Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary book
This book contains excellent information for new users of PowerPoint 2007. Explain very detailed each function and have exercises to complement each part. Also, they include a CD with all the exercises and the E-Book.
Published on April 30, 2008 by C. Torres-Perez

versus
45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fine for its purpose, but don't stop here ....
On the one hand, there are those books that instruct users in what a program can do, and, on the other, those that delve into the better and more effective uses of a program. "PP Step X Step" is solidly within the first category of mechanics and pays little heed to the latter consideration of wise use.

Everyone, however, must start somewhere and "PP Step x...
Published on January 19, 2009 by James V. Sylvester


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fine for its purpose, but don't stop here ...., January 19, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Office PowerPoint 2007 Step by Step (Paperback)
On the one hand, there are those books that instruct users in what a program can do, and, on the other, those that delve into the better and more effective uses of a program. "PP Step X Step" is solidly within the first category of mechanics and pays little heed to the latter consideration of wise use.

Everyone, however, must start somewhere and "PP Step x Step" provides as good a point of departure as any (I will also put in a favorable word for Weverka's "PP 2007 for Dummies." It's a bit lighter in tone than the mechanical grind of "Step x Step.")

"PP Step x Step" qualifies as a clear and thorough treatment of the nuts and bolts of PowerPoint, but its tour of all the functions and mechanics leaves unaddressed the issue of how best to use the program. Accordingly, the book provides nothing more than a good initiation -- much as practicing scales might be a first step towards playing Chopin.

In its ubiquity, PowerPoint is infamous. So many of us have experienced "bad PowerPoint." With respect to that dilemma, "PP Step X Step" does little to assuage the gnashing often experienced by sitting through presentations of pages of bullet points and gratuitous animations that add nothing but distraction. Lost in this book is any suggestion that PowerPoint should be used as visual support, rather than, so often, as a poor way to deliver textual material.

One of the more ironic aspects of "PP Step X Step" is that the examples packaged on the CD that comes with the book are generally ghastly. For example, one presentation that purports to be about the "use of color" is one of the most drab and mind-numbing expositions of bullet points imaginable. As another example, in another presentation, the background (which has a wide range of contrast) clashes with the text washing out the words.

Most amusing is Chapter 7 which does suggest that animations should be used sparingly: "it is easy to end up with a presentation that looks more like an amateur experiment ... err on the conservative side, especially where animation is concerned." Such suggested caution, however, is backed up by an overwrought example of multiple animations on a single slide that makes mincemeat of the advice.

To learn the mechanics, sure ... "PP Step X Step" is a good choice, but don't stop here. Look for books like those by Rick Altman ("Why Most PowerPoint Presentations Suck"), Nancy Duarte ("slide:ology"), Garr Reynolds ("presentation/zen"), and Cliff Atkinson ("beyond bullet points") to appreciate how PowerPoint can be used, not just as some toy to irritate audiences with long lists of bullet points, bouncing animations, amateurish clip art, and the irrelevant carnival of "WordArt," but as a persuasive and effective communications tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary book, April 30, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Office PowerPoint 2007 Step by Step (Paperback)
This book contains excellent information for new users of PowerPoint 2007. Explain very detailed each function and have exercises to complement each part. Also, they include a CD with all the exercises and the E-Book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Guidance!, March 15, 2008
This review is from: Microsoft Office PowerPoint 2007 Step by Step (Paperback)
In fact, I thoroughly enjoyed the entire Step-By-Step series covering MS Office. I strongly suggest any student, curious George or researcher to pick up a copy and read it. I recently purchased MS 2007 Access, Excel, Power Point and Word set in the Step-By-Step series. The authors are concise in their descriptions without being boring and the information is invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Step by Step Office Power Point, April 9, 2012
This review is from: Microsoft Office PowerPoint 2007 Step by Step (Paperback)
I learned so much from buying this book I am so glad I took the time to order it, most times when I see something on Amazon I think ok if I still need this in a week I will buy it then a week goes by and I forgot I wanted it not so much with this purchase. After a month I went in and ordered it and smacked myself for not ordering it sooner. Great material I not only learned about power point but I still do it every now and then I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Steppin' Up to PowerPoint 2007, January 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Office PowerPoint 2007 Step by Step (Paperback)
Step By Step Office PowerPoint 2007 provides a clear understanding of how to use the ribbon which many PowerPoint pros truly resent. The book's accompanying CD lets users experiment with the different applications. The Table of Contents, Quick Reference section and Index make looking for information a snap. I was so impressed with the book a bought a copy for a relative who is a PowerPoint maven. She hated the new 2007 version, but this book has softened her toward PowerPoint 2007.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars No Disk included..., February 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Text was in great condition, but would have loved for the disk to be included with text.
I wished that info would have been available prior to purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars CD is Helpful., October 8, 2013
By 
Cobra (Louisiana USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Office PowerPoint 2007 Step by Step (Paperback)
I didn't mention in my previous review that the Microsoft Step By Step books come with a CD. There are practice files to load and exercises that give the user practical help in learning to use the programs. I have not yet seen the 2007 PowerPoint book. But I expect it to be of the same quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book to have to keep up your powerpoint skills, February 22, 2013
By 
luvwater (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Office PowerPoint 2007 Step by Step (Paperback)
I take this book to work with me. Great to grab when I am thinking about to a pretty project for my boss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Powerpoint, December 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Office PowerPoint 2007 Step by Step (Paperback)
Very helpful to anyone who has not used Powerpoint. Was able to make a presentation referring to Step by step.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Book - Learn all you need to know., December 25, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Office PowerPoint 2007 Step by Step (Paperback)
This book will teach you all you need to know about Power Point. It is well laid out for beginner through intermediate.

The only weakness is if you are interested in Microsoft certification as this book does not really address that. But it is still a good book for the average user.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Microsoft Office PowerPoint 2007 Step by Step
Microsoft Office PowerPoint 2007 Step by Step by Joyce Cox (Paperback - January 13, 2007)
$24.99 $17.36
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.