Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chalk one up for the Beaners
So he's Honduran, so what? Mencia grew up in East LA; how much more "Beaner" do you want?

I'm Puerto Rican and I think Mencia is hysterical, especially the way he rants against stupidity without regard to race, creed, color or national origin. He and Chapelle are cut from the same cloth, but their styles are distinct.

Yes, he is not afraid to...
Published on March 12, 2006 by Dr. Dave

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Warning! This is not a full episode.
This is only a portion of this episode. It cuts off in the middle of a sentence. Be prepared to purchase only 5 minutes of a fabulous 20 minute episode.
Published on December 28, 2006 by Karen Gabriel


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chalk one up for the Beaners, March 12, 2006
By 
Dr. Dave (The Heartland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
So he's Honduran, so what? Mencia grew up in East LA; how much more "Beaner" do you want?

I'm Puerto Rican and I think Mencia is hysterical, especially the way he rants against stupidity without regard to race, creed, color or national origin. He and Chapelle are cut from the same cloth, but their styles are distinct.

Yes, he is not afraid to offend, very refreshing in an era of bocorrectness, and joins the ranks of Lenny Bruce and Richard Pryor, who raised many an eyebrow. I'm anxiously awaiting season two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Warning! This is not a full episode., December 28, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is only a portion of this episode. It cuts off in the middle of a sentence. Be prepared to purchase only 5 minutes of a fabulous 20 minute episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dear Dee Dee Dee's (i.e. "Ant Popper"), March 23, 2006
By 
Rogers (buffalo, ny) - See all my reviews
In response to the "Ant Popper's" so called "review" below, Carlos was renamed Carlos by his aunt and uncle who raised him and their last name was Mencia.

Have you ever watched the show?

If so, you might have recalled a certain phrase that Carlos uses for people like yourself...

DEE DEE DEEEEEEE!

If you're not laughing, you're not living, baby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, April 13, 2006
By 
Funny as hell...thats all there is to it. Who cares about politics when it comes to getting a laugh. Who cares if he's honduran, mexican, american, australian, or martian, it DOESN'T MATTER. He speaks his mind and it's funny as hell. If you dont like it, dont buy it. If you haven't bought it, dont review it. If you bought it and didn't like it, then you have a right to post a negative review here...after all, thats what reviews are for. But I think its hilarious how good he is at passing himself off as a mexican when he's not, and then by doing so can talk about them in a way anyone else can't.

Also, where I live, and work...the whole area is dominated by illeagal mexiacan immigrants...where 10 years ago there were almost no mexicans in the area. They work jobs for 8 bucks an hour that a documented worker and citizen would otherwise get paid 15-20 dollars an hour. There are americans here with no jobs and families, including LEGAL Immigrants, that cant get a job because the illeagals will always work for cheaper...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whats wrong with you people?, March 28, 2006
First off all I have to say is get off your high horse you ignorant asses. The only thing I have heard from the people who dislike the style of Mr.Mencia is that hes not really mexican. Well no crap. He openly admits being of honduran decent. What do you care anyways? You cant overlook the fact that he is not Mexican. Who cares if his given name was Ned and he grew up in east LA. I know I sure dont. It doesnt take away from his comedy one bit. He says things in front of a crowd of racially diverse people that I bet each and every one of us would be a little hesitant to do. All I have to say is I love his show and I cant wait for the new episodes. This DVD is awesome and it wont disappoint. And for those of you who dont like him, change the channel and find something else to b**** and moan about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Right On, May 1, 2006
Carlos tells it like it is. That is all there is to it. If you can't laugh at yourself, then dont watch this DVD, it ain't for you.

Carlos is about making us take a long look at ourselves and then each other. He warns right up front that he will offend. He is an equal opportunity offender. And I love it.

Thank you Carlos, for making people think. That is what it is really all about. If more people listened to him, this world would probably be a better place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this show rocks, December 9, 2005
he made a great replacment for dave chapelle ( Lets Face it) But If you love dave you need mencia everything from joseph mencias 7 days to wet back english to UBS and carlos the dinosaur its a great comedy I recently saw chappelle live and he said carlos is his man but it looks like his muther f****ing t.v show. it is and its just as funny don't miss this I can't wait I will get it the day of realease. BUY THIS DVD NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally someone who is HONEST in America!, October 15, 2007
Mind of Mencia is honest, brutal yes, but honest. You can ONLY be OFFENDED if you ALLOW yourself to be offended. Geesh people get a grip! It isn't like what he talks about doesn't happen! At least he tells it like it is and puts a funny spin on it. If you find him distasteful go rent some vintage Lawrence Welk and stock up on Ensure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outrageously funny!, August 25, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This man is craaazy! He is just hilarious! I've watched his first three seasons on DVD now and love it. He really says what's on his mind and pulls no punches! He is hysterical. The only bad thing is we have to wait until November to get the fourth season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MENCIA IS MADD FUNNY.................DONT BE A HATER, March 21, 2006
FIRST OF ALL THIS DVD KICKS ASS, HE IS THE S*** AND HE IS THE FUNNIEST COMEDIAN. HE DOES MAKE FUN OF PEOPLE STEROTYPICALLY, BUT IF YOU DON'T LIKE TO GET MADE FUN OF BECAUSE OF YOUR RACE............THEN DON'T WATCH THE D**N SHOW!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.