Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Tell the Publisher!
I'd like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Microbiology Super Review [Paperback]

The Editors of REA , The Staff of Education Association , Research
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (13 customer reviews)


Available from these sellers.


Free Two-Day Shipping for College Students with Amazon Student

There is a newer edition of this item:
Microbiology Super Review (Super Reviews Study Guides) Microbiology Super Review (Super Reviews Study Guides)
$8.88
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.

Book Description

July 1, 2000 0878911901 978-0878911905 1
Get all you need to know with Super Reviews! Each Super Review is packed with in-depth, student-friendly topic reviews that fully explain everything about the subject. The Microbiology Super Review examines the history and scope of microbiology, equipment, techniques, diversity of microorganisms, microbial metabolism, transport of molecules, bacterial growth, control of microbial growth, microbial genetics, microbes in disease, microbes in the environment, and more! Take the Super Review quizzes to see how much you've learned - and where you need more study. Makes an excellent study aid and textbook companion. Great for self-study!

DETAILS
- From cover to cover, each in-depth topic review is easy-to-follow and easy-to-grasp - Perfect when preparing for homework, quizzes, and exams!
- Review questions after each topic that highlight and reinforce key areas and concepts
- Student-friendly language for easy reading and comprehension
- Includes quizzes that test your understanding of the subject


Editorial Reviews

From the Back Cover

Super Review Study Guides – All You Need to Know!

REA’s Super Review of Microbiology is an excellent study guide and textbook companion for students at all learning levels who are studying Microbiology.

The Super Review of Microbiology offers you:

  • Concise, yet comprehensive coverage of Microbiology
  • Student-friendly language to make learning easier
  • Easy-to-grasp, logically ordered Microbiology reviews that prepare you for homework, quizzes, midterms, and finals
  • Microbiology review questions in Q & A format following each topic or chapter
  • Easy-to-follow detailed answer explanations to each review question
  • Microbiology quizzes to test your knowledge of the material and guide you toward areas that need further study

 

Excerpt. © Reprinted by permission. All rights reserved.

What This Book Will Do For You...

REA's SUPER REVIEWS provides all you need to know to excel in class and succeed on midterms, finals, and even pop quizzes.

Think of this book as giving you access to your own private tutor. Here, right at your fingertips, is a brisk review to help you
not only understand your textbook but also pick up where even some of the best lectures leave off.

Outstanding features include...
- Comprehensive yet concise coverage
- Targeted preparation for subject tests
- Easy-to-follow & format that helps you master the subject matter
- End-of-chapter quizzes that provide pretest tune-up

We think you'll agree that, whether you're prepping for your next test or want to be a stronger contributor in class, REA's truly provides all you need to know!


Larry B. Kling
Super Review Program Director

Product Details

  • Series: Super Reviews Study Guides
  • Paperback: 227 pages
  • Publisher: Research & Education Association; 1 edition (July 1, 2000)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0878911901
  • ISBN-13: 978-0878911905
  • Product Dimensions: 8.2 x 5.5 x 0.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 9.6 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (13 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #169,497 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
(13)
4.7 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reference for undergraduate microbiology August 4, 2003
By A Customer
Format:Paperback
I took a microbiology class in undergraduate and found this book quite thorough and well-organized no nonsense approach. It got right to the point, without the added wording of many textbooks. I also used the Microbiology Study Guide: Key Review Questions and Answers by Patrick Leonardi which is on amazon.com.
I found the last book to be quite on the mark with the type of questions to know for the test. These two books really helped alleviate many surprise questions on my microbiology exams. My friend who took microbiology last year recommended these two books. He was right, these two books helped me get an A.
Was this review helpful to you?
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally Understand February 5, 2011
By G. S
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I got this book yesterday because The text book we are using for undergraduate class is Microbiology -An introduction by Tortora, makes no sense. It has tonnes of details to sift through before getting to the dang point.In the middle of one chapter you have to constantly jump to another chapter , not even on the syllabus yet. Our first 3 weeks we were suppose to read the first 3 chapters, but you have to end up reading like 4 additional chapters to get what the "intro" was trying to say... so to understand a single topic so its like trying to stuff the whole book into your brain all at once and this was not working.Even with the e-text, definitions are not very clear "hidden" and you have to google to figure out what they are referring to.
However, As a pre- nursing student I find the Super Review very straight forward and to the point.Its not extremely detailed but it tells you what you need to know so you can understand to topic, then refer to your text to make sure everything for the class is covered. One reviewer says it does not follow their text, but its silly to think that different publishers would follow the same pattern.THIS IS NOT A REPLACEMENT TEXT BOOK FOR CLASS. Its a quick straight forward reference book and for $10 is worth more than the dang $190 i paid for the required text.
I have been reading the super review all night, Microbiology is so clear now, plus they have sample questions with the answers RIGHT BELOW, so you don't have to sort though 1000pages to figure out the question.For example the first chapter has the history of MicroBiology. The class text book list like 50 plus names of persons who played a role in microbiology, who the hell can remember all that, who the heck is important????.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT REVIEW!!! June 28, 2011
By nurse13
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This book is excellent, I studied this book for 1 week and was able to pass Excelsiors Microbiology test with a B. This book covers everything. I'm super satisfied, definitly recomend.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a Must have! February 25, 2010
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I would not have Aced the course without this book. Please get it and use it!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great review for Microbiology!! February 3, 2009
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This review book is great! I used the same brand for anatomy and physiology and it helped me tremendously. This one is great too. And much more portable than my textbook! I can take it anywhere...
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very in depth review December 30, 2013
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This 227 page book covers a lot of material in a concise and in depth manner. As an example, I've listened to lectures in preparation of taking Microbiology this coming January, and the professor mentions autothrophs and heterothrophs and ends it there after giving a description of each. This book actually break down the autothrophs as well as providing an easy to follow table. I would recommend this book as either a prep book, a refresher book, or a supplement to the text book.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great refresher! June 7, 2012
By MBT123
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I gave this book 4/5 stars only because it doesn't have any pictures or colors which I feel is disappointing given the subject. This book is however, a GREAT lecture review for Micro. The words are easy to understand and I love how small and light it is so you're not carrying around another 10 lb. science book!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 



Look for Similar Items by Category