Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid concise book
If you're a busy person who is who is interested in learning how to use mindmapping for business - you'll appreciate this concise book. If you're an intermediate mind mapper, (I've been mind mapping for 2 years) there's nothing new. The book heavily emphasizes business concepts so I don't recommend this book if you're not interested in business related mind...
Published on October 13, 2004 by Brian J. Carroll

versus
99 of 100 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strong emphasis on business issues
This book is divided into three sections:
1: two chapters as a brief introduction to the brain and creativity
2: one chapter on how to create mind maps
3: eight chapters covering ways that mindmaps can be used within a larger context of (as the book's title says) creativity and problem-solving. Specifically, there are chapters on writing, projects,...
Published on October 17, 2001 by Snorkledorf


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

99 of 100 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strong emphasis on business issues, October 17, 2001
This review is from: Mindmapping: Your Personal Guide to Exploring Creativity and Problem-Solving (Paperback)
This book is divided into three sections:
1: two chapters as a brief introduction to the brain and creativity
2: one chapter on how to create mind maps
3: eight chapters covering ways that mindmaps can be used within a larger context of (as the book's title says) creativity and problem-solving. Specifically, there are chapters on writing, projects, brainstorming, meetings, to-do lists, presentations, learning, and overall personal growth.

One item of note is that "Mindmapping" has a very strong emphasis on teaching you how mind maps can be used in business settings. For example, the chapter on writing has a big section on business writing, and the meetings and presentation chapters are entirely business-related. The book also covers other uses for mind maps, but not to the degree that it focuses on business. If business-related mind map information is what you're looking for, then this may well be the book for you. If you're looking for a broader-based overview of uses for, and techniques of making, mind maps however, you might not be left entirely satisfied. "Mindmapping" lost one star in my rating because of this imbalance, which ideally should be mentioned in the title: "Your Personal Guide to Exploring Creativity and Problem-Solving IN BUSINESS" or some such.

The other star was lost for the tendency, mentioned in other reviews here, to get off the subject of mindmapping and examine tangentally-related issues such as general tips for running meetings and the like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid concise book, October 13, 2004
By 
This review is from: Mindmapping: Your Personal Guide to Exploring Creativity and Problem-Solving (Paperback)
If you're a busy person who is who is interested in learning how to use mindmapping for business - you'll appreciate this concise book. If you're an intermediate mind mapper, (I've been mind mapping for 2 years) there's nothing new. The book heavily emphasizes business concepts so I don't recommend this book if you're not interested in business related mind mapping.

The author focuses on general business related matters, meetings, brainstorming, to-do list, writing, problem solving that are relevant points for business people. She doesn't get into advanced mindmapping concepts like Tony Buzan's, "The Mind Map Book." But it's 150 pages shorter.

The author began her own career in accounting, as a result of mind mapping, she is now is consulting on creativity matters for business... pretty amazing if you ask me.

Brian Carroll
Author of Lead Generation for the Complex Sale : Boost the Quality and Quantity of Leads to Increase Your ROI
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MindMapping -- Food for Thought, January 19, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Mindmapping: Your Personal Guide to Exploring Creativity and Problem-Solving (Paperback)
Although Joyce Wycoff's book gets off to a very slow start, it later proves to be quite useful and inspiring.
The first sectioned bored me with too much "how to use this book" information and information about how the mind works. I kept wondering when in she going to tell me exactly what mindmapping is and how to use it. When will the commerical end? Also, Joyce sometimes loses focuses and starts lecturing me about "avoiding sexism" and the importance of using short words in my writing. This has nothing to do with mindmapping. The book would be better if it focused more on the technique of mind mapping itself.
There are some excellent and inspiring ideas, however, on how to use mind mapping. I've already used some of these ideas and the results have been quite satisfying. The material includes ideas on how to use mind mapping for:
Group brainstorming sessions. Creating and using To-Do lists. Preparing for and Making Presentations. Improving Learning Skills. Mapping for personal growth.
I highly recommend Wycoff's MINDMAPPING.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Complete blather. Find a different book on this topic - any other book, September 21, 2006
By 
James (Indianapolis, IN, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mindmapping: Your Personal Guide to Exploring Creativity and Problem-Solving (Paperback)
Mindmapping is easily a five star topic. It is a powerful way to visually show the structure of thoughts and of human memory. I'm an IT guy like one of the previous reviewers below, and I can vouch for mindmapping working wonders. Tony Buzan, who (I believe) invented it and has written much better books on the topic is some kind of genius.

