Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the sound effects
This is a great mix of games. I love Defender, Stargate, Smash TV, Sinistar, Wizard of Wor.
The sound effects are my favorite part. If you have an HDTV and sound bar than this is heaven.

I have read complaints about how it is a re release of last generation's but you can't forget that Midway went under and WB owns it now. The games are presented in HD...
Published 13 months ago by GOOEY

versus
22 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Great HD Retro Collection with some flaws...
I have been very excited for this retro collection.
I have all the previous releases for ps2, and expected this to be the same.
well, it isn't and though they did a great job making the graphics HD,
they did not do the sound any justice at all, it's horribly annoying.
a great example is Wizard of Wor, in the arcade it was a little talkie
where the...
Published 23 months ago by That Review Guy


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Great HD Retro Collection with some flaws..., November 14, 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Midway Arcade Origins - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I have been very excited for this retro collection.
I have all the previous releases for ps2, and expected this to be the same.
well, it isn't and though they did a great job making the graphics HD,
they did not do the sound any justice at all, it's horribly annoying.
a great example is Wizard of Wor, in the arcade it was a little talkie
where the machine would taunt the player, here it simply does not shut up.
it yaks on endlessly. other games with the bleeps and bloops sound just as bad.
if you can overlook the horrid sounds, the
(most are arcade ports but there's a few they messed with)
gameplay is good although it seems they notched the difficulty up a few ticks.
In the arcade I never got killed so often on Sata*s Hollow nor did I ever die so much on games like Defender, Joust etc. also another noisy game is Smash TV
this game used to have odd but cool gameshow style music.
no more, now it's just the sounds of explosions and guns which sadly does get annoying

overall it's a solid package of excellent games that would have sold very well had they not messed around with the sound. like I said the graphics look really good
and the games play well. the controls on some games have been redone
and while most have been redone well, games like APB could have used more control polish. it's fairly annoying.

you really (like me) have to be a Huge Retro Fan to
love this collection, The main reasons I love it so much is the rare games
that they have not released very often like sinistar, Wizard of Wor, and so on.
there are no extras to speak of at all, no history, no info, no interviews.
it's a fairly straight up package of old games redone in HD is it worth 29.99 NO.
I would wait abd buy it on sale for 15 bucks or less. usually I highly recommend these collections not only for the fun but so kids can see where Gaming came from.

Multiplayer: they included various 2-4 player modes sadly No Online which this really could have used and most likely would have sold better if it had Online of some sort. it feels like they just couldn't be bothered to do a good job here
so definately wait for a price drop unless you're a Retro Gamer Freak like me.

for you trophy hunters there are trophies!
I both like and dislike what they did here.
the part I Like; Free Play Mode which allows
you to change the Difficulty, Number of Lives,
and at what score amount you gain extra lives.
You CANNOT Gain TROPHIES IN THIS MODE!

for trophy Hunting, you must play Score Attack mode
which seems to be a more difficult Arcade Port of the game
with only a few lives and fewer continues.
so the trophies will be a challenge to aquire.

again it's an excellent game bundle
and at under a buck a game it's a decent deal
if you can overlook a few control issues
and a few Horrible sound issues. 3 stars for the overall package 4 stars for Fun!

Graphics: Nicely redone in HD 5 stars

Gameplay: same as it was in the 80's and 90's 4 stars

Controls: mostly good though a few stinkers (looking at you APB, Marble Madness)
4 stars

Sound: Mostly what you's expect with a few Horrible titles (Smash TV, Wizard of Wor)
1 star

Fun: these games are still fun to me. others may not feel the same 4 stars

Overall: a solid collection of 31 retro games marred by sound issues.
too bad it's a fantastic HD package and they did a fantastc job on the graphics,
I only wish they had done as good a job on the sound as they did on the graphics.
these are very old school games that you have to know to love.
so if you know these games, you know what you're getting into. 3 stars overall.
-
-
-

Full Game list:
---------------
720° - Skateboard through the neighborhood and earn a ticket to compete at the big skate park.

A.P.B. - Drive around as Officer Bob to ticket and arrest law-breakers and meet your ticket quota.

