Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE PERFECT GIFT
I AM THE FATHER OF 2 BOYS AND BOUGHT THIS BOOK FOR MY 11 AND 14 YEAR OLD..I READ IT FIRST AND COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN..THE STORY PULLS YOU IN AND IS HEARTWARMING..THE CHARACTERS, AS WITH ALL OF LUPICA'S BOOKS, ARE DRAWN FROM REAL LIFE AND ARE FLESHED OUT..THERE IS NO GENDER OR AGE THAT WILL ENJOY THIS BOOK MORE..IT IS A LOVELY READ WITH SOME FAST PACED SPORTS SCENES..LUPICA...
Published on December 11, 2006 by Michael Galardi

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Beggining Terrible Ending
Lupica did a great beggining for the story. But then blew the ending to make it a happy ending. Beware of the terrible ending!
Published 18 months ago by Susan A. Morse


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE PERFECT GIFT, December 11, 2006
This review is from: Miracle on 49th Street (Hardcover)
I AM THE FATHER OF 2 BOYS AND BOUGHT THIS BOOK FOR MY 11 AND 14 YEAR OLD..I READ IT FIRST AND COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN..THE STORY PULLS YOU IN AND IS HEARTWARMING..THE CHARACTERS, AS WITH ALL OF LUPICA'S BOOKS, ARE DRAWN FROM REAL LIFE AND ARE FLESHED OUT..THERE IS NO GENDER OR AGE THAT WILL ENJOY THIS BOOK MORE..IT IS A LOVELY READ WITH SOME FAST PACED SPORTS SCENES..LUPICA HAS FILLED THE YOUNG ADULT SPORTS' BOOK VOID LIKE SANTA'S SLEIGH ON CHRISTMAS EVE..DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND BUY ONE OR 20 AND GIVE THEM AS GIFTS TO YOUR KIDS' TEACHERS AND FRIENDS...IT IS A SURE-FIRE WINNER!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A marvelous Mike Lupica classic!, November 16, 2006
By 
Nicholas A. Ziinojr (ridge, new york United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Miracle on 49th Street (Hardcover)
"Miracle on 49th Street" is another literary triumph for Mike Lupica.This is a sweet,gentle story done to perfection.Molly Parker sets out to find her long estranged father,NBA/Boston Celtics star

Josh Cameron,after her mother dies.When she turns up and confronts at a team event,Josh at first refuses to believe that she's his daughter.But Molly perseveres,and what

follows is a sweet,funny,and touching story of two similar people getting to know each other.The best thing about the book is how skillfully Lupica

develops the growing relationship between father and daughter.He writes

beautifully,and once again shows himself to be a master of character

development.His people are real,flesh and blood,three dimensional human

beings who instantly grab the reader and hold interest in the story from start to finish.Molly and Josh really are father and daughter.They are THAT much alike-smart,strong,no-nonsense,yet also sweet and loving under

that tough exterior.It's wonderful to watch each discover that the other is not what they seem to be at first.Sam and Mattie are every inch their equals,hoots to boot,and they almost steal the book.Forget the age range

for this lovely story-it's for EVERYONE!Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better then Heat, October 28, 2006
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Miracle on 49th Street (Hardcover)
I loved this book! I have read Heat (also by Mike Lupica) and thought this was worlds better. I was in tears at many parts of the book, and I really loved Molly. I really liked how Josh Cameron was written, so that the reader always saw Josh the same way Molly does (except for 1 part) I think this is a definite Newberry contender!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing adventure, April 24, 2007
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Miracle on 49th Street (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed reading this book. I highly recommend thihs book for anyone that likes sports. Specificly if you enjoy basketball and the Boston Celtics. This book is about a girl 13 years old finding her real father.Her mom had just dies and she is living with her moms' best friend from college. Right before she died her mother wrote her a letter saying who her real father is.

