Professional restaurant supplies Spring Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Candlebox Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Gifts for Mom to look and feel great Made in Italy Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Shop Now May4th

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars27
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 10, 2001
At first I hesitated ordering this book because of the price...now I 'kick-myself' for not getting it sooner. From my point of view, a top-notch marketing book has to have information that is relevant, easy to understand and applicable to the point that I can go out and use it immediately. Theory doesn't pay the bills. I want facts, I want to know exactly how others have done it successfully. This book does just that. While the book deals with direct marketing issues, its lessons can be applied to virtually anyone that has to market a product from the Main Street retailer to someone supplying a service to a manufacturer. It is that good. You'll see example after example of direct mailings that have made their respective companies millions upon millions. You not only see every piece in detail, quite often you get the inside thoughts from person that actually developed the piece. Sort of like finding out why a famous artist drew the nose a certain way. To me, that insight itself is priceless. Again, someone that owns a retail store could take loads of info out of this book and apply it to their own situation. Same thing could be said about anyone that needs to 'market' in order to survive. As far as the price goes, yeah it's a few bucks. But I'll tell you, I've spent hundreds of dollars on individual marketing seminars and courses in the past that don't measure up to the value this book provides. And while many of these courses and seminars give you bits and pieces of what works and what doesn't, this book gives you the details. I've read Denny Hatch's other books and should have known that this was going to be 'winner' also. The only negative I have is that the book is huge, I'm going to have to clean out a few of my not-as-useful marketing books in order to have room. Now that I think about it though, I can see it being used as reference so often that maybe it just needs to stay on the desk. The bottom line is that I'll make far more money with this book than I would without.
0Comment|55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2003
I got this book, despite the high price, because I needed to write some copy and was trying to get some good advice. The book is well organized and has lots of examples. The negative is that some of the sections probably won't be good examples to each reader so that even though something here will be helpful, not all of it will, but you still have to pay for it all. The other problem is that most of it is geared towards the big players, those with national scope and budgets.
I don't necessarily regret getting this however, because the cost, if you consider the cost of taking a class, isn't really that bad, the book has value and I did learn some new things. I'd also recommend Sugarman's book on copy writing, he doesn't get as much into layout as this one does, but he really gets into the nuts and bolts of writing stories as copy and compelling people to act. This book is less of a "how to" course and more of a "here it is" now go and do likewise course.
Hatch has spent years collecting and organizing mass mailings and here he presents the best of the best and gives advice on how to use some of this information in your own campaigns. Highly recommend to people in the field or people that want to learn.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2003
When I ordered this book I had no idea how absolutely H-U-G-E this thing is. I got this massive and heavy package from Amazon and couldn't think of what it was. As I split through the brown paper I was happily surprised to find Million Dollar Mailings.
If you write copy you must own this book. It's a veritable swipefile in a book. Everything is organized for you!
Just imagine how much this book would be worth to you if you could take just one idea from it and increase your response rate by say 1%. And think about time savings when you can have this thing right next to you you while you're writing your copy.
The way to get good at copywriting is teh same way you get good at painting - study the masters. You better bet that this book won't be far from my side.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 16, 2008
The title is accurate - these ARE million dollar
mailings - direct mail pieces that are sent to very
broad markets. As such it is a useful study source
for the pro. For the person marketing his or her
own start-up or small business it may be of lesser
usefulness.

This book will probably be of most interest to
those interested in how highly-polished direct mail
offers are written and designed:

Omaha Steaks,
Gevalia Coffee,
Magazine subscriptions...

Primarily this book shows how the most successful direct
mail pieces get the reader to open the mail, comprehend
the offer, and make a decision. This is no small feat -
these pieces are by-and-large interuptive marketing.
For example: you get an Omaha Steaks mailing because
you are on a list as a buyer of low-end luxury goods.
The mailer makes a wild guess that you are likely to
be a meat eater and mails to you with no knowledge of
your dietary habits.

If you market online you will in general have to
interpret how to transfer direct mail concepts to
websites. The nearest online equivalent to most of
these mailings is marketing to big ezine lists or
outright spamming. These pieces are the most successful
pieces of junk mail in recent years.

What comes through in many of the letters is how
subtly cunning and targeted at their ideal customer
they are. Much online copy is more expansive, with
exhausting bullet-lists and what Stephen King calls
"literary elephantitis" - a luxury not permitted
by the weight restrictions of direct mail.

Much of the persuasive value of these direct mail offers
is hinged upon the safety of buying on approval, often
from a familiar brand. As such they are instructive
in how the massive marketing systems of corporate America
function.

This is not a basic copywriting text by any means - the
lessons herein will require diligent study and thought to
apply. I don't have any doubt owning this book will make
you a better copywriter. Compared to a lot of other "swipe
files" you can buy today it's diverse in terms of
mailing formats, product types, and copywriting styles.
22 comments|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 1998
This is the one book that anyone who writes sales materials, be it ads or letters must have.
With detailed analysis of marketing programs that work, you will quickly find, through the many examples, a marketing piece that you can use as a template to create your own winning marketing strategy.
There is no need to reinvent the wheel, and this book proves it.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2003
Denison Hatch has gathered together proven winners in direct mail marketing.
For those of us whose job it is to write sales letters and direct mail, we know that reading the works of others, studying what works and what doesn't is one of the quickest ways to be successful as a direct mail/sales letter writer.
By perusing this book and studying the way these direct mail packages were put together and the techniques that were used is a veritable classroom between to covers for those wanting to know more. And if you are in direct marketing, you are always learning something new!
A good read and a valuable addition to your business bookshelf.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2010
I have been a Denny Hatch fan for years. Bought this book and was not disappointed with the content. GREAT appendix questionnaires for anyone in the business. Successful samples galore! Looking for the lastest update from '04 through now to study the maturation of the internet/direct mail complementary relationship. If you are a student of advertising, save your beer money for a month and get this book. If you are an old timer in the trade get it for your shelf reference library.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2013
This books is such a great resource for mailing information. Some things are common sense, but then you come across something that makes you go, "WOW! That's great stuff!"
We used the teachings of this book in a few campaigns and found our conversion percentages rising a bit. Once we perfect our campaign according to this book, we will finally be able to turn a massive profit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2007
Thousands and thousands of different direct mail packages are mailed every year.

A few are super successful. This book collects the cream of the crop. the "control" letters that made these companies fortunes over the years. And explains why they worked. Will cut decades off your learning curve.

You can use these time tested successes to duplicate. So that your own mailing will be a success. Shows all different types of formats for mailing. As well as different types of offers.

Two other recommended books to learn from are Herschell Gordon Lewis' "World's Greatest Direct Mail Sales Letters" and "The Greatest Direct Mail Sales Letters of all Time" by Richard S. Hodgson

But both of these are hard to find and expensive. Who knows how long Million Dollar Mailings will be available for?
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2008
If you're looking for a step by step how to guide on how you can create Million Dollar Mailings on a shoestring budget, then skip this book.

On the other hand, if you're an advertising professional charged with the task of effectively spending your client's money on marketing and advertising, then by all means, buy this book. This is your chance to look over the shoulder of a seasoned professional as he looks at some of the most successful direct mail pieces in history.

As for the cost of the book... a course on "marketing" at your local community college costs more and won't provide 1/10th of the information contained within this book!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse