Customer Reviews


908 Reviews
5 star:
 (673)
4 star:
 (143)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (45)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


130 of 145 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hardware great, software is blah
The controller is the standard XBOX 360 wireless controller. The box contains a wireless controller hub. Supposedly, up to four controllers can be connected to a PC through this hub (though I presume not many games will let you use this feature). I have not tested connectivity for more than one controller at a time.
There are no apparent problems with this, on this...
Published on August 9, 2011 by Hans D. Behrends

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great kit, bad fuse on the chip
As a controller goes, you can't go wrong. This is the second receiver/controller I have bought. THE RECEIVER THOUGH, IS CRAP.

It works. And may work for a long time. Mine lasted about a year then it just stopped working. So I, being the tech nerd I am, opened it up and poked around with my tools. A tiny fuse (smaller then most fruit flies) called F1 was the...
Published 6 months ago by Eric W.


‹ Previous | 1 291 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

130 of 145 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hardware great, software is blah, August 9, 2011
By 
Hans D. Behrends (Salt Lake City, UT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Microsoft Xbox 360 Wireless Controller for Windows (Personal Computers)
The controller is the standard XBOX 360 wireless controller. The box contains a wireless controller hub. Supposedly, up to four controllers can be connected to a PC through this hub (though I presume not many games will let you use this feature). I have not tested connectivity for more than one controller at a time.
There are no apparent problems with this, on this Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium install. Plugged the hub into a USB port in the back, pressed the center button on the controller, and ready to go. Works great in Grand Theft Auto 4 (driving much much easier this way).
Can't wait to use this for DiRT3, yeah

The software is nothing special. In fact, beyond the standard joystick control panel, there is nothing else. You can test the functionality of the buttons, D-pad, analog sticks etc. And that's it. Would be cool if the software would allow programming of the buttons, or let you assign macros to the buttons like Intellitype for instance. Logitech does a much better job!
But I will not complain... the hardware is top notch and works great... and wirelessly.

If you already own an xbox 360, try to get only the wireless hub.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best gamepad I've used on a PC, September 27, 2013
By 
Craig (Honolulu, HI - a Brit abroad) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Xbox 360 Wireless Controller for Windows (Personal Computers)
I've went through a number of gamepads over the years, dating back to when they connected to the PC via an analogue gameport. I've had pads from the likes of Thrustmaster, Saitek and a few others, most recently using a PS2 controller via a USB Adapter, which was far from ideal.

Over time, the layout of the Xbox 360 controller has become something of a standard for PC games that use a joypad. Many games already include mappings for the controller, and Steam's big picture mode more or less assumes that you're using one. I was looking for a new controller, so with all this in mind I decided to go for the wireless version of the gamepad for windows.

The last time I used an Xbox controller was on the original Xbox with one of the original humongous controllers. I don't have the smallest hands in the world, but that thing made them ache after an hour or so. Not so here; the controller is a nice size, the analogue sticks are positioned well in range of my thumbs, and the overall balance of the gamepad feels good. It also doesn't resort to any of that nasty grippy rubber paint that was all the rage not that long ago. That stuff doesn't last in a tropical climate, tuning into a sticky, messy goop that then has to be removed.

As others have mentioned, the Windows version of the pad uses AA batteries. Myself, I see this as a bonus. Instead of relying on a LiPo pack that may or may not survive more than a year's worth of use (I've heard really bad things about the kit that adds a Lithium battery to the controller) NiMh rechargeable AA's tend to be quite robust, and they're dirt cheap. If they were ever to die, replacements these days are about $1.50 apiece. Ever since low self-discharge cells became the norm, having them go flat by themselves is no longer an issue. Thank you Sanyo for your Eneloops and Amazon for your Amazon Basics AA's; I have a pile of both types at home.

The integration of the gamepad into Steam's big picture interface is impressive. Having it mapped to the Xbox 360 controller layout was a smart move on Valve's part as they were able to concentrate on the on-screen prompts being consistent, etc. It makes me wonder how SteamOS will be once it launches.

Software-wise, the gamepad ships with next to nothing. A driver CD is supplied, which installs drivers and little else. This is the source of the controller's greatest failing; unless you're playing a Games for Windows Live game (hereby referred to as GfWL), there is no way supplied to turn the controller off once you're done. It supposedly turns itself off after a short period of inactivity, but I've heard that can be unreliable (I'm testing this at the moment, and it's yet to turn itself off since I started writing this review). Many resort to disconnecting the batteries once they're done to turn the controller off, which is a workable (if clunky) solution.

If this were what we were stuck with, I'd have docked a star, perhaps 2 for this alone. It doesn't detract from the gamepad while in use, but it's an annoyance that seems doubly odd given a mechanism exists to explicitly turn the gamepad off from software, but that software isn't provided with the gamepad to cover all eventualities. Only the abomination that is GfWL gets that level of control.

