Customer Reviews


900 Reviews
5 star:
 (500)
4 star:
 (180)
3 star:
 (68)
2 star:
 (71)
1 star:
 (81)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1,197 of 1,237 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic cleaning robot!
I must say, I'm impressed with the mapping system on this little guy. I have a very large (20'X20') open living room/kitchen area giving plenty of obstacles to confuse it. There's a staircase (which it deftly avoids), an island, a kitchen table with chairs, a couch and a number of tables for it to go under, an area rug and a piece of curved beveled glass on the floor that...
Published on September 9, 2010 by Ryan Mckenney

versus
1,906 of 1,997 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mint v Roomba: Which is hte Better Sucker
The short version, for those reading many reviews quickly is this; the Mint has many advantages over the Roomba on a feature for feature basis. But at the end of the day, the Roomba is the better product and picked up a LOT more pet hair.

Here's the longer version with the gory details:

Both of these are great innovations. True, the Mint is far...
Published on October 7, 2010 by dusthater


‹ Previous | 1 290 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1,197 of 1,237 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic cleaning robot!, September 9, 2010
This review is from: Mint Automatic Hard Floor Cleaner, 4200 (Kitchen)
I must say, I'm impressed with the mapping system on this little guy. I have a very large (20'X20') open living room/kitchen area giving plenty of obstacles to confuse it. There's a staircase (which it deftly avoids), an island, a kitchen table with chairs, a couch and a number of tables for it to go under, an area rug and a piece of curved beveled glass on the floor that serves as a stand for a fireplace (which it surprisingly does not ride up on). Also, the room is overall "U" shaped with several entryways. This is the only robotic cleaner that has been able to figure this room out in its entirety. Other things to note is the room has a large fan and high, sloped ceilings and it can still find it's way.

My Roomba did terribly. It would get stuck in one section, the Neato XV was OK but would miss some parts. This thing does a great job of freshening up the floor and getting at just about everything due to it's small size!

One thing I did not know is the Mint comes with wet and dry reusable cloths for cleaning. They are great! It does pick up a lot of stuff, even if your floors look clean it's going to find something!

Wet pads are very good and stay damp for a longer amount time than I would have imagined. The floor is drier behind the mint than if I were mopping the floor myself!

I have found some things that confuse it. It doesn't like heater vents too much, especially larger ones (like intake vents) because it thinks it is falling off of a ledge. It will eventually figure it out though. It will get stuck on vertical blinds, so you might want to block them with something and it might get stuck if it drives into an area that is very tight and it decides it can't back out. After a few runs of finding what confuses it, it pretty easy to mint-proof a room.

Noise levels are good. It drives about very quietly. It is a bumper-bot though. Which is where most of the noise comes from. Though every bump really matters as it is mapping the room.

Speed is good. Not the fastest but very efficient. It really gets at every spot in a methodical fashion. I was impressed with the final "edging" step. Once it cleans the room it will clean the edge. Not just the outside edge, but also the "inside" edges such as area rugs, tables, islands and so on.

What is the practicality of this? I wouldn't have thought much for a Swiffer bot but something about the speed and thoroughness of it's cleaning really brings out much more grime than I would get myself. I notice it gets much more cat fur than I would because it doesn't blow it out of the way before getting to it.

The personality of the bot is OK. It's more like a clinical, efficient nurse doing it's job. It isn't quite as chipper as other cleaning bots but it gets the job done.

Battery life is good. Not the fastest at charging but a long enough life to get through more than a couple rooms per charge.

Can these guys get on making a vacuum bot now?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1,906 of 1,997 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mint v Roomba: Which is hte Better Sucker, October 7, 2010
This review is from: Mint Automatic Hard Floor Cleaner, 4200 (Kitchen)
The short version, for those reading many reviews quickly is this; the Mint has many advantages over the Roomba on a feature for feature basis. But at the end of the day, the Roomba is the better product and picked up a LOT more pet hair.

Here's the longer version with the gory details:

Both of these are great innovations. True, the Mint is far quieter, cheaper and cooler looking than the Roomba. It is also easier/cheaper to maintain. But the Roomba gets more dust off the floor, despite the fact that the Mint can get under places Roomba can not, and Roomba returns to its base for a re-charge on it's own, as needed. The Mint just dies in place.

