Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC SET and you own at rental price WOW
What a great price for over 6 hours of really good cinema.
The 4 features are all films that first showed from 1994 to 1999. Each is 90 to 118 minutes and all are in widescreen and color. They are loaded with star performers in stellar accomplishments. It is a satisfying mix of comedy, historical drama, romance, and biography. What more can you say except the price...
Published 16 months ago by Harold Wolf

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor Quality
Very poor color and audio is not consistent. Very hard to hear what is being said. Very sorry I purchased it.
Published 15 months ago by WBN


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC SET and you own at rental price WOW, March 4, 2013
By 
Harold Wolf "Doc" (Wells, IN United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Miramax British Comedy Collection V.1 (DVD)
What a great price for over 6 hours of really good cinema.
The 4 features are all films that first showed from 1994 to 1999. Each is 90 to 118 minutes and all are in widescreen and color. They are loaded with star performers in stellar accomplishments. It is a satisfying mix of comedy, historical drama, romance, and biography. What more can you say except the price is less than renting. And you will want to watch some of the offerings more than once. Unfortunately, for this price you get no subtitles.

A Month by the Lake: An older (Vanessa Redgrave) lady finds romance in a wonderful adaptation of a story by HE Bates.

My Life So Far: Scot lad Fraser lives a somewhat wild childhood and viewers get a very funny accounting of his coming to terms with puberty. Colin Firth is the dad. I'll watch this film again and again.

The Englishman Who Went Up a Hill but Came Down a Mountain. What will Welsh townsfolk do to retaliate against surveyors (Ian McNeice, Hugh Grant) claiming their prized local mountain is less than 1000 feet--thus a mere `hill'? Another top winner.

Sweet Revenge: 2 souls fail to complete suicides off London's Tower Bridge. They form a pact to play a deadly game of revenge against those that drove them to the brink. Lots of UK stars.

The price is like buying one and getting 3 free.
These 4 films are also available (a wee tad more $$) in an 8 cinema set:
British Cinema Collection: 8 Acclaimed Films.
You will enjoy these films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Real Bargain, November 9, 2012
By 
Anne B. Lewellen (Gastonia,North Carolina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Miramax British Comedy Collection V.1 (DVD)
These movies are all good, the quality was good and the actors great. This is a real bargain. Recommend it!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun!, April 18, 2013
By 
J. Saffell (Northern California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Miramax British Comedy Collection V.1 (DVD)
I was actually looking for a copy of the Movie "THE ENGLISHMAN WHO WENT UP A HILL BUT CAME DOWN A MOUNTAIN" and came across this wonderful collection of 4 marvelous films for the price of 1. Who could pass this up? Not me, since we like British movies/series. Fortunately these are all wonderful funny films - quirky, great dialogue, beautiful scenery, and great acting. So grab a copy. You'll have several happy hours of fun viewing for less than a couple of cups of coffee. Make some popcorn, relax and have a wonderful time figuring out British humor. Great value!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enoyed almost all these Colin Firth titles, May 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Miramax British Comedy Collection V.1 (DVD)
Who doesn't like Colin Firth?! The only title I didn't quite enjoy was Revenge. But I love looking at Colin, so who really cares?! No me!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful Collection, March 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Miramax British Comedy Collection V.1 (DVD)
All of the movies are of equally high quality. There is a gentility that will appeal to those of a sympathetic nature. Good to see movies without blood and gore. Great performances by all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoy British movies, May 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Miramax British Comedy Collection V.1 (DVD)
I enjoy British movies. I find their comedies great fun, an well acted. these did not disappoint. Will buy more in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love 'em, March 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Miramax British Comedy Collection V.1 (DVD)
This is a set of a really nice set of British films. Well did not care for Revenge too much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for the money, February 13, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Miramax British Comedy Collection V.1 (DVD)
These are not the best movies ever made, but they are good to have in the house for those times when light-weight comedy is just what you are looking for. And the price is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colin Firth...need I say more?, December 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Miramax British Comedy Collection V.1 (DVD)
Light comedy, chick flicks, Colin Firth and Hugh Grant...what more can be said? easy to get lost from the toils of the day and enjoy an evening out!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun to watch, February 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Miramax British Comedy Collection V.1 (DVD)
This collection contains four very enjoyable British comedies, that are pleasant to watch. especially with older parents. Great fun for everyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Miramax British Comedy Collection V.1
Miramax British Comedy Collection V.1 by Four Feature Films (DVD - 2012)
$9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.