Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When You're Beginning
I purchased the book to learn a little about FrontPage 2003. I wanted to publish a personal web site. This book is absolutely fantastic for what I wanted. No, it's not for the guru's, but if you want a book to step you through the basics and be useful as a reference, this is it. The pictures are well laid out and well marked. The sidebars are full of useful...
Published on November 19, 2005 by S. Scott

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars patstoy
Book is overly pendantic teaching for instance how to switch the directions of the mouse.
Published on August 2, 2008 by patstoy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When You're Beginning, November 19, 2005
By 
This review is from: Microsoft Office FrontPage 2003 QuickSteps (Paperback)
I purchased the book to learn a little about FrontPage 2003. I wanted to publish a personal web site. This book is absolutely fantastic for what I wanted. No, it's not for the guru's, but if you want a book to step you through the basics and be useful as a reference, this is it. The pictures are well laid out and well marked. The sidebars are full of useful information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gives YouAll The Details, November 28, 2006
This review is from: Microsoft Office FrontPage 2003 QuickSteps (Paperback)
Microsoft FrontPage 2003

I believe that beginners not experienced with using a computer could use this book. It includes step by step instructions on how to use Microsoft FrontPage. From clicking the start button to, to exiting out of the programs, to creating web pages, to publishing web pages, this book shows in great detail how to create a web page.
The first chapter in the book describes how to first get to Microsoft Front page such as showing what different icons mean and the different toolbars inside of Front page. It shows which you need to click on to get where you want too. It explains how to use a mouse and which side of the mouse to click in order to carry out certain tasks.
The second chapter of the book describes how to start creating a web page. It gives you information on planning a web site, what the content will be, how to keep it organized and what it will look like. It teaches how to add text and pictures to your web page.
The third chapter explains how to format a Web Page. Formatting a web page includes adding vibrant colors and text to your page instead of a plain boring text. You can choose themes and pictures to go across your web page as well.
The fourth chapter of this book explains how to work with graphics. Graphics is a term used to describe forms of visual enhancements that can be added to a web page. [...] It shows how to add clips, move and copy clips, and even delete clips. It explains how to resize, edit and crop pictures to get them the way you want them.
The fifth chapter explains how to set up navigation and publishing of a web sites. It explains how to insert a hyperlink and how to link them to web pages and files. It also explain how to link it to an email address. It explains how to manage a site and how Microsoft Front Page has the tools that check the quality of your site.
Chapter six in the book explains designing with tables and frames. It shows how to use tables for your page layouts. It explains 3 different ways you can create a table. It explains how to make a table from certain things such as a menu or toolbar. You can also add rows and columns to your table.
In chapter seven of the book, we learn how to use wizards and templates. Wizards ask you questions about what you want your web page to be about and uses a layout based on your answers. Templates define common areas of a web page that are set aside for content that will appear on each page of a web.
Chapter eight explains how to work with forms. Once again it asks questions as the wizard does and uses your answers to build a form. It explains how to build a form from scratch, review and edit it, then complete and use the form.
Chapter nine talks about using web components and shared borders. How to speed up and automate the production of your web page.
At last, chapter ten shows us how to use the HTML. The HTML controls to appearance of your webs by controlling the layout and look of the pages. It shows neat character styles that you can add to your HTML such as making something bold, big, small, underlined, etc. It shows you how to put a lot of stuff together, and its really helpful.
Overall, I think that this book is really good and descriptive and provides the reader with lots of step by step information to get through creating web pages. I think that anyone can use this book, experienced with computers, or not. I think it would be a little more helpful to people not experienced in using computers, but it could also help people that are, to help find things for which they are specifically looking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great starter, August 5, 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Office FrontPage 2003 QuickSteps (Paperback)
this book is an excellent starter. with it building a first website is a breeze. well organized, easy to read. buy this and a reference volume (like the "missing manual") and you are good to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars filled a gap, May 31, 2006
This review is from: Microsoft Office FrontPage 2003 QuickSteps (Paperback)
I found "Quicksteps" filled a gap left between the Dummies and online help. The Dummies book just showed "How To" do items the author liked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Front Page 1-2-3, August 3, 2006
This review is from: Microsoft Office FrontPage 2003 QuickSteps (Paperback)
Excellent book!. I got it at the Library first to see if it was worth buying & it was! very user friendly & easy to follow along. It has you knowing the program 1-2-3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Follow the Easy Instructions, September 16, 2007
This review is from: Microsoft Office FrontPage 2003 QuickSteps (Paperback)
FrontPage was a new application to me and somewhat different than other web page applications. I was asked to take over website updates and didn't have time to go through a class, etc. This book enables the user to look up the task at hand and then basically follow the step-by-step instructions. It has been a fabulous tool. It is very user friendly for the novice but still has enough technical information to satisfy the HTML hound. I found it to be a more effective tool than Microsoft's on-line classes.

If you can only have one book on FrontPage, this should be it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New User, March 15, 2007
This review is from: Microsoft Office FrontPage 2003 QuickSteps (Paperback)
I am just learning about web page development and bought Microsoft FrontPage. I needed help understanding the program and bought this book. I find it very helpful. The layout of the book is most useful. I needed assistance with taking the first steps, and this book is serving my needs. It would probably be too basic for someone with web development experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beginners Book, October 12, 2007
This review is from: Microsoft Office FrontPage 2003 QuickSteps (Paperback)
I have just begun to use this book. I am an extreme beginner and find the book attractively laid out and well-illustrated. I have not finished my web site yet, but I'm on my way. There are a few details that are "over my head" but I think I can work around them and still get good results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book for the average user, March 14, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Office FrontPage 2003 QuickSteps (Paperback)
Not a heavy duty reference book but excellent for the beginner. Clear, easy to follow instructions to get the site going. I found it to be more useful than the Que book-seemed to have the same info in a clearer format than the Que book (which is at least four times as large).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely fabulous for the absolute beginner, November 16, 2006
By 
This review is from: Microsoft Office FrontPage 2003 QuickSteps (Paperback)
This is the book to get if you know nothing about web sites. It is clearly organized, tons of helpful pictures and easy to follow directions. Before I got this book, I couldn't figure out what to do first. This book help me turn my web site on fast and far easier than I ever imagined. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Microsoft Office FrontPage 2003 QuickSteps
Microsoft Office FrontPage 2003 QuickSteps by Martin S. Matthews (Paperback - October 3, 2004)
$16.99 $12.48
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.