Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and Addicting Puzzle RPG
It's a combination that does not seem like it should work, but puzzle game play as a combat system for a RPG makes for a very entertaining game - if you like puzzle games like Bejeweled. Puzzle Quest [Download] is the pioneer of this kind of RPG puzzle game (as far as I know) and a hallmark title that you should play. Clash of Heroes has a very similar feel but the...
Published on March 22, 2012 by Rogue

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I was expecting
I am currently a huge fan of King's Bounty and by relation all of the M&M series as well. I also enjoyed Puzzle Quest and the various spin offs of that one as well.
Although the production on this is quite good, the strategy can become somewhat confusing and the overall story line just wasn't my cup of tea.
Even so, this is a good turn based strategy game for...
Published 14 months ago by mark garrett


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and Addicting Puzzle RPG, March 22, 2012
By 
Rogue (Michigan, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Might & Magic Clash Of Heroes [Download] (Software Download)
It's a combination that does not seem like it should work, but puzzle game play as a combat system for a RPG makes for a very entertaining game - if you like puzzle games like Bejeweled. Puzzle Quest [Download] is the pioneer of this kind of RPG puzzle game (as far as I know) and a hallmark title that you should play. Clash of Heroes has a very similar feel but the puzzle gameplay is slightly more complex than a "match 3" game. You still match rows and columns of pieces, but instead of swapping or rotating them in a grid you slide them in and out of columns. Matching 3 or more in a row creates a wall (defensive structure) while matching 3 in a column creates an attack formation. At its core it is that simple, but there are advanced elements that enhance the gameplay: linking like-colored formations together to enhance their power, forming multiple walls/formations in a single move to gain additional moves, and so on.

You command 5 different heroes, each with his/her own special power and unique set of creatures to command. The game is paced quite well. Higher strength creatures are meted out over the course of each character's story arc, giving you something to look forward to as you progress. You switch between characters throughout the campaign, which keeps things fresh. I have not played any of the multiplayer games, but the single player campaign is very entertaining.

Clash of Heroes is an great casual game that you can play in short 15 minutes intervals, or for extended sessions. It was originally designed for the Nintendo DS and it shows in how the user interface is designed, but it plays just fine on the PC using a mouse. I highly recommend it if you like puzzle games. The addition of role-playing elements adds a fun purpose to the puzzle gameplay and provides a rewarding story arc that gives you a sense of accomplishment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars haha awesome game for 2.50$!, December 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Might & Magic Clash Of Heroes [Download] (Software Download)
really nice, activated over steam. Reminds me of bejewel and puzzle quest.
File size 1.6gb though, hehe long download.

Thanks amazon for yet another cheap game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fun puzzle game, January 2, 2013
By 
Geomancer (Northern USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Might & Magic Clash Of Heroes [Download] (Software Download)
This is a decently fun puzzle game and offers a good challenge (at least for me). I got hooked on RPG-esq puzzle games with Puzzle Quest and am now a sucker for picking up any I see.

The gameplay is completely turn-based, and with no time limit so you are free to think out your moves with all the time you need. That doesn't mean it is easy though, I often feel like the AI has the deck stacked in their favor.

It's mostly a 'match three' type game; however you cannot 'swap' pieces to make matches like you do in games like Bejeweled. A vertical match of 3 will attack your opponent, while a horizontal match of 3 will form a wall that can block some or all of your opponent's attacks. So how do you form matches without being able to `swap' pieces? You can grab the last piece on any column, and move it to a different column. This uses up one of your 3 moves per turn. The other option is you can remove any single piece from the board, no matter where it is. So if in a column you had blue, green, blue, and blue you could remove the green to form a match of 3 blues. If when you remove a piece a match forms, it does not use a move. If you remove a piece and no match forms, it consumes one of your three moves per turn. If you create multiple matches you will get bonus moves. You get a set number of pieces per game, and you can spend a move to replace any pieces you have used previously, this replenishes your side of the board with new pieces to make more matches. This continues until you deal enough damage to your opponent.

There are some additional factors to the game like elite and champion units, but that's the gist of it. As I've mentioned earlier, I find the AI tends to get pretty stacked odds, or I'm just not lucky. I often find the AI getting to start each combat with several opportunities to delete a unit and create a match, which often results in them getting several free moves during their turn and they can easily create 3 or more matches right at the start. That aside, the game is still winnable and keeps a challenge to the player by limiting the amount you can `level up' and not offering any kind of difficulty setting (it is what it is).

There is a main storyline that's pretty mediocre and not at all good, but none of these games tend to have a good story so that's par for the course I guess. There are side quests and mini-games however that give you something a bit extra to do if you wish.

The game does feature multiplayer, but I haven't touched it. I play all my games single player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, September 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Might & Magic Clash Of Heroes [Download] (Software Download)
Excellent game, quick download through Steam code. Always look out for Amazon deals, they are sometimes better than Steam sales!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, August 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Might & Magic Clash Of Heroes [Download] (Software Download)
I really enjoyed this game it took 30 hrs. Well worth what I payed for it. It maybe repetitive to some people, but I found the gameplay pretty enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars M & M fan, July 20, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Might & Magic Clash Of Heroes [Download] (Software Download)
Well, it's NOT at all Heroes, but it is a turn-based game, and I had lots of fun playing it. Almost as much fun as Heroes III. But . . . I still go back to Heroes . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun Game!, January 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Might & Magic Clash Of Heroes [Download] (Software Download)
As far as turn based RPG's go i think it was a really fun game, if you're a final fantasy tactics type of person this game is good for that type of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I was expecting, January 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Might & Magic Clash Of Heroes [Download] (Software Download)
I am currently a huge fan of King's Bounty and by relation all of the M&M series as well. I also enjoyed Puzzle Quest and the various spin offs of that one as well.
Although the production on this is quite good, the strategy can become somewhat confusing and the overall story line just wasn't my cup of tea.
Even so, this is a good turn based strategy game for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best game, January 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Might & Magic Clash Of Heroes [Download] (Software Download)
good game for fun

The games have been thinking a lot of fun with it

I do not want anyone to miss out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Digital board game, January 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Might & Magic Clash Of Heroes [Download] (Software Download)
I failed to notice the "E" rating, which would have alerted me to the likelihood that the game is intended for young people. Kids might give the game a higher rating. The game play takes place within a window, not full screen, and the window won't expand. The characters move from space to space. If a character encounters a space occupied by an adversary, the scene changes to a "battle board". The battles are turn based, and take place in a limited area reminiscent of a Stratego board and involve strategic moves using troop icons. The story line is cut from the fabric of fantasy role playing games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x96ff0b4c)

This product

Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.