they obviously don't know his voice well enough. Even the best MJ impersonator and likely guilty party here- Jason Malachi cannot fool the real fans. No one can sing exactly like MJ except the man himself. What is it the kids say these days... EPIC FAIL. 0/10

(I Like) The Way You Love Me (4:35)
Written by Michael Jackson
Produced by Theron "Neff-U" Feemster, Michael Jackson

Originally appearing on 2004's The Ultimate Collection in demo form, this version of the TWYLM sounds complete and features more instrumentation inc piano & flute and beefed up backing vocals. The demo was great but this new finished version is sublime and sounds finished. As such this is perhaps one of the rare occasions on `Michael' were the studio effects and wizardry of the producer, in this case- Neff-U, have made a considerable difference for the better and transformed a demo into a fully realized song without losing the demos original impact and flavour. A lot of this is probably due to the demo vocals being mostly complete. One of the albums standout tracks- a sweet, understated, romantic masterpiece. 10/10

Monster (Ft. 50 Cent & Orianthi) (5:06)
Allegedly written by Michael Jackson, Eddie Cascio, James Porte/Rap Lyrics Written by Curtis Jackson
Produced by Teddy Riley, Angelikson, and Michael Jackson, allegedly

Another Cascio penned abomination ft. the vocals of an impersonator Sony would have you believe is Michael Jackson. It sounds like a Lady Gaga cast off and the whole thing is a mess. The vocal impersonation is not even close this time- it's clearly not MJ and sounds EXACTLY like Jason Malachi- see youtube. 50 Cent is crap here and as `MJ' returns he sings `Why did you take it, why did you fake it' why indeed. Finally fans of guitar goddess Orianthi who hoped to hear her shredding a Beat It style solo on `Michael' are left scratching their heads as her contribution to the end of the song is mixed so low she is barely audible. Embarrassing for all parties involved, except of course the impersonator who got paid and remains anonymous. 0/10

Best of Joy (3:03)
Written by Michael Jackson
Produced by Theron "Neff-U" Feemster, Michael Jackson
Co-Produced by Brad Buxer

One of MJ's final recordings which he planned to continue work on in the summer of 2009 whilst in London for This Is It and debut during the shows. In light of this and the quality of the song itself, this is undoubtedly the albums most potent track. Some rumors suggest that in his final years MJ intended to move away from writing angry songs that focused on his frustrations and more towards tracks that simply expressed the joy of music like this one. You wonder how many complete vocal tracks MJ left behind from his final years. Assuming there is more than just Best of Joy, had the estate put out an album of material solely recorded in last few years and in this vein we'd possibly be listening to the greatest Michael Jackson album ever right now. Vocally, when you put this next to the Cascio songs there is just no comparison;- it's like trying to pass off a chocolate coin wrapper as solid gold. Pure MJ magic. 10/10

Breaking News (4:15)
Allegedly Written by Michael Jackson, Eddie Cascio, James Porte
Produced by Teddy Riley, Angelikson, allegedly Michael Jackson

This was the first track from `Michael' to be streamed online. Monday 8th November was the day the s**t hit the fan. Prior to the song going live members within the Jackson family claimed some of the tracks on the album were not sung by MJ and instead featured the vocals of an impersonator but no one in the fan community really took them seriously. Once the song was posted it became clear we were not hearing the voice of MJ and the Jacksons were telling the truth. In contrast to the other two fakes, these lyrics actually sound a lot like something MJ would have written and musically the songs falls within familiar New Jack Swing territory. The vocal trickery is more cunning here;- the lead vocal is sung by the impersonator- most say Jason Malachi, some James Porte, whoever it is it's not Michael Jackson. But real MJ vocals in the form of breaths and ad libs from previous albums have been cut and pasted in amongst the main vocal in an attempt to trick the listener. What we are left with is a song that is clearly not sung by MJ, but not only that- sounds strangely synthetic and overly processed. Additionally the production is uninspired and it sounds like there is a glitch at 0:44. The song itself is not bad and the best of the three fakes. Had MJ actually recorded this he would have made it 10x better but as this is not him the song is worthless and should not be included. We know they are lying about who is singing these songs, so why should we even believe that MJ wrote them unless they can produce hand written lyric sheets which can then be verified by independent forensic handwriting experts? These songs were not registered until after the singer's death so it's possible that they were entirely written / recorded after his passing.
0/10

