Customer Reviews


141 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fun holiday release but not much difference from the 2001 DVD release
In 2001, Disney released "Mickey's Magical Christmas: Snowed In at the House of Mouse", a Christmas special from the House of Mouse TV Show. And like most Disney releases, once it's released, don't expect to see another release again for years. And in this case, 8 years later (2009) and right in time for the holidays, "Mickey's Magical Christmas: Snowed In at the House...
Published on November 4, 2009 by Dennis A. Amith (kndy)

versus
20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The details about this DVD, So you can judge for yourself!
Some people have hated this DVD, most actually, and a handful have been able to see the good points in this obviously flawed feature. No doubt, there was some false advertising involved, but it's really only the point that it has been referred to as an ALL NEW FEATURE. I've tried to write this review so many times, but it's always too long to be posted, so I'm going to...
Published on November 30, 2001 by Monty Moonlight


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fun holiday release but not much difference from the 2001 DVD release, November 4, 2009
In 2001, Disney released "Mickey's Magical Christmas: Snowed In at the House of Mouse", a Christmas special from the House of Mouse TV Show. And like most Disney releases, once it's released, don't expect to see another release again for years. And in this case, 8 years later (2009) and right in time for the holidays, "Mickey's Magical Christmas: Snowed In at the House of Mouse" is back.

This Christmas episode is about how all the Disney characters (characters from nearly every Disney animated film) are stranded at the House of Mouse (a night club) due to a snow storm. So, Mickey being the gracious host that he is, is trying to bring home that Christmas spirit and entertain his guest. The problem is that Donald Duck is not having a great time is like the scrooge at the Christmas party. So, Mickey tries to make Donald happy and entertain his guest by showing classic Disney animated shorts which include:

* Donald On Ice (1999) - Donald tries to learn to skate, while Huey, Dewey and Louie try to build a snowman. But unfortunately, Donald's inability to skate tends to ruin the triplets chance at building their snowman.
* Pluto's Christmas Tree (1952) -Mickey cuts down a Christmas Tree and doesn't know that the Chipmunks: Chip & Dale are living in the tree. Unfortunately, Chip & Dale tend to drive Pluto nuts and thus Pluto does what he can to get the Chipmunks.
* The Nutcracker (1999) - A young girl (played by Minnie Mouse) receives a present (which is a wooden mouse) and dreams for it to become real, so she can dance with him.
* Mickey's Christmas Carol (1983) - The popular Disney Christmas animated short features the story of Scrooge McDuck and how he's mean to everyone for Christmas until he learns a lesson from the Spirit of Christmas past.

VIDEO & AUDIO:

"Mickey's Magical Christmas: Snowed In a the House of Mouse" is an animated full-length feature that features nice, vibrant animation during the more modern "House of Mouse" television show. But each time the feature switches to the animated shorts, you get mixed results in terms of picture quality due to some of these animated shorts being over 30/50-years old. But overall, the classics due show a difference in animation quality but for those who enjoyed animation like "Mickey's Christmas Carol" or even the older classic animated short "Pluto's Christmas Tree", although not digitally remastered, these classics due hold up well on DVD decades later.

As for audio, "Mickey's Magical Christmas: Snowed In a the House of Mouse" is featured in DTS 5.1 and Dolby Digital 5.1. The series is primarily front and center channel driven and personally, I didn't notice any surround or LFE usage but dialogue is clear and understandable.

Subtitles are presented in English SDH.

SPECIAL FEATURES:

"Mickey's Magical Christmas: Snowed In at the House of Mouse" comes with the following special features:

* Premiere Episode of House of Mouse - (23:07) An episode of "House of Mouse" featuring various Disney characters from popular animated films visiting the House of Mouse nightclub. Meanwhile, Pete buys the building of where the House of Mouse is located and wants to shut down the cartoon club.
* The Sounds of Christmas - (2:33) A Disney sound engineer teaches children how to make sounds using objects and how they were utilized in certain animation.
* SingAlong "Deck the Halls" - (1:50) Karaoke SingAlong to "Deck the Halls" with animation from "Pluto's Christmas Tree".
* SingAlong Song "Sleigh Ride" - (1:57) Karaoke SingAlong to "Sleigh Ride" with animation from "Mickey's Christmas Carol".

JUDGMENT CALL:

I watched "Mickey's Magical Christmas: Snowed In at the House of Mouse" with my toddler and he absolutely loved it and wanted to watch it again. And as a holiday family feature, it is an entertaining release that will be fun, due to the number of Disney characters seen throughout the feature.

With that being said, for those who own the recent release of Walt Disney Animated Shorts Collection or other Disney releases probably have the animated shorts on previously released DVD's. Those who own the original release from 2001, there is really is nothing new on this DVD with the exception of the new trailers. In fact, if you are a fan who mainly wants this release for its holiday-related animated shorts, then you may want to check out the just released "Disney Animation Collection 7: Mickey's Christmas Carol" which comes with "Mickey's Christmas Carol", "Pluto's Christmas Tree" and two other Disney classics.

But with this release of "Mickey's Magical Christmas: Snowed In at the House of Mouse", if you are a "House of Mouse" fan, you do get the premiere episode of "House of Mouse" and other short entertaining holiday special features. I do admit that I wished that the DVD release had more interactivity like other Disney releases with games or something extra.

Overall, "Mickey's Magical Christmas: Snowed In at the House of Mouse" is entertaining for young and old as it does feature newer and older animation and if you don't own these animated shorts on another previously released Disney collection, it's worth checking out. But if you do have these shorts already, it's kind of hard to recommend it as the majority of the content in this feature are those classic shorts.