Arch Rivals - Outscore your opponent in this classic basketball game.

Bubbles - Maneuver around dirty objects as a soapy bubble trying to clean a kitchen sink.

Championship Sprint - Race to the finish in this classic speed game.

Tournament Cyberball 2072 - Control a robotic football team and score touchdowns with exploding Cyberballs and short-circuiting robo-offenders.

Defender - Defend a far-off planet from waves of invading aliens while protecting the human race in this shooting game.

Defender II - Deliver humans to safety through the teleporting gateway, all while defending against attacking alien forces.

Gauntlet - Venture through dungeons as one of four fantasy-based characters to vanquish enemies and collect treasures and potions.

Gauntlet II - Reprise the role of your favorite fictional characters to embark on a new quest with all new levels, enemies and challenges.

Joust - Mount a flying ostrich and fly through levels by toppling groups of buzzard-riding knights.

Joust 2 - Transform your ostrich into a powerful Pegasus to defend against the enemy buzzard-riding knights.

Marble Madness - Glide a marble through mazes and obstacles in this platform game.

Pit-Fighter - Be the last man standing to punch, kick, and beat your opponent in the fighting pit.

Rampage - Take control of gigantic mutants to demolish the city and terrorize civilization.

Rampart - Defend your castles by attacking oncoming forces and repairing any damage done to your territory.

Robotron 2084 - Battle waves of robots to protect the last human family from annihilation.

Root Beer Tapper - Serve up mugs of root beer to thirsty patrons before the time runs out.

Satan's Hollow - Build a bridge across a lava river and destroy gargoyles in order to reach the final level, a battle against Satan himself.

Sinistar - Blast planets and collect crystals to create deadly Sinibombs to defeat the evil Sinistar.

Smash TV - Advance through a vicious game show by playing for cash, keys, and the ultimate prize, your life.

Spy Hunter - Hunt down enemy agents while cruising for weapons and protecting civilians.

Spy Hunter II - Gather weapons and set-up obstacles to destroy enemy agents in a 3D view.

Super Off Road - Race around the tracks in an off-road truck to beat the other contenders.

Super Sprint - Speed around twisty tracks and advance through the circuit to be named the racing champion.

Toobin' - Splash through rivers in an innertube to collect treasures and race against opponents.

Total Carnage - Play as the Doomsday Squad to rescue hostages and capture the evil dictator

Vindicators Part II - Power up to fill your depleting fuel tank and escape from oncoming attacks.

Wizard of Wor - Navigate through monster-filled dungeons to defeat the creatures within.

Xenophobe - Wander around a space station and shoot killer aliens before the time runs out.

Xybots - Dash through the 3D maze to fight Xybot robots bent on human destruction.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the sound effects, August 31, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Midway Arcade Origins - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
This is a great mix of games. I love Defender, Stargate, Smash TV, Sinistar, Wizard of Wor.
The sound effects are my favorite part. If you have an HDTV and sound bar than this is heaven.

I have read complaints about how it is a re release of last generation's but you can't forget that Midway went under and WB owns it now. The games are presented in HD 16:9 so it offers something the other Midway/Williams compilations don't.