(I Can't Make It) Another Day (3:55)
Written by Lenny Kravitz
Produced by Lenny Kravitz
Co-Produced by Michael Jackson

Invincible leftover that leaked in January of this year. Written by Lenny Kravitz AD is a rock track about MJ's relationship with god, tho it can be interpreted in more than one way. Lenny re-recorded a more subdued take on the song with Jay Z entitled `Storm' which appeared on his 2004 album Baptism, needless it does not compare to the MJ version. This year Lenny headed back into the studio to finish the song adding new guitars, drums & vocals. It was clear upon first listen back in January that AD was a great song, but sadly this final version is not as good as the original. The funk styled Bass lines on the verse sections are good but the new guitar parts on the chorus detract from its impact and the riff sounds like it is ripped off from Led Zepp's `Moby Dick'. This aside, the power and quality of the song still shine through and AD stands as a modern MJ classic. 9/10

Behind The Mask (5:03)
Written by Michael Jackson, Chris Mosdell, Ryuichi Sakamoto
Produced by Michael Jackson, John McClain

Originally appearing on Yellow Magic Orchestra's 1979 album Sold State Survivor, BTM is a cute Electropop track ft. robot vocals and cryptic lyrics. During the Thriller sessions MJ recorded a new version of the song with extra lyrics he had written about a two timing woman but legal difficulties prevented the songs release. Gregg Phillinganes (MJ/Eric Clapton keyboards) released a cover of the MJ version on his 1985 album `Pulse' and later Eric Clapton released the second cover of the MJ version on his 1986 album `August'. Here for the first time the original MJ version is unveiled with an updated sound that retains a 1980's flavour (robot vocals/saxophone) while still sounding current. The track begins with crowd chants of -Michael- from the live broadcast Bucharest date of the Dangerous world tour on October 1st 1992. The crowd sounds bring a nice ambience to the start of the track, but when they return later on as MJ interacts with the audience they are unnecessary and spoil the song a little. Overall this is a pretty good but of the 7 genuine tracks this is the weakest and there's no way MJ would have released this on a future album. 6/10

Much Too Soon (2:49)
Written by Michael Jackson
Produced by Michael Jackson, John McClain

Ending on a Thriller outtake, Much Too Soon is a tender acoustic ballad ft. a string section, accordion and gentle backing vocals. Coming in at under three minutes this one is short and sweet. On MTS the introspective/sensitive side of MJ's personality is on display similar to She's Out of My Life. Like BOF & TWYLM this one is another beautiful track but one minor complaint is that at 1:58 a slight crackle can be detected which really should have been removed and suggests a lazy production job. 8/10

So what are we actually getting here? The answer is- 2 new songs, 2 Invincible leftovers, 1 previously released song, 2 Thriller era leftovers and 3 songs that feature the vocals of an impersonator. Are we to really believe that MJ was at one point working on this set of tracks as his next studio album? This is what the estate are telling us in the `Michael' press release, but since they are also telling us it's The King of Pop who is singing on the three Cascio tracks I think this can be safely dismissed as fantasy. It was well known that it his final years MJ had been working with modern day Pop/R&B hitmakers such as Akon, Neyo & will.i.am and was always re-iterating to them how the music they created together had to represent an new level greatness and be bigger and better than anything that had previously been done. MJ was always the guy who wanted to scale new heights and break boundaries to create something unique and spectacular. Why then would he want to resurrect a one dimensional, Thriller era leftover such as BTM? There's no way MJ intended this set of songs or anything similar to this to be his next studio album if for no other reason that as a collection of tracks `Michael' is nowhere near as strong as any previous album.

Considering the absence of stronger unreleased noughties material such as `Xscape', and the inclusion of a previously released song & discarded early 80's tracks, it's clear that Sony had no intention of compiling the closest representation of MJ's next studio album, or even the best album of unreleased material they could. Instead it would appear their plan is to drip feed us what new music MJ did leave behind over as many releases as possible alongside 20 yr old leftovers & songs which MJ may or may not have written featuring the vocals on an impersonator (word has it the Cascio's turned over 12 songs to the estate). Not collecting all the strongest unreleased Noughties material on one album was to be expected, but the fact that several of these songs feature the vocals of an impersonator/s which the estate claim to be Michael is one step too far. It is an insult to the fans and MJ's legacy. In light of this latest seedy development it's no wonder MJ himself had such disdain for Sony, but I don't think anyone would have thought they'd sink this low.

