Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BOO
Mischief Night is a good little thriller that plays out more like an R rated lifetime made for TV movie.The acting was above par and there were some chilling moments courtesy of a home invader in a raincoat and an effectively creepy mask,it has clever camera angles and great production value!

The story was simple enough and adhered to most of the slasher...
Published 10 months ago by Dayna Newman

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars COULD HAVE been a surprise hit
Obviously inspired by "The Purge" and 1967's "Wait Until Dark", "Mischief Night" combines a blind girl left alone in a large upper-class house with the not really explained "Purge"-ish "Mischief Night"; a sort of pseudo night of freedom for people to do halloweenish things like egging houses and letting out their immature tendencies; I think. Of course, somebody takes it...
Published 3 months ago by Chris Kennison


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BOO, November 2, 2013
This review is from: Mischief Night (Amazon Instant Video)
Mischief Night is a good little thriller that plays out more like an R rated lifetime made for TV movie.The acting was above par and there were some chilling moments courtesy of a home invader in a raincoat and an effectively creepy mask,it has clever camera angles and great production value!

The story was simple enough and adhered to most of the slasher cliche`s.In the beginning we are introduced to a couple (Charlie O`Connell) and (Erica Leehrson) Leerhson who is no stranger to the genre, being in such movies as Wrong Turn 2,The Texas Chainsaw Massacre remake and The Blair Witch Project 2 Gave it some horror cred. We watch as they try and fend off the attacker who writes Boo In blood before he attacks,after having his way with them the film cuts to ( Noel Coet`s) character Emily in her shrinks office where they are talking about the reason she is blind and how her sight could return at anytime.

Emily`s dad played by (Daniel Hugh Kelly)is going on a date leaving Emily alone on Mischief night which is the night before Halloween and this is when the cat and mouse games begin during which Emily`s boyfriend and Aunt stop in with some dire consequences.

The killer s effectively creepy and since he can see that Emily is blind he decades to taunts her more than his usual victims.it`s an entertaining film that I would call slasher light because there are a few bloody moments but not enough to make it hard core.its definitely worth a rent.It was somewhat reminiscent of (Eyes of a Stranger)an 80`s slasher starring Lauren Tewes and Jennifer Jason Leigh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly Surprised by this One!, November 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mischief Night (Amazon Instant Video)
It's not often, but once in a blue moon, there comes along a film that delivers. I've always been open to the possibility that a little unknown movie (to me anyway) would exceed my expectations - Mischief Night did just that. Although there were one or two holes in the plot, for the most part, it was a good story and I thought the actors acted and reacted well. There were 3 or 4 "jump out of your seat" moments that really got me good & I so do love it when that happens! Only one or two brief periods that seemed to run on a bit longer than I preferred, just briefly and not enough to repel me. A good family horror flick I think but enjoyable and entertaining for us ol' folk too. Job Well Done. Soft 4 stars, not a waste of time or money.....yea!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars COULD HAVE been a surprise hit, May 26, 2014
By 
Chris Kennison (Jefferson City, Mo United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mischief Night (Amazon Instant Video)
Obviously inspired by "The Purge" and 1967's "Wait Until Dark", "Mischief Night" combines a blind girl left alone in a large upper-class house with the not really explained "Purge"-ish "Mischief Night"; a sort of pseudo night of freedom for people to do halloweenish things like egging houses and letting out their immature tendencies; I think. Of course, somebody takes it too far and Emily (Noell Coet), the blind girl, ends up fighting for her life against the masked pansy. I mean seriously... a blind girl?! You're out to exercise your mischief night liberties and you have to pick on the poor girl who can't even see!!! This alone makes you anxious to see the assailant get his punk beat down. I was hoping for a weeping like a girly-man scene, but it didn't play out.

Despite the obvious cowardice of the guy on the cover of the movie box, "Mischief Night" is actually a pretty good movie. It was better than I thought it would be and I had enough thoughts about it that I felt like writing this review.

Noell Coet is a good actress and actually plays a really good blind girl. She only overplayed it a couple of times. She hasn't been blind her entire life and her navigation of the household that she's become familiar with is believable. I especially liked the moment where she was rattled, started to run and ran hard into a counter. It looked painful and it added to the intensity of the scene. Her emotions throughout the film were spot on and had me feeling her fear.

The movie is also beautifully filmed and capably edited. Mr. Mischief night may have chosen the poor blind girl to pick on so that he could stand around and follow her through her house without her knowing. This is certainly a great gimmick and it is pulled off well., especially when Mr. Mischief Night poses as Emily's boyfriend for a brief moment.

Much was done correctly with "Mischief Night" and I found the movie enjoyable for the most part, but the times that it ventures into eye-roll land spoil the party. When Emily finds a chainsaw in the garage attached to a tree-trimmer extender and decides to put it to use, it may have created the most horribly coincidental occurrence in movie cinema history. Fortunately the entire movie wasn't that way. Although the cut she received to her foot when stepping on a broken glass vase would have rendered her a lot less mobile than it did, but I think the creators were more concerned with showing a gnarly-cut in a horror movie than being realistic. Finally, the ending, while not as bad as the chainsaw extender scene, was one more giant eye-roller.

"Mischief Night" could have been so so so much better had the creators not tried to overdo it. Had they just kept things inside reality or logic, it may have even been a great independent horror movie. As is though, 1967's "Wait Until Dark" is a better film because they at least kept things real.