So, for parents who are looking for a Disney holiday release, as mentioned earlier, my son loved it and wanted to watch it again. So, yes it is an entertaining and fun Disney holiday release. I recommend Disney fans looking for a an animated holiday release to also purchase a copy of "Mickey's Twice Upon a Christmas" (2004), if you don't own it already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for the classic material, November 20, 2002
There have been dozens of film adaptations of "A Christmas Carol" -- including particularly good ones starring George C. Scott and Patrick Stewart. "Mickey's Christmas Carol" is one of my favorites. The Disney characters take the roles in Charles Dickens's classic story of greed, ghosts and redemption. This also has the significance of being the first cartoon to feature the Scrooge McDuck character, who was created and popularized by Carl Barks in the Disney comic books. He is voiced here, and in most later appearances, by Alan Young (alias Wilbur from "Mr. Ed".)
You can't find it alone on video or DVD, but last year it was released in part of an anthology movie, "Mickey's Magical Christmas: Snowed in at the House of Mouse." This movie is worth it for the Christmas Carol adaptation alone, but also has several new shorts and the 1952 classic "Pluto's Christmas Tree," that makes it worth picking up. The framing sequence is so-so -- a take on the "House of Mouse" cartoon show, but it's got nice bits and the Disney fans out there will appreciate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mickey's Magical Christmas - Snowed in at the House of Mouse, November 7, 2001
Curiosity won out when I was considering buying Mickey's Magical Christmas on DVD. I thought the idea to make an all star Christmas movie was a good one, I did not know at the time that a TV show of this existed. The animation is the quality of a TV show, but to see many characters that span Disney's long legacy is worth getting the video.
The movie centers around everyone trying to get Donald into the spirit, by showing old Christmas videos. Two of the 4 videos shown are recent, but the real gems are two old cartoons from my childhood. One is about Pluto vs Chip & Dale, when they sneak into Mickey's Christmas Tree and the other is "Mickey's Christmas Carol" (a title that I was hoping would have a DVD release one day, and it surprisingly came this week).
The DTS 5.1 Soundtrack isn't extraordinary, but more than adequate for this type of release. Most of the surround is used to split the music.
Mickey's Magical Christmas will without a doubt keep kids in front of the TV and quite possibly, the movie fans who grew up with all of these characters with be right there with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The details about this DVD, So you can judge for yourself!, November 30, 2001
By 
Monty Moonlight (Austin, TX, U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Some people have hated this DVD, most actually, and a handful have been able to see the good points in this obviously flawed feature. No doubt, there was some false advertising involved, but it's really only the point that it has been referred to as an ALL NEW FEATURE. I've tried to write this review so many times, but it's always too long to be posted, so I'm going to cut to the chase with this attempt, so here goes. First, you HAVE to see the House of Mouse TV show before watching this Christmas special in order to appreciate it. If you had ever seen it you would have known exactly what to expect. Disney even provides us with the premiere episode as an extra on this DVD, of course that still means you have to buy it first. But I do suggest you watch that premiere episode before the feature anyway. In fact, it's actually better than the feature, not counting the wonderful Mickey's Christmas Carol segment. There are 3 other extras on this DVD by the way, two sing a longs, and a really unnecessary and short look into cartoon sound effects. As for the feature, the other reviewers aren't giving you the entire details when they say there is hardly any new footage. The new footage is probably equal to the old, or almost anyway. There are two "new" cartoons, along with the new wraparound footage, which is where you get to see all the Disney characters hanging out and sometimes performing, in Mickey's nightclub. They are never in the main cartoons, but they usually, especially in the regular episodes of the show, do get a good amount of screen time. It's just that they want to show you so many characters that few of them really get that much to do. The joy is seeing all of them together, period. For some Disney fans that alone is a wonderful treat. The two new cartoons are a new Donald Duck short involving some snowplay, that may seem like an old cartoon since we have often seen Donald and the boys in the snow in the past, and a really great Disney version of the Nutcracker with Narrator John Cleese. The two old cartoons are the classic Pluto's Christmas Tree, and the classic Mickey's Christmas Carol. Personally, even though I have them both on previous videos, it's great to get them on DVD in my opinion, and any true Disney fan should agree with me! True, I'd like to see Mickey's Christmas Carol get it's own DVD release though, so I can get the wonderful credits too. Overall, this DVD is really not that bad. It's flaws are the fact that not enough people are familiar with the House of Mouse series to know just who stars in the toons and who is just window dressing, and that the wraparound plot about getting snowed in and Donald being a Humbug are forced at you within the first minute of the show, which sets you off on a bad pace because it's so badly done. Oh, and that little matter of advertising as being "ALL NEW." I, for one, expected this DVD to be great because I admit, I ALSO thought it would be all new, not to mention Mickey's Once Upon A Christmas, which came out on DVD two years ago, WAS all new and was great. Also, I had seen House of Mouse. After finally buying it though, I WAS disappointed in the quality of the opening, and that there was less new footage than expected, but I still am glad I bought it. It's well worth it for the old Classics AND the two new cartoons, including the bonus House of Mouse premiere. But for what it turned out to be, it IS overpriced. It should be more in the range of 14.99, while I couldn't find it cheaper than 19.99. Well, if you still think you want to get it, I DO recommend it. If you are unsure, stick with the fairly recent Mickey's Once Upon A Christmas. It's ALL NEW and it's very good. But this is still straight to video folks, please stop being upset that you're not getting BIG SCREEN animation quality! I mean, grow up, that's not going to happen! Although Lion King 2 was close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THE GOOD WITH THE BAD..., November 9, 2004
Okay so basically it's like this...the entire Disney cast of characters is, as the title says, snowed in at the House of Mouse. The characters then decide to break out some hot cocoa and cookies and sit back and enjoy old movies which turn out to be some of the old Disney holiday classics such as "Mickey's Christmas Carol" and "Pluto's Christmas Tree" where Mickey chops down a Christmas tree not knowing it's home to Chip & Dale.

After the tree has been trimmed, the chipmunks delightfully explore their newly decorated surroundings, much to the chagrin of Pluto, the only one who knows that the tree contains the pair. Chip 'n' Dale soon drive Pluto crazy as they explore their new Christmassy surroundings. When Mickey finds out, he chuckles naively and thinks that they're cute.

Toss in a new rendition of "The Nutcracker" and a newer Donald short called "Donald On Ice". The featurettes are all pretty good but the bits in between are a bit forced and really not very funny.