This book, unfortunately, contains few examples of how to construct mindmaps. And those examples and explanations are poor quality. The very few diagrams are of very low monochrome stick figure quality - whereas the whole idea behind mind-mapping is to create a multi-color visual extravaganza to nurture visual thinking and the production of ideas. The paper it is printed on feels like the cheapest newsprint they could buy. It is not in color like Buzan's five star 1996 "Mind Map Book: How to Use Radiant Thinking to Maximize Your Brain's Untapped Potential". It basically is an attempt to ride the coat-tails of a successful book on a hot topic by pulling in all those people who buy all the books they can find on a hot topic like mindmapping who want to get "as broad a perspective" on the topic as they can.

It rambles wildly page after page and in a totally unfocused series of scatter-brained essays about theories of creativity, how to write, how to conduct meetings, and etc that are potentially applications for mindmapping. The problem is that the execution of these chapters is horrible, and they don't really tie in mind-mapping into their unfocused thesis. After reading each of these chapters, the reader is left to their own devices to try to imagine how to apply mind-mapping to the applications listed. Two thirds of this book can be condensed down to one page listing the potenital applications and saying "I think you can figure out how to apply mindmapping to each of those".

One possible merit of the book is the short chapter on how to use mind-maps in place of "to-do" lists. This 7 page chapter is the only well executed element of the entire book. For some buyers out there, this chapter will be worth more than the cost of the book. ...but from the standpoint of most readers needs, it is not good enough to warrant adding an additional star to my review score.

The meat of the book is chapter 3, about 15 pages. It tells the "basic techniques" of mindmapping and leaves out vast elements found in Buzan's instruction. More than half of that chapter is filler.

I should point out that there are many detractors to the whole idea of mind-mapping. It works for some people, like myself, who are very visually oriented. ....The method of mind-mapping outlined in this book simply doesn't work at all.... Real mind-mapping that works is full of clear pictures drawn by the artist/author/creator that are designed to summon up complex memories in the person who created the mind-map - visual cues to complex ideas stored visually. There is no real discussion of how to use pictures in this book - the very few examples are inane doodles that add nothing.

Total waste of money. Total waste of time. Lousy introduction to the topic. Aside from the chapter on replacing to-do lists, this book has nothing whatsoever to add to the "field" of mindmapping, and will leave a bad taste for mindmapping in a beginner's mouth. I have no idea why the publisher picked it up or why it is still in print.

Most readers of this review have probably discovered Buzan already. The book you need and are probably looking for to expound on and give another person's perspective on the topic is the four-and-a-half-star "Mapping Inner Space" Second Edition by Nancy Margulies, which is brilliantly done and in color (although kind of expensive...).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 72 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Simplistic, October 6, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Mindmapping: Your Personal Guide to Exploring Creativity and Problem-Solving (Paperback)
This book is essentially a rewrite of Tony Buzan's books on mind mapping. If you're interested in mindmapping techniques, read Buza.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mindmapping and some other stuff, August 23, 2003
This review is from: Mindmapping: Your Personal Guide to Exploring Creativity and Problem-Solving (Paperback)
Mindmapping isn't a difficult concept to grasp - it's somewhat surprising the mileage that different authors have managed to extract from it.
That said, this book does offer some additional value - it covers the concepts of MindMapping with excellent clarity and, if your looking for business applications, it does that with surprising ease of reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Thought It Was Okay, February 18, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mindmapping: Your Personal Guide to Exploring Creativity and Problem-Solving (Paperback)
I think if I could do it again, I would just look up mindmapping on google to see what it says. I hadn't heard about mindmapping before this book, when I first tried I thought it was stupid (very similar to brainstorming in school), but once I started using it I really loved it. It really does help, and I realize that most of my teachers in law school use some form of mindmapping though they don't realize it. I would recommend this book if you want buy a book on the general idea about how to mindmap. It has a lot of filler, it does focus on business use, but in general it will help you if you've never done mindmapping before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting uses for this book, September 12, 2000
By 
This review is from: Mindmapping: Your Personal Guide to Exploring Creativity and Problem-Solving (Paperback)
As a IT professional, I've passed 28 computer certification tests. How? By using the principles contained in this book and mindmapping in general. Tricks for memorization, pure and simple. Mindmapping works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars extremely valuable, July 22, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Mindmapping: Your Personal Guide to Exploring Creativity and Problem-Solving (Paperback)
The material is concise, and unlike many other books of this type, it is long on solid material and short on mumbo-jumbo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I thought, September 6, 2012
This review is from: Mindmapping: Your Personal Guide to Exploring Creativity and Problem-Solving (Paperback)
I bought this book in conjunction with the "for Dummies" book. The book is very dated. As such, the topics discussed don't relate to the up to date Mindjet software.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mindmapping: Your Personal Guide to Exploring Creativity and Problem-Solving
$16.00 $11.53
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.