Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Culture Shock With a Difference
Jessica has just moved to the small town of Bixby after living in Chicago. But other than size, temperature, and scenery, she also discovers something else very different about the town. Every day at midnight the rest of the world freezes but she, and several other kids, get an extra hour. Unfortunately other, older and scarier, things also inhabit this time...
Published on March 29, 2005 by Joshua Koppel

versus
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Midnighters
Being born at midnight changed the rest of her life more than she could've ever imagined. Jessica Day, who recently moved to Bixby, Oklahoma, started having weird "dreams" when she came. Her first one happened when she woke up at the stroke of midnight and everything was frozen still. She ventures outside and the raindrops looked like diamonds in the sky until she touched...
Published on May 17, 2007


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Culture Shock With a Difference, March 29, 2005
By 
Joshua Koppel (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Jessica has just moved to the small town of Bixby after living in Chicago. But other than size, temperature, and scenery, she also discovers something else very different about the town. Every day at midnight the rest of the world freezes but she, and several other kids, get an extra hour. Unfortunately other, older and scarier, things also inhabit this time.

Jessica meets the other kids; Midnighters as they call themselves. Each has a special talent related to the secret hour. Jessica must have a talent but hers is not obvious. Nor is Jessica sensitive to light in the same way as the others. To make matters worse, the dark things seem to want her dead. She must be a threat to them so it becomes important to figure out just what her special talent is and it could be dangerous.

This is a very nice start to a series. I don't know how long they plan to go with this but it is off to a fast start. Only one part bothered me. Midnight is the true midnight, not one artificially created by time-zones, daylight savings, or other man-made definitions. That is fine. But apparently the arbitrary man-made definitions of latitude and longitude do have an effect. I found that to be inconsistent. Otherwise, the book was quite good and really kept me guessing. There is still plenty to learn about the secret hour and I look forward to the next volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Interesting, November 1, 2005
By 
I picked up this book as an advanced copy(I work at a bookstore), and thought it seemed kind of interesting, but it took me about 4-5 months after I had it to pick it up. As soon as I picked it up though I could not put it down. I read it in 2 nights and could not fall asleep easily either of those nights. It is riveting and keeps you on the edge of your seat, or in some cases bed. Learning what Jessica's power is, and the evil that all the other midnighters have to face is amazing. This is a book that not to many people have read I believe and it should be up there(as well as Westerfeld's other series Uglies/Pretties/Specials), with the Artemis Fowl series and the Series of Unfortunate Events as it is as good as if not better than those other two.

This was a great book, as is the second book, learning how words can empower metal objects in this 25th hour where no one else put the ancient evil's and these few people who were all born at the stroke of midnight have to cope with each other, and how the evils fear the power the Jessica has which is devastating to their livelyhood. You HAVE to read this book, and the whole series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Midnighters, May 17, 2007
A Kid's Review
Being born at midnight changed the rest of her life more than she could've ever imagined. Jessica Day, who recently moved to Bixby, Oklahoma, started having weird "dreams" when she came. Her first one happened when she woke up at the stroke of midnight and everything was frozen still. She ventures outside and the raindrops looked like diamonds in the sky until she touched it and they fell. She felt as if this experience was magical, but didn't know whether it was a dream or reality. The thing that let her know it was real was when she woke up and her sweatshirt that she had been wearing was soaking wet. The next day at school she found out that there were three others in her school that had this power to: Rex, Dess, and Melissa. And they had found out that she had because they had felt someone else while they were venturing around. They called themselves the midnighters. The time that took place during midnight was called blue time and it was an hour long that time was stopped and only people who were born at midnight could experience it. But also in blue time there were things that the midnighters had to overcome such as darklings and slithers. While on a trip in midnight she see's Jonathan, a boy from he school, and he tells her that he is a midnighter too and that the others don't really like him. In the end, they all had to come together and help Jessica find her power, which is something that each of them has, and she finds out that she is the flame bringer and the one who beings new technology to the blue time which scares the slithers and darklings away. I would recommend this book to middle school students who enjoy reading sci-fi genre books with a everyday, relatable, twist to them.

The book had an everyday element to it, so it wasn't just being midnight all of the time. It showed how they had just recently moved to the town and how bratty her sister Beth had been acting about the situation. It also told about how Jessica had to make new friends and find a place to sit at lunch and decide who she wanted to be friends with. And it the everyday things also played into the sci-fi elements because when she was invited to a party by a girl named Constanza, she excepted because it put her closer to the spot that she had to be to defeat the darklings at midnight.

I enjoyed the fact that everyone who was a midnighter had their own specific power that they had to come together and help Jessica find hers. Dess was the mathematician, and had all kinds of riddle's, with Bixby, Oklahoma and the number thirteen. Melissa has the power of being able to be a psychic and she was able to read minds throughout blue time. And Rex was the lore reader, he put everything together and figured out why they were actually there and their initial purpose.

