Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big picture, yet great details
This title couldn't be more perfectly fulfilled than by Esposito's text. Just what you would think; it gives the big picture for architecting while being detailed enough to teach.

I read this after reading Calderon and Rumerman's Advanced ASP.NET AJAX controls, and wow does the extra quality in this text really show through when looking at two titles in this...
Published 16 months ago by JonShops

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good current book, about to be outdated quickly
Dino is a well respected author and developer. I have read at least five of his books. They range from old school ADO.NET to architecting web applications for the enterprise (highly recommend that read). This book is well written and organized. The content is heavy on the front end as the title suggests. You will explore the kludgy innards of JavaScript. jQuery and...
Published on January 20, 2010 by D. S. Cherry Jr.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good current book, about to be outdated quickly, January 20, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Microsoft ASP.NET and AJAX: Architecting Web Applications (Developer Reference) (Paperback)
Dino is a well respected author and developer. I have read at least five of his books. They range from old school ADO.NET to architecting web applications for the enterprise (highly recommend that read). This book is well written and organized. The content is heavy on the front end as the title suggests. You will explore the kludgy innards of JavaScript. jQuery and many Ajax approaches are also considered. In addition, Dino puts his own personal spin on patterns and processes.

The book starts very well with a background in the Ajax surge. It then jumps into the client side, patterns, binding to the client and ends with RIA's. Overall this is solid and I recommend the read if not quick skimming after the fifth chapter.

However, .NET 4.0 is right around the corner. The client side bindings, more jQuery integration and updated Microsoft Ajax JavaScript libraries will change a lot of how this book approaches Ajax. Therefore, its an interim book for those not looking to move to 4.0 and live in at least the 3.5 world for the foreseeable future.

It delves into Silverlight a bit and. But has no mention of the ground swell of popularity that is ASP.NET MVC and its fairly elegant Ajax approach. One of the highlights is Dino's insight into the pros and cons of partial rendering vs. full scale asynchronous approaches. I have been on an enterprise application where we had to implement the former. He nailed the reasons why.

Read this book if you want a good background in current technologies that are changing at the speed of light. It won't be a gold source for later pick up and review though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big picture, yet great details, February 22, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Microsoft ASP.NET and AJAX: Architecting Web Applications (Developer Reference) (Paperback)
This title couldn't be more perfectly fulfilled than by Esposito's text. Just what you would think; it gives the big picture for architecting while being detailed enough to teach.

I read this after reading Calderon and Rumerman's Advanced ASP.NET AJAX controls, and wow does the extra quality in this text really show through when looking at two titles in this same area of study.

This text really clarifies. It does a great job of separating ASMX from WCF, while still showing the similarities. It does a great job at reviewing JavaScript just as needed to launch into the MS AJAX Library, and it flows nicely in a great personal tone without being unprofessional in the writing.

Definitely the first book to grab if you are interested in how AJAX has come to be a force in the world of the web (even, perhaps, if you are not specifically ASP.NET-centric), and more importantly, what to do about that force.

It is one of those books where you think, "Without this information/knowledge I was something of a fool and just didn't know it Good thing I was at least smart enough to get and read it!"

I may update this posting when I have completed the text, but I have read in it significantly, and it just keeps getting better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book from a prolific author, December 14, 2009
By 
Umed Zokirov "UZ" (Istaravshan, Tajikistan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Microsoft ASP.NET and AJAX: Architecting Web Applications (Developer Reference) (Paperback)
Most of the Ajax and JavaScript books focus on implementation and that's a good thing. However those books do not describe how Ajax fits within an architecture of an application. This books captures it succinctly. I also recommend author's other book "Microsoft .NET: Architecting Applications for the Enterprise"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a HOW-TO but theory, September 9, 2010
By 
Fazal Abbas (Centennial, CO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Microsoft ASP.NET and AJAX: Architecting Web Applications (Developer Reference) (Paperback)
If you are looking for a AJAX how-to book then this is not the book for you. You have to go through a lot of text to find the development material. Its all theory. Not a single program in its entirety but small functions in lot of text. This book detail about the history, need and architecture. Not for people looking for code samples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another Big Waste of Time, April 29, 2013
By 
Charles E. Nutting (Cortland, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Microsoft ASP.NET and AJAX: Architecting Web Applications (Developer Reference) (Paperback)
If you have nothing to do, still don't read this book. Really doesn't tell you anything about how to DO AJAX, just another copy paste from other materials into this book. You could learn more from the internet, and your neighbor then reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Microsoft ASP.NET and AJAX: Architecting Web Applications (PRO-Developer) CRAP!, August 31, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Microsoft ASP.NET and AJAX: Architecting Web Applications (Developer Reference) (Paperback)
I am a Senior .NET Developer for SSN and I think this book is total ****! I am sorry, some ideas from it are cool, but I buy books to see useful examples of all the why's and how to's, and if you are like me, you will find this book useless. I read the book in a weekend and I didn't learn anything worthwhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Content, Blah Design Hurts Overall Product, April 1, 2010
By 
Dan McKinnon (Tewksbury, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Microsoft ASP.NET and AJAX: Architecting Web Applications (Developer Reference) (Paperback)
'Microsoft ASP.NET and AJAX: Architecting Web Applications' is a good book for the current .NET AJAX developer looking to get their feet wet and ready to swim. The content is written well, and the author knows his stuff, but whoever made the decision to go with such a blah design swung and missed on this one. AJAX has been one of the 'hot' terms in computers for a half decade now, and the market has lots of material on the subject. People hear 'AJAX' and not only do they expect to get the steak, they want some sizzle to go along with it. This book provides no sizzle. Lack of color and design sex appeal hurt the overall product. Many people will say "who cares what it looks like" but for this type of subject matter, I don't want the layout that comes with an Assembly or C book, I want that web design PIZAZZ and it's just not there.

Pick this up if you are an AJAX developer who is looking to grow your skillset. If you are just a casual developer looking for AJAX references in the store, no doubt you might walk right by this title. Good enough, but it could be better.

**** RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Microsoft ASP.NET and AJAX: Architecting Web Applications (Developer Reference)
$39.99 $27.86
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.