Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have no issues with these batteries.
I was hesitant to purchase this two-battery pack after reading some of the reviews. Perhaps Midland went thru a quality control problem -or- perhaps I got lucky. As soon as I got mine, I replaced the one I was using and used the new one until it discharged. Then I charged it and used it again...and again. Each time, the battery lasted about 5 days of daily playing. I did...
Published 13 months ago by Dave

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars OEM Batteries
**Original Review for History**
The are a direct replacement to the old batteries in your Midland radio. If you like the originals get these to replace them. What else can you say?

**1/17/12 Update**
Don't waste your money. I originally gave these a 5 star review but now changed it to one. bought the batteries in August of 2011, as of January 2012...
Published on September 21, 2011 by D. Razorsek


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars OEM Batteries, September 21, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Midland AVP7 Rechargeable Battery Packs for Midland HH54, XT511 and GXT Series GMRS Radios (Pair) (Electronics)
**Original Review for History**
The are a direct replacement to the old batteries in your Midland radio. If you like the originals get these to replace them. What else can you say?

**1/17/12 Update**
Don't waste your money. I originally gave these a 5 star review but now changed it to one. bought the batteries in August of 2011, as of January 2012 one of them is dead and will no longer charge. Conveniently just slightly past the 90-day warranty. I believe I had about 5 -6 cycles out of them. As others have mentioned I am going to use a new set of Ni-Mh's. I bought myself a set of Eneloops and get more battery life. I'm tossing out the OEM charger and batteries as soon as I finish typing this review...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't even bother!!, November 10, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Midland AVP7 Rechargeable Battery Packs for Midland HH54, XT511 and GXT Series GMRS Radios (Pair) (Electronics)
Apparently the NiMH batteries utilized in this battery pack are really sub-standard. They have a terrible shelf life (they drain quickly) and did not hold a charge for even 30 minutes! Since I have been doing research on NiMH batteries and have found the new MAHA batteries to be excellent not only shelf life but duration as well. I have several tools (flashlight, camera flash, and
walkie talkies) that can use NiMH batteries and I have a MAHA charger for the same. Do your self a favor, buy the individual NiMH batteries and charger and save time and money.....Cheers....RT
PS: The cost of returning the batteries (it's been about 6 months or so) is not worth the time, hassle and money to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why can't Midland make durable batteries?, December 27, 2011
This review is from: Midland AVP7 Rechargeable Battery Packs for Midland HH54, XT511 and GXT Series GMRS Radios (Pair) (Electronics)
The NiMH batteries that Midland supplies with these radios have deplorable life cycles. They're like the poster child for planned obsolescence, designed to fade after even minimal use or standby. Ridiculous. And the aftermarket is no better, so you suck it up and either use alkalines, or some use the rechargeable AA's. No panacea, however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have no issues with these batteries., May 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Midland AVP7 Rechargeable Battery Packs for Midland HH54, XT511 and GXT Series GMRS Radios (Pair) (Electronics)
I was hesitant to purchase this two-battery pack after reading some of the reviews. Perhaps Midland went thru a quality control problem -or- perhaps I got lucky. As soon as I got mine, I replaced the one I was using and used the new one until it discharged. Then I charged it and used it again...and again. Each time, the battery lasted about 5 days of daily playing. I did the same with the other one in the pack. So far, so good. It has been about a month now since I purchased them.

I will update this review should I encounter any issues with them in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars AVP7, July 22, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Midland AVP7 Rechargeable Battery Packs for Midland HH54, XT511 and GXT Series GMRS Radios (Pair) (Electronics)
I ordered the AVP7 batteries and received BATT-5R which just do not have the staying power as the new Lithium batteries so had to order the new Midland GXT2050VP4 50-Channel GMRS with 36-Mile Range. They have the power to last a couple of days as the old ones with the BATT-5R batteries will only last about 4 to 5 hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Midland AVP7 Rechargeable Battery Packs for Midland HH54, XT511 and GXT..., February 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Midland AVP7 Rechargeable Battery Packs for Midland HH54, XT511 and GXT Series GMRS Radios (Pair) (Electronics)
Spare set is always handy to have in case of emergency should every one do this. ok that what I did any way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars out of 6 batteries only 4 charge, January 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Midland AVP7 Rechargeable Battery Packs for Midland HH54, XT511 and GXT Series GMRS Radios (Pair) (Electronics)
i bought the radio and extra batteries ,, 6 batteries only 4 will hold a charge , think i will go to a local store where i can exchange like walmart or home depot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Power, February 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Midland AVP7 Rechargeable Battery Packs for Midland HH54, XT511 and GXT Series GMRS Radios (Pair) (Electronics)
Great price for two new factory batteries. Old ones wouldn't keep much of a charge. With these I'm up and running again. Good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable cost for the twin pack, April 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Midland AVP7 Rechargeable Battery Packs for Midland HH54, XT511 and GXT Series GMRS Radios (Pair) (Electronics)
The clock seems to run down the pack in about a week, I suggest not leaving the pack in when not in use for a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars As expected, July 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Midland AVP7 Rechargeable Battery Packs for Midland HH54, XT511 and GXT Series GMRS Radios (Pair) (Electronics)
Arrived quickly. Installed easily, although the label faces down inside the radio, which can be confusing. Just look at the placement of the old radio before you take it out. So far, no problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.