Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PME Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 14, 2009
(if you are shopping for season 14, then I assume you know the basics already; still I am including the show outline in the PS paragraph; hope this helps)

This is such a LOOOOOONG wait, but...I thought I would share a few thoughts on the upcoming episodes: Death and Dust, A Picture of Innocence, They Seek Him Here, and Death in a Chocolate Box (eps 56 thru 59). All four were originally aired on British TV from May 2007 to May 2008. The US Feb 2010 DVD release date means we are more then two years behind. Ghrrrrr.... Still, I believe these episodes are well worth the wait: Barnaby himself becomes a murder suspect (!), MM's trademark inventive murder tools make an appearance (including a guillotine!), and we see the return of Simon, Cully's (Barnaby's daughter's) intended. Alas, Cully's wedding (episode 60) is still a long time coming (according to Acorn, set 15 has a tentative release date of June 2010, and set 16 of Oct 2010; we will have THREE sets, rather then the usual two in 2010!!!).

As excited as I am for season 14, according to Brian Tru-May, the show's executive producer, there are many well known actors interested in guest starring in future episodes, including Michael Caine, Roger Moore, and Johnny Depp (!!!). I hope this great show goes on forever! ;o) Still, no word on who is taking over for John Nettles when he retires...

UPDATE (Feb 10, 2010): Nettles' replacement has been revelaed. I have included the details in Set 16 review.

PS: For those new to this British masterpiece, Midsomer Murders is a long running "who done it", based on the novels of Caroline Graham, starring John Nettles (of the Bergerac fame) as the unflappable Detective Chief Inspector Barnaby. The series is set in the fictional Misomer County, which comprises of many cosy, rural villages, where wealthy and poor alike seem to do each other in at an average rate of three to four bodies per episode. The series has a worldwide following, not in the least due to the creative and macabre ways in which the MM victims are typically dispatched.
1111 comments|121 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2010
In response to "Older People", thank God for an intelligent, thought provoking, character building show! I am so sick and tired of shootouts, car chases, extreme violence, gratuitous sex and stories with no substance. Midsomer Murders does not have all these things, just good story lines, excellent character development and real actors. And as far as being "Cute", what planet do you come from? I am a huge mystery buff and own all the Frost, Morse, Inspector Lindley, Miss Marple, Piroit, Rough Diamond (another gem) and Sherlock Holmes DVD's and Midsomer Murders is right up there with these oustanding, well developed shows. I'm an American and let me tell you, I would rather watch all of the above shows than all the crap (with the exception of NCIS)that is on American TV. Thank God for British mysteries.
33 comments|88 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2010
I read with amusement the unfavorable review; the one suggesting this show puts the "old folks" to sleep. I submit that if you have ADHD and need a new stabbing or shooting every 30 seconds then this is not the show for you. If you're hooked on graphic violence or gratuitous violence to keep your interest...then keep that remote in your hand and keep changing channels. On the other hand, if you're looking for a show where there's a little more character development, where you feel like you're getting to know the personalities of the key players then keep watching. If you're just as happy to have the violent beating, stabbing, strangling, and shooting take place "off camera" then you'll enjoy Midsomer Murders. If you enjoy trying to "figure out" the motive and identity of the culprit, this is a very good show. I enjoy "A Touch of Frost," "Inspector Morse," "Prime Suspect," and "Foyle's War" as well. Tom
0Comment|43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2009
As a long time fan of the Midsomer Murder series, I obviously enjoy the great mysteries. You just can't figure out "who done it". But there is an added plus to these stories, and that is the beautiful sets. Whether the action takes place in mid-summer or fall or winter or spring, the sets are absolutely beautiful - especially if you are a student or fan of architecture and/or gardening. The sets, both indoor and out, are gorgeous. Where else do you get a story that would qualify for an Edgar, as well as an award from "House and Garden"? What a wonderful couple of hours to give yourself!
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon January 27, 2010
UPDATE: The next Midsomer DVD set (15) not only has the 3 episode presentations, very well done, as always, but it has a bonus disc "Super Sleuths," a documentary about the show's first decade which is quite interesting and welcome to even the most avid of fans. The bonus disc is a duplicate for anyone who has purchased the 17 mystery super box of "MIDSOMER MURDERS: BARNABY'S CASEBOOK". That set had two bonus discs and this is one of those. For those buying this series one set at a time, the bonus disc will be a delightful added feature to your Midsomer Murders entertainment. So...Set 15 is a 4-disc pack, not 3. A value, and the episodes are suspensefully death-defying.
Order it now with your set 14--you WILL want them both.
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Midsomer is the heart of murder. And the "MIDSOMER MURDERS" series is the heart of British Mystery Drama, and continues to be after a dozen years. It's longevity is it's greatest review recommendation. If you are new to Midsomer Murders, be made aware that Midsomer is the county of multiple murders. Almost never just one at a time. Barnaby (John Nettles) would not know what happened if he was left with only one body per case.

This 4 DVD set 14 contains 4 feature-length stand alone stories, but the same excellent regular cast. Besides DCI Barnaby, is wife Joyce (Jane Wymark) and daughter Cully (Laura Howard). They add a family home-life plot to every episode, always interrupted by the murder investigation underway. The ladies also add a delicate touch of romance to the show. Jason Hughes plays DS Jones, Barnaby's right hand man.

