Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love It!
I bought this game yesterday, and it totally rocks! When you buy this game, DON'T install it. Instead, get the 2.1 patch and go to the unlockable content. Click the unlock button under Shades of Darkness and type in your activation key. It will think a few seconds and will then say you successfully unlocked the Shades of Darkness expansion. Go to campaign and click on the...
Published 13 months ago by Nikita F.

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enough to keep me going, not enough to recommend
Heroes of Might & Magic V had an incredibly rough launch, the original game was a technical disaster, it ran poorly on high end machines, crashed frequently and was riddled with bugs and exploits. As of the latest patch, Shades of Darkness is "working", it only crashes about once or twice a day, and while some unit spells are clearly broken and the UI has some serious...
Published 14 months ago by Sun Jian


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enough to keep me going, not enough to recommend, May 11, 2013
This review is from: Might & Magic Heroes VI: Shades of Darkness [Download] (Software Download)
Heroes of Might & Magic V had an incredibly rough launch, the original game was a technical disaster, it ran poorly on high end machines, crashed frequently and was riddled with bugs and exploits. As of the latest patch, Shades of Darkness is "working", it only crashes about once or twice a day, and while some unit spells are clearly broken and the UI has some serious failures, the game is playable. Unless you have a multiple video cards, or you play on a laptop.

This stand-alone expansion offers two new campaigns, one with the Dark Elves, called the Dungeon faction, and a second Necropolis campaign, which is of course a vanilla faction. I was rather upset that both new heroes are Might heroes, I don't like making custom heroes so having two might heroes again (the last two DLC packs were also might heroes..) is a little tedious.

The story is...decent, albeit a little hard to follow in the beginning when you don't know who's who. The storytelling is a bit slow, and yet it doesn't really cover some of the "need to know" stuff that gets you hooked. Because of that, I didn't really care much for Raelag, or the Necro hero who's name I've already forgotten. It's weird because I actually felt that the characters in the original game were quite compelling even when their voice actors were terrible.

The gameplay is still pretty much the same deal, there are no changes to core mechanics, the new faction is a bit too strong for my liking. The pre-order Dynasty Weapons are very, very strong, making the game a bit too easy, even on hard difficulty if you chose to utilize them. Veteran players will have no problem plowing through the campaign on normal or hard, so don't expect much of a challenge, unless you find "portal back to your city to block an enemy" really challenging.

The thing I do really like about this expansion is that they did a great job making the new maps, units and music. The atmosphere for the Dungeon faction is really great, much more compelling as some of the other factions (I'm looking at you Stronghold..).

So all in all, is this expansion worth buying? The best advice I can give is no, wait until it goes on sale. If you weren't excited enough to pre-order this game, you will probably be disappointed by either the numerous technical issues and the usual Ubisoft server problems, or you'll be get annoyed at how bad the balance in gameplay is.
It took a long time for the original game to be considered playable, heck it's still not even that great even with numerous patches and fixes. If you're not hell-bent on buying this and experiencing the new campaign then wait for a sale and pick it up when it's 75% off and it has gone through the usual patching and balancing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love It!, May 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Might & Magic Heroes VI: Shades of Darkness [Download] (Software Download)
I bought this game yesterday, and it totally rocks! When you buy this game, DON'T install it. Instead, get the 2.1 patch and go to the unlockable content. Click the unlock button under Shades of Darkness and type in your activation key. It will think a few seconds and will then say you successfully unlocked the Shades of Darkness expansion. Go to campaign and click on the Dungeon campaign (or the other one you just unlocked). There you go, the dungeon faction is now playable!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice game but bugged, September 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Might & Magic Heroes VI: Shades of Darkness [Download] (Software Download)
Downloading the game from amazon was the easiest part of the entire process. The game itself is okay but has been constantly patched to fix bugs within the game. Also the Ubisoft interface with the game has also caused problems with running the game. I had to contact customer support and after a week of back and forth emails finally fixed the game crashing on the loading screen. I had to completely uninstall the game and delete any traces of it including messing with the computers registry and then reinstall it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not what i excpected no change from original, September 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Might & Magic Heroes VI: Shades of Darkness [Download] (Software Download)
was hoping for a lot more for the money typical commercial ripoff does't work as advertised would like a refund
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good game, download problems, September 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Might & Magic Heroes VI: Shades of Darkness [Download] (Software Download)
I like the game but the dowload didn't work at first. I had to do it a second time before it worked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad Experience, September 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Might & Magic Heroes VI: Shades of Darkness [Download] (Software Download)
i am very upset to give t 2 stars maybe deserve 3 stars, the game is wow, but it keeps hanging like every 10 min or 20min, recommend or not I don't want to say but I think they are keep releasing patches to fix the problem
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointment, August 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Might & Magic Heroes VI: Shades of Darkness [Download] (Software Download)
Pros: Game is still fun to play, which is also true for any HOMM series (except for maybe IV)

Cons:
1. Need to download patch 2.1 manually. You won't be able to play this expansion after purchasing it, not even after a few automatic patches. The solution is to manually download patch 2.1. The worst user experiences I have had with games.
2. Game crashes every 20-30 minutes, even with the latest patch...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shades is good, July 8, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Might & Magic Heroes VI: Shades of Darkness [Download] (Software Download)
It is exceptionally playable to the player who likes to play M&MIV Shades of Darkness. Drawback is UBISUCKS with their overcontrol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars looking forward to actually playing it..., May 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Might & Magic Heroes VI: Shades of Darkness [Download] (Software Download)
You may encounter issues when you go to install the product. If you have upgraded the original heroes vi to version 1.6, the install will fail and you will need to uninstall the previous heroes. Annoying, but not the end of the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Crashtastic 5000!, May 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Might & Magic Heroes VI: Shades of Darkness [Download] (Software Download)
Dont buy this game. I cant even get through 15 minutes of game time before it crashes. I wish I could return
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.