Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of THEIR best, One of THE best
As always, a Queen recording has something for everyone. Not so much as always, 1989's "The Miracle" begins the revelation (subtle at the time) that days are numbered and getting darker. The tours were over, Freddie's image was more gaunt, and much was done (including more facial hair than usual) to obscure the real person behind it all. Not a word was spoken...
Published on May 16, 2004 by D. Rausch

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fair, but not a classic
It's amazing how Queen fans like most people writing the reviews for this album overpraise the quality of the material presented here by the British quartet. In my opinion this album was a big disappointment, and it sounds like the band needed to put a record out by any means, with good or poor material.

I consider myself one of the biggest Queen fans alive,...
Published on October 6, 2005 by Miguel A. Perez


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of THEIR best, One of THE best, May 16, 2004
This review is from: Miracle (Audio CD)
As always, a Queen recording has something for everyone. Not so much as always, 1989's "The Miracle" begins the revelation (subtle at the time) that days are numbered and getting darker. The tours were over, Freddie's image was more gaunt, and much was done (including more facial hair than usual) to obscure the real person behind it all. Not a word was spoken about it, and otherwise, everyone acted the same as always.
Which is even more of a chilling thought. The unknown is always more provoking than the black and white. This was where Freddie's tragic (UNBELIEVABLY tragic) bout with AIDS started to really come into play. The next album, "Innuendo," would take all of this, including the depth of the music, to an even HIGHER level, though barely even thought possible. That does nothing to take away from the fact that atleast one "70's band," albeit for the worst reasons, flexed its biggest muscles in future decades.
"The Miracle" is epic. Plenty of music for all moods, from the obligatory party songs in the beginning (such as "Party"), to the confused confrontations with the idea of death ("Was it All Worth It"), and everything in between. Queen already had established themselves as a band that showcases emotion of the highest levels, and now that special talent would be put into overdrive. "Breakthru" starts with a wonderful trademark "Freddie Choir" but quickly breaks into a rushing, impatient, pressed song of just wishing that one thing would happen to make life seem worth living. Excellently written. "I Want It All" says the same message, but more blatantly. In retrospect, it's easy to see from this music, that Freddie felt short on time. That's just too depressing to dwell on.
So, what is there besides gutwrenching lyrics? There is MUSIC!!! I always counted on Queen to be a bit better than just a regular "rock band." And it doesn't take long here to maintain that glorious reputation. The swirling 64th notes in the bridge of the previously mentioned "I Want It All" confirm Queen as masters of arranging and playing. Plus, the song rocks as good as anything. Heart and brains, heart and brains!
The title track is one of the top Queen songs ever written, thus of course translating into one of the better songs ever written, even if there is much competition in that department. Orchestrated strings, sound effects, entire sections morphing into others, INCREDIBLE guitar work - what more can you possibly ask for?
Only two songs, "Rain must fall" and "My baby does me", don't keep even with the supreme quality of everything else. Which really isn't saying that much, as I challange anybody to make an album half as good as this in THIS day and age. I still respect those two songs, however, as even in the late hour of Queen, they never stopped experimenting with diversity. So one can not dare call it filler. Check out the highly innovative "Chinese Torture" - the band has some of the highest creativity possible.
This album is pretty close to perfection, and the next album "Innuendo" would take care of that. You can put "The Miracle" on and zone out, getting lost in the colorful musical textures of the substantial lengthed recording. You can do this time and time again, as it never wears out. That's what good music should do for you. Queen was and is as close to "Gods" that you can really get away with calling rock stars. Music must have been put on earth for some sort of divine purpose, in my belief, so anyone who can channel that purpose into execution and reality can't be too far off the page. God Bless You Freddie, you're still here every day, as far as I'm concerned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It Grows on You and then you realise it's one of their best!, October 3, 2005
This review is from: Miracle (Audio CD)
By this time, Freddie Mercury had already taken sick and the band stopped touring and so decided to put all their energies into a great studio album and this was the result. Very polished with a lot more production elements than you usually get from a Queen album but the result is in hindsight a very good album indeed. Very different from say "A Night At the Opera" or even "The Game" but still a very good album in any case. They seem to have completely regained their confidence lost since "Hot Space" and slowly regaining it in "The Works" and the "Highlander" soundtrack aka "Kind of Magic" albums. It sounds almost as if the band felt they had nothing to prove anymore and with the pressure off, they could relax and make an album for themselves. It almost sounds like they intended this to be their swansong with "Was it All Worth It". Many strong tracks and the album is very smooth flowing. The sound quality is quite good and the bonus tracks are a nice touch. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Yes, it was a worthwhile experience! It was all worth it!", March 10, 2005
By 
W. Langan "take403" (the end of the world to your town!) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Miracle (Audio CD)