Another "Mischief Night" came out in 2014 that looks eerily similar. Apparently they aren't connected, but I find that hard to believe. Mr. Mischief night on both dvd cases even look similar. The theme is similar. Possibly the director and writer of "Mischief Night" 2014 was involved in "MN" 2013 and didn't like the things that I pointed out. To each his own. "The Purge" wasn't that great of a movie, but I guess it does have the possibility of many story lines. Or does it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Takes too long to get going, but decent in the end, April 7, 2014
This review is from: Mischief Night (Amazon Instant Video)
Discounting the couple in the opening scene, this 80-some-odd minute movie takes (literally) 40 minutes to really start picking up steam. It's all backstory and character building, but we get it all ready- the main character is blind and insists on being independent. She does a pretty good job of it, too, with some minor struggles. It could have all been conveyed and explained in half the time or less.

But once it gets going (finally), it's pretty good. Some things are bit predictable, but the slasher-stalking-blind-girl twist is something new to me. I didn't know how I'd feel about that, when we, the audience, can SEE the threat but she can't. It worked, in general, and much to my surprise. One part in particular was applause-worthy for shock value and creativity.

The lead in this movie is phenomenal. She exceeded my expectations.

There are the expected blood and violence in this movie, of course, but it's not over-the-top. This one does not try to hide behind shocking violence and excessive gore to carry it.

I would have enjoyed a little more as to the 'why' besides 'It's Mischief Night', especially when the slasher apparently has taken to attacking the same house at least two years in a row. Really? Kind of lame, especially when there's no explanation offered.

A decent movie IF you have the patience to get past the lengthy set-up in the first half of the movie. And, of course, it never hurts when Richard Riehle (a.k.a 'Tom' in Office Space, the 'Jump to Conclusions' matt guy) shows up for a moment or two. Fun to see him pop up in his small part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars WALTON'S WAY, November 10, 2013
This review is from: Mischief Night (DVD)
This is the blind person terrorized by an intruder film. There has been nearly a dozen of these made and I thought this was one of the worse. Emily Walton (Noell Coet) who is psychologically blind from an automobile accident where her mother (Shannon Makhanian) died, must defend herself against an intruder on mischief night.

There were only three characters introduced besides Emily. Two of them are victims and the third is doubtful, leaving you with a senseless meaningless film that is simply a break-in for the sake of a break-in. No twist.

Emily is blind, but watches TV and turns the lights on. Had the feel of a made for TV drama. I didn't feel the intensity or horror.

Parental Guide: F-bomb. No sex or nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars scary!!!! Boo!!!!!, June 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mischief Night (Amazon Instant Video)
That had just the right amount of chills and thrills for me! The actress playing the daughter was just adorable and not in the least whiney (you know what I'm talking about) so you really didn't want her to be killed. It had a lot of gotcha moments without the needless gore. Although I have to say the guy in the yellow raincoat reminded me of Heath Ledger as the Joker....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great thriller in the tradition of Scream and Halloween, January 3, 2014
By 
This review is from: Mischief Night (DVD)
This is a far above average horror thriller with shades of Scream and Halloween and perhaps Wait until Dark. Coet and Kelly are superb as a daughter and father who are terrorized in their huge house on a night of what should have been just pranks. And...she is blind, psychosomatically, which adds to the suspense. Good stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mischief Night could almost be forgiven for being better than the cover or the first 5 minutes would ..., August 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mischief Night (DVD)
Mischief Night could almost be forgiven for being better than the cover or the first 5 minutes would lead one to believe. What is actually presented is a fairly well-acted, small, isolation-filled thriller. Making the home invasion genre a little less clichéd, Mischief Night involves a girl who is hysterically blind being stalked by a masked killer.

The violence was very understated and I was not entirely certain why they rated it "R", but despite this I enjoyed it. Noell Coet channels her best nice girl/vanessa hudgens impersonation to deliver a fairly believable performance as the traumatized young Emily. The movie clocks in at just over 1 hour 20 minutes and is the perfect length to never feel like it was dragging.

As I mentioned above, the beginning of the movie is more of your traditional horror film variety, only they chose to use Charlie O'Connell (Sliders) and Erica Leershen (Blair Witch 2) as the beginning slasher fodder. Whereas with Scream this did a great job of setting up the plot, here it really made me question my purchase and cost of my precious time for a bad movie. Fortunately, it did not derail what was overall a fun little flick.

Ultimately this comes down to taste and I happen to like home invasion movies, as well as the films where the heroine has to try and overcome their personal damage to save the day. It kept me guessing for a while and even though I kind of figured out the ending, I applaud the information that the director chose to withhold from the audience. This is worth at least a rental and as cheap as it is I am glad to have it in the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Effort for an indie!, March 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mischief Night (DVD)
This was a solid effort for an independent film. It was suspenseful even if there were a few plot points that didn't make sense. All in all an enjoyable film. Great for Halloween viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mischief Night, February 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Mischief Night (Amazon Instant Video)
This was a taunt little thriller. I was surprised it was so good. There is not much blood, but the movie would be scarey enough to give children nightmares, The nasty psycho was a very very menacing freak. Good acting, good script. There were a couple of errors, like the cell phone not having a panic button to call 911, or staying in areas of the house instead of just flat out leaving. They were very light flaws and not to noticeable, just a little irritating. In my opinion, this movie was not a waste of money like many others floating around for purchase, this one is worth the rental fee. It did all it was supposed to do to be a taunt, suspenseful, movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Mischief Night
Mischief Night by Richard Schenkman
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.