Sony and the estate claim to have hired audio experts who analyzed the tracks fans accused of featuring an impersonator. These experts supposedly confirmed the vocals on the tracks to be MJ. But since Sony have issued no proof of this occurrence we can consider this news as worthless as the Cascio songs. Even without the multiple testimonials from the Jacksons claiming the Cascio songs to be fake, the vocals on these tracks are instantly recognizable to any longtime fan as not belonging to MJ. OK, let's talk positives. The good stuff that is on this release is very good. Best of Joy and the finished version of TWYLM stand as two of MJ's greatest ever songs. Another Day is great as is Much Too Soon but I'd preferred to have seen these on ultimate editions of Invincible & Thriller respectively. The sheer diversity of all 7 tracks showcases MJ's amazing talent so despite this release being a rather contrived compilation of odds and ends mixed with a couple of genuine new songs it still makes for compelling listening.

For those wondering what became of the highly anticipated songs MJ created with will.i.am from 2006-2008, Will decided that since MJ was a perfectionist, and since he can no longer grant the songs his blessing he will not release them. Interestingly Will holds the music for these songs, while the estate now holds the vocals. Let's hope Will changes his mind about this in the future. MJ is now dead and what new music he did leave behind should released the RIGHT WAY- for the benefit of his children and the fans, else I fear the estate will just build new music around these vocals and release an inferior product. Back to `Michael'- It's a crime that the whole experience is soured by three songs that feature the vocals of an imposter. Buy the seven authentic songs as downloads from amazon- don't buy the CD because if you do you're telling Sony it's OK for them to continue lying to everyone and conning the fans. Despite the few amazing tracks on offer the overall feeling after listening to `Michael' is one of being slightly underwhelmed. Discounting the fake tracks, if any other artist put out this album I'd rate it much higher just by token of how exceptionally good a few of the songs are. But for a `Michael Jackson album' it is simply not good enough. Of course, this isn't really a Michael Jackson album.

A side note about the artwork- award winning artist Kadir Nelson was approached by MJ several years ago to create a piece that detailed his career. The project was never brought to fruition but after MJ's passing the estate contacted Kadir and the mural was completed. Like the album itself, the artwork is brilliant in parts but overall a bit of a mess. The focal point of the piece- a 1980's MJ wearing gold armor being crowned by two cherubs is great, but the background collage of the gloved ones adult solo career is cluttered and unorganized. The saddest aspect of this release is not the fans getting screwed, or even MJ's legacy being tainted, it's that long time friends whom MJ had known for decades-Teddy Riley, the Cascio family & others have sold him out and endorsed a bunch of fake songs for financial gain. These people have no honor - no integrity. I'll leave the final words to the King of Pop his lyrics to `Money' from 1995 say it best-

I'll never betray or deceive you my friend but...
If you show me the cash
Then I will take it
If you tell me to cry
Then I will fake it
If you give me a hand
Then I will shake it
You'll do anything for money...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a fitting tribute to a Brilliant Artist., January 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Michael (Audio CD)
I absolutely adored Michael; and though the songs on this CD are okay, they were Not up to Michael's usual standards. I don't believe he would have released these songs; they weren't polished enough to carry his brand. The entire CD seems like someone raided copies of Michael's practice sessions, and pushed out a hurried copy. I will of course keep the CD because I loved him, but I am disappointed that the powers that be released such an anemic "tribute" to such a genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, February 16, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Michael (Audio CD)
The more I listen, the more I love this album. The KING rules even from beyond. Nobody could beatbox better than the King as evidenced on Hollywood Tonight. I especially like Hold My Hand and I Can't Make It Another Day. The album has excellent production and engineering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Download the 7 real songs, do NOT buy full CD, December 17, 2010
This review is from: Michael (Audio CD)
7 great songs from The Greatest Entertainer. Please, please, please only download the real ones! Do not purchase the full CD. Boycott "Keep Your Head Up", "Monster", and "Breaking News". Show Sony that we are not going to stand for their B.S.! Michael is not here to physically fight against these gangsters, it is up to the fans to let it be known!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not up to MJ standards, December 17, 2010
This review is from: Michael (Audio CD)
I expected much better. I doubt MJ would have allowed this album to be released if he were alive. It is so NOT up to his standards. He's probably spinning in his grave.

