Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bold and beautiful
When I first purchased the vinyl LP back in 1982, I was already well versed with much of what had come previous by such bands as Black Flag, Necros, MDC, Minor Threat, Negative Approach, SSD, etc...
In the early 80's, hardcore punk was raw, frenetic, angry, and urgent.
I remember my first impression after listening to this album was that the descendents were...
Published on December 9, 2003

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A+ album, poor-quality pressing
Find an older pressing of this album (on New Alliance Records) or go for the CD. Side two of this vinyl version is pressed off-center and causes a lot of annoying wow/flutter and pitch variations. It may just be this pressing, but as there's no way to tell which pressing you have when it comes to SST vinyl, you're better off being safe and either going for a digital...
Published on July 11, 2011 by nolazep


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a sweet , funny, poppy punk rock classic, April 9, 2001
This review is from: Milo Goes to College (Audio CD)
The Descendents were one of the best punk rock bands to ever come from suburbia, USA, and so - unlike the Clash and Sex Pistols, with their sense of burning London, Johnny Thunders' Heartbreakers from the fringes of NYC's Bowery, or Pere Ubu from the mean streets of Cleveland, it is a middle class, suburban, adolescent existence which formed the Descendents' world view (and that of other SoCal 80s punks). But being talented misfits who naturally gravitated to the rebelliousness of punk rock, these boys - led by the unique Milo Aukerman - had some insightful things to say, and said it well on this wonderful, catchy, sort-of-poppy(in a good way), steadily rocking, hardcore gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Beginning of a Legacy, June 25, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Milo Goes to College (Audio CD)
This album easily rates among the 10 best punk albums of all time. The Descendents' early sound was an explosive rush of surfbeat-driven hardcore, a less melodic but more aggressive sound that was never again duplicated on their subsequent albums. However, unlike their hardcore peers, the Descendents rejected political/angst-driven lyrical themes and instead chose to sing about things that mattered to them - food, fishing, and girls. The result is a humorous album that never once lets up in its sonic and musical intensity. It's sometimes angry, sometimes funny, and sometimes vulgar. Buy it today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Written By: Guy Who Hates Green Day, April 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Milo Goes to College (Audio CD)
NOW THIS IS PUNK ROCK! NOWADAYS, PEOPLE LISTEN TO FALLOUT BOY, AND BLINK 182, AND GREEN DAY THINKING THAT'S WHAT PUNK IS SUPPOSED TO SOUND LIKE, BUT THEY ARE DEAD WRONG! THIS IS PUNK! THIS IS AS PUNK AS PUNK CAN GET! THIS IS SO PUNK, IT SIMPLY CAN'T GET ANY MORE PUNK! PUNK! For the record though, I'm being serious. This album is the balls. Get it or something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Forget its flaws. This album is too much fun to ignore., June 6, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Milo Goes to College (Audio CD)
Fitting in; looking for girls; and wondering why they couldn't get any... that's what makes this record such a punk milestone. Sure Milo can be a bit whiney, but who cares! Part of this record's fun is the immature anger and frustration of being a teenager torn between fitting in and wanting to give everyone the finger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Descendents' 1982 pop-punk masterpiece., May 24, 2003
This review is from: Milo Goes to College (Audio CD)
The Descendents were one of the greatest and most influential punk bands of all time. Many consider them to be the first "pop-punk" band. They were certainly the first hardcore punk band to incorporate pop sensibilities, catchy choruses, and just plain good songwriting into their work.
Of all the Descendents' albums, Milo Goes to College is easily their best. It's hard, fast, aggressive, and abrasive, yet at the same time, it's catchy and fun as hell. None of the Descendents' later albums match the hardness or fastness of MGTC. The sound is probably best described as a teenage Ramones on speed singing about girls, fishing, and food, while repeatedly dropping f-bombs.
Milo Aukerman, the lead singer of the Descendents, is definitely the star of this band. His vocals can be abrasive and mean, but then he can turn around and sing passionately and emotionally. His voice may not be technically the best around, but the feeling (whether it be anger or passion) he puts behind it makes it absolutely wonderful.
If you're a fan of punk/hardcore in any way, shape, or form, pick up this seminal punk album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kabuki Girl, October 8, 2004
By 
Amazon Customer "Anthony Obi" (Houston, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Milo Goes to College (Audio CD)
Pop-Punk classic. Great songs concerning things every teenage male can relate to. Girls, rejection, not wanting to be stereotyped, not wanting to be disrespected, and desire to be a bear. Buy this if you're just getting into the Descendents or just want some good pop-punk with the energy of hardcore punk. An overall classic I must say again. To start off getting into the Descendents I suggest you buy this album, then Everything Sucks to hear more of their current sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raw, Aggressive + Melodic = PUNK ROCK, June 2, 2012
This review is from: Milo Goes To College (MP3 Music)
I grew up in the late 80s/90s so My first punks bands were of typically Bad Religion, Pennywise, NOFX, Lagwagon, Rancid, The Offspring and of course I knew 100s of the independent bands signed to Epitaph Records/Fat Wreck Chords. I eventually got into a lot of diff sub genres of Metal and Hardcore and didn't listen to Skate/Surf/Ska Punk for a long time. More recently I started going back to the early 80s before Skate Punk and Thrash Metal to a highly influential Punk Genre know as Hardcore/Hardcore Punk. I appreciated these bands so much more later on in my life since I grew up with all the 90's skate punk bands directly influenced by early 80's hardcore and being a metalhead made me appreciate the faster, aggressive, more raw sound of hardcore punk. Probably the most influential and known hardcore punk bands are/were Black Flag, Minor Threat, The Circle Jerks, T.S.O.L, Bad Brains, Sick Of It All, D.R.I, Suicidal Tendencies, Reagen Youth, Agnostic Front and the list is endless. The band that I like the most and pretty much started the skate/pop/punk sound were The Descendents. They took the fast, raw, rebellious sound of The Black Flags and mixed that with poppy/Beach Boys/Beatles/Ramones type melodies without losing the aggression and rawness. On to the album...Every song has great guitar riffs, vocals and sometimes immature but stylish lyrics. All tracks are pretty short with memorable choruses that will be in your head. I rate this the best punk album of all time because it was a new style gapped between the traditional Punk bands of the 1970s, hardcore Punk of the early 80s and a band like The Descendents made it ok for the later 80's punk bands to add melody mixed with fast punk which formed Skate/Surf Punk of the 90's and revived punk rock after nearly a whole decade of thrash metal dominance. I always loved punk for it's speed, sloppiness and rebellious, fun tone without getting to serious like a lot of Thrash, Death and Black Metal bands give off. You could head bang and mosh as you would to metal but punk just has that fun atmosphere that I miss sometimes after a long time listening to metal. "Milo Goes To College" will always be the blueprint for melodic and pop punk, they influence bands still to this day...This being their strongest and most famous album. I owe it to them, not only for creating one of the catchiest albums of the it's time, but for also directly influencing pretty much every Skate/Surf/Ska band during the revise of punk in the late 80's/90's, all bands that I grew up with, helped forming my love and passion for all things music. Classic Rock was what I and most people my age were first introduced to as children but it wasn't until I heard NOFX's "White Trash, Two Heebs and a Bean", Bad Religion's "Suffer" along with mainstream breakthrough...Green Day's "Dookie". realizing I was born to love Punk and Metal, The Descendents will always be one of the defining classic bands in punk and this is their "Abbey Road" "Master Of Puppets"...Genre defining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A+ album, poor-quality pressing, July 11, 2011
Find an older pressing of this album (on New Alliance Records) or go for the CD. Side two of this vinyl version is pressed off-center and causes a lot of annoying wow/flutter and pitch variations. It may just be this pressing, but as there's no way to tell which pressing you have when it comes to SST vinyl, you're better off being safe and either going for a digital format or an older vinyl version.

