Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mick Taylor
I bought the vinyl in 1979 and wore it out. The cassete copy I made eventually died. Now I have this on CD. Mick Taylor proves once and for all he was the most talented musician the Stones ever had. Too bad Keith Richards' petty jealousy didn't allow Mick Taylor to stay with this bad. It is evident Goats Head Soup and It's Only Rock and Roll, particulary the cut...
Published on November 13, 2000

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solo stone showcases virtuoso guitar talents
Mick Taylor contributed his considerable talents as a guitarist and as a multi-instrumentalist for the Rolling Stones circa 1968 through 1974 when he unexpectedly quit to pursue a solo career, which never seemed to get off the ground. This 1992 release is suprisingly good. Athough it suffers somewhat from some less-than-inspiring songwriting and only average vocals,...
Published on July 27, 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mick Taylor, November 13, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Mick Taylor (Audio CD)
I bought the vinyl in 1979 and wore it out. The cassete copy I made eventually died. Now I have this on CD. Mick Taylor proves once and for all he was the most talented musician the Stones ever had. Too bad Keith Richards' petty jealousy didn't allow Mick Taylor to stay with this bad. It is evident Goats Head Soup and It's Only Rock and Roll, particulary the cut Time Waits for No One (during the recording of which Mick set down his guitar and walked out of the studio) were Mick Taylor inspired works. Back in those days , however, Jagger and Richards slapped their names on everything the band did so Taylor never got the credit he deserved.
From the opening anthem Leather Jacket(a song no doubt aimed at Mick Jagger)all the way trough the final cut, Taylor showcases his talents, playing virtually every instrument on the CD. For something refreshing and a throw back to real music by a truly talented musician, this is a must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars underrated gem, February 2, 2000
By 
Tom "tomintoronto" (Toronto,, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mick Taylor (Audio CD)
I think that this is a very easy album to overlook because its weaknesses appear so obvious: most of Taylor's songs are good, not great, and his voice is, at best, thin, and, at worst, a liability. What Taylor is good at, however, is playing guitar. His solos are models of economy, sophistication and tension. For sheer beauty, the two instrumental pieces which close the album represent the very best of the kind of fusion where rock incorporates jazz, rather than the other way around. I only wish he had continued in that direction rather than concentrate on blues exclusively, which seems to be what he has done since this release. Of all the classic guitarists that came out of the British pop scene, he remains the most underrated, the most subtle, and the most elusive. This album, even with its faults, wears better than any of, say, Jeff Beck's works, from the same period. And I like Beck a lot. Taylor, though, you can get lost in for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my all time favorite albumns, June 5, 2000
By 
David Kinny (Louisville, Ky) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mick Taylor (Audio CD)
This is truly an excelent albumn. Mick Taylor songwriting, guitar playing and vocals are all superb. Mick Taylor is one of the most expressive guitar players I have heard. I've owned a tape of this for the last 20 years, and every so often, I get it out and listen to it. I always enjoy it. The music has such depth. Particularly the instrumental songs (3 of 8 on the albumn). Spanish/A minor is a masterpiece of mixing guitars, piano, and synthisizers with changing themes and varying intensities. Leather Jacket and Broken Hands are excellent rock and roll songs. My cassette tape gave out on me a few weeks ago, and I bought a CD of this through Amazom.com. It sounds even better on CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dated, but excellent, March 23, 2002
By 
Greekfreak (Pusan Korea (South)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mick Taylor (Audio CD)
A friend of mine from back home sent me this album for the purpose of showcasing what he believes is musical brilliance, and generally an underrated artist.
Upon leaving the Stones (for a myriad of reasons, none of which are particularly important), it wouldn't have taken a genius to figure out that Mick had some blues of his own, some great songs of his own to simply kick out (as well as kick back). So he played the crap out of it, and what we're left with is a great Stones album without the Stones.
"Leather Jacket", "Baby, I Want You", and "Broken Hands" are killer tunes just WAITING to be given the Stones treatment, and if Mick's musicianship lacks a peer, his lyrics and vocal delivery are found wanting. He's a capable enough singer, but the abundance of instrumentals backs me up on this fact.
The production of the album dates it a little, but since the songs are so good, you can't let that ruin your appreciation of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HOT POOP!, December 23, 2002
This review is from: Mick Taylor (Audio CD)
When Mick Taylor left the Rolling Stones he took their heart and soul with him. Nothing they've done without him rocks as hard as Broken Hands and the country blues of Alabama contains some incredible slide guitar that would have fit perfectly on Exile On Main Street. Gorgeous playing throughout this wonderful album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unknown, Underated, Unheralded, UNREAL, April 7, 2005
This review is from: Mick Taylor (Audio CD)
One of my all time sleeper albums. Others mentioned Alabama, Leather Jacket, and Broken Hands; all of which are excellent tunes well played.

