Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Adele egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty Gifts Gifts Under $50 Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Black Friday Deals Black Friday Video Game Deals Outdoor Deals on HTL

Color: Black/GreyChange
Price:$57.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
on September 14, 2009
I just finished 2000 miles (rear tire) on one of these and couldn't be happier. I bought another one for replacement and could not mount it onto my wheel. Upon closer inspection, I noticed that this Krylion that I had just bought had a slightly thicker bead than my other one (bought about 1 year ago) and was made in Taiwan instead of France. I ended up putting this tire on a different bike since I could not mount it on my Campy wheel (after destroying 3 tubes and 3 tire levers). I'm sure the "new" Krylion will otherwise be as good as my last one, but I don't think I will buy these again- at least not for this bike.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on February 3, 2007
I love this tire ! It handles better than the older carbon tires and will grip the road on tight turns.I can go 60 or 70 miles in a day and never worry about a flat.Great colors as well!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on November 4, 2011
Bought a pair of Krylions about eight months ago for my commuter bike with Bontrager wheels. They are a freakin' wonderful tire!--easy to install, no flats, smooth ride, fast ride. I have about 1000 miles on this first pair.
Fast forward to this month, I decide to purchase a pair for my, and my wife's, road bikes. I had read several reviews on other bike component sites which mentioned that the Krylions were nearly impossible to mount on some rims. I decide to buy them anyway, as they've worked so well on my commuter bike.

The new Krylions arrive in the mail, I install them on my road bike, they are a bit tight but I am able to mount them by hand on my rims; Mavic Ksyrium Equipes.
I now start to mount the first Krylion on my wife's road bike with Oval W wheels. The new Krylions are nowhere near close to fitting the rim. -- I scratch my head look at the size, "yup, 700x23," I look at her old cheap Vittoria Zaffiro tires, "yup, they are also 700x23."

Long story short, 90 minutes, two nasty bloody cuts on my hand and one popped tube later I still cannot get these Krylions on this &*$@$*+ Oval rim!! I scratch my head again, curse some more, and put her old Vittoria tire back on, by hand, in less than 5 minutes.

Next day I take the Krylions to my local bike mechanic/guru. This guy has been in the bike trade over 30 years. I hand him the new Krylions and my wife's wheels and, after 15 minutes, the Krylions have this veteran bike mechanic cussing like a sailor.....they still won't mount!!!
My mechanic pulls out the heavy iron; a sliding manual tire changing bar, a homemade, smaller version of what you might use on a motorcycle tire; the Krylions still will -NOT- mount.

Finally, after 45minutes of employing sheer willpower,the manual tire bar, and some tire levers, the first Krylion mounts the Oval rim. Another 40 minutes, and one popped tube,later my mechanic mounts the other Krylion on the rear wheel. By this time he's beet red and soaked with sweat. He says that this is the most trouble he's had with a set of tires since the mid '80's!!! I'm terrified that my wife is going to get a flat out on some country road. There is no earthly way she, or I, will be able to change a tube with these Krylions on her rims out in the field.

So, be warned, these tires may not fit your wheels.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on June 26, 2007
with less than 100 miles on a tire had a small rock/pebble/something created a blowout in the sidewall while riding on pavement. They may be nice, light and puncture resistant but my original tires lasted for probably 1500 miles before I got these to replace them. If you buy these carry a sidewall patch (duck tape/dollar bill) and a spare tube (or two). I will probably replace my blown out Krylion with something else......
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on March 13, 2011
I weigh 165 lb. and commute 33 miles/day roundtrip from San Jose to Fremont, CA, putting around 7000mi/year on my Madone. I ride with the Pro3 on the front and for the past 6 months with the Krylion on my rear. I bought this for the rear because it's touted as a long life tire and the Pro3 was flatting too easily (no problem with the Pro3 on the front though).

I have 2 problems with this tire.

First, it's extremely tight to put on put. Unless you have the strength to tear a telephone book in half forget about trying to flip this tire over the rim without tire levers (this is something I miss from when I was using Bontragers). This is annoying since I often have to replace the inner tube after dark, and it's not easy to see the tube hanging over the rim. Hence, I've punctured several inner tubes while replacing them because the tube gets caught between the rim and the lever.