It is the delightful mix of murders, crime fighting, romance, and even some comedy relief; in other words a blend of sub-plots with a major multi-murder plot that makes this show one for almost anyone. Well, except maybe the REVIEWING YOUNG, someone to young to appreciate the bestseller style of suspense/mystery/romance/drama that sells millions. This show is based on the novels of Caroline Graham. It's not a comic book depiction on DVD, like YOUTH ORIENTED shows with super-action animated figures. MIDSOMER MURDERS will require some intellect to enjoy, as millions of viewers have pleasantly found.

These more recent episodes contain many award winning guest stars.
Episode 1, DEATH AND DUST, involves a murder related to an intended marriage between 2 older people with children quite vocally unfavorable to the idea. It is a delight to see Stephanie Cole (Doc Martin, great series-check it out) playing the former mother-in-law to the male of the pair. A rare episode with only one murder.
...PICTURE OF INNOCENCE, has to do with shootings, digital vs film, even a camera duel, but the murders are identical MO head bashings, all by the same odd metal instrument. Well it is a part of a large camera of sorts. Not the first time Barnaby becomes something of a suspect.
...THEY SEEK HIM HERE, a has been director plods on in a cheap version of Scarlet Pimpernel, complete with guillotine on the set. The murder apparatus is predictable, but certainly not the murderer. As with all MIDSOMER MURDERS, not good for children.
...DEATH IN A CHOCOLATE BOX, Like all Midsomer stories, this one again provides the picturesque setting, like a calendar photo, but a deep dark secret from the inside of the jail cell, ex-cons now on the outside, and corpses leave stains on the panoramic vista. Can Barnaby make tranquility return to the village?

Did I mention all episodes DO have subtitles?
Barnaby probably averages a murder every 30 minutes. That's fast-paced mystery and suspense to me! THE BEST FROM BRITAIN--PERHAPS BEST IN THE WORLD.

If you like MIDSOMER MURDERS, there is two collection boxes of episodes now available. 17 episodes in "Midsomer Murders: Barnaby's Casebook" (see my review) & "Midsomer Murders - The Early Cases Collection" contains 18 episodes.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2009
Can't miss! Midsomer Murders is one of the best British series we've stumbled across. My sister and I can't wait for set 14 to get here--we just got set 13 and have already watched 3 of the 4 episodes! All we need is a glass of wine and the big screen tv for a most enjoyable evening with DCI Barnaby!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon March 15, 2010
As other reviewers of Set 14 of Midsomer Murders series have noted, its arrival on this side of the pond is well worth the wait. As has been the case throughout the long run of Midsomer Murders, there are enough red herrings (although, I guess the term should be "blue herrings," in Midsomer) that the viewer's suspicions are cast around the entire ensemble of quirky characters. The tradition of villages filled with sexual deviance, characters with bizarre affectations, and multiple murders for reasons that are not clear until the final 5 minutes of each episode continues. So, why not 5 stars? Some of the energy is missing in Set 14, the image of DCI Barnaby in a suit in sharp contrast to some of the residents of the villages mysteriously vanishes, and the production company's use of actors from previous years is not as satisfying for long-time fans as using new actors might have been. For example, the image of a obsessive bell ringer and a somewhat-Gothic-looking innkeeper with a buried history of serial murder are so firmly etched on long-time fans that when the actors who portrayed those characters in past seasons are cast as members of an ultra-conservative camera club in Set 14 it just doesn't work as well as it might have. Still, Set 14 is strong, and it redeems the series from the Set 13 episode, "The Axeman Cometh," one of the least successful episodes in the entire run of the show. Midsomer Murders is required weekly viewing in our house, and we're looking forward to seeing Cully's wedding in Set 15. By the way, as John Nettles' run as DCI Barnaby comes to a close, one of the major regrets of the entire Midsomer Murders series is that Caroline Graham's book "A Ghost in the Machine" was never produced for the television series. The Long and the Tall (for all you long-standing Midsomer Murders fans...): fans should buy Set 14; it is not, however, the strongest set in the run of the series.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2014
My husband and I find ourselves enjoying English mystery series lately. We've just about finished this collection and look forward to settling into a mystery with detective Barnaby. It's nice to find a main character with a "normal", happy family life. The characters are a bit quirky. The plots are intricate and have a definite English twist to them, which makes it nice for something different from our American series (which we also enjoy). Very entertaining!
The only drawback is that every now and then we get a disk that sticks. I hate to miss any of the stories due to this. Still giving it 5 stars because we enjoy the series so much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2010
I happen to love British Mysteries - they are, for the most part, so much better than American TV Mysteries. Midsomer Murders is one of my favorites. I highly recommend for people who enjoy a really good mystery without all the gore and guns and stupidity.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2014
Adore these dvds The best you will get a lot of enjoyment out of these dvds and also not a shoot them up like so many crime stories today. Wonderful stories that keep you guessing until the end.
HIGHLY RECOMMEND
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse