Customer Reviews


349 Reviews
5 star:
 (238)
4 star:
 (57)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


88 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See it on the BIG Screen
Caught this film yesterday and all I can say is wow. If you like music, guitars or any combination of the two catch this one on the big screen. Then you can easily decide if you need to add this dvd to your music archives. The progression of stories and how they are told is excellent, as well as the music presented. [...]

I came here yesterday after getting...
Published on September 10, 2009 by Arthead

versus
28 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but Somewhat Disappointing
For someone who has long loved guitars and classic rock, few documentary premises have intrigued me more than It Might Get Loud's - filming three generations of famous guitarists spontaneously chatting/jamming and interspersing their personal stories. Unfortunately, execution does not live up to promise. For starters, many may quibble with the guitarists - Jimmy Page, The...
Published on September 19, 2010 by Bill R. Moore


‹ Previous | 122 23 2435 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Essential Viewing for Rock Guitarists, April 14, 2011
This review is from: It Might Get Loud (DVD)
If you're a rock guitarist, you're going to get a lot out of this movie. This is a low-key summit of sorts in which three very different guitarists (Jimmy Page, the Edge, and Jack White)kick back to trade licks and talk about why the love playing electric guitar so much. In separate segments, we also learn about many of the obstacles each man has faced in becoming a truly unique and memorable instrumentalist. For Page - the most musicianly of the lot - it seems to have been the fear of being a session player for the rest of his life. White, on the other hand, feared that his passion for the blues would lock him into a predictable 12 bar "blues-rock" box. The Edge's story is most dramatic, taking us back to the Ireland of the 1970s which was wracked by an awful economy and hideous acts of terrorism. It's an absolute treasure seeing each of their unique approaches and contrasting them; the Edge revels in high-tech pedals and rack effects whereas White prefers cheaper guitars and amps that he has to "fight" to get a sound out of.

If you're not a rock guitarist, you will probably deduct a star from my interview and wish there were more "fight" in this movie. There's absolutely no conflict on display here, and all three guitar heroes are true gentlemen even when they politely disagree. The very best rock movies (such as "Hail, Hail Rock and Roll" and even the comedy "This is Spinal Tap") are able to attract nonmusicians through very dramatic scenes with conflict. I saw this film with a nonmusician who found the film long-winded and tedious when the guitarists weren't playing, and I can understand why.

Still, to me, the true beauty of the film is how it forces the viewer to re-evaluate guitarists who they may not personally enjoy. There are those who have claimed Page is a dinosaur who couldn't play well on stage, that the Edge is a player of effects rather than of music, and that White is a barely competent eccentric. I believe this movie proves those people wrong, and it reveals the professional craft behind even what sounds like off-the-cuff playing. "It Might Get Loud" is like an impromptu jam session with wonderful, supportive friends who allow you to be yourself, and it's worth viewing if you are a musician yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Video, April 13, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: It Might Get Loud (DVD)
I have watched this a couple times and will watch it again. I get more out of it musically each time. What a great idea to have three great guitarists share their insights with us!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT MUSICIANS HAVING A GOOD TIME, April 2, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Three guitarists of character in a unique setting jamming together and enjoying it. Look at the smiles ! Beautiful and loud!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good View For Those Interested In The Creative Process., March 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: It Might Get Loud (DVD)
"It Might Get Loud" is an excellent documentary for those who want to look into the different creative processes behind some popular rock guitarists, both young and old. Some have critizied Jack White's role in this film but it's obvious. He presents himself as a low-tech, go-by-feel, minimal guitar effect guy. He is anti-The Edge in this regard, as we see The Edge explain his dependence on rack upon rack of effects to obtain his sound. Jimmy Page is the elder scholar throughout. The glimpse of his guitar collection, guitar cases lined up in a storage area, is impressive. I didn't expect him to be as articulate as he is in this piece.

IMGL is a very well directed and produced film. Shots are interestingly framed and audio is excellent throughout.

A very good watch for anyone interested in how guitarists may go about their creative process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very cool, March 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: It Might Get Loud (DVD)
Jack white impressed me. Also, I liked U2 but knew nothing about the Edge. Ofcourse Jimmy Page, what can I say! Love this and bought it. I've been passing it around to my friends and they love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Soundtrack, March 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: It Might Get Loud (DVD)
This was an awesome soundtrack with 3 of the best musicians there are. I had someone give it to me to watch and loved it, so I bought it myself for my boyfriend who is a bass player in a band. Watching it was an inspiration, the music was great and the interviews with each of them was something you won't see anywhere else. It's a classic and a must buy for everyone!!! I don't know who I enjoyed the most, Jimmy Page or Jack White......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Music lover? Guitar lover? BUY THIS!, March 15, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
GREAT movie about guitar. Even better blu-ray! The picture quality is fantastic and the sound quality gives you a "You Are There" feel. If you love guitar, music or both, you should buy this BD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you love rock guitar, this is for you!, February 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: It Might Get Loud (DVD)
It was a joy to listen to the interviews with three impassioned guitarists who are masters in their genre, each bringing a different style and attitude to their work. For me it was the interplay between them as they discussed how and why they do what they do. I am not a musician, but this film was absolutely fascinating and enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For musicians, particularly rock guitarists., February 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: It Might Get Loud (DVD)
I enjoyed this DVD, but bought it primarily because I am a U2 fan. I agree somewhat with other reviewer's notes for this product, as Jack White's portayed attitude/facial expression is abrasive by comparison and he doesn't seem to add much value to the discussion at first. However, if you watch this with an open mind and if you like his stuff already, it is decent and you can dig where he's coming from. He just comes off as a punk kid amongst rock history legends; maybe it is intended. Different music styles and generation differences might skew how one views this DVD. All said, it was worth the money, and I recommend that any fan of these guys, or rock history in general, at least watch this production once. It opened my interests enough to check out more of White's music and you can't go wrong be delving into more Led Zep! U2 will remain favorite, for me. A couple U2 gems in there, and a old video clip of U2 that I never knew existed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you are a fan of the electric guitar, this is a must, January 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
How often do you get the chance to listen to Jimmy Page, The Edge, and Jack White, by themselves discuss their inspirations, thoughts on the guitar, and history? Not very. Let alone having them all together in the same room, playing each other's music and speaking collaboratively on their music. The thing that I enjoyed the most from this DVD was how it suddenly made their work more grounded and real. There is logic, but also choas. And you start to feel as though you can really understand where they are coming from. Awesome from beginning to end. Check it out for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 122 23 2435 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

It Might Get Loud
It Might Get Loud by Davis Guggenheim (DVD - 2009)
$14.99 $12.20
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.