Turn off the lights and escape into the wonderful world of the 80's arcade experience!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Collection For Us Generationers Who Grew Up With These Games, April 8, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Midway Arcade Origins - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
While I had the first two Midway Arcade Collections for the PS2 the price of this made it worth getting as well since I actually haven't played on my PS2 for awhile. There's really not much to say about this collection other then it's a nice nostalgic collection of 80 and some early 90 games for those who grew up playing these either at the arcade or on consoles. Obviously the graphics aren't going to match up to today standards as most are 8bit or slightly higher but it's sometimes nice to play these longtime classics that bring back fond memories of those times for many of us. The collection is pretty decent about 30 games as the collection is similar to the http://www.amazon.com/Sonic-Ultimate-Genesis-Collection-Playstation-3/dp/B001G33V8S/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1365461273&sr=8-1&keywords=sega+collection which is another great collection to have for the older generation gamers. Regardless for those of us who remember these games fondly then rejoice as this collection helps bring back those memories of yesteryear this time on the PS3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, August 11, 2013
This review is from: Midway Arcade Origins - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I would have paid the price just for Robotron 2084. Honestly there are only about 10 games in the collection that I play constantly. But IMO if we are honest, we remember that when we went to the arcade, there were only a handful of games that we pumped our money into anyway. Sure, it was fun to have our friends around, 80's tunes on the jukebox, the click clack, of the air hockey tables, and the demo sounds of all the surrounding games all clamoring together... But at the end of it all it was just the favorites that we put our hard earned quarters into. This collection of games is no different. Find your favorites and play them until the controller breaks... Buy a new controller and start again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple HD update of classics, January 17, 2013
By 
Phantasmagoria (the folds time and space) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Midway Arcade Origins - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Nothing gimmicky like 80s music or extra minigames in this package just a solid collection of some of the most addictive titles from our arcade past. The HD conversion process actually makes some of these games more playable as well as the dual stick controls for games like Smash TV and Robotron. If you have an arcade stick games like Defender really hold up well and can be hard to stop. These games are almost all classics in one respect or another you can't go wrong with this bundle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Midway Arcade Origins:A Logical Review, December 2, 2012
By 
The Mountaineer (Blue Ridge Mountains) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Midway Arcade Origins - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I was very thrilled to get Midway's Arcade Origins for the Playstation and overall I was very impressed with it.I'm hoping the Midway,Namco,or even Data-East collections make their way to the PS3 consoles...I felt burned when I found out my copies of the PS2 couldn't be played on the PS3.On that note it was very refreshing for this Midway collection at a reasonable price.Our current 'most helped reviewer' has a pretty negative outlook and strays from logic such as the following....

Controller Functions:
Yes the trackball from Marble Madness had interesting reaction to the slightest touch,but the smooth action on the joystick knobs has pretty smooth response too.Same can be said for Defender or Super Off Road which used a steering wheel,as a substitute the playstation's controller and button assignments are well laid out.The reviewer isn't thinking like an adult 'I want a trackball blah,blah,blah' like a whining child.Technology has progressed (and will continue to) allowing these games to be comfortably played on a flexible controller.If you expect the controller styles to be 100% accurate then buy the original arcade game,actually a product like what the reviewer mentioned probably wouldn't be as heavy-duty or would be very limited to range of use.

The Games:
As far as the games some of these I had from the previous Midway Arcade Treasures collections and I felt the library was perfectly consolidated.Root Beer Tapper?it's a very straight forward game but requires speed and serious hand/eye coordination to keep up.Xybots isn't really in league with Wolfenstein 3D or Doom but it's a decent third person person shooter.Smash TV and Total Carnage were decent shooters of the early 1990's but they ate quarters since you got killed so quick by enemies in mass quantities...but the bosses were awesome!Rampage was alot of fun-who wouldn't want to be a ruthless monster destroying buildings and eating while destroying cars,tanks,and anything that can hurt you.I've never been much of a sports game fan but I liked the basketball game Arch-Rivals which allowed you punch another player to get your ball back...playing by street rules.Gauntlet/Gauntlet II was a quarter burner just like Smash TV and though it doesn't hold a candle to the souped up action games today Gauntlet was a tasty delight just as well as Wizards of Wor.Pit Fighter may not have gained as much popularity as Mortal Kombat due to advanced moves and fatalities.But you could move around more and pick up weapons(shurikens,pool cues,knives,and even a motorcycle) and at certain times there are two opponents at once to fight.Watch out for the occassional character who pops out from the crowd and tries to knife you...you can attack them back.Pit-Fighter came out several years before MK and despite the lack of eye candy gave I really liked Pit-Fighter.Galaga was created by Namco and I believe Space Invaders was as well,or maybe Atari...either way Midway/WB doesn't own the rights to these titles so that explains why they aren't included.Every game on this collection has varying fun factors depending on the player and I like this approach of these vintage collections,it really brings something special to the table.

