Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the same as the International Version
I want to warn anyone buying the international version that the problems are different from the US version.
Also, some of the notation is different (ex. rupees instead of dollars) and some of the examples are different.
If you don't have problems assigned from the book, the international version will work fine.
Many sellers claim that the editions are...
Published on November 18, 2009 by AnneC

versus
27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Gaps in conceptual explanations: not for the intelligent reader
I currently use this book to teach at the University of Michigan. (I chose it because it's what has been used here before.) The book is written in an accessible, reader-friendly style. It has many examples and pictures, which make it attractive -- a feature, I suppose, that is necessary to hold an undergrad's attention in these times we live in.

But what annoys...
Published on September 20, 2008 by Agyaat


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Gaps in conceptual explanations: not for the intelligent reader, September 20, 2008
By 
This review is from: Microeconomics (7th Edition) (Hardcover)
I currently use this book to teach at the University of Michigan. (I chose it because it's what has been used here before.) The book is written in an accessible, reader-friendly style. It has many examples and pictures, which make it attractive -- a feature, I suppose, that is necessary to hold an undergrad's attention in these times we live in.

But what annoys me is the absence of conceptual rigor/detail and the sudden jumps in explanation. I want my students to be able to see what is going on and appreciate the simple elegant logic of microeconomic theory. Instead the book reads like it's delivering information to you, but isn't really explaining why it makes sense.

Here's an example. In Section 4.2 on Income and Substitution Effects, the effect of a price change is decomposed into income and substitution effects using constant utility. But as many of us know, there's an alternative way to do this too, which is holding purchasing power constant. For some reason that approach isn't mentioned. Instead, the text reads as though we were interested in the constant purchasing power approach, but then suddenly switches to a constant utility approach by saying "This substitution is marked by a movement along an indifference curve." But why? Wouldn't any intelligent student at this point start wondering how we went from purchasing power to utility? Flip back to Section 4.1 and find that the word utility has been quietly introduced there in a sentence that's in parentheses: "(Because the price of food has risen, the consumer's purchasing power -- and thus attainable utility -- has fallen.)"

Pooh. I don't like books that sneak important ideas into parentheses in order to avoid answering the all important question -- i.e. "Why?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the same as the International Version, November 18, 2009
By 
This review is from: Microeconomics (7th Edition) (Hardcover)
I want to warn anyone buying the international version that the problems are different from the US version.
Also, some of the notation is different (ex. rupees instead of dollars) and some of the examples are different.
If you don't have problems assigned from the book, the international version will work fine.
Many sellers claim that the editions are exactly the same, but they are not!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent text. Not so much in Kindle form, September 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have used this text -- Pindyck/Rubenfeld -- at the professional/graduate school level (that is, not PhD track in economics, but to provide the econ foundation to public policy and work of that sort).

It's an excellent, thorough text. The writing is not as engaging as Mankiw and Pindyck is more math-intensive (which I think is a good thing). Pindyck is, I think, more thorough than Mankiw. And Mankiw most definitely has a distinctly conservative political bent. Most of the excerpt writers in the book are very conservative (George Will, Jeff Jacoby). A handful of liberals are offered -- just a handful (Krugman). And Mankiw's characterization of a number of issues is conservative.

By contrast, Pindyck/Rubenfeld is far better balanced and far more rigorous.

The catch with the Kindle edition is that nearly all of the great layout and typesetting of the print edition is gone. Simple things like paragraph indents are gone, making straight reading more difficult. Type treatment (head/subhead, sans-serif, serif) is mostly gone. Color treatments to aid navigation of the text is gone.

So why does the Kindle edition cost $90 when the full print edition costs $135? 67% of the cost for 45% of the quality? $90 is a lot to spend just for the convenience of not carrying a large physical book. There are points where the absence of the print edition's formatting several hampers reading and clarity. Why? File size? And the fact that the Kindle is black and white?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy Kindle edition., October 12, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Textbooks on Kindle are a nightmare. There are no page numbers and content never stays on the same screen twice. When you are told to reference a certain page number it is impossible. Ebooks in pdf form are amazing, but do not think you will have the same level of usability here. Buyers beware- I would highly recommend AGAINST buying textbooks on the Kindle platform. Waste of time and money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars You might not need the newest edition, May 15, 2010
By 
This review is from: Microeconomics (7th Edition) (Hardcover)
I had a copy of this book which changed editions between my second and third year of university. I went to the library and compared the old and new editions, and out of the entire 600 pages, only SIX pages had new content. Three chapters had been re-ordered. The rest of the book was identical. If you don't need to buy it new, don't, and save the $100. Intermediate microeconomics doesn't change that much in 3 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Adequate discussion of microeconomics, but lacking the mathematics to back it up, August 1, 2011
By 
D. Chen (Phoenix, AZ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Microeconomics (7th Edition) (Hardcover)
Although this book has plenty of examples and descriptions suitable for any undergraduate level microeconomics course, I personally struggled with the lack of math in the book. For the most part, the book lacks any mention of calculus at all, which is essential when discussing something like elasticity or optimization. When it does appear, subjects like partial derivatives or Laplace transforms are relegated to a short addendum at the end of the chapter, glossed over in a fashion that would make it difficult for anyone but math majors to understand what the author is talking about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good concepts, horrible mechanics, August 28, 2008
This review is from: Microeconomics (7th Edition) (Hardcover)
Explains the concepts well regarding microecon (at the intermediate level). However the MAJOR thing this book lacks are examples of the computations. The end of chapter problems are difficult without clear and concise example, it's almost like the two authors agreed to write the book but never consulted eachother until the end.

The book doesn't show how to solve the problems sets, the appendices are slim and ineffective.

Very poor book, find another microecon book with better examples for your class!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, June 22, 2009
This is a great book. The information is presented in a clear and concise manner. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Seller made good, September 27, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was an international version, stated in the ad to be identical to the U.S. edition. It was different in important ways. When contacted, the seller made good, returning the amount paid as well as shipping costs in both directions. Honest mistake, I'm convinced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Microeconomics (7th Edition) (Hardcover)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Microeconomics (7th Edition)
Microeconomics (7th Edition) by Daniel Rubinfeld (Hardcover - June 21, 2008)
Used & New from: $18.80
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.