Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What more can be said about the great one
Being a fan of the game but a Knicks fan, I can say this was a decent read about Jordans career. I always had great respect for the man and think he is the best basketball player of all time. This book will let you see in writing what he did over the years. Well put together by the author and worthwhile for anyone even those who are not fans.
Published on June 19, 2000 by William H. Gallagher

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Give Me More!
A quick and easy read about one of our true sports phenomonons. This book leaves us wanting more, infact when I finished my reaction was that now, I wanted to read a book about Michael Jordan.
Published on July 8, 2000 by Chris Nixon-Giles


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What more can be said about the great one, June 19, 2000
Being a fan of the game but a Knicks fan, I can say this was a decent read about Jordans career. I always had great respect for the man and think he is the best basketball player of all time. This book will let you see in writing what he did over the years. Well put together by the author and worthwhile for anyone even those who are not fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Michael Jordan Speaks, March 26, 2003
Many people know Michael Jordan as a legend, but did you know that even this legend has failed. As a sophomore in high school, Michael was cut from the varsity basketball team. Though he may have had thoughts of giving up, it inspired him to work even harder. Michael Jordan Speaks by Janet Lowey tells the story of Michael's life, and what obstacles he has overcome. Throughout the book, Michael faces many struggles, not just physically but emotionally. This sports superstar had to deal with the murder of his father, his business (Jordan), and entertaining the fans of the Chicago Bulls. No matter how bad the problem looked, he never gave up.
Follow Michael Jordan through the ups and downs of being the worlds most known person. See what it's like from growing up in a small town in North Carolina to packing NBA stadiums in almost every city he goes to. Michael has a storybook of a life, from what the general public knows. Find out what conflicts Michael came upon on his journey to the top.
Michael faces many challenges throughout his life. The most difficult challenge brought upon the superstar was the murder of his father. Though Michael did retire from the NBA after his fathers' murder, he didn't just give up. He needed a break from the spotlight while he got his emotions in sorts. Later he did return to the NBA, but in my mind that isn't even close to giving up, because he returned to the Bulls to win three Championships in a row. Michael also faced some trouble with his gambling problems. Michael denies that he has ever had a gambling problem, though many NBA officials beg to differ. Reporters have tried to get him in trouble with the contract he signed with the NBA in reference to gambling. In the end the NBA couldn't try Michael for anything because he would make bets on legal things, such as a private golf game, or a card game. Throughout the whole conflict, Michael never lost his cool to any reporter, though many reports goal in life was to try to get Michael to explode at them just to get a good story. Michael hasn't once lost his cool in the public eye, because he believes that he is someone who kids look up to. He wants to give out a positive image, so that kids will follow his lead of being a polite and respected person.
Janet Lowe took a different type of approach to writing this book. She based the book on quotes that Michael has said, and then went off on a tangent to tell his life story. It is a different type of read, but it is interesting to see what Michael is feeling in his quotes, compared to what is happening in his life. It took me a couple pages to get used to the style, but it is an interesting way to look at his life.
Through all the ups and downs in his life, Michael never once gave up or lost his cool. He kept his eyes on his goal, and remembered his role in society as a role model. Kids look up to him, and he realized it, so he wanted to set a good example for the kids to follow. Nothing was handed to Michael on a silver platter, he had to work hard and never give up to achieve the level he was at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Give Me More!, July 8, 2000
By 
A quick and easy read about one of our true sports phenomonons. This book leaves us wanting more, infact when I finished my reaction was that now, I wanted to read a book about Michael Jordan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent competitor, November 18, 2003
By A Customer
Michael Jordan Speaks is a very good book because Michael lets you know what he went through as he looks back at it all. As I read it I kept on thinking to myself whoa!. Mike had that God- given talent that comes naturally and he was determined to become a better player. He started to put a lot of work in and had that ability to make it. Micheal said "It's not how you start, it's how you finish." "It's not what's on you, it's what's in you." The stuff that he went through I didn't think that he would be able to conquer it. Mikes words made me think positive and how things in life will work out. His sophomore year he faced a bad thing that he felt like not playing anymore. He got cut from the basketball team. Micheal's coach felt like he wasn't ready, so he worked at it. As time went by money started to come and people were amazed on how this boy turned out to blossom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars muwhahahaaaahaa (just started readin), October 30, 2002
By 
jason (Mormon-ville (utah :\)) - See all my reviews
I just started reading the book, spenbt about 20 minutes on it, im on page like 60 something . But its aight, gives facts and true stories about his life. Pretty tight, you find out soem interesting stuff, like he NEVER has had a job his entire life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good reading, July 31, 2012
By 
Ron M (Buffalo, New York United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Michael Jordan Speaks: Lessons from the World's Greatest Champion (Paperback)
A strong and interesting story about a king of basketball in an easy read. strongly recomended for young Jordan fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Michael Jordan Speaks: Lessons from the World's Greatest Champion
Michael Jordan Speaks: Lessons from the World's Greatest Champion by Janet Lowe (Paperback - January 22, 2001)
$22.95 $16.07
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.