Presentation:
It was pretty cool to see the old original cabinets of these classic games on the game selection screen,it really takes you back seeing them after all these years and the unique character behind these games.For thirty dollars rather than the typical fifty to sixty dollar price for a PS3 game just released?pretty good value.The ability to choose free play settings such as difficulty,number of lives,score bonus does lend flexibility to the settings.

Final Thoughts:
Not that I'm against the video games of today(as a matter of fact my modern game collection consists of first person shooters),but alot are missing something special behind all that high resolution...to be honest I think the newer/hi-tech games have gotten easy to beat.These retro games were more streamlined back then-some were just fun in general to play and some were flat out challenging.Although this isn't an included game PAC-MAN was a great example of a basic retro game..it required very quick hand and eye coordination to survive.The beauty of these arcade collections is they get re-released in higher resolution without sacrificing the natural low-res graphics and even better...no more quarters to burn through!As I mentioned earlier I had the Gottlieb and Williams Pinball Hall of Fame Collections,Midway Arcade Treasures Vol.1-3,Namco Museum Collection and the Intellivision Collection(it was okay but accurately captured).Altogether I spent alot more time playing these collections than the newer games because they prove to have a focused level of enjoyment.Just like the Sonic's Ultimate Sega Genesis Collection-It doesn't quite shine me on like the arcade collections do,but I do miss those my old Sega Genesis at times.Anyways,the Midway Arcade Origins is great and I highly recommend it...5-stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There's nothing like old school and these are some of the best!, April 25, 2014
By 
M. Shelton (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Midway Arcade Origins - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I grew up on classic arcade games. I would get off the bus 3 stops early to hit the bowling alley on the way home from school so I could drop a dollar or two in quarters into those awesome arcade machines!!

The cool thing is that my daughters (16,14,10 & 8) love these games as well. They'll play gauntlet or rampage for hours! And now they've got even more games to be introduced to. They love Joust and Rampart to name a couple. There's nothing like passing on the legend of 1980s gaming legends to your kids and friends.

Just buy it already, you know you want to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great trip down memory lane, June 15, 2014
By 
J. Conway (Grand Rapids, MI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Midway Arcade Origins - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
This game delivered just what I had hoped: a fun re-visitation of those great arcade games from the 80's. These games are exactly as I remember them from my misspent youth. Lots of fun! There are 31 classic games spanning from the early 80's to early 90's. I remembered most of these, but a couple I wasn't as familiar with. As always with classic games, some are incredibly fun and amazing for their time, others are a bit lacking. This is a great collection, however, and I'd highly recommend it for anyone looking to relive that 80's arcade magic (without having to shell out all those quarters!). As a bonus, PS3 trophies and XBO360 achievements as well as online leaderboards are included. Met my expectations and was a good purchase, especially for the cheap price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great memories, February 22, 2014
By 
Anthony Chen (Roseville, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Midway Arcade Origins - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I was one of the top tournament Cyberball players back when the game was popular so I was very excited to test how true this version was as compared to the arcade version. The game was exactly how i remembered it down to the exact timing and reaction of each play. I am fairly certain it's just a direct port, but the developers did an amazing job getting four players to fit on one screen by doing a side by side split screen. I was so happy to show my sons how dad dumped $1000+ of grandpa's college fund into this game. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tournament Cyberball 2072, February 22, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Midway Arcade Origins - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
When I was going to Junior High and High School (tough days for me..) I used to ditch school and go to the local mall and pump int $20 into the cyberball game at the local arcade.... loved that game...

When the PS3 and xbox both came out with PSN downloads of the game individually..the sound sometimes would screw up and only had basically 2 player cooperative play.. it just wasn't the full tournament cyberball feeling to it (there were two arcade versions..)

anyway when I saw the reviews on this midway arcade origins...they fixed the cyberball sound and made it so you can actually (I think..) play 4 players on that game...good party game.

Also there are a few other arcade games.. I know crash tv is on there that was very popular at the arcades and there are a few other classic midway's that you might like.. but my main reason was for cyberball. Best version there is out there right now... so this was a good purchase for me! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Midway Arcade Origins - Playstation 3
Midway Arcade Origins - Playstation 3 by Warner Home Video - Games (PlayStation 3)
$19.99 $18.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.