Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4 Stars for Hydro Thunder
I bought this game for one reason, Hydro Thunder, and after reading the reviews about it freezing I was worried about it, but I decided to buy it anyway... that being said I had not had any problems with lock ups, and the game has saved the locked stages after I unlocked them, I don't know if it's because I went ahead and finished at least one race in each track and when...
Published on October 20, 2005 by InfiniteWisdom

versus
11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia Seekers Only
Back when these games were popular, people like me were very picky about arcade-to-home conversions. A good one was hard to come by. Nowadays, there is no excuse for anything but arcade perfect. Here is a quick rundown of each game and how it stacks up to the original:

1. SF Rush - The Rock: Emulated from arcade version. Difficult to control. FPS (frames per...
Published on November 20, 2005 by J. Burke


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4 Stars for Hydro Thunder, October 20, 2005
By 
InfiniteWisdom (ft walton beach florida) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Midway Arcade Treasures 3 - Xbox (Video Game)
I bought this game for one reason, Hydro Thunder, and after reading the reviews about it freezing I was worried about it, but I decided to buy it anyway... that being said I had not had any problems with lock ups, and the game has saved the locked stages after I unlocked them, I don't know if it's because I went ahead and finished at least one race in each track and when the game saves your high score, it also saves the stage, so make sure you unlock the medium and hard stages to go ahead and race on one and if you get to add your name at the end for a high score then you shouldn't have to worry about it not being saved. the rest of the games are ok, I do wish like some other people here that they had include racing usa, or racing the world, but I think it had to do with the fact that there is just not enought disk space to have so many high graphics games in one disk, if they did it probably only be 4 games instead of 8, but that still would have been better than what they offered here. another note, game codes from your old dreamcast days do work on this version, so you can unlock everything right away if you wanted to. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Midway's Need For Speed, December 22, 2005
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Midway Arcade Treasures 3 - Xbox (Video Game)
There is so much within the classic video games these days. Nevertheless, it really isn't a bad thing, but it still remains a whole lot of fun. Midway has been pushing those classics to the bone recently with a P.C. version offf their original Midway Arcade Treasures series. Although it might not be much for those who feel the nedd to be fast and furious in the world of racing games. Yet, with games like Need For Speed: Most Wanted and Mario Kart DS for Nintendo's DS out, there are just some Xbox fanatics that just want it to really let loose from the past. Now, that opportunity is here for all.

Midway Arcade Treasures 3 for the Xbox, is a compilation of 8 outrageous game from the past, all in one convient package. The games are each ranged from classics like Badlands and the original 3-D racer Race Drivin', to classics that just push the fierceness of extreme racing to the limits like San Francisco Rush: The Rock Alcatraz Edition, and the wild watercraft race Hydro Thunder. Each game is very unique in the controls, and is very simple to pickup. The graphics and sound also have been restored very well for die hard racers who've played some of these greats like the futuristic San Francisco Rush 2049, and they look great. Althogh they may not remain definitive for people who've grown up with racing greats like Gran Turismo or Project Gotham Challenge, but they are just all fun rolled into one convient package.

Midway Arcade Trasures 3 for the Xbox is a great buy for die hard racers, nostalgic buffs, or for anybody who hasn't even played these true racing gems. I like it because there are so many great racing greats here, and they are all just fun to ride.

Graphics: B+

Sound: B

Control: B 1/2+

Fun & Enjoyment: B 1/2-

Overall: B 1/2+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia Seekers Only, November 20, 2005
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Midway Arcade Treasures 3 - Xbox (Video Game)
Back when these games were popular, people like me were very picky about arcade-to-home conversions. A good one was hard to come by. Nowadays, there is no excuse for anything but arcade perfect. Here is a quick rundown of each game and how it stacks up to the original:

1. SF Rush - The Rock: Emulated from arcade version. Difficult to control. FPS (frames per second) problems. Overall, not a total disaster.