I also suspect that if MJ had wanted these songs released, they would have been released.

I suggest you just buy a few songs off the album, not the whole thing. Hold my Hand is a great song and video, but it's incomprehensible that there is so little of MJ in both works...

There is one song (forget which one) which really does not sound like Michael Jackson's voice. I can see where the controversy comes from. No way is that voice recognizable as MJ.

The Michael Jackson estate is turning the artist into a brand and to hell with quality as long as they rake in the money.

Michael Jackson had magic -- the people who put this album together don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I would have given it 5 stars if all 10 songs had Michael's vocals on it.., December 18, 2010
By 
This review is from: Michael (Audio CD)
..but, sadly this is not the case. "Keep Your Head Up", "Breaking News" and "Monster" contain no Michael vocals whatsoever.

It's a real sad situation for MJ's legacy, seeing it being manipulated like this by the Cascios and $ONY. A real fan can tell the difference. Just listen to the other 7 tracks on the album, or the rest of Michael's discography.

Once again, $ONY releases a product with Michael's name on it just to cash in, without considering the millions of fans around the world.

You disgust me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such An Amazing Talent., December 22, 2010
By 
liw "ik" (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Michael (Audio CD)
MICHAEL is, once again, phenomenal. The vocals show new growth in his style. There's a touch of his old school sound with a touch of today's musical elements. He's always been able to adapt and impress, and even though he oversaw this project from the heavens, I think he would approve of the quality. If your a fan, or aspire to be, give this one a chance, it's really got some great grooves, touching lyrics and moving melodies. It's Ear Ecstasy. Thank you Michael Jackson and thanks to the Estate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bitter sweet, December 15, 2010
This review is from: Michael (Audio CD)
In one way this music should never have been released because MJ was such a perfectionist - as someone who has listened to his music for nearly 20 years I know instinctively that all tracks except Hold My Hand MJ would not want released as 'finished' tracks on a proper solo album. He might want them released as 'demos' and the like. Hold My Hand however, he would have been happy with as a first single as he always went for those mid tempo songs for a first release ( a sort of a warm up) - Girl is Mine is an example on Thriller.

On the other hand, they have been released and therefore deserve to be given the credit they deserve as unfinished pieces of work; there are some very good tracks that could have been 'album tracks' such as Breaking News, Keep your head up, Much too Soon and Hollywood Tonight. If they had been strong enough finished pieces then Another Day and Monster might have been singles.

Behind the Mask needs singling out as a fantastic throw back to the early 80s funky MJ - its incredibly infectious and interesting to listen to; vocals are great, Yellow Magic Orchestra sample is so cool - if you are an 70s or 80s kid this will take you back! You can also see how this band influenced alot of MJs mid 80s work. However, there is a reason MJ never released this before; dont know what because I love it but probably because it didnt fit on the Bad album - it isnt 2010 and MJ always wanted to be a pioneer..one of the reasons why if you listen to 2001 Invincible Album it sounds as fresh as anything Rhianna, Black Eyed Peas, Alicia Keys or Jayz put out today.

So altogether; Michael is comforting for fans who just want to hear his voice on something they havent already heard a hundred times. Its interesting for general music lovers just because MJ is an important pop artist in culture and if you are going to have an opinion you need to be familiar. Some of the songs are cool enough to release anyway. However, there is no point judging it next to Thriller, Bad, Dangerous, Off the Wall, History, Invincilbe or even Blood on the Dance Floor because it isnt made by MJ..so it isnt an MJ album. It is an ode to a much missed and loved artist by a money spinning Sony music, an ambitious Estate that want to cement MJs legacy, a handful of music industry talent who worked with MJ and want to contribute to that legacy. So to conclude; if you listen to the album with this context in your head and dont try to compare it to an actual MJ album then it is a brilliant buy - great listen and will enhance your music collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Michael
Michael by Michael Jackson (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.