Professional restaurant supplies Spring Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Subscribe & Save Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer bschs2 bschs2 bschs2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now May4th

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 19, 2010
I have been following the "career" of the author and am absolutely convinced that there has been a PR agent working with her since day one. The things written in this book are regurgitated from information that is in the mainstream if one has gumption to research for themselves. It is very obvious that the author is really not interested in helping others, but in gathering followers. For instance on her BSN blog dated today, "Some people say that I must be more brains that beauty....I obviously understand the importance of an ingenious website-as the numbers show that the amount of visitors I get per day is staggering!" That quote alone says it all-so arrogant that she doesn't realize how uneducated she sounds. You can tell from her writing that it has never been about other people-it's always been about her. That must be why Oprah has yet to turn her fitness and health over to such a person. Her segment on Oprah was less than 5 minutes long and that was 4-5 years ago and was not interviewed by Oprah at all. Please read the article on [...] where she writes a very unflattering and self rightous opinion about not only OPRAH but BOB GREENE as well. Please-do your own research-find your own path. Health, fitness and beauty all take hard work and time.
44 comments|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2010
First off, let me start by saying that I am a huge JNL fan and I've been following her ever since I purchased my first issue of FitnessRx magazine for Women YEARS ago.

I was really excited when I received her book in the mail and couldn't wait to read it. I wasn't too far into the book when I started noticing the spelling and grammar mistakes but I figured, meh, a mistake here or there, no big deal. Unfortunately, the mistakes did not stop. In fact, there were so many errors that I quickly became distracted from the content of the book. I found myself focusing on the errors and having to re-read paragraphs over again just to make sense of what the message was. These errors occurred quite frequently. It seems as though the book was not proofread before going to print.

Also, there really is no useful content (message) until about page 75. Prior to that there is a lot of "I'm going to show you how...", "you will learn how to...", "this book will help you to...", "In Chapter XXX, I will tell you..." and so on. At one point I thought to myself, "when I am going to learn anything" and "can we get to the point".

I will be making use of the recipes and I'm glad I bought the book. I don't regret my purchase. I just wish the book had been better b/c my expectations were high.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2009
If I had the option to pick zero stars, I would have. This book is the biggest waste of time. First of all, the whole thing is just fluff. There is no real information on nutrition, workouts, or anything useful. All she does is talk the whole time about how wonderful her program is, and then doesn't tell you a thing about it. And the grammar and writing is horrible. I can't believe how many errors there were on each page. This is the most amateur piece of junk out there. If you want some real information how to eat right and exercise, check out the books by Tosca Reno and don't even think about buying this.
44 comments|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2013
I love her books, she gives you so much good advice and tips that others do not, and she is such a good example and I love how open she is in giving her secrets that we would not have unless we had lots of money to do so.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2013
for a change in your lifestyle and to make a full commitment to yourself it may shed some light. It addresses a lot of areas of your life. If you are just looking for "a new diet" this is not the book for you. If fact, it didnt really spend much time on the diet aspect. More about changing the full spectrum of your life to incorporate a happier & healthier emotional type lifestyle. That is in part with diet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2013
There are a lot of not so good reviews of this book! She wrote it like she is speaking directly to you! And yes there are mistakes in this book, but it does NOT make it a bad book! Very inspirational and helpful for me!!! I love this book and I love JNL!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2013
Yes there were typographical errors, just like there might be in this review. I thought the book was real. As someone who has struggled on the yo-yo of weight loss, it gave great suggestions to starting and keeping you motivated. I recommend it as it was an easy read, down to earth and some great home beauty recipes. Here excercise regimen works and that is what it comes down too. I haven't read any motivational/weight loss book that were not a little repetitive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2013
I liked the book however how one can loos the weight on the diet recipes included in the book full of sugar?
Jennifer included great beauty and health tips however I was disappointed with her poor diet choices in the book.
I doubt that I would loose weight eating cakes, chocolate and pencakes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2013
Very inspiring. It's a feel good, make you want to do something more with your life kind of book. Jennifer's really speaking her truth in here and that's what she shares with you. We all deserve to live happier, healthier lives and she gives you tips to do just that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2013
I must admit this was the first book I read from JNL, after this one I was hooked on getting a copy of each of her best selling books. This book however confirmed and helped me understand what I was fighting against all along, which was my own mind. Being healthy and fit comes from within and controlling your mind and not thinking negative about ourselves. I would highly recommend this book for any woman or even man who has been struggling with eating disorders and not able to achieve their health and fitness goals. This book will inspire you to not only change the way you think but also the way you eat and treat your body.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.