Customer Reviews


697 Reviews
5 star:
 (351)
4 star:
 (132)
3 star:
 (68)
2 star:
 (52)
1 star:
 (94)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


440 of 457 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing for the price
This is a Chinese copy of the K&R brand (German) series "Meridian" compass that sells for $150.

No, this compass does not have the precision German machine detailing of the $150 K&R model. For example, on the K&R compass the bezel (the part you turn) is machined, but on this compass it is cast metal. But the build quality of this $14 compass is surprisingly...
Published on March 29, 2010 by Ron P. Wilson

versus
621 of 667 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for $10, but not really good.
As mentioned in previous reviews, this is a copy of a German compass. It's sort of neat for 10 dollars, but, and this is the key thing to remember- It's not a good compass, it's a copy of a good compass.

Reading earlier reviews, it's clear that this product has gone through several iterations, paint colors, etc. It seems that the product has been modified over...
Published on January 14, 2011 by Wilhelm


‹ Previous | 1 2 370 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Prismatic compass, September 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Military Prismatic Sighting Compass w/ Pouch (Tools & Home Improvement)
this product is a piece of crap, don't waste your time or money. send me your address and I will ship you this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worse Than a $1 Compass, October 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Military Prismatic Sighting Compass w/ Pouch (Tools & Home Improvement)
This product has many problems with it. Many of which are both manufacturing and advertising issues.

1. This is not a Prismatic compass. It lacks a real prism which can be aimed.
2. This so called "Military Prismatic Compass" is not anywhere near Mil-spec or even basic manufacturing standards.
3. The compass card had scratches on it. They were minor, but noticeable.
4a. There was no fluid to float the compass card or allow the bearing to move freely.
4b. Because the bearing couldn't move freely, I had to coax the compass card into pointing North; even then, I only knew it was pointing North accurately because I know which way is North.
5. The bubble level is definitely not level.
6. The dial doesn't move easily. It's rougher in certain positions to move.
7. The compass won't sit flat on any surface because of the Thumb ring.
8. The lanyard is a joke. Not even a lanyard hole or ring. It is strung through the Thumb ring, which inhibits the ring from closing fully and it inhibits the Lid from opening fully.
9. The pouch that comes with it is cheaply manufactured. The thread is already coming loose.
10. The instructions are for a real Prismatic compass, not this compass. What's worse is the fact that the Seller obviously knows this, because the note in the instructions to just ignore the differences. They didn't even take the short amount of time it would have taken to re-write the instructions for this compass.

Now, obviously this is a knock-off, but that isn't what bothered me the most, and in fact, I don't really care. What really bothers me is that the materials used to make this are worth more than the compass itself. Like others have said, a needle floating on a leaf in water works better than this piece of junk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bargin price for a Professional Quality Outdoor Compass, February 8, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Military Prismatic Sighting Compass w/ Pouch (Tools & Home Improvement)
If you want a pleasant surprise, buy this compass. I made this purchase to replace a compass purchased at Wally World (we paid twice as much it than we did here on Amazon)for my son who is in Scouts. When you hold this thing in your hands for the first time you will realize the quality and craftsmanship that went into the design. Its feels like a tool and not a toy. Easy to read, and most of all rugged construction make this product A+++++++ the tripod connection option on the back is a Bonus. My son and his buddy made it out of a heavily wood training course in 1st place, with nothing more than water, a knife, a chart with navigation degrees, landmarks, pace off distances and this compass. My son said the what really help was the, 1-1/2' sight with cross-hairs and the easy use of the bezel wheel. Whether for fun or for survival you can not go wrong with this SE Military compass.
See you on the trail........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Worth The Money, November 9, 2010
By 
Bullet308 (Columbia, SC United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Military Prismatic Sighting Compass w/ Pouch (Tools & Home Improvement)
Would be a very respectable compass at twice the money. Ruggedly built, easy to read, and apparently quite accurate (at least as compared to the other compasses I have in inventor, including its twin I ordered at the same time in order to get free shipping). Comes with functional belt pouch and lanyard. Only thing I don't like is the cheesy pseudo-digital camouflage that they decided to decorate the top surface with. It would be quite military-looking enough without that detail, thanks. Also, only the north arrow is painted with luminescent paint, though it is of decent quality. You will need an exterior source of light to use this unit at night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-made, worth the money, June 4, 2010
By 
Amazon Customer (San Jose, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Military Prismatic Sighting Compass w/ Pouch (Tools & Home Improvement)
It seems very well-made but can be a little sensitive and has to be placed on a leveled platform in order to be accurate. I'm keeping it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just Adequate for Emergency Use, March 21, 2011
This review is from: Military Prismatic Sighting Compass w/ Pouch (Tools & Home Improvement)
This compass is "Just Adequate" for use. It's a Plastic Compass, but what can you expect for the price. All of the Lensatic Compasses I've seen, owned and used are much sturdier and housed in metal. I'll be using this ONLY in my Emergency Kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the Hiker, February 15, 2011
By 
This review is from: Military Prismatic Sighting Compass w/ Pouch (Tools & Home Improvement)
This is a nice tool to carry with you on your hikes. Keeps you on track and provides the piece of mind to get you where you need to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Simple, Inexpensive Compass, January 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Military Prismatic Sighting Compass w/ Pouch (Tools & Home Improvement)
If my life depended on the most accurate navigation using nothing more than a compass and a map, I would spring for the most expensive, accurate, durable compass that money could buy, and this is not that compass.

This is however a great "trainer" compass that I am not afraid to let my kids use and to teach them how they can use this tool to find their way. I can throw this in the duffle and not give it a second thought, and that is worth quite a bit. I think that a compass, like optics, are something that you need to start with something cheap and inexpensive to get the hang of, especially when small hands are involved (children). If it's something that they take interest in by all means work up the ladder to better equipment. But don't throw your money away on something that will end up collecting dust on a shelf or wind up broken on the floor.

This is inexpensive and accurate enough that I think it's a perfect "first compass" for a young scout or avid outdoorschild.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent For The Price, August 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Military Prismatic Sighting Compass w/ Pouch (Tools & Home Improvement)
Seems to be built pretty well, haven't used it too much yet but should hold up to a little abuse. Looks great, some nice features, and yes, it correctly finds north. Would be able to find my way out of the wilderness using this, with no problems. Good compass for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unfortunately.., July 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Military Prismatic Sighting Compass w/ Pouch (Tools & Home Improvement)
I was quite excited to see such a nice looking compass for such a good price. Sadly, the one we received looks as though the face was pushed in on one side. How that happened through the screen is beyond me. We'll attempt to fix it, and update then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 370 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Military Prismatic Sighting Compass w/ Pouch
$12.99 $9.09
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.