The guy on here who's review said that he sent his Roomba on a mission and then sent the Mint after it to discover dirt the Roomba missed, would have had the same result if he performed the experiment in reverse. I know b/c I did just that. these two devices clean differently, so any comparison is useless on that level.

However...

The high-tech navigation the Mint boasts is a couple of generations away from being the "intelligent" method it advertises. The Mint wanders outside the perimeter of the room but can not clean a large area because the cleaning cloth gets too dirty, too quickly, You can not pause its program to change the cleaning cloth. When you do, the robot "forgets" where it left off and begins to clean the same space over again after you re-engage it. The Mint also runs out charge in about 2-3 hours and requires about 7-10 hours to recharge.

The Roomba, with its "virtual wall" and bump-and-learn program is a "dumber" but ultimately better method of confining the machine to a particular space and therefore maximizing its efficiency on a single charge.

Although I returned my Mint and kept the Roobma, I will be keeping an eye on the Mint to see what the future holds. I would not rule out re-purchasing a Mint in a year or two, after they've made some improvements. It has a lot of potential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


746 of 816 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beware False Hopes, September 21, 2010
This review is from: Mint Automatic Hard Floor Cleaner, 4200 (Kitchen)
First: notice the 5-star rating that I have given this.

I agree with all of the 5-star reviewers: this product is worth the price (have had it about 6 weeks now). I have used it on vinyl (Congoleum/linoleum) floors, tile floors and wooden floors. It works well on all of them. Time will tell more.

However, rather than repeat what others have said, I will describe some aspects that might disappoint you when/if you buy it, but these do not outweigh the benefits.

- This does NOT do a deep clean. That takes elbow grease and this, naturally, is not heavy enough to scrub that well (you wouldn't want it to be that heavy). You will have to do a deep clean first. The Mint will then maintain that clean floor. I use it about once a week.

- The designers did a generally good job, except for the week when they all took vacation at once and let the janitor decide where to put the charging port. Believe or not, these idiots put the port in a spot on the underside of the unit. You have to turn the thing upside down to plug the charger in. An automatic charging-base system would have been a much better approach than having to plug it in manually every time.

- Sweeping: does an ok job, but it would be difficult for such a device to get everything. It is more useful when cleaning (washing).

- Washing (as opposed to sweeping) battery life is about 2 hours and it takes about 45 minutes to do a 12 x 20 area having several obstacles (island, tables, multiple angle walls, etc.). This allows me to wash with a mild detergent and then do a second pass to rinse (see below).

- While the Mint senses an overhang and will not fall off, it does often stop moving and generates an error message. It's as though it gets confused and just gives up.

Tips:

The Swiffer washing rags work, but leaves a bit of a sticky residue. Water, with a little bit of Dawn dish-washing liquid (seems a little better than the Ivory) or Ivory liquid dish soap, and the Mint washing rag works better. I soak the rag in a bowl of solution and then pour a little of the solution at different spots on the floor to make sure the rag on the Mint remains wet. Following that, I use the same process, but only water to rinse any residue away, again adding water on the floor to help keep the Mint rag wet.

When you clean with many floor cleaners, including too much vinegar, the floors have a sticky residue that you will hear when you walk on it long after it's dried, and which will attract dirt, unless you rinse the floor after washing. One or two squirts of Dawn in a bowl of water is all you need for this maintenance activity. For a very soiled area, you may want to hand-clean it or pour a little of the solution on it to let it dissolve the dirt before the Mint gets to it.

More details can be found at mintcleaner dot com.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


109 of 128 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a robot that can mop your hard floors!, October 2, 2010
This review is from: Mint Automatic Hard Floor Cleaner, 4200 (Kitchen)
Length:: 1:11 Mins

We have been using the Mint 2 days and I will update this review with more information after owning it longer!

Our home has 3 levels - bottom floor is carpet, middle floor is engineered hardwood, and top is carpet again. We have a Roomba and it does a great job of the vacuuming, especially on carpet. But it can't mop, and I hate to mop - HATE it! iRobot sells Scooba for hard floors, but with hardwood and engineered wood the manufacturer says it can only be "damp" mopped never wet. Water could seep into the joints and destroy the wood finish. So no Scooba for us, and no steam mop which was my old standby.

Along comes the Mint! Now remember that this is not a vacuum and it won't do your area rugs and can't pick up large debris. It is a SWEEPING and MOPPING robot.

