Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it DJ Shadow Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars27
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 18, 2012
The most difficult part of PowerPivot is adjusting to how its formulas work or don't work in alternative situations. The book's way of documenting examples is very helpful in this process. Building a sufficient understanding of PowerPivot programming principles remains difficult, however, and I still have to use trial and error to get the calculations that I need. Even Russo failed to make the DAX algorithms intuitive; however, his approach worked best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2013
The projects are great to work through and business friendly. Definitely worth the investment in time and effort. My boss and I are already impressing our management teams with the first few chapters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2014
If you want to become a PowerPivot power user, this is the book for you.
Be aware, however, that it won't be an easy ride if you are not familiar with the fundamentals of relational databases and SQL.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2010
I dare to predict that in a few years after SQL 11 ships, there will be two kinds of BI professionals - those who know the Business Intelligence Semantic Model and those who will learn it soon. By the way, the same applies to SharePoint. What can you do to start on the path and prepare while waiting for BISM? Learn PowerPivot, of course, which is one of the three technologies that are powered by VertiPaq - the new column-oriented in-memory store. This is where the book PowerPivot for Excel 2010 can help. It's written by Marco Russo and Alberto Ferrari, whose names should be familiar for those of you who have been following Microsoft BI for a while. Both authors are respected experts who have contributed a lot to the community. Stationed in Italy, they run the SQLBI website and share their knowledge via their blog and publications.

This is the second book that I've read about PowerPivot - after Professional Microsoft PowerPivot for Excel and SharePoint. What I liked about this book is its deep coverage of Data Analysis Expressions (DAX). I specifically enjoyed the following chapters:

Chapter 6: Evaluation Context and CALCULATE - Provides a deep coverage of how DAX measures work. Although DAX is meant to be simpler than MDX, expressions can get complex and this chapter will help you understand how DAX works behind the hood.

Chapter 7: Date Calculations in DAX - Time calculations, such as YTD, QTD, are an important requirement for most BI projects. This chapter goes into details to explain how to implement them and provide workarounds for PowerPivot limitations.

Chapter 9: PowerPivot DAX Patterns - If you wonder whether PowerPivot can do this and that, read this chapter. It demonstrates advanced concepts ranging from ratio, percent of total, standard deviation, ranking over measures, Pareto computations, and more.

Chapter 10: PowerPivot Data Model Patterns - Another gem for addressing popular BI needs, such as banding, courier simulation, and many-to-many relationships.

Although not big in size (370 pages), you will find this book rich in patterns and solutions. What impressed me is that the authors put a great effort to cover not only the PowerPivot basics but to leave no stone unturned when the tool lacks in features. The authors discuss a requirement, approach it from different angles, and provide several implementation approaches. Thus, this book will benefit both beginners and advanced users. An indispensible resource for learning PowerPivot and giving a head start on BISM!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2012
It was a good introduction to the world of power pivot. You don't need a significant amount of experience with BI to get started.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2012
eccelente guida per chi deve lavorare con le tabelle Pivot, potenza di calcolo oltre a qualunque attesa, buon manuale operativo
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2013
A good overview especially for the return on experience and DAX formulas. I really recommand this book for any PP practionner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2013
Since very few people are good at Pivot tables this is a good way to get your skill set up and thus become more marketable
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2014
This has definitely helped me in understanding pivot tables. The exercises are useful in helping me learn on my own.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2013
Great book for anyone, but especially for someone that desires to teach others about mining for data! A must buy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse