Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book to read more than once
I am a psychologist and I read Mindfulness and the 12 Steps and loved it. I read it through fast once and then read it again. Not only is it packed with wisdom but
Therese is a very good writer. Her personal struggles added so much to the experience. It is a gift for anyone who is interested in healing past wounds and deepening their understanding of themselves and...
Published on August 2, 2010 by Mary F

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a strong integration of mindfulness and the 12 steps.
There was not the in depth integration explaining how mindfulness could be used to depend the 12 steps rather it was more of a thesis proving that the two are related.
Published 17 months ago by Jon E. Faber


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book to read more than once, August 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mindfulness and the 12 Steps: Living Recovery in the Present Moment (Paperback)
I am a psychologist and I read Mindfulness and the 12 Steps and loved it. I read it through fast once and then read it again. Not only is it packed with wisdom but
Therese is a very good writer. Her personal struggles added so much to the experience. It is a gift for anyone who is interested in healing past wounds and deepening their understanding of themselves and their connection to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS ON RECOVERY, October 9, 2010
This review is from: Mindfulness and the 12 Steps: Living Recovery in the Present Moment (Paperback)
I have read several books on recovery and Mindfulness is one of the best. It combines the wisdom of Buddhism with the 12 steps of AA and really puts into perspective what living a sober life is all about. I love reading books on recovery written by recovering alcoholics and this book is no exception. The author tells her own story in a funny yet heart-breaking way while teaching the reader that in order to truly be happy in sobriety, you must find the peace within yourself; a feat that any recovering alcoholic knows is not always easy to do. This book really puts it all together, without lecturing or preaching. I highly recommend to anyone who is really looking to find that serenity we all seek in sobriety.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a strong integration of mindfulness and the 12 steps., February 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
There was not the in depth integration explaining how mindfulness could be used to depend the 12 steps rather it was more of a thesis proving that the two are related.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Into mindfulness meditation and want to incorporate it into 12-step recovery, or vice-versa ? This book is for you!, March 30, 2013
By 
John M Oren (SAN DIEGO, CA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mindfulness and the 12 Steps: Living Recovery in the Present Moment (Paperback)
Our sangha, Dharma Bum Temple in San Diego, hosts a weekly meditation and 12-step discussion meeting using the AA Big Book, this book, and :One Breath at a Time by Kevin Griffin.. (See review). Both books use the same general framework, framing each chapter as a step in 12-step recovery, interlacing each chapter with autobiographical experience, Buddhist thought and meditation practice, and 12-step work/experience. "Mindfulness" is the shorter of the two books, written from a woman's perspective, and a Hazelden publication (which usually means you'll find it in a Serenity Shop, more closely hewn, perhaps, to AA 12-step foundational literature). Her story is gripping and motivational and her style of interweaving Mindfulness Meditation throughout makes it easy for a beginner's mind to follow while the more experienced in either 12 step work, Mindfulness Meditation Practice, or both, find within it an enriching broth that blends and boosts both practices within.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strong female voice of recovery and mindfulness, August 11, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mindfulness and the 12 Steps: Living Recovery in the Present Moment (Paperback)
This book is wonderful! I appreciate Therese's strong female voice of recovery and mindfulness practice. Her 30 years of experience in recovery and mindfulness practice shows through her stories, examples, practice suggestions and knowledge of the 12 steps. This book is has helped me look more deeply into my own recovery from drugs and alcohol. More recently I have been working on my compulsive overeating and have found this book extremely helpful in finally addressing this issue. I would highly recommend this book to anyone searching for recovery or wanting to deepen your 12 step program. Her book will be an on-going resource for me. Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mindfullness for buddhist in recovery, November 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mindfulness and the 12 Steps: Living Recovery in the Present Moment (Paperback)
This is one of the best books I've read on Recovery. The lady has it down. I go to a lot of Buddhist 12 step recovery meditation meetings and this is very popular. Came well packed and in a timely manner.

Thanks Amazon!

:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent! What a find!, January 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
For those of us who are baffled by the notion of a personal relationship with a God of our understanding, and all the attendant superstitions which would put us individually at the center of a universe in which the deity gives us direct intervention and guidance, this is the perfect book.

Many have complained that 12 step recovery programs are shame driven and while stating emphatically that they have no opinion on outside issues, find plenty of patronizing if not down-right disparaging things to say about non-Judeo-Christian-believers and scientists who contemplate the universe and the atom. I have long been disappointed with the idea which recurs throughout the 12 steps and the 12 traditions, that spirituality is contingent on believing in this personal relationship with a God of our understanding, which even Catholics will see as a Protestant idea, and that if you fail to get that you will suffer and die. It actually says it in Tradition 1, just to set the tone right from the get go. Some of us have had to make do with inanimate manifestations of the power of nature, or the fellowship, as a temporary higher power, faking it till we make it. Then I discovered Buddhism which not only states it has no opinions on outside metaphysical speculations one way or the other, but also replaces notions of shame and confession with the bigger sky of opportunity based on behavior modification, and an unending contemplation of loving-kindness and compassion not just to others, but to our own "character defects."

Therefore, I think the 12 steps is an unsurpassed tool for recovery, and openly accept all the different beliefs people adopt and that give them solace from the painful delusions which are the handmaidens of addiction, with the slight modification that spirituality is not the exclusive domain of those who believe in a singular God, but also includes those whose behavior of acceptance and compassion transcends all finite systems.

I am very happy for this book to be here and hope that one day we can use it as a group in my own community.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy does it, December 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mindfulness and the 12 Steps: Living Recovery in the Present Moment (Paperback)
One day at a time. Easy does it. First things first. The book integrates Buddhist meditation techniques and other concepts into each of the 12 steps of recovery. It is well written and can help a grateful person like myself remember that we only have this present moment so cherish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, May 2, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mindfulness and the 12 Steps: Living Recovery in the Present Moment (Paperback)
This book is a wonderful gift for anyone working a 12 step program. The Author's personal story intertwined with Buddhist thought and the 12 steps was such an inspiration to my program. I will be purchasing this for others as this needs to be shared!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Perspective, March 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
if you are struggling with the obvious Christian perspective in 12 step recovery programs, this is a great book to help conceptualize a higher power you can live with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mindfulness and the 12 Steps: Living Recovery in the Present Moment
Mindfulness and the 12 Steps: Living Recovery in the Present Moment by Thérèse Jacobs-Stewart (Paperback - April 23, 2010)
$14.95 $12.45
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.