Second, when the tire does flat it seems to do so explosively. I'm pumping it to 110 psi so I'm not overinflating. However, in just 6 months I'm on my third Krylion. The first tire had a slice that destroyed it. That's just bad luck, but the tear seemed to go well beyond where the slicing took place. The second tire had only a puncture which a patch on the tube should have been able to fix, but again the tear went well beyond the initial point of failure and the tire was destroyed. I'm using up the last Krylion in my stock and I won't be buying this tire again. My feeling with this tire is that the protective strips have poor tearing resistance.

My next rear tire will be the Continental Grand Prix 4-Season which has 2 protective layers of vectran. Hopefully this has enough strength to handle the rigors of city commuting.

9/10/11 UPDATE: My third Krylion (rear tire) was once again destroyed after about 700 miles in same manner as the others. It exploded and ripped beyond the intial point of failure in what should have been a routine flat. The Continental Grand Prix 4-Season has had no flats since I've switched over 2000 miles ago, and I've hit some hard debris. The Continental, being a winter tire, is stickier and doesn't roll as fast as the Krylion, but as a commuter I'm more interested in not getting flats. I think if Michelin were ever to replace the puncture breaker of the Krylion with vectran that would be my choice for a rear tire because I did like the way it rolled.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on December 31, 2006
I found the performance of these Michelin tires to be adequate. There doesn't seem to be too much in the way of rolling resistance and they grip the road well. The road seems to have eaten these tires up...I have less than 1,000 miles on it and the tires are full of holes--that may say something about the quality of roads out here in Hawaii. I'm getting a flat every time I ride. My next tire will be something a little sturdier.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on May 1, 2011
I got three of the 23mm from Amazon and they are the ones made in France. I know some people have complained about some supposed problems with Michelin moving to Thailand and the tires from there - although Michelin says they moved their own equipment and they are the same...

They weighed about 245g, 250g, and 248g. They are look basically like thick versions of the Pro3Race.

Anyway, from the first ride on them they feel similar to the Pro3Race. I have ordered up some of the red and yellow ones from PBK because the Amazon prices for the colored ones are very high. We'll see if they are made in France or the new ones. I presume the Amazon tires must have been older inventory.

It's obvious from the extra weight and the feel that these guys will be a lot tougher than the Pro3Race, and as the feel is similar they are 5 stars.

Right now I have a Krylion on the back and a Pro3Race still on the front. We'll see how they last over time, but first experience is that they are very nice tires.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on July 16, 2010
These tires last longer than the pro-3-race and are less prone to flats. They can handle small cuts as well, without being destroyed like the pro-3-race. They flat fairly infrequently, but they do flat. A heavier training tire like the Maxxis re-fuse will pretty much never flat, but they are heavier as well, and they have ribs for better traction, adding rolling resistance. The krylion is a good in-between and has treated me well for many years. flats increase with frequency as the tire ages, but they last way beyond the life span of a pro_3_race, which have failed for me in various ways such as side wall blow outs after scuffing an edge, and small cuts leading to tire blowout. If you are racing, these may be a bit slower, but you'll cross the line before someone with a racing tire blowout.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on September 15, 2010
I replaced the original tires on my Cannondale Synapse with these tires. I couldn't be happier. I haven't even had a flat when I should have (glass, sharp stones, etc). These tires are a great compromise between racing tires and protection against flats. I don't know why some of the other reviewers have had problems with durability. Mine have over 1800 miles on them & are holding up great. I'm pleasantly surprised at the terrific durability.

Like another reviewer, I did have a tough time getting them on my rims, but I just assumed it was due to the tire being stiffer to offer better puncture resistance. I was so impressed, that I bought another pair & put them on my wife's bike.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on September 29, 2011
I've been riding on these tires for about a year now and they're still holding up great. I've had only a few (<5) flats in this time, which is impressive in the goathead-infested Albuquerque. The rolling resistance is the lowest of any tires I've ridden on, but they still hold the road great.

Compared to Gatorskins:
The Krylions are as puncture resistant, if not more.
The Krylions have a smoother ride.
The Krylions give a faster ride.

I'll certainly buy these again, if they ever wear out.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers who viewed this also viewed

Michelin Pro4 Endurance Tire
$34.99 - $1,000.00

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.