Midnighters by Scott Westerfield was a good science fiction book. I liked the fact the that world was to them for an hour out of the day, and that it wasn't just easy, they had to get through trials and tribulations too. And that there were real-life consequences to too. Because in Bixby there is a curfew and it is before blue time so if they don't make it home before it is over, then the police will catch them, which is what happened to Jonathan when he and Jessica were walking home from being out. And also that the scars and things from their battles with the darklings and slithers still remain on their bodies and they have to cover it up or everyone will find out about them.

This book was a sci-fi book that had an everyday, relatable, twist to it and that would be enjoyed by middle school students. I enjoyed that it mixed the element of real life and love life with an totally different element. And the fact that no one but them new about it and it became a world for them and exclusively for them!

-N.Brooks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a tantalizing mystery, May 18, 2004
By 
"Melissa didn't know exactly what to think of the new girl. Below her shifting emotions was an unexpected flavor, a sharp metal taste, like a coin pressed against the tip of Melissa's tongue. The scent of unbridled energy was everywhere, but maybe that had just been the storm. And of course, someone new was always full of unfamiliar flavors, unexpected faculties. Each of Melissa's friends felt different to her, after all. But Jessica Day felt more than different."
Jessica thought she was just like any other teenager when her family moved from suburban Chicago to Bixby, Oklahoma. She was restless, lonely, dissatisfied and trying to "adjust." Her ambitious mother was distracted with work and her father was a boring stay-at-home dad. But from her first day at Bixby High she sensed that there was something definitely "different" afoot. She knew that she was being seen as more than the new kid in town and that there was something special about her.
Rex, Melissa, Dess and Jonathan are Midnighters. Each has a special power that helps them through the blue, frozen hour of midnight in Bixby. Rex is the historian, Melissa is highly psychic, Dess is a math genius and Jonathan can defy gravity. Together they help protect the little town from the slithers and darklings who come during the secret hour. Now that they have met Jessica they must figure out why the dark forces are bent on killing her and, in the end, what kind of power this Jessica has.
Put all these ingredients together, plus a growing romance between Jessica and Jonathan, and you have a fast-paced, creative fantasy as only Scott Westerfeld can write. Picture Buffy meeting superheroes, and you get the idea of the pace and direction of this adventure. Not only would this book translate beautifully into a TV series, it could also succeed, with the right art work, as a graphic novel. Readers will be fully tantalized waiting for the next two installments of this trilogy.
--- Reviewed by Sally M. Tibbetts (...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good youth science fiction-fantasy, May 23, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book was clearly written with the reading teen in mind. The basic plot (not very original) is that there is an extra hour at midnight, in this small town, where only a few teens stay awake. Even the rain stops midair and just freezes until time rolls around again. The new kid in town must learn why she has this ability, too; how to make friends with the other kids; how to get along with her little sister; how to defeat the army of monsters that seems intent on destroying her -- all while keeping up in advaned trig and physics in school. So what is good and original about this? Mr. Westerfeld does an excellent job of laying out the plot, showing character development through dialog and creating a nice end that makes us eager to read the next book in the series. I recommend this book highly, both to young readers, and adults who enjoy keeping up with the youth books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It was "serendipitous" that I picked up this book....., July 6, 2004
By 
Morgan (Michigan, U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
And now it's my favorite book of all time! Who knew? Anyone who picks up this book will be imediately hooked. The pace of this book never slows down.
When Jessica Day moves to Bixby, she never expected that she would discover a secret world, Midnight, and the strange teens alone that live in it. Rex reads the lore, Melissa is a pyschic, Dess does math, and Jonathan flys. Each of them have their own talent at Midnight, but Jessica can't seem to figure out what hers is. Sometimes it seems like she's not even a real midnighter.
"Maybe you're not," Melissa said. "Not a real one, anyway. Something about you is so....... 11:59. You don't belong."
This is deffinatly a book worth reading over and over......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great lit circle book, May 3, 2007
I am a 7th grade reading teacher who doesn't particularly enjoy fantasy or science fiction. I LOVED this book and purchased a set to use in my literature circles with my students. They loved it. What really makes it great is that there are 2 more books in the series, so you've hooked your students, and hopefully, they will continue to read the series. Students at this level relate to being different as being a negative thing. They enjoy seeing these outcasts have an advantage over all the kids who make fun of them and all of the kids that they don't fit in with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Enough for an "Old" Adult, September 5, 2009
I am the father of four teen readers. I read a fair amount, mostly Sci-Fi and Fantasy when I'm reading "for fun." I've read and shared hundreds of great childrens books with my kids, and have an excellent collection for my grand kids. But I've always been leery of the "Young Adult" genre. I would rather turn my kids on to an excellent book, just written at a level they can handle. "The Halloween Tree" by Ray Bradbury comes to mind.