So, we run the Roomba first on the hard floor once a week (while we are out, it takes a while and is loud) to get the area rugs and pick up any large debris. Then we run the Mint dry sweeper to pick up fine dust and edges that the Roomba misses. If you have one of the new Neato vacuums, I understand they do not vacuum to the edges very well so following up with the Mint is ideal for use in conjunction with them as well.

When we run the Mint right after the Roomba, it picks up a lot of dust and stuff that the Roomba doesn't get as well on hard floors. We are using the Swiffer brand electrostatic dry cloths. I have allergies so it is nice to have the dust picked up instead of blown around by a vacuum.

The Mint does meticulous corners and edges. It goes back at the end of the cleaning cycle and carefully goes around every edge it is physically capable of reaching. Due to its small size - short and narrow - it is able to fit into small areas you can't get easily with your broom or swiffer mop.

Then we run the wet mop function with Mint. We are using the reusable cloths dunked in Bona hardwood cleaner diluted with distilled water, then wrung out and placed on the Mint. The reusable cloth stays wet much longer than the disposable type and you can use plain water, vinegar/water, Bona, or whatever cleaner you want. I like this because the smell of Swiffer wet cloths makes me sick and the smell lasts forever and they leave a film that makes floors get dirty faster. The Mint does a much more thorough job than I do at mopping, covering the entire room and under furniture!

The Mint is virtually silent. It does make "thunk" noises when the bumper runs into something it did not detect from a distance - when it's sensors detect a wall coming up the Mint slows down and touches it gently. But it can't see legs like chair legs from a distance so it bumps them with the spring-loaded bumper. The nice thing is we can run Mint while at home (since the Roomba runs during the day while we are out). It's so quiet you forget it is on.

The nice thing about Mint is that there are so few moving parts - very little to break or clean. With the Roomba we bought extra brush sets and we swap clean brushes in every day, and then on the weekend clean all the sets. With the Neato it's too new to know what maintenance issues might come up, for example it has a belt drive. But the Mint is just a little driver for a swiffer cloth. It seems over-priced at that, but then again the navigation is excellent and I suppose we have to pay for that.

The navigation is great, we have a large open space so that may be ideal for it, but it has not yet become lost or stuck. We also have a loft condo so the main room is a 2.5 story ceiling and the Mint has no problem in there. I would love to see Evolution make a vacuum robot, I think it might beat out both Roomba and Neato!

For the reviewer who thinks we 5 star reviewers are fake because we are not "verified purchases", that's because most of us bought Mint directly from Hammacher to get the lifetime warranty, or from BB&B where they have a 20% off coupon. Also the Mint can't replace a vacuum for rugs and large debris, it's meant to replace your broom, swiffer and mop. Yay for floor cleaning robots!!

PS search on youtube for "Evolution Mint Floor Cleaning Robot" if you want to view more video of the Mint cleaning my home.

*** update 01-05-10

I just wanted to add kudos to Mint's customer service. Last week my Mint started giving me a 3 beep error when I tried to start it. I called them and the engineer walked me through some troubleshooting steps, it turned out that I only needed to power it off and back on again and it was all better. Apparently this happened because I had stopped the Mint in the middle of a cleaning session and plugged it back in to the charger without first powering it off (normally I let it finish and it turns itself off, I put it away and plug it in when I get home). They also called back 2 days later to follow up and ask if it was working fine. Excellent support!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


161 of 192 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Floors to eat off, October 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mint Automatic Hard Floor Cleaner, 4200 (Kitchen)
Update: The Mint died, as I thought it might as an expensive electronic gadget.. It started going around in circles. This was after a year. I purchased another battery pack, that was not the problem. Since I originally purchased from Hammacher Schlemmer they took it back no questions asked. It was the simplest return ever. I bought another and I am still happy with my purchase. If I had not purchased from HS I'd be upset but since it has a lifetime warranty I am still very pleased with my purchase. If I had purchased elsewhere without such a generous warranty I'd be understandably upset. The product is still 5 stars, so long as you invest in the lifetime warranty.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I bought this gadget, on amazon through Hammacher Schlemmer because of their generous warranty and paid about $20 extra, because it had excellent reviews wherever I looked.

