Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rhyming children's picturebook contrasting pro-Earth green-caped crusader Michael Recycle against his nemesis
The whimsical adventures of Michael Recycle continue in Michael Recycle Meets Litterbug Doug, a rhyming children's picturebook contrasting pro-Earth green-caped crusader Michael Recycle against his nemesis, the slovenly Litterbug Doug who leaves stinky garbage wherever he goes. How can Michael Recycle show Litterbug Doug the error of his ways? "But Doug, don't you care /...
Published on May 18, 2009 by Midwest Book Review

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No originality
In this sequel to Michael Recycle, he meets Litterbug Doug, a kid who doesn't want to be clean or recycle. Basically Michael Recycle is the good guy, and Litterbug Doug is the bad guy. The good guy reforms the bad guy, and all is well. I felt like I had heard this story before, and the prose in some areas didn't work for me. I haven't read the first Michael Recycle, so I...
Published on June 13, 2009 by Shannon M. Mcgee


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A rhyming children's picturebook contrasting pro-Earth green-caped crusader Michael Recycle against his nemesis, May 18, 2009
This review is from: Michael Recycle Meets Litterbug Doug (Hardcover)
The whimsical adventures of Michael Recycle continue in Michael Recycle Meets Litterbug Doug, a rhyming children's picturebook contrasting pro-Earth green-caped crusader Michael Recycle against his nemesis, the slovenly Litterbug Doug who leaves stinky garbage wherever he goes. How can Michael Recycle show Litterbug Doug the error of his ways? "But Doug, don't you care / that the litter you've hurled / is rotting and reeking, / polluting our world? // It's hard to believe, / but I guess it depends: / do you really want rats / and not people as friends?" The whimsical color illustrations add the perfect touch to this enthralling adventure with a positive, pro-recycling environmental message. Also highly recommended is the previous book in the series, "Michael Recycle".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stories for Children Magazine 5 Star Review, December 22, 2009
This review is from: Michael Recycle Meets Litterbug Doug (Hardcover)
Reviewed by: Wayne Walker

Would you like to live on the top of a garbage dump? Most people would prefer not to do so, but near a clean little town in a beautiful valley, there was a mountain of waste which was the home of Litterbug Doug. No one wanted to go near, except a hundred-odd rats and two fat tabby cats. It was a rotting, moldy, smelly, stinky mess! But then one day there came a green-caped crusader named Michael Recycle. What did he do? And did Doug learn anything? We all need to help the environment by wasting less and recycling more. The rhyming text by Ellie Bethel and humorous illustrations by Alexandra Colombo of this sequel to Michael Recycle (2008) will help to reinforce this important fact in the minds of children and to promote the idea of working together to protect our planet. In the back there are two pages of trash facts from Doug, which are based on information from the U. S. Environmental Protection Agency, and two more of Go Green Tips from Michael himself. Michael Recycle Meets Litterbug Doug, which is printed on recycled paper, of course, will prove both interesting and useful for youngsters, teachers, and parents alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Micheal Recycle sequel, March 21, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Michael Recycle Meets Litterbug Doug (Hardcover)
This is a continuation story about recycling. The graphics are just as vivid and the storyline and emphasis is easy to follow and it educates children how they can be more environmentally conscience. Very preschool age appropriate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice sequel, May 2, 2009
This review is from: Michael Recycle Meets Litterbug Doug (Hardcover)
I already had Michael Recycle, and I really like this second book that introduces a different character. Doug is converted to a "clean, green" way of life after seeing what litter does to the environment. Nice way to convey the concept of taking care of the earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book to talk about recycling., December 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Michael Recycle Meets Litterbug Doug (Hardcover)
I used this book and several others to introduce recycling, how to recycling, and why we recycling in my lesson plan. The story line is great: Michael Recycle meets Litterbug Doug who likes to litter but does not know why he has any friends. Michael Recycle points out the litter that Litterbug Doug is unhealthy and that a lot of items can be recycled to make new things. Litterbug Doug becomes Litter Police Doug and he ends up with lots of friends. The pictures are very colorful and the story line is one that students of all ages can relate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Cute!, April 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Michael Recycle Meets Litterbug Doug (Hardcover)
I read this to my son's second grade class as an Earth Day read aloud. They all loved it!! They enjoyed the , the whole story, and great pictures. Also for that age group a "Super Hero" helping to change the lifestyle of a litterbug. made this a big hit!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars so quirky and fun to read!, February 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Michael Recycle Meets Litterbug Doug (Hardcover)
my husband and i just love these michael recycle books. my son is smart and quirky and loves them like we do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun to read with a good lesson that slips under the radar, June 23, 2009
This review is from: Michael Recycle Meets Litterbug Doug (Hardcover)
What a great way to introduce kiddos to recycling. Charming illustrations, sing-song rhymes. Fun to read with a good lesson that slips under the radar. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No originality, June 13, 2009
This review is from: Michael Recycle Meets Litterbug Doug (Hardcover)
In this sequel to Michael Recycle, he meets Litterbug Doug, a kid who doesn't want to be clean or recycle. Basically Michael Recycle is the good guy, and Litterbug Doug is the bad guy. The good guy reforms the bad guy, and all is well. I felt like I had heard this story before, and the prose in some areas didn't work for me. I haven't read the first Michael Recycle, so I don't know how that one reads, but I had hoped for more originality considering the subject of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Michael Recycle Meets Litterbug Doug
Michael Recycle Meets Litterbug Doug by Ellie Bethel (Hardcover - March 31, 2009)
$15.99 $11.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.