Thankfully, the community at large had a bit of a poke about, and the "Xbox360 Controller Manager" was born. This is a little tool that sits quietly in your system tray and responds to a long press of the guide button (the silver button in the middle) with a prompt to turn that controller off. The tool itself takes single-digits of MB of memory, which is background noise in this day and age.

For those of you that haven't already discovered this essential little piece of software, you can get it here:

http://pety.me/XboxExt/

Save it wherever, add a shortcut in your "Startup" start menu folder, and then forget about it. Using it will become second nature, and you'll forget that it's a 3rd-party application. Honestly, this utility removes the one problem I had with the gamepad, and does it so effectively that I can't help but wonder why Microsoft didn't ship it with something similar.

Overall, I highly recommend this. The biggest niggle I had with it was solved by its users, and if you're looking for a wireless controller for Windows, there really isn't any reason not to get one.

P.S. I'm done with this review, and the controller still hasn't turned itself off. Thankfully, there's an app for that...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great controller, December 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Xbox 360 Wireless Controller for Windows (Personal Computers)
If you want a wireless controller to use for your PC games, then this is a definite must have. I snagged one for use with "Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim" and it works great. Being that the game is already set up for use with the controller, it was immediately identified and all buttons linked to what they are meant to do. Only takes a few minutes to get the hang of the new set-up (find a quiet area away from people in the game to practice), but the controller is way better than using the keyboard and mouse. Even though the majority of the keyboard does not work when using the controller, gladly you can still use the tilde (~) key for acessing the command console and the "PrtScn" button is active for taking snapshots. The only minor negative note I have concerns not be able to fully use the keyboard when the controller is plugged in. It should work in conjunction with the keyboard instead of completely blocking most of its use. As for the unit itself, it is very comfortable to hold and use. All of the buttons are placed perfectly. Once you know which one does what, moving and fighting in the game is a snap. There are some extra plug-in ports on the controller that are not identified as to their use in the simple fold-out instruction manuel. One on the top below the word "XBOX 360" and another on the bottom between the hand holds that has three holes. Would be nice to know what these are for, but the instructions have nothing on them. All in all, this controller is well worth the price and works perfectly for PC games, especially newer titles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works excellently on Windows 7 Home Premium with Skyrim, December 15, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Xbox 360 Wireless Controller for Windows (Personal Computers)
I have only used this to play Skyrim on Windows 7 Home Premium but it works flawlessly. Also, the cord for the USB adapter is surprisingly long (around 5-6 feet) allowing me to place the adapter on my desk (behind my monitor).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steam Big Picture Compatible, Works great with Windows 7, Skyrim, Borderlands 2, Steam Big Picture, December 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Xbox 360 Wireless Controller for Windows (Personal Computers)
I am very impressed with this product. Not only is it offered at a great price, but the included wireless adapter that allows me to sync up ANY wireless XBOX360 controller (up to 4) with my pc for multi-player fun is most excellent! Nothing is better than sitting back on my futon and playing Skyrim on my PC with a controller, or bringing my friends over to play Magicka or an emulator based multi-player game using multiple XBOX360 controllers synced up to my pc.

The only issue I have seen is that there is no way to turn the remote off when you stop playing, however the XBOX360 controllers have a very easy to access battery compartment. You only have to press the button and pivot the battery cover a small half inch and it will power off the remote. Nearly as easy as a power switch!

With Steam's new Big Picture, your PC becomes a media center and with ease you can control it via your xbox360 controller.

100% will buy this again if I need to, but based on the excellent experience I have had so far, I do not see there being any issues in quality to where I would need to buy another. Seriously thinking about purchasing one as a gift for a friend however :)

Using this remote with XMBC is a bit of a setup, but once you do some searching (google it) you can find a somewhat simple solution and get it working just fine. It is not the controllers fault, it is actually XMBC's and Windows gamepad config's fault. Easily fixable. :)

~John
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, November 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Xbox 360 Wireless Controller for Windows (Personal Computers)
Works perfectly in Windows 7 and Windows 8.. No extra drivers necessary. Works great with Steam BIG PICTURE beta. Clicking the center MS button brings up the steam splash screen. Very cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great kit, bad fuse on the chip, June 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Xbox 360 Wireless Controller for Windows (Personal Computers)
As a controller goes, you can't go wrong. This is the second receiver/controller I have bought. THE RECEIVER THOUGH, IS CRAP.

It works. And may work for a long time. Mine lasted about a year then it just stopped working. So I, being the tech nerd I am, opened it up and poked around with my tools. A tiny fuse (smaller then most fruit flies) called F1 was the problem. Apparently, the tiniest bit of heat can cause the fuse to blow and kill the entire board. And when I mean "tiniest bit of heat" I mean set this thing on anything remotely warm (like the warmth you get from a laptop running) and you have a chance at blowing the fuse. The fuse is board mounted meaning you cannot replace it without finding the smallest fuse in the world and re-soldering it on. You can bypass the fuse via some solder but who knows what that could do long-term (I'm imagining it involves fire or electrical surges).