Throughout most of this album (with the exception of 2 songs "Rain Must Fall" and "My Baby Does Me"), all members of Queen shine brightly. Freddie Mercury's health was deteriorating at the time but still wished Queen to go on, albiet without touring. If you notice in the videos, he's grown a beard to hide his gaunt appearance. Also, the lyrics are a lot more personal than before. All of the members got credit for each song ("We made a decision," commented Brian May, "that perhaps we should've made on previous albums"). You can skip the remixes, nothing amazing about them. However, 2 bonus songs are quite interesting. "Hang On In There" is a positive song exhorting the listener to not give up and promises "Your wish will be granted." "Chinese Torture" is a moody instrumental with a synthesized orchestra and Brian's expressive guitar. "Party" and "Khashoggi's Ship" are both reminiscent of "We Will Rock You" and "We Are the Champions." Though 2 separate songs, it's hard to imagine one without the other. "Party" seems to say the party is over while "Khashoggi" seems to say the party is not over (this is probably in reference to the rumours that Queen was breaking up at the time). "The Miracle" is a 5 minute epic (the video for this song was entertaining, with 4 youngsters filling in for the band). It features positive lyrics ("The one thing we're all looking for is peace on earth, and an end to war. It's a miracle we need!") and a fun little jam at the end before they sing "The time will come one day, you'll see, when we can all be friends." Following that is the hard rocking "I Want It All." This is reminscent of the early 1970's Queen. "The Invisible Man" is one of those songs you'll either find catchy or grating. Each member of the band is introduced. "Breakthrough" begins with a semi-operatic intro, moving onto a fast paced melody like a speedtrain. "Rain Must Fall" is a schmaltzy reggae song. "Scandal" is one of Freddie's more personal songs, probably based on the rumours that were spread about him, thinly veiled around a breakup- "Tommorow [it's] hard times, and no one really knows the truth from the lies." "My Baby Does Me" is a shmaltzy R&B song about a dying relationship. "Was It All Worth It" is one of the best songs on here. Freddie recalls the good times and bad times of Queen and asks himself "Was it all worth it? Living breathing rock and roll in this God-forsaken life? Giving all my heart and soul in this never-ending fight..." You can pretty much guess what the answer is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brian May gets to play again, July 23, 2001
By 
Brian Kelly (Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Miracle (Audio CD)
For a band that long prided itself on 'no synthesizers', it was sometimes painful to hear their work on albums such as The Works and A Kind of Magic. The electronic gadgetry is still here, but so is a return to highlighting the great work of guitarist Brian May on tracks such as I Want it All and Party. Invisible Man is a neat mix of the old and new Queen sound. For me, this is the band's best album of the 1980s. They'd truly return to impressive form with Innuendo in 1991.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queen's best album since The Game, November 9, 2007
This review is from: Miracle (Audio CD)
Queen's fourteenth album (not counting compilations) The Miracle was released in May of 1989 in the US.
The Miracle saw Queen going back slowly to the sound that made them famous in the 1970s.
Guitarist Brian May, drummer Roger Taylor, bass player John Deacon and lead singer Freddie Mercury took some time off after The Magic Tour of 1986 to work on other projects but went in the studio in 1988 to record Queen's strongest album since 1980's The Game. Also, the band switched co-producers to David Richards for a change. Lastly, the band would co-write all of the songs TOGETHER as a UNIT. Would this change be good or bad, read on.
We begin The Miracle album with "Party" and "Khashoggi's Ship", two good partying songs. Party is a short but good opening track which gets the mood of the album off on the right foot. We follow with the rocker Khashoggi's Ship which is a killer rocker. Each time I hear the fast section at the end, I want to speed down the highway doing 90, it rocks! The Miracle's title cut is next and is a beautiful number. This number is a great uplifting song when things look down (its video was priceless as it depicted four young kids playing the Queen members and executing the movements of the four Queen-men well). Next is the rocker "I Want It All" which is classic stadium rock Queen at its best. Sad that Queen never got the chance to play this live despite the fact, the band made a performance clip for the track. This track gave Queen their first American rock radio hit since Under Pressure in 1981 hitting #3 on Billboard's Mainstream Rock charts and the song just rocks. The version on the Hollywood Records version of the album is a different mix to the one on the EMI and Capitol versions of the album. Next up is the great, up number "The Invisible Man" which is one of my favorites on the album for its great Deacon bass line and had a great video to go with it.
The second half of the album starts with "Breakthru" and is my absolute favourite on the album and one of Queen's best singles. It sounds like it is another Bohemian Rhapsody before we go, BANG, into a rocker which rocks (its video was classic as it depicted the band playing on a moving freight train. Next is the poppish but great "Rain Must Fall". The lyrics of the song show that for all the good in life, 'into every life a little rain must fall' sometime. "Scandal" is next and is one of the best rockers Queen ever did and why this song gets ignore I will not ever know. The poppish "My Baby Does Me" follows and is a great calm song before the album's final ending storm which is "Was It All Worth It". The track is the greatest ending to a Queen album ever. This is a hard rock anthem with great lyrics reflecting on Queen's history, whether the risks paid off and if they lived their lives in the best way possible.
The original CD version had three bonus tracks, the rocker "Hang On in There" (which is I Want it All's flip side), Brian's guitar solo called "Chinese Torture" and a 12" mix of The Invisible Man.
The Miracle originally peaked at #24 in the US and did modest and deserved Gold status but Queen's relationship with Capitol/EMI in the US and Canada was so bad that it didn't get certified.
In 1991, Hollywood Records for the US and Canada re-issued The Miracle with the aforementioned bonus tracks, a different mix of I Want it All and a 12" mix of Scandal.
The Miracle was to me Queen's best album since The Game and was the stepping stone towards Queen's equivalent to The Beatles' Abbey Road.
Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast-paced and full of life, July 11, 2003
By 
Itamar Katz (Ramat-Gan, Israel) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Miracle (Audio CD)
One of the most underrated releases in the Queen catalogue, The Miracle, released in 1989 - only two years before the death of Freddie Mercury, stands in the shadow of two of the band's most important albums - it follows Queen's most commercially successful record - A Kind Of Magic - and is followed by one of their most impressive and powerful works, Innuendo. The Miracle, though, may just be the best piece of music Queen released since 1980's The Game, and it features some of their finest rock songs of the 80s, as well as some wonderful hit singles. And unlike Innuendo - the last album released in Mercury's lifetime, which was dark, sad and angry, The Miracle is energetic, fast-paced and bursting with life. While every song on Innuendo is filled with pain and despair, The Miracle is nothing but optimistic. As the title track - "The time will come, one day you'll see / when we can all be friends" - with its lovely accompanying video, clearly states, this entire album is about life and the love of life.
Other than `The Miracle', the album boasts three other hit singles: `I Want It All' is one of Brian May's most classic rock pieces, a great head-banger in the tradition of `Tie Your Mother Down' and `We Will Rock You', with a wonderful classic-Queen style interlude. `The Invisible Man' is all Roger Taylor, a fun song with a lot of synthesizers. `Breakthru' is a great, fast, optimistic song and it's one of my favorite Queen songs from the 80s. `Rain Must Fall', in all likelihood a John Deacon composition, is also a fantastic song, and the drum sound is terrific, especially in the solo. Synthesizers are present on all of these songs, but unlike any other album they made since 1980 on The Miracle Queen use synths mildly and responsibly, and give the band mates' instrumental skills their full deserved respect. Finally there's the closing track, which is probably the finest and most sophisticated song on the record - `Was It All Worth It', a reflection upon Queen's long career, a song that is both sad and full of optimism. It shares many qualities with `The Show Must Go On', the closing track from Innuendo. Musically, too, it's an instant classic, with great instrumental work and a masterful arrangement. The intro, suddenly going from the soft ringing of bells to Brian's explosive electric guitar, is a stroke of genius by itself.
I wouldn't bother much with the bonus tracks; I usually turn it off after `Was It All Worth It'. `Hang On In There' is a decent enough song, but it's nothing special, and the instrumental `Chinese Torture' is simply pointless, as is another version of `The Invisible Man' - certainly not the best song on the album anyway.
The Miracle is a great ride. It's really a lot of fun, and it's the only Queen album that manages to really be all about fun and not sound stupid (like Hot Space). They may have been near the end of their career, and after twenty years together, but they don't sound the least bit worn out. For Queen fans, it's a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars US REBIRTH, September 12, 2000
By 
Queen fan (Loveland, CO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Miracle (Audio CD)
Now, I loved A "Kind Of Magic" and "The Works", but apparently the rest of the US didn't, So as a result Queen's last tour in America was in 1982. This Album was the beginning of the "rebirth" before Innuendo. Now, if I remember correctly, almost all of Queen's albums went Gold in the US, but it took a while. The real Miracle in this album is that it was doing so well, Queen were planning to return for a US tour after their European Tour in '89 (Unfournately, neither one saw the light of day due to Freddie's Illness). This is what American Fans wanted with hard tracks like "I Want It All", and "Party".
Tracks like "Scandal", about Brian's personal life, "Was It All Worth It", about Freddie reflecting on his life with Queen, and "Hang On In There", a song hinting on Freddie's disease (he knew he had AIDS back in 1986 by the way) offer a glimpse into the band's personal life while still entertaining. And "Breakthru" which starts off "iffy" is just pure genius.
A Queen Masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars gets better with age..., November 24, 2004
By 
Rod Torkelson (Augusta, GA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Miracle (Audio CD)
Queen diehards aren't gonna forget about the band's output from the 70's after hearing The Miracle, but time has treated this album quite well IMO. And in hindsight, the lyrical content of a few songs seem as if Freddie was dropping hints of things yet to come (particularily "Was It All Worth It"...it took on a new meaning after Freddie passed away IMO). The album has an overall pop flavor, but all the trademark Queen elements are intact. There's a few straightforward rockers such as "I Want It All", the aforementioned "Was It All Worth It", and "Khashoggi's Ship" to pacify hardliners, but one can't help but get hooked on the infectious pop grooves of "Breakthru", the title track, and "The Invisible Man" (featuring a ripping solo from Brian). A definite step up from their prior album A Kind Of Magic (which didn't do much for me...sorry), The Miracle is worth checking out if you have eclectic pop taste...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Was It All Worth It? Yes, it was! Thank you, Queen., August 10, 1998
By 
BigBadAzz (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Miracle (Audio CD)
I'm surprised no-one has reviewed this one up until now. "The Miracle" is a breezy, confident work, with Roger Taylor's strident drumming dominating the sound of the set. The band is still in fine form, yet there is an air of finality around this record, in its reflective and soul-searching lyrics, hinting at Freddie's impending ill-health. The songs command your attention right from the word go, with 'Party'/'Khashoggi's Ship' rocking with the best of them. The other songs range from the anthemic ('I Want It All', 'Was It All Worth It') to lighthearted fun pop ('The Invisible Man' - listen out for the mention of each band-member's name in this track!). The title song could very well rival Lennon's 'Give Peace A Chance' in it's plea for mutual love and understanding. It's video clip is a must-see (as are the videos of the other singles off this album) as it shows kids playing younger versions of Queen in 3 variations of the Queen attire through the ages,! followed by the band themselves joining the kids onstage during the song's finale. 'Breakthru' is an energetic tune, also bringing Taylor's drums to the forefront of Queen's sound. In a nutshell, this offering shows that the foursome were still at their prime, evolving and getting better at it than ever. And the cover never ceases to amaze me (Love those morphed heads! Try to guess whose eyes belong to whom.) I prefer this album to their earlier 80's efforts such as 'A Kind of Magic' and 'The Works', but it doesn't really compare to their seventies masterpieces, so go and explore their back catalogue if you want utter musical brilliance. Otherwise, this album is strong, uplifting and true to Queen form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant Queen album with a hidden edge, June 23, 2005
By 
Hamish Gavin (Dunedin, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Miracle (Audio CD)
Behind the light-hearted exterior of this album is a darker edge, something close kin to Innuendo (although not quite that dark) then their other 80s albums. It seems like Queen is trying to keep the mood as happy as possibly, not to give any hints on the doubtfull future of their main man. Yet the real agenda seeps through the cracks.