I have hardwood floors because I have allergies and have cats. This item is a dream come true. Now my floors have always looked excellent, but after having used the mint I did not realize how filthy they actually were. It sweeps and does an excellent job of getting hair. However, I have found that different commercial sheet products vary. I used the recyclable sheets enclosed and they were okay. But again, I have allergies, thus, I can't spend my time getting the cat hair close to my lungs (I'll end up wheezing later)in not only removing the recyclable sheets enclosed, but also cleaning them as well. I have tried the disposable:Murphy soft wipes that did not impress me. What did remarkably well were the Homelife brand (unscented) dry sweeping cloths refills they picked up so much filth I thought the mint was making dirt as I could not imagine my floors that nasty. The homelife wet sweeper cloths also were very thick and did much better than the Murphy brand soft wipes on mopping.

I had to run the mint on my floors several times before no more filth was picked up and the sheets stay white and not grimy black.

Now I run it once a day and my allergies have decreased significantly and my disposable sheets are just an off white after use. When I swept the floors weekly, I would be wheezing and having a mild asthma attack later. Instead of kicking up dirt, this mint takes care of sweeping quite efficiently.

Using this product, and getting rid of upholstery furniture(now using leather) makes me breathe much easier.

A life saver, worth every penny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


107 of 127 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My floors look MINT!!!, September 16, 2010
By 
Michael P. Walsh (Carlsbad, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mint Automatic Hard Floor Cleaner, 4200 (Kitchen)
I had an experience with a "robotic" vacuum cleaner a few years ago that almost made me ignore this product. The vacuum cleaner drove in circles, was under powered, and the results were inconsistent and disappointing at best.

I received delivery of my Mint Cleaner at the beginning of the week and have been so impressed with how capable this product is. Every square inch of the floor gets clean, it happens while we sleep and when we wake up in the morning it is right where we left it. It is like seeing the Christmas presents under the tree on Christmas morning as a child...You don't know how it all happened, it just did!! No programming, no special placement, I did not even have to run out for batteries.

I am impressed with the battery life(3 hours) the mopping action when it is in wet cleaning mode and how it always finishes the job by cleaning along the walls one last time. The ability for this device to know where it is in relation to the edges of the room is very impressive. I am also very happy with the cleaning clothes provided. We have a black, long haired dog and tan tile floors and the Mint in dry mode just harvested the dog hair. The way you install and remove the cleaning pad is ingenious. As quiet as it is, it does not get the dog worked up while it is cleaning up after her.

This, my buying friends, is the real deal. It does not do all of the house work, but it takes care of a big chunk of what makes our house look dirty. I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


84 of 99 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works well on my laminate floors, October 18, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mint Automatic Hard Floor Cleaner, 4200 (Kitchen)
I am an IT professional, and not into nor have the time for manual floor cleaning or mopping, so I was looking for an automated solution.
This is what I came up with...

I have Bruce Laminate Floors in a 600sf apartment, and use the Mint to do a pre-sweep with a microfiber cloth, then damp-mop (using the cleaning liquid made by Bruce specifically for these floors).
Works very nicely, but the charge does just one sweep for me, and takes a few hours to charge to then do the damp-mop.

I bought a Neato XV-11 All Floor Robotic Vacuum System, so for really clean and perfect floors, my steps are:
1. Vacuum with Neato unit.
2. Dry-sweep with Mint unit.
3. Damp-mop with Mint unit using the cleaner specifically for my floors.

PROS:
- Whisper quiet (it's not a vacuum). You can talk on the phone (or sleep!).
- Smart; really cleans everywhere and doesn't get lost or stuck (unless tangled in something accidentally left lying on the floor, then it beeps to alert you).
- Uses anybody's cleaning pads too, like swiffer wet, or use included microfiber cloths with your preferred cleaning liquid.
- Floors look great.
- Super easy to change pads (magnetic holder with friction/tuck strips to hold pads).
- No special filters or pads to keep buying; you can wash and reuse.
- Very little work to keep floors really clean and good looking.

CONS:
- You have to start with a really clean floor, then the unit will MAINTAIN floors it if you use the mint on basically a daily basis.
- Charge time is too long, and you have to connect the charging cord by hand. The charging connector is on the bottom, so you have to keep the unit on its backside.
- I cannot do a dry sweep then a damp-mop on one charge.
- Next version should auto dock and charge by itself (like the Neato].
- It will not handle a big spill or large sticky mess (none of them will).