***According to most sources, this is a KNOWN malfunction and the fuse blows before it needs to. So keep it in a cool place. Don't set it on your computer, on an amp or even put a warm cup of cocoa anywhere near this thing or you will need a new one.***

Other than that, this thing is awesome! Thanks for the year of comfortable and headache-free PC gaming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best gamepad available for PC gamers, September 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Xbox 360 Wireless Controller for Windows (Personal Computers)
I have to hand it to Microsoft on this one - they've really nailed their gamepad design, and I commend their choice to make a product that's compatible with both Windows and the XBox 360.

Most PC games are designed to play better with a keyboard and a mouse, but some lazy console ports really work better with a controller. Fable III is what sent me over the edge - the mouse controls with that game were just so floaty that I couldn't take it anymore.

Console ports like Fable 3 and Batman: Arkham Asylum, which were designed to the Games for Windows Live (ugh) specifications, offer truly seemless integration with this controller. Once you perform the initial setup, there's no tinkering to be done with GFWL games: you just fire up your game, turn on the controller, and bam - it's just like playing on the XBox 360. Well, if the XBox 360's graphics were about 10 times better, anyway.

Range and battery life are, as far as I can tell, equivalent to using a wireless controller with the XBox 360. I'm running rechargeable batteries and I've still not even switched them out. The range is good enough to use the controller all the way across the room, in case you want to hook your PC up to a TV and fully replicate the "console experience."

My only gripe with this item is that you can no longer purchase the official wireless dongle separately, and the only way to get the dongle is in this bundle (unless you want to chance it with one of the unofficial knockoffs). Ah well - it's still a reasonable price for a product that makes console ports play as they're supposed to.

Side note - this thing does seem to work in Linux too, at least with modern kernels. There are some limitations (the power button doesn't work, the light flashes constantly) but it is detected as an input device.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One silly flaw in an otherwise great controller, January 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Xbox 360 Wireless Controller for Windows (Personal Computers)
This package is an XBox 360 controller with a wireless USB adapter that transmits a signal so you can play wirelessly. In other words, while it comes with an XBox 360 controller, you can also use any other XBox 360 controller as well. Using the simple setup poster and included software CD, you install the software, connect the USB adapter, and you're ready to play.

The good news is, the adapter for this Wireless Controller will not only let you connect up to FOUR XBox 360 controllers at the same time, it will also let you connect other devices, such as XBox wireless headsets.

The bad news is, there is one fundamental flaw that seems to have been completely ignored by the people who developed the software to support the XBox 360 Wireless Controller for Windows:

You can't easily turn it off.

On an XBox, you press and hold the controller's center button. The software launches a menu and one option you can choose is "Turn off Controller." The documentation and the software's help files say nothing about turning off the controller. Digging through forums uncovers that you can either set the controller down for 20 minutes and wait for it to turn itself off, or most people disconnect the battery pack every time they want to turn it off (which will eventually loosen it). The center button does nothing if you're not in a game (and if you are, it doesn't give you a "turn off controller" option). You can't "eject" the controller in Windows, and if you disconnect the USB adapter or turn off your PC while the controller is still on, the controller will continue to look for a connection until the battery runs down.

There is one sure-fire way that works: you have to be playing a Games for Windows Live game, logged into your Games for Windows Live account, and when you're ready to quit, press and hold the center button for 4 seconds. You will get a menu that will ask, "Do you want to turn off the wireless controller?" Choose Yes, and you can continue exiting the game using the keyboard and mouse.

UPDATE: Amazon customer "Kitten" posts in the comments below that there is a system tray utility that will allow you to turn off the controller if you forget to do the steps above. I haven't tested it yet but when I do I will come back here and update my review accordingly--her link is in the comments.

That said, there is a reason I bought this controller, and that reason is that I really have come to enjoy the XBox 360 Controller. I've also had some very annoying compatibility failures over the years with PCs and "game pad" controllers. The XBox 360 controller--wired or wireless--has been the best. It's literally plug and play and thus far I haven't had any button problems, or had the sticks fall out of calibration like some other controllers do.

If you love PC gaming, but you need to use a console-style controller for some of your games, this is your best bet. You can go with a wired controller and save yourself the power-down headaches, but if you really want wireless in Windows, the XBox 360 Wireless Controller for Windows is the best. Maybe one day they'll finish the software--I strongly suggest they put a tray icon in with a menu to manually handle this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It just works, April 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Xbox 360 Wireless Controller for Windows (Personal Computers)
I have the logitech rumblepad, but it's got so many problems that I just never use it. I was hesitant to give PC controllers another shot because the logitech was so highly rated, I didn't think it was worth another try.

I was wrong! This thing just works. Not to mention the build quality. I find myself just holding it while I sit on the couch. This thing was made to be held. I know it sounds weird, but that's the truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 291 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Microsoft Xbox 360 Wireless Controller for Windows
$59.95 $43.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.