Industrial Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty Deals Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer minions minions minions Adele $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Black Friday Deals TheGoodDinosaur Outdoor Deals on HTL

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on June 25, 2013
This game is less than the typical "Free" game!!!

Like a typical “free” game it preys on your lack of patience... unless you like progressing slower than a tortoise strolling into a 60 mile per hour headwind you will be looking to buy crowns. However, don’t waste your money… the game experience is frustrating as you will spend time building your castle and town only to have some lower rank alt raze or capture it with minimal effort. There is no defense against a bunch of timed attacks that all land within seconds (apparently the game designers didn’t think that the actual attack should require even a minimum amount of time… nope there can be numerous attacks that all happen instantly so there is no way to defend against it) and you can’t play 24 hours anyway and most of the time they attack you when you are not online. With all that… top it off that even if you spend $ to “speed” things up it is still incredibly slow play (seriously… /yawn slow).

The game is not policed at all… you will encounter people that run numerous alt free lower ranking accounts that they use to send timed attacks and if you spent money and are higher rank there really is nothing you can do as it requires copious amounts of honour cost to attack lower ranking players. You essentially spent money to just be a target… not fun.

You’ve been warned… in my opinion, your time and money would be much better off passing this game by entirely. If you do spend any money you will be kicking yourself in the very near future.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on January 30, 2013
In a nutshell, Stronghold Kingdoms is in the micro-transaction genre, with effective measures at limiting advantages afforded by players who dump tens or hundreds of dollars into the game, while still providing value (namely, time-saving tools).

Castle-building, defeating AI threats, throwing banquets for your peasants, making alliances, expanding your empire, claiming territory for your faction or house, managing parishes--all really fun things to do. It's an especially fun game over the long haul if you understand you shouldn't be staring at your screen waiting for your buildings to complete.

Stronghold Kingdoms has a lot of both tactical and strategic value. It's a social game, so there are politics and vendettas and whatever else you feel like getting into. There are many research and building paths that allow you to customize your experience. I started playing maybe 6 months ago and have about a dozen friends playing together in a faction, and it's a great way to socialize and play without dedicating huge blocks of time. As others have said, it's addicting to start, but it's the social stuff that makes it interesting later on.

Regarding Pay-to-Win: I put $15 bucks in at the start. What 'premium tokens' get you is largely further automation abilities. The ONLY premium token effect that has a major impact when you're starting off and you don't quite know what you're supposed to do is the ability to move your buildings around in your villages once you've built them. I've been lucky that I've been living off my 100%-matched referral bonuses, but I probably would have thrown more money in anyway, because of the enjoyment I get from playing with friends--both casual and hardcore gamers.

An explanation of 'Premium':
Premium is nice because it means I don't have to constantly manage my village in order to stay efficient. It provides QUEUES, which are especially useful when starting out because building things takes anywhere between a few seconds to a day and a half depending on how many structures you've already built. The same goes for research--the times increase the further you get along, meaning you don't have to check in as often to choose the next line of research.

Off-line automation allows you to:
1. Send your scouts around in your little parish, gathering resources once every couple hours.
2. Basically kill off your troops by automatically attacking AI threats in your parish, for the honour of slaying (or attempting to slay) those enemies.
3. Help rebuild your armies in your villages automatically when your peasants are idle (assuming you have the necessary equipment and funds)
4. Trade a single resource type every couple hours to your parish (this is why you see certain resources selling for 1 gold at the markets).

The trading and army-building is the most useful, because your armies are set when you decide to hop on the next day.

If you care enough to spend every second researching or building in your village from the time you start playing, then you'll see premium as a necessity. If you see the game as a social one, or even a casual strategic game, then you won't need it. Make strong alliances, find good people and you'll be set. You get cards for free regularly, and there are random prizes that get you premium tokens every once in a while from performing tasks in game. You can certainly dump a lot of money into buying random card packs, but as the commentor on one of the 1-star reviews mentioned, you would have to dump a truckload of money in for it to mean a lot.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on October 2, 2013
It was ok not what I was expecting, enjoyed the younger kids pkay it and like it, the game keeps them entertained and my money is put to use
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on February 7, 2014
My friends and I played Stronghold Kingdoms for about a year. We just won the glory round and reside in a top 5 faction on our world. A moderator banned my two friends 2 nights ago for no reason and no explanation given. They banned them as we were getting ready to push hard on another world against our enemies. Not 5 minutes after the bans our enemies started excommunicating the banned players. There is no way that our enemies would know what we were doing without a moderator interfering. Because of those bans we lost at least a month's worth of work and wasted god knows how much real money. The company is stonewalling us and we are being forced to deal with the same moderator that we think is cheating which just closes our tickets and insults our intelligence.

Don't waste your money here. You cannot win when the company employee's are cheating.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on September 1, 2013
i love this game i can not stop playing this game the best game this game is better than world of warcraft
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on June 27, 2013
Downloaded the game to play during the summer, was hoping for something fun. This game is one of those F2P that gouge you into buying stuff in order to enjoy the content. its an MMO/RTS in which you have to create and maintain kingdoms. your are also trading and attacking/defending from other kingdoms (who are other players). This concept is awesome. the game is extremely in depths and there's alot to do. if i didn't have to pay for every little research point or resource. i would have definitely given it a higher grade.

if you chose not to pay for anything and endure the timers for things to be completed (sometimes taking up to a week for end game stuff to complete) more power to you. i refuse to do it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on November 22, 2013
Update: After a month of playing, I have to say that paying for this game is worth every cent of it. I activated premium tokens to avoid the other players to raze my villages overnight. That's why I changed my rating to 5/5.

Original review: Avoid Stronghold Kingdoms at all costs unless you have plenty of money to pay for premium features without which is the game barely playable. Pity, because it is one of the most original MMO games on the market.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on March 25, 2014
Amazon delivered just fine - the actual product is somewhat misleading. Their own docs say you can split up purchases between people (which is why I bought the 240 crown pack instead of less) but then it turns out you can't split up purchases until your _second_ purchase. Srsly?

I'm done with the company and the game. It's just not any fun.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on June 28, 2013
my experience so far, you need premium tokens to be able to play without being online at least once an hour.
you will get picked on by people with 10+ villages before you even get your 2nd village.
there is no handholding or help within community, army stats etc are ambigous, how the hell am i supposed to know in how many hits does 1 archer kill 1 swordsman?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on November 11, 2013
Decent fun game! It is a nice laid back easy game to play while doing other things, or just to let idle while you leave it open. Although you can get into the higher levels of gameplay it does get faster paced and more frantic. Big potential to totally ruin peoples small little worlds and harvest the tears as well!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions

Customers who viewed this also viewed

Stronghold HD [Download]
Stronghold HD [Download] by Firefly Holdings Limited

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.