But the revelatory songs are Giddy-Up, Spanish and A Minor. I don't know whether they can be described as "fusion" or "guitar god instrumentals" but they take me to a distant place inside my mind.

Melodic and elegant, with echoes of jazz, rock and divine inspiration, Taylor's guitar transports your mind and heart to another space, another time.

Not necessarily music for Stones fans, though the influence is there. If you like melodic guitar improvisation (Oldfield, Rundgren, Beck, Metheny, Satriani) you will probably like this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solo stone showcases virtuoso guitar talents, July 27, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Mick Taylor (Audio CD)
Mick Taylor contributed his considerable talents as a guitarist and as a multi-instrumentalist for the Rolling Stones circa 1968 through 1974 when he unexpectedly quit to pursue a solo career, which never seemed to get off the ground. This 1992 release is suprisingly good. Athough it suffers somewhat from some less-than-inspiring songwriting and only average vocals, Taylor's guitar work is as tasteful as ever and that is reason enough to try this CD. The instrumental numbers, which are quite reminiscent of Jeff Beck's "Blow by Blow", showcase his brilliant use of tone and phrasing. Strictly as a guitarist, his abilities are probably equal to Eric Clapton but it seems doubtful he could ever rise to the songwriting or even vocal style Clapton has developed. Regardless, this CD offers some excellent guitar playing worth more than one listen. A must for fans of the Stones circa 1969-74.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Album From A Musician Who Should Have Had A Far More Successful Career, September 6, 2011
By 
Mark Anderson (Victoria, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mick Taylor (Audio CD)
This album, originally released in 1978, was Mick Taylor's first solo album after he left the Rolling Stones in 1974.

It's an excellent album. Despite the quality of this album, and many of Taylor's subsequent releases, Mick Taylor's post-Stones career has not had the major success that Taylor's talents deserved.

By some accounts, Taylor himself is largely responsible for his own lack of success but that still doesn't change the fact that he is still a great guitarist and more than adequate vocalist who can put out some great music when he wants to.

This album qualifies as some excellent music.

For those who aren't familiar with Mick Taylor, you might also want to check out his work with Carla Olsen, his work with the Rolling Stones and his pre-Stones recordings with John Mayall's Blues Breakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly amazing, August 2, 2012
This review is from: Mick Taylor (Audio CD)
Not a big fan of the leadoff track, "Leather Jacket." Lyrically and musically, it's actually pretty bad. But the next few songs alone, "Alabama" and "Slow Blues," are worth the price of the album. The former has some sweet slide and acoustic guitar, while the latter is a wonderful...what else, slow blues romp that is just mesmerizing.

Taylor's playing is jaw droppingly good on this album. His song writing is decent. His vocals are not bad. Much has been said about his decision to leave the Stones. Hearing this album makes a case for his departure. But it is a shame there are so few in his catalogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fine solo- debut from ex- stones guitarist, November 7, 2006
This review is from: Mick Taylor (Audio CD)
I bought this CD more than ten years ago - and I still listen to it - a sign of quality, huh? Being a "serious" Stones- fan; Ive checked out most of the solo- efforts by the past and present Stones; and Taylors work deserve (more) attention. While he today focuses solely on playing the blues, this - his first - solo album, is a blend of styles; rock, jazz, ballads - and of course, blues. My favorite track is by far "spanish/a minor"; a beautiful jazz- influenced intstrumental that is one of the most pleasant pieces of music Ive ever heard. Alone worth the price! Overall, a fine solo- debut from the ex- stones guitarist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mick Taylor
Mick Taylor by Mick Taylor (Audio CD - 1992)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.