That being said, this is one of the 5 most important American West Coast punk/hardcore albums ever made. You can't count how many bands used this album as a template for their entire careers. Get it now.

If you don't have the rest of these cornerstone albums, you should get them asap (in no particular order):
Black Flag: The First Four Years
Dead Kennedys: Plastic Surgery Disasters/In God We Trust Inc.
Minutemen: Double Nickels
Circle Jerks: Group Sex
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Genius, March 10, 2004
This review is from: Milo Goes to College (Audio CD)
The Descendents are one of the 5 greatest punk bands of all time. This is their best record. High points of the album are "Parents", "Catalina", "I'm Not a Loser", "Suburban Home", and of course "Kabuki Girl". If you dig punk you'll love one of the best, "Milo Goes To College"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Induct this band into the R&R All of Fame (spelling intended, April 21, 2004
This review is from: Milo Goes to College (Audio CD)
Folks, this band is one of the originals pounding out melodic, energetic, sincere, straight edge geek-punk from SoCal. It is difficult to overstate the importance of this album.
As a young teenager who felt critical of the mainstream and was obsessed with music, coffee, food, girls, fishing and running my identification with these songs was immediate. Over the years my admiration for this band (and its off-shoot All) has only grown. The Descendents have undeniably left a strong mark on this genre and this album was its first major success.
The songs are catchy, melodic, bursting with energy, fun and poignant. The lyrical content spans a wide range of topics from Tony's whimsical hankering for a hot Japanese chick (Kabuki Girl - ironically a traditional kabuki "girl" is actually a man playing a woman - latent H?) to Bill's lament about teenage suicide (Jean is Dead). Another recurring theme is in their biting insight into the insecurity, frustration and stupidity young people face in our image obsessed society. Lyrical content aside the playing is riveting. Bill = power, musicality, speed and a natural feel (see more below)! Tony Lumbardo executes his contrapuntal bass lines with vigor and accuracy and carries the melody at important points but not in a obtrusive way (Bikeage). Frank Nevatta seems to be going for a rough, "surf" guitar tone which is just right for this band. As a rhythm section they nail not only to straight-ahead 4/4 punk stuff but the syncopated riffs as well.
This is truly a rewarding listen and I reward myself on a regular basis!
More on Bill Stevenson:
I consider the day I was finally able to not only keep up with Bill Stevenson's playing but capture its musicality a milestone in my development as a drummer. Listening Max Roach and Bill Stevenson taught me how to play fast, think musically and stay relaxed. When All stopped in my town I asked Bill how he was able to play so fast for so long (there shows tend to last over an hour). He compared his longevity in playing to longevity in another important activity - thinking about baseball. The secret is to not let your mind focus on what you (and only you) are doing. Think about what is going on around you and how what you are doing contributes to the larger picture. In other words focus on the band as a whole and what the audience is hearing rather than on your own playing. Using this method one's girlfriend may enjoy longer, more satisfying baseball games.
Lastly, I just have to respond to the critique posed by the articulate music fan who states, "They are the worst and are posers of Less Than Jake and Blink182." To begin with, when one "poses of" another band one usually starts producing music AFTER the band in which you copy.
The Descendents' first recording: released in 1979.
Less Than Jake's first release: 1995
Blink182's first release: 1994
Both bands would site The Descendents as an important influence on their own music.
Conclusion: you're dumb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Milo Goes To College
Milo Goes To College by Descendents
Buy MP3 Album$8.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.