2. Hydro Thunder: Straight Dreamcast port. Sound and video OK. Textures are low-rent.

3. Super Off-Road: Emulated from arcade. Old game, but a perfect port. Credits set to freeplay, so no infinite nitros.

4. Badlands: Emulated from arcade. Similar to Super Off-Road. Also, a good job.

5. Rush 2049: Dreamcast port. Sound and video OK. A surprisingly good game. I always liked the "wings" button.

6. Race Drivin: Emulated from arcade. Not bad! The best home version of Hard Drivin/Race Drivin available. They even incorporated the clutch. The FPS limiter is off just a bit, but it's decent enough. Audio isn't quite there either; sounds like you're squealing tires too much. The control is good, though I doubt any force feedback wheels will work.

7. STUN Runner: Emulated from the arcade. Obviously not finished. The FPS is all over the place. The sound cuts in and out. Awful.

8. Off Road Thunder: I didn't play this one in the arcade. Feels like a Dreamcast port though. Sound and video OK. Mildly amusing.

Overall, a weak package. I only bought it for Race Drivin anyway. Modern gamers looking for a good crash 'em up racing game will want to try Flat Out or Burn Out 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, November 30, 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Midway Arcade Treasures 3 - Xbox (Video Game)
The entire reason I ordered this game was so I could play Hydro Thunder [and with it I'm very impressed. I remember playing HT in arcades in the 90's, and it has been faithfully recreated for my xbox [even if the 8 year old graphics haven't aged well]. Besides Hydro Thunder, the other two games on the disc that I really enjoy are Super Offroad and RUSH 2049.

**DO NOT BUY THIS GAME IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR CUTTING EDGE GRAPHICS OR FEATURES!!!!** This is really more for gamers craving something nostalgic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars They must be getting lazy, October 3, 2005
By 
Cedd Dogg "dArTh NaDeR" (stockton, ca. United States) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Midway Arcade Treasures 3 - Xbox (Video Game)
The guys at midway must be getting lazy. This collection only has 8 games and only 2 of them are any good except one is unplayable due to some very nasty bugs. The main reason I bought this game is for off road thunder and hydro thunder however hydro thunder is unplayable because there are 2 really bad bugs the main bug is that when you finish a race 95% of the time the game freezes during the loading screen! and if your lucky enough to not have the game freeze if you unlock more stages the game will not save the unlocked stages when you exit the game! the game has an autosave feature but it does not work. and even if you manualy save it still does not work! hydro thunder appears to be the only game in this collection with this problem. anyways just wanted to let you know incase you were thinking about buying this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Works with old xbox only, August 1, 2013
By 
Anonymous (Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Midway Arcade Treasures 3 - Xbox (Video Game)
I'm sure this arcade pack would have been a fun time, except it didn't work on my new xbox, it is only compatible with the old xbox devices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WILL NOT WORK ON XBOX 360!!!, March 20, 2013
By 
Tim Pheil (Selah, Wa USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Midway Arcade Treasures 3 - Xbox (Video Game)
Despite me searching on "hydro thunder 360" and "hydro thunder xbox 360" on amazon and this game showing up. It will not work. When you try to load it all that's comes on is sign saying "For Xbox, look for work around online". Apparently a lot of people have and their isn't one. In fact others have tried it on 2nd gen xboxs before the 360 and it won't work. The only thing I did find is that you can gang a xbox to an xbox 360 and it will send the game threw the video feeds to your TV. There are sites that list games that won't work on the 360. And this isn't on any of them. My 7yr old son loves Hydro Thunder Hurricane which is a cheap DL for 1500 points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars did't work, February 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Midway Arcade Treasures 3 - Xbox (Video Game)
does not work in my system. so i am really mad. they should tell people it wont work on the new xbox 360.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, August 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Midway Arcade Treasures 3 - Xbox (Video Game)
the kids were stuck from the start and i saw the og in the arcde and there really wasnt a difffernce
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Should be aware as buyer!, May 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Midway Arcade Treasures 3 - Xbox (Video Game)
Could not be played on Xbox 360!! Should have been noted in product description! Will be careful when buying games on line!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Midway Arcade Treasures 3 - Xbox
Midway Arcade Treasures 3 - Xbox by Midway Entertainment (Xbox)
$20.74
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.