Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME Resource for Teens with ASD Heading to Middle School - WOW!, March 18, 2010
This review is from: Middle School - The Stuff Nobody Tells You About: A Teenage Girl with ASD Shares Her Experiences (Paperback)
Middle School: The Stuff Nobody Tells You About by Haley Moss is a FANTASTIC resource that every teen/tween girl living with high-functioning autism or Asperger's Syndrome should purchase. Coupling this wonderful resource with the ever-so-popular American Girls: A Smart Girl's Guide to Starting Middle School will enable your daughter, niece, grandchild or special teen in your life the opportunity to embrace middle school instead of dreading the entire experience. Haley Moss is a bright, energetic and highly articulate teen (who has high-functioning autism) who takes you through what she learned from her 3 years in middle school. She has some wonderful and useful ideas for navigating those sometimes challenging times, situations and people. Her cheerful ideas and suggestions are a positive motivation for anyone looking for guidance during this time. The fact that she lives on the spectrum and has experienced so much success to excel above and beyond her challenges is encouraging for anyone.

Here are some of the subjects she covers in this book:

* Orientation (creating your own if one is not set up)
* Lockers and Combo Locks
* Changing classes
* Noise/volume challenges
* Slang
* Getting Help at School
* Homework Helpers
* Getting Organized
* Clubs and Other Activities
* Making Friends
* Bullies
* Fitting In
* Parties & Sleepovers
* Social Stuff
* Texting, Cell Phones & Social Computer Sites
* Body Changes for Girls
* Trends

Combining Haley's insight with teacher suggestions as well as including tips from other young ladies on the spectrum, this book provides an excellent tool to help a young lady with high-functioning autism or Asperger's Syndrome navigate those middle school halls with confidence.

I met Haley a few years ago at an Autism Society of America National Conference and was so impressed by her poise, intellect, creativity and confidence. She is a wonderful role model for any teen, but especially those living on the autism spectrum. Her gifts in art are also obvious with her illustrations in this high-quality publication. I already bought another copy of this book for a church friend who has a daughter(with AS) getting ready to start middle school. Combine this book with a highlighter and pen and a young teen can highlight the areas that are important to her - using this book as a guide.

I highly recommend families invest in this extraordinary user-friendly guide that is exploding with easy to follow tips. Kudos to Haley for sharing her experiences to help other young ladies in this journey through middle school.

Joanna Keating-Velasco, Author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, March 23, 2010
This review is from: Middle School - The Stuff Nobody Tells You About: A Teenage Girl with ASD Shares Her Experiences (Paperback)
This book is truly the best Handbook for all girls starting middle school. Although it touches on specific autistic traits, the book is filled with priceless information and helpful ideas for all "tween" girls. Haley has insight and knowledge that is so genuine when a young girl needs advice the most. I applaud Haley for her honesty and wisdom. This book should be on the summer reading list for all girls leaving elementary school and starting middle school.Middle School - The Stuff Nobody Tells You About: A Teenage Girl with ASD Shares Her Experiences
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read for All, April 26, 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Middle School - The Stuff Nobody Tells You About: A Teenage Girl with ASD Shares Her Experiences (Paperback)
Please don't think this book is only for kids coping with ASD, this is a must read for all! I truly believe this book should be required reading for all fifth grade students. It not only serves as a guide for those dealing with the challenges of ASD but teaches other children to be tolerant, patient, and understanding of those who seem to have a different perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book, July 3, 2011
This review is from: Middle School - The Stuff Nobody Tells You About: A Teenage Girl with ASD Shares Her Experiences (Paperback)
As an Occupational Therapist that I am this is the perfect book that all parents should buy and read. Is not only recommended for special needs kids or parents of special needs kids but also for any teenager . Very well written and full of interesting facts .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful resource to have, July 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Middle School - The Stuff Nobody Tells You About: A Teenage Girl with ASD Shares Her Experiences (Paperback)
Helpful guide for my daughter. I don't rely on it, it's my responsibility to educate my kids; however, sometimes it's more comfortable for a young person to have resources that they can go to for answers privately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I wish I had books like this when I was that age, December 12, 2013
This review is from: Middle School - The Stuff Nobody Tells You About: A Teenage Girl with ASD Shares Her Experiences (Paperback)
Wow..I wish I had books like this when I was that age. I wish I had been diagnosed much, much earlier than I was (at age 30) and would have learned the things then that I know now. Middle school was the beginning of the scary part of my life. I suddenly started feeling deep depression in 7th grade and an insecurity and loneliness I didn't know before because of my social difficulties. These feelings continued, more or less, through my 20s, driving me to dangerous depths at times, until finally at 30 I was diagnosed and learned about Asperger's; and learned about myself in turn, and found guidance to develop a career that fits me. If I could spare any girl on the spectrum the hard times I went through, I would do it, and I want to try to do it by recommending this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Middle School-The Stuff Nobody Tells You About A multipurpose book, February 25, 2013
This review is from: Middle School - The Stuff Nobody Tells You About: A Teenage Girl with ASD Shares Her Experiences (Paperback)
In the book, Middle School-The Stuff Nobody Tells You About. A Teenage Girl with High Functioning Autism Shares Her Experience, Haley Bishop has done an excellent job of illuminating a multitude of potential pitfalls for females transitioning from elementary to Middle School or Junior High. Since it was written from an adolescent's perspective, it will most likely resonate even more with students on the autism spectrum. The issues she addresses are, for the most part, applicable for both sexes with the exception of some female specific topics. It certainly lends itself to individual and small group formats in school; parent-child reading together and/or the adolescent reading it alone. This book would be a wonderful resource for any school that has high-functioning autism students transitioning to middle or junior high school and could be incorporated into a child's IEP or 504 plan. I highly recommend this book and congratulations to Haley for a truly outstanding book.
Larry Allen, LISW
Adjunct Assistant Professor University of Iowa School of Social Work
Head Start Mental Health Consultant
Psychotherapist Amana Family Practice Clinic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read for a middle schooler with aspergers, January 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Middle School - The Stuff Nobody Tells You About: A Teenage Girl with ASD Shares Her Experiences (Paperback)
I read this after my grandson started middle school and he has yet to read it. It is written by a young girl and geared toward girls with asperger's starting middle school. It is well written for one so young and points out a lot of pitfalls and how to overcome them. Granted girls have different issues than boys, but most of what she writes applies to both. I may not understand asperger's, but this has given me insight as to how to possibly help with t hose rough years of middle school or junior high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Middle School - The Stuff Nobody Tells You About: A Teenage Girl with ASD Shares Her Experiences, April 24, 2012
This review is from: Middle School - The Stuff Nobody Tells You About: A Teenage Girl with ASD Shares Her Experiences (Paperback)
As many other people have stated, don't go around thinking this is just a story for younger children with ASD. Any student going into a new grade or even struggling with their current one could gain a lot from this book, and any parent or teacher can gain great insight into what these students might be feeling and thinking by reading this book. I highly encourage anyone and everyone to at least look at it a little closer, I promise you will enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great for girls going into middle school, April 17, 2012
This review is from: Middle School - The Stuff Nobody Tells You About: A Teenage Girl with ASD Shares Her Experiences (Paperback)
This book provides the reader with a lot of information about what you can expect when going into middle school. It is full of tips about how to handle different situations that might come up. I recommend it for any girl who is about to go into middle school. The book is well organized and easy to read. It is great for a parent to read with their child and discuss what they will face in middle school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Middle School - The Stuff Nobody Tells You About: A Teenage Girl with ASD Shares Her Experiences
$22.95 $19.80
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.