The album begins with Party and Khashoggi's Ship, two good partying songs. Party im not too fond of but Khashoggi's Ship is a rather enjoyable mindless romp with a catchy hook. A weirdly disjointed start to the album though but it doesnt hinder the rest. The Miracle is a very light going song with an extremely positive view on the world written by Freddy. How a man in that state can write uplifting songs is above me. The song does have an odd eerie quality to it which shows the first signs of something not being right. I Want It All is classic stadium rock queen at its best. Sad that Queen never got the chance to play this live it begs for audience participation. Just another reason to go to a Queen tribute concert. Next up is another pointlessly happy song, The Invisible Man which is one of my favourites on the album for its great Deacon bass line and a great video to go with it.

Breakthru is my absolute favourite on the album and one of Queens best singles. In my opinion it deserves much more praise then it gets. One of Roger Taylors finest Queen moments as well (even though it has a key change in it and you know how he feels about that). Rain Must Fall is a another very catchy pop song obiously influenced by the period. The lyrics of the song show a very frightening look into how freddy was thinking at the time though. He seems to be taking an oddly positive look at things, that he was at the top but as he puts it 'into every life a little rain must fall'. That is why i dont just dissmiss this song as a throw-away pop song as the lyrics do have a hidden depth to them.

Now to Was It All Worth It. The greatest ending to a Queen album ever. This is a hard rock anthem with great lyrics reflecting on Queens history, whether the risks payed off and if they lived their lives in the best way possible. This song leads on to Innuendo tackeling a similar theme to that album. Yet The Miracle (at least the vinyl, which is the version I knew and loved) ends on a very positive not with freddy reasuring us - "Yes, it was a worth while experience". A very modest way to put it.

The rest of the CD version are bonus tracks not really needed in the album though still good to have. I love this album, it is definatly one of the Top 5 Queen albums and it proves everyone that said Queen lost their knack in the 80s wrong. A Kind of Magic was a very weak album, in my opinion the worst of their career but they picked up from it well. To bad what would come next would be the last musical moment with Freddy (when he was still alive) but thats an entirely different story...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Miracle
Miracle by Queen (Audio CD - 1991)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.