Then there is my most heinous of mid-kid nemeses, Harry Potter. I'm sorry, but Harry is dull as dishwater to me. The personalities are flat, the tension is tensionless, and the rest is banal at best, cliche at worst. There's nothing creepier than conversing with an "adult," only to be squeemed-out when you learn they are a Potter fan, and (groan) consider it "literature." Yes, Harry and Co. have scared me away from tween kids books for a long time...

Enter one evening with "nothing" to read. I picked up "Midnighters: The Secret Hour." It took me a little while to adjust to the constraints of the genre: No "real" violence, gore, etc, no cursing, no "adult" romance, -- in other words, almost none of the elements that can add an "edge" to an already good Sci-Fi/Fantasy yarn. From this perspective, it makes the Young Adult genre a LOT harder to entertain in!

Midnighters is entertaining: The teen characters feel modern and believable. Their dialog is snappy, even mildly funny at times. The supernatural setting is quite good, and full of interesting details and quirks. The author does a great job of drawing mysterious elements out of the setting, and keeping you eager for more. The tension is there; when a character is endangered, you want them to survive. Lastly, the ending is very well done.

Bottom Line: This story is far more entertaining than Harry Potter. Okay, maybe not "Ray Bradbury" quality, but certainly top-shelf teen entertainment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Midnighters: The Secret Hour, January 26, 2007
A Kid's Review
When Jessica Day went to bed, it was pouring outside. At the stroke of midnight, she woke up. Everything was quiet and bathed in an eerie cold, blue light. She slowly walked outside. The raindrops were frozen in midair. Each drop was like a shining crystal jewel. The book, The Midnighters: The Secret Hour is a must read for all Science fiction and realistic fiction book lovers! I am crazy about this book because it is mystical and action filled. In the book the Blue Time is when everything is frozen. The only people that move around are a small group of teenagers who were born exactly at midnight. This book is action filled because these teenagers have to battle darklings and slithers, evil animals that come alive during the Blue Time. On Jessica Day's second night in Bixby, Oklahoma, she gets attacked by a huge slither and a gigantic darkling. When all hope seems to be lost she is saved by Dess, another Midnighter. Another example of action is on Jessica's third night in Bixby. She meets Jonathan, who is able to fly. He takes her all over town. While reading this chapter, I felt like I was seeing the action up close.

A second reason I love this book is it has a mysterious air to its writing. When the author writes about the Blue Time, it paints a clear, no smudge picture in my mind. The writer, Scott Westerfield, also uses lots of analogies like synonyms and metaphors. An example of one of his wonderful analogies is "Feeling rushed back to her arm painfully, along with imaginary pins and needles, like blood returning after she'd slept on it all night long." I will read this type of book over and over again. This wonderful book also has a sequel, which is The Midnighters: Touching Darkness.

I recommend this book for sixth graders and up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Midnighters #1: The Secret Hour, October 30, 2006
A Kid's Review
The book The Midnighters the secret Hour is about five kids with special powers which let them live in the 25th hour of the day called the secret hour where time stops and technology stops. Them five and ancient monsters called darklings are the only ones that live there. The only things that can stop the darklings are fire/light, new metalic alloys, and multiples of 13. Each of the midnighters has a different power. Rex is a seer, he can read midnight "lore", Dess is a polymath, and she is a math genius, Melissa is a mind caster, she can mess with peoples minds and doesn't like being touched, Jonathan is a acrobat and is virtually weightless in the secret hour and last Jessica is a flame-bringer, she has the power to bring technology in to the secret hour.

My favorite part in the book was when Jessica first went into the secret hour before she knew anything about it. She just thought that is was a crazy dream. A cat came up to her window and Jessica followed it outside. The cat turned out to be a darkling, which the midnighters call a "psychokitty." The darkling started chasing Jessica so she climbed over a fence. The darkling couldn't pass because the fence was made of steel. Then the secret ended and Jessica had to walk home in the rain.

Out of all the books I read the Midnighters series was by far the best! This book was full of suspense and it was really creepy. I would recommend this book to anyone no matter what books you like. But I would especially recommend this book to people who like fantasy and science fiction books. This book has made me imagine what it would be like to have a special power and be able to go to the secret hour. It would be really cool. In conclusion this is the one of the best books I have every read and I could not recommend it higher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Midnighters #1: The Secret Hour (Midnighters)
Midnighters #1: The Secret Hour (Midnighters) by Scott Westerfeld (Hardcover - February 29, 2004)
Used & New from: $2.22
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.