I'm happy with the unit and recommend it, works well for an apartment my size.
I'd be willing to pay more if it had advanced features and longer battery life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for a hardwood floor home, October 5, 2010
By 
Sharon (Brookline, MA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mint Automatic Hard Floor Cleaner, 4200 (Kitchen)
I returned my iRobot after use for 2 weeks because I found out that it scratches my newly installed hardwood floor and left many marks. I was losing hope to get help from a robot to clean the floor, until I found Mint which works differently from all other vacuum type of robots available.

I have been using swifter to clean my hardwood floor, so I know Mint will clean just fine. Several things I like compared with iRobot
- won't hurt hardwood floor
- very quiet. I have a cat and she is really scared by the loud noise of iRobot
- the navigation works better than the random pattern of iRobot, in my opinion. I observed, and Mint will go back to the places missed due to furniture, and also cleans around the furniture legs. It will also clean the edges, and I think the square shape works better than the round shape of iRobot
- one machine for both sweeping and mopping
- light weight and easy for storage
- no docking station, so that charging is easy everywhere
- very simple interface. Just three buttons

To my surprise, both the reusable dry and wet cloths included work very well. I think the wet cloth even hold more moisture than the disposable one. But occasionally, when running at a larger place, I need to add some water at the route to keep it moisture enough.

There are some things I hope it could improve. I don't think there is a "pause" function. When you press the bottom, it stops and clear off the navigation. There are times when the front of cloth accumulate a lot of dust/hairs, and I think it will be great if the robot can be paused to clean that off. It gets stuck at tight places sometimes, but I guess all cleaning robots do. There is no timer liker higher model of iRobot, but I assume it will require a docking station, and more complicated interface.

Overall, I am satisfied with the product. The fact that it can do both sweeping and mopping worth the price. I ended up buying another hand-held vacuum to clean my area rugs, but it could be useful for vacuuming car anyway. I am happy with the combination of Mint and a hand-held vacuum to clean my hardwood-throughout home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Expectations Adjustment, June 16, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mint Automatic Hard Floor Cleaner, 4200 (Kitchen)
Could not pass up the Gold Box deal a few weeks ago. Product arrived in excellent condition, and as I'd done the research, reading reviews here and watching manuf. video, was as prepared as I could be. I even knew about and used the trick of adding a drop of Dawn and sprinkling about a little of the solution at strategic locations while in mop mode. Our floors did not need a follow up rinse cycle.

First impression is the thing is smaller than I'd expected, but I think that was more my expectation than warranted. The basic pad itself is, naturally, the size of the Swiffer Sweeper's pad, perhaps a touch shorter. Scale of the rest of the machine can be visualized from that observation.

In dry mode, the machine did well on the Congoleum hard vinyl tile in our kitchen and dinette, picked up all but a couple larger, heavier bits of debris. It also did well in mop mode, though subsequent rinsing of the mop cloth into the same water / Dawn solution showed there wasn't much on the floor as the water wasn't terribly dirty. It did leave a couple of spots, though I don't know if it just missed them or couldn't clean them. The machine is a bit confused on irregular room perimeters. Ours has lots of 45 degree angles. The machine also missed going under the central pedestal of our round table by about a quarter of an inch, nearly jammed its top cover underneath. But it did go around and complete, and made it under the four legs as well, the central pedestal protrudes down a tad more than the legs until you get to the feet.

I had similar results on a Uniclick engineered floor in our hallway, dry picked up an amazing amount of cat hair but the mop mode missed one spot. Angles no doubt confused it as well.

On a ceramic tile floor with 1/4" grout lines, it didn't do as good a job. The sweep mode just sort of raked the debris into the grout lines, then the mop picked them back up and distributed them around the floor.

