Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars INFORMATIVE
I always enjoy listening to Dr. Kabat-Zinn. This CD presents a a very good reason to try mindful meditation. Kabat-Zinn has a very pleasing voice with easy concepts to relate to. If you are looking for actual meditations this is not the CD for you, but he definitely gives you a good place to start the practice of meditation with the breath. Highly recommend.
Published on June 3, 2005 by Wendy Thorne

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not what i expected
the guided meditations were good, but there was too much narrative on the 1st cd,luckily there was less on the 2nd cd. it was having his book read to me... too much info about his hospital work with patients.
there was no play list included to make finding the parts i like easier.
Published on April 21, 2012 by artist 1


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

66 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars INFORMATIVE, June 3, 2005
By 
Wendy Thorne (Regina, Saskatchewan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mindfulness Meditation - Cultivating the Wisdom of Your Body and Mind (Audio CD)
I always enjoy listening to Dr. Kabat-Zinn. This CD presents a a very good reason to try mindful meditation. Kabat-Zinn has a very pleasing voice with easy concepts to relate to. If you are looking for actual meditations this is not the CD for you, but he definitely gives you a good place to start the practice of meditation with the breath. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful recording..., February 16, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mindfulness Meditation - Cultivating the Wisdom of Your Body and Mind (Audio CD)
I've purchased a few meditation recordings over the years. This one is by far the most helpful. I've used it for myself and in groups. It is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mindfulness Meditation Practice tape, Series 1, Guided Body, July 23, 2004
By 
This review is from: Mindfulness Meditation - Cultivating the Wisdom of Your Body and Mind (Audio CD)
I have stubborn chronic insomnia, often waking in the middle of the night. I have used Jon Kabat-Zinn's audio cassette (Series 1, Guided Body Scan, side 1) for years most often to help me to get back to sleep from the middle of the night moving forward. Recently, the tape finally wore out and I unsuccessfully tried another author's CD which prompted me to offer a recommendation for this tape. I appreciate that this Guided Scan is only spoken word which I find helps quiet my mind chatter as a music-only CD is unable to do. I find Kabat-Zinn's voice soothing and at a properly slowed pace (but not too slow)...think of when you read a child a bedtime story. The meditation is 45 minutes long talking you through relaxing your body and breathing step by step from your toes to the top of your head. Often you fall asleep before it finishes. Unfortunately, Kabat-Zinn only sells this Guided Body Scan as a pair of tapes/CDs combined with other yoga tracks which I have no interest in. I also had tried reading one of his earlier books, "Full Catastrophe Living" a few years ago but found that less helpful. Stick with the Guided Scan instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mindfulness Meditation, February 8, 2008
By 
artquiltgirl (Phoenix, Az United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mindfulness Meditation - Cultivating the Wisdom of Your Body and Mind (Audio CD)
I am new to meditation, but I found this to be very helpful. His voice is very soothing and the information very helpful. I loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Being in the Moment, March 8, 2007
This review is from: Mindfulness Meditation - Cultivating the Wisdom of Your Body and Mind (Audio CD)
Very good stuff. It reminds all of us how important it is to stay centered and balanced. It's helped me to begin embracing the moments of change in my own life rather than fighting against them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helps wife with migranes, January 9, 2009
This review is from: Mindfulness Meditation - Cultivating the Wisdom of Your Body and Mind (Audio CD)
Impressive feedback mechanism for my wife to listen to this and focus on relaxation and away from her migranes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mindfulness Meditation, June 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mindfulness Meditation - Cultivating the Wisdom of Your Body and Mind (Audio CD)
I received the CD within a couple of days from the date I ordered it. I would recommend this CD to anyone trying to navigate through a stressful situation in their life or just wanting to quiet their mind. Jon Kabat--Zinn has a soothing voice and offers meditation segments in the CDs. The CD focuses on living in the moment and letting go of all things out of our control. I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mindful Meditation Tape, May 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mindfulness Meditation - Cultivating the Wisdom of Your Body and Mind (Audio CD)
An excellent relaxation tape. I have used the Total Body Awareness Tape daily for about a month, and I have noticed a significant improvement in my mood and awareness. I strongly recommend this tape.
t
..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect if you are just getting started, March 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mindfulness Meditation - Cultivating the Wisdom of Your Body and Mind (Audio CD)
This is a wonderful two disc set for someone who wants a brief, but pretty complete, guide to meditation, and the potential benefits it can have in your life. The program lays out several of the exercises that are part of the Stress Reduction Program as Massachusetts General Hospital. They are easy on the ears and pack quite a lot of profound wisdom into those two little CD's. I've been listening to it for years, and still get a lot out of it. FYI, it's not religious in the least.
NOTE: This is not the old program (with the same cover) that used to take up 10 cassette tapes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful CD, March 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mindfulness Meditation - Cultivating the Wisdom of Your Body and Mind (Audio CD)
This CD is an excellent tool for anyone hoping to learn about meditation and mindfulness. Jon Kabat-Zinn is the expert in the field. CD is very easy to listen to and very informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mindfulness Meditation - Cultivating the Wisdom of Your Body and Mind
Mindfulness Meditation - Cultivating the Wisdom of Your Body and Mind by Jon Kabat-Zinn (Audio CD - February 1, 2002)
$20.00 $14.56
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.