Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Ever
A great new interface including control layout, easier than ever to use, and complete. There is no other product in this class. It looks great in XP and even sharper in Vista.

Subject to some agreement with Adbobe, you'll have to download the free PDF writer from Microsoft (the beta came with it), but it works exactly the same and otherwise no suprises...
Published on March 8, 2007 by Amazon Customer

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dumbed down and harder to use
The new ribbon design is supposed to make it easier to learn and use. It may be for some new users but for experienced users, it isn't. This version takes away some critical nuts & bolts customization features and many tasks now take longer to perform. This is not due to the learning curve, it is the inherent nature of the way the ribbon works. Once you are familiar with...
Published on July 28, 2007 by Joshua Nelson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dumbed down and harder to use, July 28, 2007
This review is from: Microsoft Office Ultimate 2007 UPGRADE [DVD] [Old Version] (DVD-ROM)
The new ribbon design is supposed to make it easier to learn and use. It may be for some new users but for experienced users, it isn't. This version takes away some critical nuts & bolts customization features and many tasks now take longer to perform. This is not due to the learning curve, it is the inherent nature of the way the ribbon works. Once you are familiar with the program, nothing is faster than the old menu structure. If Microsoft added an option to allow users to choose between menus and ribbons, it would be the best of both worlds, satisfying the needs of both new and experienced users. The new version does not run macros as fast however. My recommedation for existing users: keep Office 2003 for as long as you can and consider going to Open Office when Microsoft no longer supports 2003 (unless they restore the functionality in a newer release of 2007).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Ever, March 8, 2007
This review is from: Microsoft Office Ultimate 2007 UPGRADE [DVD] [Old Version] (DVD-ROM)
A great new interface including control layout, easier than ever to use, and complete. There is no other product in this class. It looks great in XP and even sharper in Vista.

Subject to some agreement with Adbobe, you'll have to download the free PDF writer from Microsoft (the beta came with it), but it works exactly the same and otherwise no suprises.

The product is pricey and you may want to purchase a smaller release (less applications in the suite) depending on your needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Powerful, still missing things considering it is #1, November 14, 2008
By 
MS Office 2007 is a powerful office toolset. However, do check carefully to make sure even the Ultimate has the programs you want--Visio is still not in this package, remember. I'll comment on what is not in Office Professional here.

I got it for the Groove folder syncing for a small network. Groove works well when it works, but I wouldn't recommend it if 1) you aren't comfortable with the basics of networking (wouldn't want to hook up a computer network at home, say) or 2) you have strong security interests on your machines or 3) you don't want to invest in Ultimate for each machine in question.

Groove allows you to set up a physical home for files and then have those synced with other comptuers coming onto and going off of the network. It can be forced to sync or do it by schedule. Just where a given file's most recent version is can still because mysterious--showing that part of syncing has to do with our thinking, not the computer systems. However, once you get your mind wrapped around it, Groove folders update as expected and they are tagged to show their status by their icon. Problems arise with machines that have very high security settings...I'm not commenting on Groove's security, just that it can get blocked by security in place. Don't expect it to be Plug 'n Play.

OneNote is another way to be messy--I mean that politely--but if you have your computer with you at all times unlike real notes, you can do searches. It's nice, but it won't clean up the office unless you happen to think just right compared to the way it works.

As for updates from 2003, I'll say that Excel is the most improved, with more columns, IntelliText entry of formulas, etc. Word is the most disappointing. Some things (like page numbering like 5 of 7) are really buried in the Ribbon interface. And getting to the right ribbon takes some time...remember, though, that if a ribbon has focus the scroll wheel on the mouse moves among ribbons! Excel just seems to suffer less from the ribbon...the interface just works better. Word also still does a horrible job at inserting other document types, like inserting an Excel spreadsheet, and some issues with table sizing are no better than 2003.

The docx and xlsx file formats are annoying if your coworks are still using 2003, but there are free downloads to let them read your xml-style files, from microsoft.com. It's all worth it, though, if you also download the Print to PDF add-in (also free) so you can print documents to PDF format.

Publisher still has the Button Bar interface, which is probably a good thing. It has lots of great new features, and with most newer printer drivers it lets you print to any virtual page size (easy to set up, and even store a template for) then actually print to a target paper size on your real printer, using multiple sheets per page or printing multiple pages per sheet (like business cards, but you can use Avery numbers for those), however you wish. Very powerful.

Publisher also has some professional printing tools (very limited) that will print cutting marks for multi-sheets per page printing (so you know where to cut to paste together), will set colors to be CMYK, etc. Also, you can select any number of items at once then right click and save those as .gif, .tif, or .png pictures. This is neat because you can, say, create a complex figure then store it as a simple picture, or send it to a real publisher in a format they won't hate you for. Still has no magic wand selection tool, and it still has problems with most printer drivers with translucencies...don't expect a transparency of 50% to prinjt like it shows on screen. But, if you have problems you can mark and save involved items as a picture (right click, Save as Picture) then use that picture in place of the original, and it will work (has for me) every time.