The girl is determind to get this NBA superstar to believe her that he is her real father. The NBA player Josh Cameron believe they should get a DNA test to see if it is true. The girl Molly won't allow them to get a DNA test. This is because she wants him to want her to be his daughter all by himself which he has never wanted anything but basketball. I really enjoyed reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riley from Lake Tapps says," This book is awesome., March 20, 2008
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Miracle on 49th Street (Paperback)
The clock is running down as Josh Cameron makes a move on his guy. He jukes him out, squares up and shoots. He makes the basket and the crowd goes wild. The refs had to review the play because they didn't know if the ball left his hand before the buzzer or not. Would they win the game or not? Read Miracle on 49th Street if you want to know if it left his hand or not before the buzzer.
Molly, the main character, told her caretaker she was going to her best friend Sam's house after school. Instead, she went to the Celtic's gym to find Josh Cameron, the basketball superstar. Just before her mom passed away, Molly was told some interesting information about her dad she did not know. She was told Josh was her dad. Molly told Josh that day in the parking lot after practice that he was her dad. Josh said, "I'm not your dad." Sadly, Molly said, "Yes, you are.
The part I liked the best in this book was when Molly showed up the NBA superstar L.J. Brown. After practice, L.J. came over to Molly and said, "Okay, Miss Miss, Let's see how much game you brought today." Molly went on the court and dribbled for a little bit, then went up and layed it in. Molly dribbled back out and L.J. came in as a prop to make Molly look good. Molly drove in and created space by bumping into L.J. Great play!
Even though I usually don't like to watch movies, I think this book would become a great movie. This book is written by Mike Lupica a #1 New York Times best selling author so people might have read some of his other books. If people like the books, they probably want to watch the movie so that they can see the characters come to life. Also, when most people read, they paint pictures in their minds, so if there is a movie of the book, they can see if the pictures in their minds are similar to the movie pictures.
Molly, the main character in the story, is a character that people would wish the best for. Molly doesn't have a family of her own, just a family that has chosen to take care of her since her mom died. She really wants a dad of her own. Molly is one of those people that can't get enough time in the gym watching Josh Cameron and the Celtics. She is like their number one fan, making excuses to get to the gym any way she can.
I would recommend this book to people that like reading about basketball. Even though the main character is a girl, both boys and girls would like to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Book I Have Ever Read, March 1, 2007
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Miracle on 49th Street (Hardcover)
A twelve-year-old girl named Molly parker lives with just her mom until her mom's cancer takes over and she dies. So she lives with her moms best friend named Barbara. Molly's dad is Josh Cameron Boston Celtic's best NBA player, but there is a problem. Well... Josh donsn't know that Molly is his daughter. When Molly tells Josh she is his daughter, and that Jen was her mom, he donsn't belive her. He thought she just wanted an autraghrapgh or something. When they start to see more of eachother. He really likes her, but Barbara and her family want to move to LA, what will Molly do? Stay with Josh or go with Barbara or does she even have a choice?

I really loved this book because it has so much deatail and the Author (Mike Lupica) had such a good idea for the topic. And I love basketball so much, so this was defanantly the book for me. Same with all of you who love basketball.

The only thing I didn't like was the mom died because at the end they could have had a happy family, but they can still have a happy faimly and it made the story more dramatic.

Over all this was the best book I have ever read. It was just my type of book and I am sure it is many of yours too, so give it a try and read it, or a least one of Mike Lupicas books because he is an amazing author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Heart-Warming Book Ever!, March 12, 2008
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Miracle on 49th Street (Hardcover)
'Miracle on 49th Street' is definitely a worthwhile book to read.
I stumbled across this book in the library one saturday and debated wether I should take it home to read it or not.
I'm so proud of the choice I made that day(which was taking it home with me), because turns out it was a brilliantly written book with a heartwarming message to it.
The twelve-year old girl immediately caught my attention- especially since I was twelve years old myself- and you might be thinking "Oh...this book must be fit for a younger crowd" but actually it's a great book for all ages.
There was much humor, emotion, and not to forget an amazing plot to this novel... which are the proper ingredients fit to make a book so great.
I hope you choose to read it soon!
Infact, I think the movie 'The Game Plan' , was copied from this better written novel.
If you enjoyed 'The Game Plan' you'll undoubtedly enjoy this book.
Gie it a chance...

Signed,
A Miracle On 49th Street Fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing adventure, April 24, 2007
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Miracle on 49th Street (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed reading this book. I highly recommend thihs book for anyone that likes sports. Specificly if you enjoy basketball and the Boston Celtics. This book is about a girl 13 years old finding her real father.Her mom had just dies and she is living with her moms' best friend from college. Right before she died her mother wrote her a letter saying who her real father is.

The girl is determind to get this NBA superstar to believe her that he is her real father. The NBA player Josh Cameron believe they should get a DNA test to see if it is true. The girl Molly won't allow them to get a DNA test. This is because she wants him to want her to be his daughter all by himself which he has never wanted anything but basketball. I really enjoyed reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This book truly is a Miracle!, December 14, 2006
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Miracle on 49th Street (Hardcover)
This book is so heartwarming. You can hardly put it down. Molly is a great main character and Sam just brings out the best in her. This is a great Christmas story for anyone, and would make a great gift. If you like basketball this book is also very good. Molly's mother has just past away from cancer and her mom had told her that her dad was a famous Boston Celtic basketball player (Josh). Josh is very selfish at times and cares about no one but himself and basketball. Molly tries to get him to see inside her and to get him to be a good father for her. This is a very touching story that will keep you turning until the very final page!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, May 11, 2013
By 
Maria Constantinou (Berkeley Heights, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book was well written. I thought that Molly never gave up trying to make Josh Cameron believe that she was his daughter. It was a little sad because Josh Cameron wasn't believing Molly that she was his daughter. Also because Molly's mom Jen Parker died and she had no family left. She didn't even know that Josh Cameron was her father. She was living with her mom's friends family the Evans. Molly doesn't really like living with the Evans. The Evans are also moving to Los Angeles. So Molly is time limited to make Josh believe that she is his daughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Miracle on 49th Street
Miracle on 49th Street by Mike Lupica (Hardcover - October 24, 2006)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.