Customer Reviews


158 Reviews
5 star:
 (102)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent source of positive affirmations
As a parent of a student athlete I read this book to learn ways to support him with learning to focus less on disappointments and more on having fun while playing the sport he loves. It made me reflect on how we can easily get caught up in the competitiveness of life without stopping to take a breath. Learning to focus on the everyday positive is a skill that will help...
Published 20 months ago by Fred Ramos

versus
60 of 71 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Easy read
If you are expecting substantive theoretical sports psychological insights from this book, you will be thoroughly disappointed. While the anecdotes presented by the author are amusing, they provide little to no substance. Often, they are redundant to the point where it seems the author is beating the stain where the dead horse used to be. Each chapter ends with a short...
Published on August 3, 2009 by T. Christiansen


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 71 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Easy read, August 3, 2009
By 
T. Christiansen (Greater Seattle Area) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mind Gym : An Athlete's Guide to Inner Excellence (Paperback)
If you are expecting substantive theoretical sports psychological insights from this book, you will be thoroughly disappointed. While the anecdotes presented by the author are amusing, they provide little to no substance. Often, they are redundant to the point where it seems the author is beating the stain where the dead horse used to be. Each chapter ends with a short 1-sentence summary. In my opinion, the book could easily be condensed to only the chapter headings and the 1-sentence summaries, although it would be much less entertaining that way. The 1-liners do contain good information, but, unfortunately, much of it is what I would consider common sense.

Unless you can relate to baseball and other American sports, don't bother picking up this book. Most of the anecdotes are from the world of baseball.

That said, the book is a very easy read. I do not question the author's abilities as a sports psychologist. But I had expected a book with much more substance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mind Gym, October 31, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This a well written, concise look into a gammut of psychological skills related to sport performance. It is also a series of short stories from the author's career as a professional sport psychologist. It is an easy read and well done. What it is NOT is an introduction to sport psychology or a book that can help someone learn sport psychology unless they are already familiar with the topic. Good book, I liked it very much; but not a book from which one can learn sport psychology. It is a collection of stories and within each story there is a skill to be learned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not much for endurance athletes, November 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I found this book because it came up in a search for triathlon books, but I think it was mis-categorized. If you're into sports like baseball, football and golf, this would be an enjoyable read. Seems like 99% of his examples are in these three more traditional sports. But there are a number of issues that come up for endurance athletes (triathlon, marathon, long-course cycling) that aren't even touched on in this book.
I think the author could do a second version that touches on how to continue pushing through the pain when you're 10 hours into a 15 hour effort to complete an Ironman and your head wants to quit. He touches on this in a chapter on determination, but it's one thing to sit on the sidelines and tell someone "don't quit!"; it's another thing to figure out how to manage what's behind your ears and he doesn't do a good job of addressing that. Or how to psychologically deal with a mass swim start. Or the psychological issues of training for 6 to 9 months for a single event.
I read this entire book and felt like only about 1/4th could apply... maybe more if I was forced to make the connections myself, but that's not really what I was looking for. Not saying it's a bad book, but if you're looking at this for endurance sports you might pass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars cliches and sports anecdotes, January 24, 2011
By 
Scott Braden "Consultant" (Most likely an airport or hotel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mind Gym : An Athlete's Guide to Inner Excellence (Paperback)
Wow, this one was disappointing. If you're a total newbie to sports psychology, you'll at least be introduced to the basics. But really, this book is just a collection of cute stories and cliched sports sayings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 63 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Crippled by one jaw-droppingly awful flaw, April 5, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mind Gym : An Athlete's Guide to Inner Excellence (Paperback)
Mind Gym's theories on sports psychology are not all that revolutionary. Any good coach will already understand the author's thoughts on discipline, preparation, confidence, positive imagery, etc.; however, there is substantial value in the dozens of anecdotes and stories from household name athletes. These examples make great talking points when explaining psychological concepts to kids.

So, until I was almost finished with the book, I definitely enjoyed it. That was until the author revealed that he has all of his clients close their eyes and listen to "Hero" by Mariah Carey. Wow - talk about a blow to his credibility.

If you believe you can overcome this horrendous nugget of info, then you will probably like this book. But if you, like me, find this just too much to bare, then don't waste your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 97 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not well written, rehashes other books., June 21, 2005
This review is from: Mind Gym : An Athlete's Guide to Inner Excellence (Paperback)
I have just about every book on the topic of sports performance.

I've read others that were more impactful and helpful.

Granted, this book is good if you're just looking for some inspiration that might eventually lead you to results. For immediate results to use on one's game, however, this book isn't it!

As another reviewer said, it's clumsily written. For my hard earned money, I'd like something that I can actually use on my game right away.

If you're a couch potato athlete that only watches a game, this book is probably good. My brother-in-law loves it. He's never played a sport in his life, but is a big fan. For competitive athletes who are more interested in RESULTS and can get their cliches from TV announcers, this book isn't for them.

I'd give it one star, but those who've met the guy seem to like him enough to log onto amazon and write a review. Nothing personal, but I can't give this anything like the rating the others did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No depth at all, October 18, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The author starts by stating how important psychology for sports is. It is.
After this promising start, however, we are presented with chapter after chapter of - well, nothing.
He states something obvious like "belive in yourself" and underlines this with some quotes and success stories from profs.
Great. This does not help at all. I already knew that I need confidence to excel.
No "how to", no in depth tipps, nothing usefull at all :-(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misrepresentation of "Mentally Tough" athletes, October 16, 2013
This review is from: Mind Gym : An Athlete's Guide to Inner Excellence (Paperback)
Is anyone else put off by the fact that in the first few pages, he uses two examples of athletes who are "mentally tough" yet felt the need to cheat using steroids to improve their physical performance. I had to put the book down after the Mark Mcgwire quote about how he said the difference between him and others was his "focus"... right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not what i expected, February 10, 2008
This review is from: Mind Gym : An Athlete's Guide to Inner Excellence (Paperback)
a solid read, but i was expecting a book that got more into the intricacies of sports psychology, but this book seems to focus more on your thinking off the court then on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent source of positive affirmations, May 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As a parent of a student athlete I read this book to learn ways to support him with learning to focus less on disappointments and more on having fun while playing the sport he loves. It made me reflect on how we can easily get caught up in the competitiveness of life without stopping to take a breath. Learning to focus on the everyday positive is a skill that will help my child in every aspect of his life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mind Gym : An Athlete's Guide to Inner Excellence
Mind Gym : An Athlete's Guide to Inner Excellence by David Casstevens (Paperback - June 24, 2002)
$16.95 $11.61
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.