Also at a running time of just over 60 minutes it's not the greatest value either. Still, if you don't have Mickey's christmas CArol, you can get it here along with the other shorts so it's not too bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Advertising Slack on 'House of Mouse', November 14, 2001
By 
Rondell Gunn "Rondell Gunn" (Lawrenceburg, Tennessee United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have to admit, the video is fun. Like all Disney animated
adventures the graphics are excellent and it is nice to see the
'House of Mouse' gang together. However, the one and only real
complaint is that the Disney advertising machine has once again
pulled the wool over the eyes of the buying public. True, there
is a lot of the mouse gang available, but the majority of the
movie consists of an old Pluto/Chip n' Dale cartoon and the more
recent 'Mickey's Christmas Carol'. For anyone who has a collection of Disney animation, and especially the Christmas
releases, disappointment will follow purchase. The T.V. ads are
deceptive and the write up on back of the VHS and DVD does not
mention that it is basically a reprint. For those who do not own a great deal of Disney animation or the Christmas Carol starring Mickey and Uncle Scrooge, it will be a treat. For those
who do, beware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Magic Of Disney Shines In This Holiday Season, November 12, 2001
By 
Chad Spivak (North Miami Beach, Florida) - See all my reviews
Whether you have children, or just want to venture into your own past, remembering the magical spirit of Mickey Mouse, this video is perfect. This video has a little something for everyone, and those of you with children, like myself, will see the holiday magic light up on their faces.
MICKEY'S MAGICAL CHRISTMAS is simply about friends getting together during the holiday season. With unexpected visits from a plethora of Disney characters, the storyline has Mickey and friends trying to cheer up Donald Duck. To bring out the smiles, the Disney gang watches old movies together, and the fun is just beginning.
Two of the four movies shown are fairly recent, but "Mickey's Christmas Carol" still brings a warm, fuzzy feeling to my stomach, let alone, huge smiles to the faces of my three daughters. Another classic, "Pluto's Christmas Tree" is also included, and for those of you who can remember this one, Pluto and Chip & Dale are at their best. This humorous cartoon is sure to bring lots of laughter to your family.
John Cleese as the narrator was an excellent addition, and the sound and color is absolutely phenominal. This truly is a wonderful video that culminates with the tremendously heartwarming song "The Best Christmas of All," sung by this outstanding cast of Disney characters. This is the perfect holiday gift for any fan of Disney. It is sure to make you smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mickey's Magical Christmas, December 31, 2001
By 
Lyndle Schenck (Charlotte Hall, MD United States) - See all my reviews
This is rated 1-star only because 0-stars was not an option.
This DVD contains the usual collection of old shorts tied together by mediocre (at best) clips of every Disney character ever! This was mostly predictable if you have any experience with prior Disney compilations.
The real problem with this video is the LONG and MANDATORY preview section. On a tape you can fast forward through the commercials but Disney has chosen to embed them in the protected area of the disc that forces the viewer to see them all at 1X speed EVERY TIME you want to watch the video. Disney charges full price for this disc, around [amt], so this intrusion is unacceptable.
I wanted to spend some time with my young daughter watching a cartoon video but by the time the feature started we were both in a sour mood.
This is my first Disney DVD. If all of them are similarly formatted, it will be my last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, June 16, 2005
By 
Brandy Leigh Pyle (Saint Marys, Ga United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I think this is very cute. I love it. Especially the adaptaion of The Nutcracker. Great music in that segment. I love all the cartoons they show, old and new. And my day care kids love it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Christmas special for House of Mouse!, December 22, 2003
By 
John Lindsey "John" (Socorro, New Mexico USA.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This tells about Donald Duck whom is not getting into the Christmas spirit, but it will take Mickey Mouse and the other Disney characters to cheer him up for the holidays.
I'm a big House of Mouse fan and this is quite excellent, this has some shorts such as " The Nutcracker" and the 1983 Disney classic " Mickey's Christmas Carol".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.