Customer Reviews


166 Reviews
5 star:
 (132)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOODY ALLEN'S GENIUS FOR MUSIC SELECTION
If I may be permitted to gush: Woody Allen is nothing short of a genius not only in creating romantic comedies that leave others of that genre in the dust, but the musical accompaniment to his films is without equal. This soundtrack is no exception. Woody unashamedly revers the musical artists of the 1930s and 1940s and has brought enjoyment to millions by highlighting...
Published on February 7, 2012 by K.K.

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I should have known that this is CD-R.
I was so surprised that the artwork on the cover didn't look original.
The cover was color-printed and there is no seal on the case.
I thought I was tricked, and then found out that the description of the product said that this is CD-R manufactured.

I learned the lesson that I should be more careful next time I buy the CD because it is better to...
Published 23 months ago by Sunny


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOODY ALLEN'S GENIUS FOR MUSIC SELECTION, February 7, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Midnight in Paris (Music from the Motion Picture) (Audio CD)
If I may be permitted to gush: Woody Allen is nothing short of a genius not only in creating romantic comedies that leave others of that genre in the dust, but the musical accompaniment to his films is without equal. This soundtrack is no exception. Woody unashamedly revers the musical artists of the 1930s and 1940s and has brought enjoyment to millions by highlighting these songs & compositions in all of his peerless romantic comedies. I love Cole Porter and have his complete collection sung by the incomparable Ella Fitzgerald, but the use of Conal Fowkes as vocalist for these tunes gave them the real feel of being back in Cole Porter's time and listening to them in some wonderful, smokey jazz club. How does Allen do it? Well, sincere reverence for the music of those epic years, which he reminds us so artfully, must not be forgotten. So he weaves them seamlessly into his films,( or does he weave the films around the music ? ) and the resulting mass consumption produces new fans worldwide, so the fabulous music never dies. Thank you Woody. Thank you for films that lift the spirit and put a smile in my heart in these otherwise unspeakably horrible times that we live in now, and many thanks for the gift you always give of brilliant music to comfort the soul. This album is highly recommended as is the film for an unforgettable experience of fantasy and fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Forget this "Outstanding Soundtrack" if you Loved the Movie, January 21, 2012
By 
Gerard D. Launay (Berkeley, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
So many viewers have commented favorably (and rightly so) on the magical, dreamlike quality of the film which effectively transports the audience to 1920's Paris. Part of the film's effectiveness is the marvelous soundtrack. Terrific jazz tunes - and Woody knows how to pick them. Very highly recommended. Listen to the selections on "Amazon" to make your own mind on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Woody has good taste in Music, January 22, 2012
By 
If you enjoyed the movie and you enjoy Woody Allen's recent works then you should buy this soundtrack. The soundtrack for Vicky Cristina Barcelona opened a new world of music for me. This soundtrack includes tracks that you cannot find anywhere else. And while I will admit that the track does not flow as well as the one from Vicky Cristina Barcelona listening to it brings scenes from the movie of Paris to mind. Despite the flow I am still giving it 5 stars because I will still greatly enjoy this collection.

Also thank you Amazon for finally selling this album. The only place that would sell it was itunes but I could not bring myself to buy it from there. I prefer to buy it from Amazon so that it will be in Amazon's cloud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I should have known that this is CD-R., August 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Midnight in Paris (Music from the Motion Picture) (Audio CD)
I was so surprised that the artwork on the cover didn't look original.
The cover was color-printed and there is no seal on the case.
I thought I was tricked, and then found out that the description of the product said that this is CD-R manufactured.

I learned the lesson that I should be more careful next time I buy the CD because it is better to purchase MP3 files if it is not an original CD.

The music? No matter what kind of medium, Woody Allen is the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Step Back in Time, March 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Midnight in Paris (Music from the Motion Picture) (Audio CD)
I loved the film "Midnight in Paris". I thought the music was fabulous so I purchased the soundtrack. I love it! It is a step back time to 1920's Paris - romantic, fun, jazzy. The soundtrack supports the film perfectly. For anyone who loves the '20's, Paris, romance, and great music, I highly recommend this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Midnight in Paris good for 1,000 plays, March 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Midnight in Paris (Music from the Motion Picture) (Audio CD)
If you loved the movie you will love being able to hear the music again and again-- from the vintage Bechet to the incomparable Wrembel--it's a keeper! I was concerned from another review that the track was incomplete. But it's not- it's all there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved the movie, love the album!, February 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Midnight in Paris (Music from the Motion Picture) (Audio CD)
I am in love with this album it's so magical!! Such a brilliant collection of songs, it's really just amazing! I'm new to this type of music and will definitely be checking out more of it thank you for a beautiful introduction! <3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Midnight In Paris OooLaaLaa, February 19, 2012
This review is from: Midnight in Paris (Music from the Motion Picture) (Audio CD)
I still have several Soundtrack albums in my record collection going back to OLIVER, MY FAIR LADY and the early James Bond Movies. In fact they may have also been the last Soundtrack albums I bought. I'd walk out of the theater loving the movie and I had to buy the soundtrack to preserve that good feeling. But over time the association between the film and the record fades. After seeing Midnight in Paris and just listening to the samples of the CD here on Amazon, I am back in the the soundtrack groove. This is a marvelous CD and it is more than just a movie Soundtrack, it is ageless wonderful music that will entertain and even inspire long after that movie high has faded. I'm buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW !!!!!!!!!!!!!!, April 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Midnight in Paris (Music from the Motion Picture) (Audio CD)
After watching the movie the first time, the music haunted me so, I bought the CD. After I listened to it every day(sometimes 5 or 6 times) for a week, I watched the movie again. What a total experience.....the music so enhances the story. A Winner!!!!!! 'Nuff said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Midnight in Paris CD, April 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Midnight in Paris (Music from the Motion Picture) (Audio CD)
This a most enjoyable CD BUT unfortunately when trying to play it on my DENON CD player it did not play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Midnight in Paris (Music from the Motion Picture)
Midnight in Paris (Music from the Motion Picture) by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.