Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Recess Monkey Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$5.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 7, 2009
I don't know why the DVD companies refuse to clean up these older movies, probably just plain cheap.

I agree Minesweeper, the movie & story make for a good WWII training geared U.S. Navy picture, with a number of real Navy scenes, some of which are far too dark.

Richard Arlen (who I have always liked in movies), Guinn 'Big Boy' Williams, Jean Parker, Emma Dunn, Douglas Fowley, Chick Chandler and a number of the other players, we have all seen a various 1930s, 1940s & 1950's movies, are in this 1943 B movie. Even uncredited William 'Billy' Benedict, (Inoculations Corpsman) who played the funny "Whitey" in the Bower Boys as a role, plus a young, uncredited Robert Mitchum has a part as (Seaman Chuck Ryan). I gave this war-era picture 4 stars, to boost up the rating a bit, which it deserves for a movie, but not for the lousy, lazy video transfer presentation.

To the companies selling old movies on DVD... "Clean up your act, or get out of the DVD business! The public is sick and tired of rotten unclear sound and schlocky transfers!
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2008
The premise of this movie is a disgraced Naval officer who has deserted prior to the outbreak of WW2 reenlists as an enlisted man and is assigned to a coastal minesweeper as a sharpshooter and hardhat diver. Fairly good story and shows how mines are cleared. This DVD however is dark and the transfer is very poor. Some scenes are just a black screen and the action is unseen. Before the studio releases these movies they should be restored and remastered. As it is I cannot recommend buying this DVD due to it's poor quality. The movie/story is good however.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2012
I can't understand everyone being upset at the poor video/audio quality of this film. You all have to realize the COSTS involved in "cleaning up" these old movies. It's not like you just throw the film in "Willy's movie fixer" and "poof" its fixed. Most of these films ran at 25-30 frames per second. The "cleaning" process requires EACH FRAME to be digitally remastered. An hour and half movie will have approx 135,000 individual frames! And, if the original isn't in good shape to begin with, well, you figure it out! What company in their right mind would want to dump thousands of man hours on a B rated flick that isn't gonna sell anyway?

Honestly. A lot of you who do these reviews consider yourselves movie aficionados yet you haven't taken 5 minutes to learn some basic technical skills...

Be happy these are even available and quit your bitchin'!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2016
Too much vitriol, but understandable for the time. The boys cooped up in the submarine well depicted. I loved the steamroller aka tank destroying the radio. Station. It is still hard to hear the enemy, now our friends, referred to as 'yellow' or 'japs'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2014
I love that Amazon is carrying the older WW II British made movies. This certainly wasn't an "A" caliber movie, but it did show a side to the war that most don't think about and I'm not sure if any other movies have been made with this particular subject matter.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2014
Loved the general idea and pricipals behind this movie and it showed a vital but not much publicly known job of the navy department ( the home front).

Overall not a bad navy film, did justice to the service.

Scott ex/navy QM & HM
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2014
1943 style with a rather improbable storyline. Love triangle that meets a timely death. Naval Academy graduate, compulsive gambler and deserter enlists and manages to 'save the day' (and the ships) by identifying a new type Japanese mine. Let him die a hero's death that just might save the plot! It's an example of the genre that one either appreciates or not. Take into consideration the viewing audience for this timeline! Even with the poor reviews, I would choose to view the video because I'm interested in both WWII and cinematography.

Technical information: If you are streaming with instant video you might want to increase the brightness (not that it will change the plot) for better viewing. Note that one review concerns the poor quality of the DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2010
I watched this movie and while I enjoyed the movie itself, the video and audio were not up to standards. At times, the video was doubled and fuzzy at other times. At best the video was ok. The audio was slightly better. At times the audio was slightly garbled. If I was asked if I would buy this dvd again, I would decline.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2013
The story line line was fine and some of the scenes were ok...

In general the poor quality of the film are what made it hard to watch. This would be a good story if the video could be restored.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2014
It is hard to imagine the lengths that wartime media would go in order to put a patriotic film out during the early dark days of the war, but here is a perfect example. Metal minesweepers, airplanes bringing mines to the surface by flying over them, using an axe to severe a rope mine cable. Who would have thought?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.