Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Nothing But Thieves All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Valentine's Day Cards Bring a little greenery into your home Amazon Gift Card Offer jstfd6 jstfd6 jstfd6  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Lisa Loeb AMO Winter Sports on Amazon.com Sale

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars11
Price:$12.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 9, 2009
I watched and taped this program when it originally aired in the early 1980s. As a fan of trains (and all rail transport), I literally wore out the VHS tape from overuse! I realized that what was most appealling was not only the great cinematography and witty presentation by Michael Palin but the beautiful and haunting music by Ian Lynn. He masterfully matches the music to the movement of trains and landscape scenery.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2008
Interesting semi-biography on Hemmingway; an up-close view of places where he wrote and what he wrote about. Lots of laughs in between.
Older (25 years ago?) look at Ireland and great treat for train buffs.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2008
Both the Hemingway and Train Spotter docs are wonderful. I saw both of these on PBS when they were first aired, and I am very happy that they are finally getting a DVD release. The Train Spotter documentary was available earlier on a very hard to find VHS.

Get them while they last!
0Comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is an excellent presentation of forgotten trains as we travel the length of Britton and Ireland in two rail journeys, in 1980 and in 1994. We travel through time.

Chapters:
CONFESSIONS OF A TRAIN SPOTTER
DERRY TO KERRY

One of the fun things is even of the trains look a tad antique so does this presentation with old time technology and even cameras with film. The landscape that the trains go through is breath taking. We also are entertained with old stories of trains and their surroundings. We get to see the Dublin National Library and other hot spots as Michael Palin looks for his ancestors.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2009
Hemingway Adventure: Quite different from the other Palin series I've seen (80 Days, Full Circle, Himalaya). Less of the point-to-point urgency in this one, and as a result it's more relaxed; and he goofs around more. There's some pretty funny stuff here. I just got through reading Hemingway's "Sun Also Rises" so it was good timing and interesting to see some of the sights and so forth. Overall pretty good, but some parts I found rather dull. Much prefer Full Circle and some of the others.

Great Railway Journeys: Mostly this is for train fiends. I watched a bit of it but then bailed.
0Comment7 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2015
LOVE Michael Palin's travels and this one doesn't disappoint. The Hemingway disc is interesting but my personal favorite is the Great Railway Journeys, being a long time train enthusiast (and one time employee).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2015
I didn't realize it was an older film. Mainly just purchased it to have my M.P. collection complete
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2015
can't go wrong with michael palin, top class as always.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2014
GOOD NARRATION, GOOD INFO, IN GENERAL A GOOD FILM.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2015
Information and beautiful!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse