Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Miss Alaineus: A Vocabulary Disaster
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars61
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$7.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 2, 2001
Poor Sage (one who shows wisdom, experience, judgement) is home with the flu and gets the weekly vocabulary words and assignment from her friend Starr (who is not a luminous celestial object seen as a point of light in the sky). Unfortunately, she does not quite get the last word down and that is the basis for her story. Instead of writing miscellaneous (consisting of various kinds of qualities, a collection of unrelated objects), she writes Miss Alaineus, defining it as (the woman on green spaghetti boxes who hair is the color of uncooked pasta and turns into spaghetti at the ends). Sage is devastated (wasted, ravaged) as the class, including Mrs Page (who is not a single side of a printed sheet of paper usually found bound in a book) burst into laughter and she turns red (the color of embarrassment). But as her mother explains, "There's gold (a bright yellow precious metal of great value") in every mistake (something done, said, or thought in the wrong way). And her mother was right. Sage uses this embarrassing error and goes on, to her astonishment (great shock and amazement), to win the gold trophy at the Annual Vocabulary Parade..... Debra Frasier has taken the boredom out of spelling words and definitions and written a marvelous, inventive and creative story, kids 5 and up will just love. Filled with hundreds of words and definitions, a terrific story line and detailed, expressive illustrations, youngsters will begin to understand and enjoy the power of words and how important it is to use them correctly. And as Sage triumphs (a true success), kids will see that making a mistake is not the worst thing that can happen, in fact it sometimes leads to great success (a favorable or desired outcome of something attempted). Miss Alaineus A Vocabulary Disaster is a special and unique book that should be included in every home library, and is sure to be a classic, in years to come.
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2000
Poor Sage! Home sick from school, Sage gets her vocabulary assignment from a friend but misunderstands one of the words. When her creative definition is discovered during the "vocabulary bee", she becomes embarrassed (to cause or experience a state of self-conscious distress ) in front or her class. In her own words, Sage is "devastated: wasted, ravaged. Ruined: destroyed. Finished: brought to an end."
Grade school mortification was never this entertaining or educational. Clever wordplay and illustrations highlight "Miss Alaineus: A Vocabulary Disaster". Vocabulary words are defined within the text and as part of the colorful illustrations -- consisting of magic markers, notebook paper, pencils, glue, and scissors. There are even hidden words for you to find and define!
This book is both funny (affording light mirth and laughter) and imaginative (showing a command of imagery). Buy it for your kids or just if you have a love of language.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2000
Sage Becomes Sager
This delightful story by award-winning Debra Frasier is a unique trendsetter. As a school librarian, I read and preview many books annually. This is the first book that, upon completion, has prompted me to get online and to participate ([...] Ms Frasier suggests the wonderful idea of organizing a Vocabulary Parade and even presents methods for school wide implementation. Students in all grades can choose a word to demonstrate and this merriment can alleviate the drudgery of the dreaded weekly vocabulary lessons and quizzes. In this age of exhortations toward self-expression and toward community involvement, the concept of dressing up as a word and then presenting your interpretation to the world is intriguing. Sage is embarrassed! In improvising on her definitions of vocabulary words she reveals her lazy methods publicly. Later, she takes her mother's advice, and capitalizes on her error. Can Mom's maxim that there's gold in some mistakes be true? Yes! And can it be applied universally? Yes! A redemptive and illustrative theme resides there for us all. This tale of woe to whoa is rollicking and inspirational.. In addition to the group activity, the book demands re-reading as it is stuffed with other fascinating parts. The end papers contain a Word Search. Sage's free-form definitions and dictionary designations provide the borders and the basis for the Word Search. Included in the activity sheet are 100 vocabulary words to spark costume ideas and step-by-step art techniques. Most importantly, children become aware of the efficacy of words and of their correct usage. I certainly intend to follow Ms Frasier's pioneering lead and plan to spearhead a Vocabulary Parade at my school.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2001
This book is a lot of fun. I was introducted to Miss Alaineous at a teacher's workshop and conference. It was read aloud to us by the person conducting the workshop and all of us howled in laughter.
The art work is like nothing you have ever seen before, very vivid, bright and certainly original. I bought the book to share with kids in the classroom. The Vocabulary Parade and the sentences on each page (A to Z) are great ideas to use to make school more exciting.
A true delight and I am looking forward to more from this author!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2006
I thoroughly enjoyed this book! I was excited to share it with my fifth grade class, and they were mesmerized from the very first words...and I began with the Extra Credit Assignment! Anyone who could have watched the enjoyment on the faces of those students would have already ordered their copy of this book. I can tell it was a hit because every student has requested to read it again themselves.

Buy this book! You will not be disappointed!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2001
My fourth grade class loved the book! After reading it aloud, I added to our shelf of favorites--but it's more often in someone's hands! We plan a vocabulary parade for spring, but students are already creating word-based costumes.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2000
This book made both me and my 10 year old daughter laugh! It's a wonderful story of embarrassment and courage. My daughter and I both loved the mother who was so supportive. This doesn't have to be limited to the very young child - anyone can appreciate the situation!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2005
This is a great book. It really helps students that need a visual aid for alliteration and dictionary skills. I use this as a brush up on vocabulary and as a cute little time eater!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2006
I would definately recommend this book to teachers and parents of children in at least 3rd grade. This narrative book has unique and wonderful way of introducing so many vocabulary words. You can find something new each time you read it. Also it addresses quite well dealing with embarrassment. Sage is a great tool to start a discussion about how we can deal with making mistakes in a graceful mannor. Brush up on your vocabulary today!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2000
Miss Alaineus is a really fun way to start off the year's vocabulary study. The story is clever and the illustrations done in the medium of children are very attention getting. I have loaned this book to other teachers who have enjoyed it with their classes. Especially suitable for teachers of the Talented and Gifted Classes who know so many students who are "too smart to need a dictionary". I plan to have a vocabulary parade as a culminating activity for one of my social studies units.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.