If I had to relate how it works, overall, I'd suggest you consider how a manual Swiffer Sweeper works, with both wet and premoistened cloths. The Mint is a way to automate the same function, and does just as well, no better, no worse. So if you're happy with that, then the Mint is a chore saver. If your floors produce poor results with the Swiffer products due to texture or grout lines, using the Mint isn't going to improve them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


100 of 120 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not quite the Apple ipad of cleaning robots I had hoped for, October 12, 2010
By 
Eric Fisk "hedaval" (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mint Automatic Hard Floor Cleaner, 4200 (Kitchen)
1 year update: Mint kind of works as a complement to roomba, but is not nearly capable enough to replace it. Given that all cleaning robots have reliability problems and failing batteries after a couple years, I recommend skipping mint and investing in a good quality roomba with an extended warranty. The main 2 issues are that Mint requires too much babysitting and fails to pick up enough stuff to be genuinely useful. Maybe if you have no kids and a house with all hardwood floors and transition strips in just the right places then mint will work for you.

In detail: I bought mint because I had 2 roombas that each died after a couple years of light use. All the moving parts coupled with the vacuum blowing stuff around resulted in every crevice of the roomba gumming up with hair and dust until it inevitably broke. The neato appears to have similar troubles. Newer roomba models are reportedly better, but it still makes sense to go with a long warranty I think. The mint doesn't have a vacuum and the cleaning pads are placed in front of the wheels, so it was my hope that the mint would keep going and going. Unfortunately, my mint actually broke after 5 months, before roomba (support was OK, and I got a replacement).

I love that the mint doesn't have a docking station or a scheduler or a remote control- the sort of add-on junk that breaks and complicates the design while not really helping. You need to prep a room and a robot before / after it cleans plus move it around the house to get different levels and over transitions, so I don't see the point in a scheduler or a dock. The mint comes back to where it started after cleaning so you don't have to hunt for it, a great feature that doesn't require placing a docking station.

The silence of the robot is also great, as you can be in the same room and it's a pleasant experience. It's also nice to have a robot that fully covers a space and then does edge cleaning- roomba can be painfully inefficient as it cleans the same spot for the 3rd time while leaving the mess in the corner.

In other words, I really wanted to like the Mint. I wanted it to be the ipad of cleaning robots- to take care of cleaning elegantly and not get gummed up with stuff. Having said that, there's just too many problems with this robot for me to recommend it:

- Larger stuff like cheerios, fluff balls, and pine needles won't get swept up, and small sandy grit won't either. All the stuff that doesn't stick to the pad gets pushed into corners, transition strips, or furniture legs. At the end of a cleaning cycle I find much of the mess isn't really gone, just redistributed.

- You'll need to baby sit this thing as it does each room of the house- it has to see the northstar cube, can't span even the smallest transition strips, and the pads get dirty quickly. Roomba you can just let go and it'll go everywhere.

- The wedge shape of the mint and the double stack design results in it wedging itself into a stuck position fairly often, for instance under my fridge and also under my stove. Unlike roomba, you can't just free it and start it going again- freeing it will cause it to reset it's cleaning cycle, which requires you to redo everything in order to get edge cleaning (the most important part, which only happens at the end of the cycle).

- The charging time is 8 hours and the cleaning time 2 to 3 hours, so don't expect to use this thing to mop more than a couple small rooms per day, or to sweep more than 3 small rooms.

- Unlike roomba, there's no good way to wall stuff off, so you can't clean part of a room or seal off a rug without a pronounced transition strip.

- You'll need to buy more microfiber cleaning pads- a couple cleaning cycles where you use both sides of the cloth and the 3 included ones will need to be run through the wash. Don't buy 3rd party cloths from Amazon as they don't work well.

- The mopping function only works in a small space and relies on a special low-friction mopping pad- it doesn't work with microfiber cloths included or that I bought from Amazon as it can't push them when they're wet. It also is too big to get around a toilet and dries out before covering a larger room.

After 1 month with mint I went out and bought a roomba 400 for $130 at Target since it's compatible with my broken roomba discovery stuff (the 500 series redesigned everything). I'm keeping the mint as a follow on cleaner that goes after roomba. It works pretty well for that as it is better for light cleanup when I'm in the room, while roomba is good for intense cleanup when I'm not around. Still, now I have to deal with 2 robots which is double the problems for maintenance and room proofing and batteries, and I'm not happy about that at all.

I think the ideal robot would be a neato with a 3 year warranty, an edge cleaning brush, and an option to use a wet microfiber cloth over the vacuum inlet and then turn off the vacuum (so it is quiet + mopping). Then you'd only have to deal with 1 robot that did everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 290 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mint Automatic Hard Floor Cleaner, 4200
$204.99
In stock. Usually ships within 4 to 5 days.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.