Good luck with this great toolkit. Just wish MS would fix rough edges on the world's #1 office software.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Microsoft Office 2007 Ultimate rocks, May 20, 2007
This review is from: Microsoft Office Ultimate 2007 UPGRADE [DVD] [Old Version] (DVD-ROM)
Microsoft has significantly advanced the Office suite of products to the next generation. Tight integration from one aplication to the other and the highest degree of "look and feel" standardization yet ensure that this suite of products will remain the industry standard for years to come. The ribbon is great - it "reveals" product features and functionalities formerly hidden in layers of menus or option windows. The ribbon groups make it fast and easy to locate what you are looking for. The newer applications (OneNote, Groove & InfoPath) enhance productivity and help the user prepare documents for sharing via Microsoft SharePoint Services. Microsoft has also significantly improved Outlook with Business Contact Manager, resolving most of the database problems in prior versions. Microsoft needs to weave other Office applications (e.g., Project and Visio) more tightly into the integration.Microsoft Office Ultimate 2007 Upgrade DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hostage Upgrade - Leaves Victims Dead, Dismembered, August 8, 2009
By 
A. Drefahl (Muskego, WI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Office Ultimate 2007 UPGRADE [DVD] [Old Version] (DVD-ROM)
My 5 year old machine lay dying in my home office. Struggling to keep up with relentless windows updates, new Internet explorer downloads, it finally failed. RIP dear old Compaq. Wish I could switch to all Apple, all the time. But, some endearing windows only programs, like Groove and Outlook keep me laden to the old MS ball and chain. Unable to port all my old endearing programs to newer MS operating systems was the least of my problems. Bought a fairly well powered Dell with 4Gig of memory and a beefy Intel Core 2 Quad with Vista. Hope to make the leap to Windows 7 less of a hassle than from XP.

So, now about Office 2007 Ultimate. I learned the hard way (so unlike the Mac world) that the following will mess you up if you try to upgrade:
* Make damned sure your new computer didn't come with trial versions of Office. That just plain hose your machine if you try to install when these are present. Trying to uninstall them proved very problematic. My machine became so unstable as to not let me uninstall anything, to become completely unresponsive, and ULTIMATELY caused me to completely wipe the OS and resinstall VISTA clean. And yes, now I have one of those windows.old directories on this nice new machine. I wonder if that is going to hose me on the upcoming Windows 7 upgrade?
* You will waste hours (even days) watching your Office 2007 Install progress bar progress to a point, then progress no more. That is, unless you turn off all your anti-virus software before the install begins. Throw a half dozen reboots of Vista in there for good measure as you try to get that old unsuccessful first attempt at installing Office repaired, before it finally takes.
* Now the pies-de-resistance, the freakin main reason I stayed in the windows world - to have Groove live on in its MS form. I held hope that converting my old and completely well behaved and completely functional Groove workspaces to the new Office Groove 2007 would be nirvana. After several problems due to the above mentioned restore, unsuccessful uninstall of Groove, etc., etc. ... my Groove workspaces are somehow corrupt and unusable in the new Office Groove 2007.

Why didn't I follow my instinct to abandon the time wasting world of MS?

I have spent the better parts of my free time over the past 2 months installing, uninstalling, rebooting, searching support, 50, 60, 70 hours or more, trying to get all my old functioning software up and in the new machine. All for naught.

My assessment of this product suite is that sure, the basics work: Word, Excel, Access, PowerPoint. But they did fine in their old 2003 versions. Groove absolutely let me down and lost me several workspaces containing in many cases, the only versions of my work product and client deliverables from 9 years of consulting.

I just have nothing nice to say to MS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the rest!, March 14, 2007
By 
D. Joosten (Howick, South Africa) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Office Ultimate 2007 UPGRADE [DVD] [Old Version] (DVD-ROM)
This is the best version of Office yet. The differences are numerous and very significant, it is well worth the investment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent Product, March 9, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Office Ultimate is an excellent product with all the tools needed to get the job done. However I would warn you about purchasing it from Nothingbutsoftware.com. I found out the upgrade version would not upgrade from the software I had on my machine, it was no fault of Office Ultimate. I returned the software to nothingbutsoftwar.com and they charged me $51.30 restocking charge. I paid $342 for the product and I think $51.30 is a ridiculous charge for restocking. I returned the product unopened and in perfect condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Find it cleaner and simpler to use, July 22, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Office Ultimate 2007 UPGRADE [DVD] [Old Version] (DVD-ROM)
I use Office on a daily basis for work. There are features I use constantly and others not so often. Microsoft has made it easier to find and click whatever you need without looking through all the drop-down menus. I really like that. For those who find the ribbon a clutter, no problem you can hide it and it gives you more workspace. I am very pleased with the product.
Upgraded and loaded seamlessly on Windows 7 64bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Upgrade, June 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Office Ultimate 2007 UPGRADE [DVD] [Old Version] (DVD-ROM)
This was the perect upgrade from the old one I had from my college class. It was smooth installation, everything worked perfect with no glitches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good upgrade, February 21, 2007
This review is from: Microsoft Office Ultimate 2007 UPGRADE [DVD] [Old Version] (DVD-ROM)
Seems like the most cost effective way to get Groove and OneNote. I could really have used Visio and Project as part of the package though...the pricing for Project has become frankly insane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Microsoft Office Ultimate 2007 UPGRADE [DVD] [Old Version]
Microsoft Office Ultimate 2007 UPGRADE [DVD] [Old Version] by Microsoft Software (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
$539.95 $159.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.